Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

BadTurtle wrote: »
    Connors tweet is over the top, but he is right about one thing. Populist politics has worked in the US and UK recently, and this is only going to embolden the far right to start whipping up hatred to get backing.

I suppose it is outlandish to suggest we perhaps discuss these issue openly before the far right gets into power? Or will we just keep shouting "racist"?

• Registered Users Posts: 68,820 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Go the boots if you have fine and elegant ankles! :)
    jmayo wrote: »
    Well it looks like some of the media and the fooking gimps they have on are playing it that the 20% are rural hicks, not much education, racists and so voted for Casey.

Even fianna fail linked ass***s like Noel Whelan can't help himself but use the rural voters slant.

And that traveller solicitor (talk about two leeching groups in one) Joyce is on and lists off all the things the poor travellers have to put up with, but he neglected to mention what ordinary decent people have to put up with from them.

At least Fitzmaurice had the cojones to mention some of Casey's voters were the ones not sleeping well in their beds last night.

A complete misrepresentation of a very detailed and wide ranging debate. All shades of opinion have been represented and given airtime.

Ridiculous generalising again JMayo again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

Another few days or a week and Money D would have been back claiming all those pensions alright .

Money D is going to ride the hole of us on expenses now . Sure he can never actually face the electorate again .

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Pretzill wrote: »
    There seems to be a lack of tallies - is that usual? Or like the turnout not much interest?

FF and FG have no dog in the race so none of their tally men and women, who would be very experienced, are on the job this time.
    It's an attempt to put the toothpaste back into the tube to be honest.

Every single one of those media commentators should be asked the following questions:

Would you let your children trick or treat in an encampment?
    Would you be happy to leave your car parked for a week in an encampment?
    Would you object to an encampment next door?

One of the gimps on today, again I think it was Whelan, mentioned how Casey played a blinder in the media and half of one of the debates was taken up with his traveller comments with stupid questions like who would want to live beside travellers.

The thing is it is a very damn pertinent question and the answer highlights those who are honest and those who are either complete eejits or fooking downright liars.

Mehole Martin, Leo the Imageman and Mary lou are going to have to get their head around fact a lot of their normal supporters voted for Casey.
    Now you either continue to p*** them off or start listening to them.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Populist politics isn't a right wing only thing
    Imagine People voting in a manner as they see best for themselves .

Just as TDs do when they Vote for anything concerning themselves . Outrageous .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

I love how if you object to Travellers having unlimited numbers of children at the taxpayer's expense, or demanding free houses with acres of land and stables, you're a far-right racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,540 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    How do we pay for the health service now?

The HSE has an annual budget of 16 billion.
    If we cannot provide an NHS style service with that amount of money then it's not my 'math' that's the problem.
    We pay agency nurses 20% more than those directly employed. That is insanity.

So, you are seeing the bigger picture here. Waste is endemic and the way we spend our money is highly ineffective.

So, how does one combat this without rocking the boats of the vested interest groups, as there are many out there. From the union-backed admin staff of the HSE to the consultants.

Be my guest if you can figure that out.

See, I know that you already know the answer, but its like you pretend there is some other easier way, when in fact you know damm well there isn't. There are too many pigs in the trough.

See, that entitlement culture coming back to bite us again.

• Registered Users Posts: 30,538 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

John Connors might leave the country over this
    https://twitter.com/johnconnors1990/status/1056028432004452352

He'd be doing the travelling community a favour. He's done them no favours since he's started representing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Down in Rathkeale area:

"Casey topped the poll at a booth from Rathkeale Girls National School with 44%. He also took 46% of the vote in a box that came from the Askeaton area."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/election-reaction-pavee-point-say-strong-support-for-peter-casey-worrying-881587.html

A place all too culturally enriched.

The most dignified and presedential event in this has been Gavin Duffy. Very gracious in defeat.
    Feel kinda bad now for not giving hin a number 3

The most dignified and presedential event in this has been Gavin Duffy. Very gracious in defeat.
    Feel kinda bad now for not giving hin a number 3

I said this last night and Fintan O'Toole said this it this AM too.

I have mega respect for all the other candidates - including a couple I had very little respect for - for not following Casey in cheap exploitative comments.

I too am sorry I didn't give Gallagher and Duffy a vote.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

markodaly wrote: »
    So, you are seeing the bigger picture here. Waste is endemic and the way we spend our money is highly ineffective.

So, how does one combat this without rocking the boats of the vested interest groups, as there are many out there. From the union-backed admin staff of the HSE to the consultants.

