Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Poor old Francie!!! Still in shock.

Francie seems to be completely taken aback by Casey’s success EVEN after Francies CONSTANT campaign on this site to try to persuade ppl not to vote for Casey.

Must be some shock for him in fairness

• Registered Users Posts: 51,885 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Francie seems to be completely taken aback by Casey’s success EVEN after Francies CONSTANT campaign on this site to try to persuade ppl not to vote for Casey.

Ah let's go easy on him now. He's bound to be jaded in fairness.
    Some result though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,049 ✭✭✭digzy

It's strange how so many people focus, not on Casey's remarks but on the media/ traveller reps interpretation of those remarks.

It's simplistic to suggest Casey's vote is a shower of culchie rednecks who're anti traveller and anti welfare recipients.

A lot of us including me knew that mdh would romp home. We sent a msg back to the powers that be, that we don't agree with the state supporting multi generational spongers being allowed to choose that particular lifestyle.
    We don't support the nonsense in thurles re the traveller housing.

I think it might be interesting to look at the criminal records of some of those to be housed there.

Knew Casey wouldn't get in. He'd have been the worst president of the candidates. Take note ff and fg.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,817 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Francie knew that around 20% of the population felt this way. And said it many times, that was the ceiling for this intolerant sentiment.

Again, here is what happened a single issue candidate (who denies the issue now btw) got 20% of a 40-50% turnout.

Let's not lose our sense of perspective here.

• Registered Users Posts: 204 ✭✭contrary_devil

And he doesn't seem, (listening to him on the radio) to be prepared to stand over them either. He doesn't accept that it was those comments that got him elected.

Is the counting of the votes over and has Mr Casey been elected? Do you have some insight the rest of the country hasn't?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

How would it have an impact? You have to have somebody running on that ticket in many many constituencies.

Given Casey is now backing away from taking responsibility for his comments it doesn't look good.

Let's see if the FF voters who swung to Casey can influence party policy maybe, then it might have an impact.

It would represent the third highest party support in A general election. Significantly ahead of SF.

You stated a political “thesis” that over 20% of the vote on a single issue was a failure. What other candidate in a national poll, with a 6 week run in and no posters achieved over 20% of the vote?

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

What I find interesting is Casey is being criticised for his comments, Leo calling them “divisive”.
    The real divide is caused by people being told they’re not allowed to speak their minds or say how they feel for fear of being labelled a bigot. It causes pent up anger and frustration and a feeling that you can’t say what you really feel for fear of being set upon and labelled.
    The candidacy was dismal. Generic candidate #1 generic candidate #2, all spouting the same shlte.
    Only one opened up and said how he really feels, had the audacity to make some mild criticisms and has been hounded for those comments since. We’re being programmed to all think and feel the same. Don’t have any contrary opinions and always tow the line. Anything other than that is “divisive”.
    Balls to that.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭omega man

Fcuk off Miriam. Well responded Peter.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,817 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

SafeSurfer wrote: »
    It would represent the third highest party support in A general election. Significantly ahead of SF.

You stated a political “thesis” that over 20% of the vote on a single issue was a failure. What other candidate in a national poll, with a 6 week run in and no posters achieved over 20% of the vote?

Other than perhaps, Joan Freeman, none of them were running on a single issue.

Casey was where she was, 1-2% until he made his remarks. The electorate had clearly rejected his wider promises and goals.

So in a GE you are going to have to have candidates running on a single issue to get the 20% numbers again. Good luck with that.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Good old the Journal

Opinion piece from a traveller

No comments opinion on article

Not surprised

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

Azatadine wrote: »
    One thing for sure, irrespective of anything else, I'd love to go for a few pints with Casey. I like him.

Yeah he's definitely the most personable of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 330 ✭✭All Seeing Eye

Poor oul Francie. I reckon Peter is on to something. He said what people are thinking and saying private. You’ll never go too far wrong if you speak the truth.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Thanks Miriam.

Your comments "scraped" the bottom of the barrel.
    Your comments "were unpopular".
    How were they unpopular? He finished a clear 2nd in this election. People have differing opinions....rightly or wrongly Miriam.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭omega man

mfceiling wrote: »
    Thanks Miriam.

Your comments "scraped" the bottom of the barrel.
    Your comments "were unpopular".
    How were they unpopular? He finished a clear 2nd in this election. People have differing opinions....rightly or wrongly Miriam.

I still fist pump when I hear him categorically say they’re not a different race, we’re all Irish!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

The dust hasn't even settled yet so maybe this post is a little premature, but we can be reasonably certain of the following:

1. Michael D will be re-elected (this was never in doubt).
    2. The turnout was low (below 50%), no surprise there either
    3. Peter Casey will finish 2nd on roughly 20% having come from dead last at 1-2%

To me this clearly highlights a gap in the market for a right-wing party, rightly or wrongly that's what it suggests to me. It shows that a lot of people are sick of the entitlement, freebee culture we have in Ireland and if somebody is clever they can take advantage of this.

From a personal point of view, I honestly couldn't give a monkeys who the president is, it's a pointless position that we don't need. The only real joy I'm taking out of this is the fact that the wasters first party Sinn Fein more or less caused this election by refusing to back Michael D, and suffered a double blow in the process:

1. Their candidate done shíte
    2. They actually managed to highlight a gap in the market for a right wing party, this is particularly hilarious :-)

Finally, personally while I would like to see an economically right wing party, as someone who supported gay marriage & repeal of the 8th I would prefer if they were socially progressive. Nutbags like Renua bring nothing to the table, they just want a return to McQuaid's Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Please let that be true

Where else would he get the airtime? No chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 480 ✭✭jace_da_face

omega man wrote: »
    I still fist pump when I hear him categorically say they’re not a different race, we’re all Irish!