Be my guest if you can figure that out.

See, I know that you already know the answer, but its like you pretend there is some other easier way, when in fact you know damm well there isn't. There are too many pigs in the trough.

See, that entitlement culture coming back to bite us again.

Mark - as an FYI when you personalise it I'm simply not going to engage with you.
    I am quite willing to have a discussion.
    I am not going to engage in a slagging match with anyone.

There are many vested interests. It takes political will to tackle them. What we have is a government that wants to give control of our national maternity hosp to a religious order that owes the State money from the historical abuse.
    That. is. insanity.

We have a mish mash of public/private. We have a crises in retaining staff because the working conditions are appalling for front line health care workers. We have an admin heavy system.
    We have a lack of accountability.
    And we have our elderly dying on trolleys.

Do you think Aneurin Bevan hadn't had to deal with vested interests before launching the NHS in 1948?

We need a government willing to take on all the vested interests with the clear message that this is being done to provide a free at point of access national health care service and get the electorate behind them.
    Make it an election issue!

• Registered Users Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

Oops. Forgot to vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Plesse, can a mod do a few thread merges? Finding it hard going to keep track what I posted where. There's two election and three PC threads running at the moment.

I said this last night and Fintan O'Toole said this it this AM too.

I have mega respect for all the other candidates - including a couple I had very little respect for - for not following Casey in cheap exploitative comments.

I too am sorry I didn't give Gallagher and Duffy a vote.

Not Gallagher though. Hes damaged goods after hus envelope gaffs.. He was rejected 7 years ago, and wheeled out again for another go in case we had changed our minds. Nope.

• Registered Users Posts: 501 ✭✭✭terryduff12

I love how if you object to Travellers having unlimited numbers of children at the taxpayer's expense, or demanding free houses with acres of land and stables, you're a far-right racist.

Sure any African American that supports trump and his views is a member of the alt right also go figure.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Go the boots if you have fine and elegant ankles! :)

A complete misrepresentation of a very detailed and wide ranging debate. All shades of opinion have been represented and given airtime.

Ridiculous generalising again JMayo again.

Wide ranging me ass.

Have many of them not tried to play this as rural uninformed uneducated voters just voting for Casey?
    Yes the odd one might make reference to fact people may have voted for him because of his comments about social welfare rather than travellers, but it always boils down to them being a bit right wing in the end.

Joyce as good as said all Casey voters were all racists.

Only Fitzmaurice had any grasp of why people voted for Casey.
    Of course the rest of the panel are probably thinking he is the country bumpkin on there to keep the plebs happy.

And earlier in the day you had the old media stalwarts like Terry Prone (lets make excuses for haughey) looking down her surgically enhanced nose at Casey voters.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users Posts: 4,906 ✭✭✭enricoh

Down in Rathkeale area:

"Casey topped the poll at a booth from Rathkeale Girls National School with 44%. He also took 46% of the vote in a box that came from the Askeaton area."

https://www.irishexaminer.com/breakingnews/ireland/election-reaction-pavee-point-say-strong-support-for-peter-casey-worrying-881587.html

A place all too culturally enriched.

Thats from people that see the enrichment every day with their own 2 eyes.
    I used to work in a petrol station at weekends in my teens. I went from thinking the travellers got a raw deal in life to hating the sight of them in the space of a few weeks. Not every incident, but almost every one that happened at work had them as the central theme!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭anthonyjmaher

The coverage in RTE today was actually shocking. Like a parallel universe. Incredible how not one of the journalists or politicians wants to associate themselves with the 20%. Just goes to show how the media has indoctrinated both professions in to a "Be liberal or be-gone" mindset.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,540 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    What we have is a government that wants to give control of our national maternity hosp to a religious order that owes the State money from the historical abuse.
    That. is. insanity.

That is not strictly true and you know that.

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/maternity-hospital-will-be-religion-free-vows-harris-mt5r7k2hp

https://www.thejournal.ie/sisters-of-charity-st-vincents-maternity-hospital-3414044-May2017/
    THE RELIGIOUS SISTERS of Charity have announced that they will end their involvement with the St Vincent’s Hospital Group – and will have no involvement with the National Maternity Hospital.

Ownership of the specific piece of land at the Elm Park campus, the site of the former St Vincent’s Private Hospital, which is currently subject to a rental agreement, will be sold to SVHG at commercial terms yet to be agreed.

So please tell us where the government is handing over 'control' of this hospital to a religious order? Reds under the bed paranoia indeed.