Yeah, he hasn't backed down on anything , as Francie would try tell you.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,589 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

omega man wrote: »
    Fcuk off Miriam. Well responded Peter.

What did she say to him

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

True lol
    Unfortunately it's just wishful thinking

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

The dust hasn't even settled yet so maybe this post is a little premature, but we can be reasonably certain of the following:

3. Peter Casey will finish 2nd on roughly 20% having come from dead last at 1-2%

To me this clearly highlights a gap in the market for a right-wing party, rightly or wrongly that's what it suggests to me. It shows that a lot of people are sick of the entitlement, freebee culture we have in Ireland and if somebody is clever they can take advantage of this.

From a personal point of view, I honestly couldn't give a monkeys who the president is, it's a pointless position that we don't need. The only real joy I'm taking out of this is the fact that the wasters first party Sinn Fein more or less caused this election by refusing to back Michael D, and suffered a double blow in the process:

2. They actually managed to highlight a gap in the market for a right wing party, this is particularly hilarious :-)

Finally, personally while I would like to see an economically right wing party, as someone who supported gay marriage & repeal of the 8th I would prefer if they were socially progressive. Nutbags like Renua bring nothing to the table, they just want a return to McQuaid's Ireland.

Suggesting workers should be rewarded isn't exactly right wing????

• Registered Users Posts: 51,885 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Casey is really enjoying this and now taking the pi@@ out of MDH. ---

Speaking on RTÉ's Marian Finucane show, Peter Casey said he was disappointed with the expected election outcome as he felt he had a good chance of winning.

He also said that, had he won, he would have invited "all of the travelling community to move into the Phoenix Park for a five year period".

He urged Michael D Higgins to instead do this and establish schools there to provide education.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Asking this here aswell as in the poll thread hoping somebody has an answer.

What’s the story with the pensions he doesn’t take? Are they now cancelled or (if he changed his mind next month), could he start collecting them? If he can start collecting them, does he only get the monthly value from then or can he collect the backdated. Can his wife collect these pensions upon his death?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

digzy wrote: »
    It's strange how so many people focus, not on Casey's remarks but on the media/ traveller reps interpretation of those remarks.

It's simplistic to suggest Casey's vote is a shower of culchie rednecks who're anti traveller and anti welfare recipients.

A lot of us including me knew that mdh would romp home. We sent a msg back to the powers that be, that we don't agree with the state supporting multi generational spongers being allowed to choose that particular lifestyle.
    We don't support the nonsense in thurles re the traveller housing.

I think it might be interesting to look at the criminal records of some of those to be housed there.

Knew Casey wouldn't get in. He'd have been the worst president of the candidates. Take note ff and fg.

I've more of an issue with 80 grand being spent on the wall at the front of the estate. Who the **** in Tipp Council signed off on that? People were ****eing on about the solar panels, but that's down to new building regs for new build, but 80 grand on a wall is pulling the absolute piss.

They don't want to move in because there's no stables? Fine, **** em, here's people who will move in.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,820 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Francie knew that around 20% of the population felt this way. And said it many times, that was the ceiling for this intolerant sentiment.

Again, here is what happened a single issue candidate (who denies the issue now btw) got 20% of a 40-50% turnout.

Let's not lose our sense of perspective here.

You'll never get 100% turn out for an election Francie. Do you not think Casey coming 2nd was a "good" result for him? If 80% of people voted and he polled 35 - 40% would that be poor? A lot of people don't bother voting at all so I wouldn't say that the 20% figure is an exact amount of people who support Casey.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,426 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Other than perhaps, Joan Freeman, none of them were running on a single issue.

Casey was where she was, 1-2% until he made his remarks. The electorate had clearly rejected his wider promises and goals.

So in a GE you are going to have to have candidates running on a single issue to get the 20% numbers again. Good luck with that.

Well for a candidate who’s result you label a failure it is getting much more of a talking point than the re election of a nepotistic socialist millionaire.

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Casey is really enjoying this and now taking the pi@@ out of MDH. ---

Speaking on RTÉ's Marian Finucane show, Peter Casey said he was disappointed with the expected election outcome as he felt he had a good chance of winning.

He also said that, had he won, he would have invited "all of the travelling community to move into the Phoenix Park for a five year period".

He urged Michael D Higgins to instead do this and establish schools there to provide education.

That is some Grade A level trolling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,160 ✭✭✭Huntergonzo

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Suggesting workers should be rewarded isn't exactly right wing????

It is more right wing than pandering to wasters though.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,242 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

It's incorrect to assume that this 20% of the voters are some sort of homogeneous organised group who are looking for sweeping social and welfare reforms. My mother in law voted for Casey because she didn't want MDH getting a second term but actually likes MDH anyway. She had no idea about his comments on travellers or social welfare etc. At the next local and general elections she'll be back voting for FF without fail.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

The thing that really annoys me is that 24/7 you will have stories on RTE and Newstalk about how honest, decent, hard working Irish citizens are waiting and waiting for healthcare for themselves and their kids in spite of being taxpayers for decades. Never once is the question ever asked as to where their taxes went and is it maybe possible that those taxes are being spent on other people who have allowed themselves to become too dependent on the state for everything. 1.7 million spent on Traveller's houses that they wont even occupy - How many operations would that have paid for I wonder.

Irish people in general are very fair and very generous to genuine hard cases. But they have very little time for people who take the p1ss.