We have a mish mash of public/private.
    Nothing per say wrong with that. Holland has a similar system as do many countries with better outcomes than Ireland. A red herring really, its the implementation that is the problem.
    We have a crises in retaining staff because the working conditions are appalling for front line health care workers.

True, nurses are in demand the world over. So why work for a system that is so antiquated when they can go abroad for more money and better work-life balance. The system is at fault here.
    We have an admin heavy system.

Very true, yet talk about reform as in culling unneeded staff and you will have the Unions out on the picket line faster than a hare at a coursing event. No political party will want that heat.
    We have a lack of accountability.
    Bingo! Yes, yes, yes.

No one is accountable because that is how we like it in Ireland.
    It will be grand sure...
    **** it, an extra few euro for everyone in the budget and it will all be grand...
    That is the attitude. From the Dail bar to the Margerat Cash of this world, everyone in it for themselves.

Top execs in the HSE are not accountable for their failure in the cervical check scandal.
    Top brass of the Gardai are not accountable for the cluster **** of an organisation they have led.
    Travelers are never accountable for their own life outcomes in terms of education, health and crime.

This.Is.Ireland

And we have our elderly dying on trolleys.
    Yes and it does not matter if you are public or private, you can end up the same way.

Do you think Aneurin Bevan hadn't had to deal with vested interests before launching the NHS in 1948?
    Different times indeed. People were more willing to play ball and collaborate for the greater good and to give up a little more for the end goal.
    Now its all about retaining what you have and have the hand out for more. To hell with the greater good of the nation.
    We need a government willing to take on all the vested interests with the clear message that this is being done to provide a free at point of access national health care service and get the electorate behind them.
    Make it an election issue!

I agree, but do you think there is anyone in the Dail willing to do that?

Leo kinda hinted at it (taking on vested interests) a bit with this 'I am for the person who gets up in the morning' but his actions have put paid to that. Interesting the reaction he got from other parties and the media he got for that comment alone. The Tory boy or Thatcher-lite pejorative was thrown at him. Maybe he just wants to toe the line.

So, who else?
    FF? Give over, they are the kings of parish pump politics.
    SF? LOL, Erica Flemming called and said hello.
    PBP/Solidarity? They are still dreaming of the socialist revolution. Nut jobs.
    Indo? Shane Ross and their like are just after feathering their own seats.
    Labour? Busted flush, full of old champagne socialists like MDH
    Greens? More interested in assuming Americanisms about social justice than standing up for the average person.

Who else? No one really. Utterly depressing.

I am not saying Casey is the answer but it is kinda refreshing to have someone take on the established vested interests of the state, even if it was symbolic. To bring the topic around full circle.

Make it an election issue, all well and good, until we actually put a spotlight on the nasty boil of Irish entitlement culture and society. Then you are cast out like a diseased leper.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭Flex

I voted for Peter Casey and had been hoping he would do well, however 21% is better than I had hoped for. As I expected today the main stream media is portraying it that he wont these votes purely on the basis of hatred for travellers.

Funnily, Pearse Doherty was on Radio 1 earlier saying the above when the presenter pointed out over a quarter of Sinn Fein voters said they had voted for him and asked what he thought of that to which he replied 'Eh.. you see.. well.. eh.. Casey was allowed to dominate the airwaves without opposition for the final week of the campaign, so...'. Regina Doherty said similar when presented with the similar Fine Gael stat.

Margaret Cash was the straw that broke the camels back for me (and alot of other people). NOT because she is a Traveller, but because she
    • is someone who has contributed nothing to society,
    • had 37 previous convictions,
    • is a nasty foul mouth parasite on the country and
    • was demanding the working people of the country give her a house in Dublin,
    • then complained about having to make a round trip on the LUAS to Tallaght from the city centre each week.

What did our media and politicians react to this person demanding the working people of this country give her a house? Fell over themselves to get photo ops with her, tell us all how she was a hero and a fantastic mother. **** that. Then the demand for €1.7m worth of homes to come with land and stables for horses... If youre wealthy enough to own and keep horses you dont need the state to provide you with a house.

Im delighted to see the posters of the far-left here (I refuse to refer to the far-left as 'liberal', I am a liberal person, the far-left are authoritarian as demonstrated amply already) and those on the news are having a tantrum. The knives were out for Casey but he stayed on point and the people gave our political class a nice and loud message :) You can be certain while this is publicly derided and attacked by politicians and the main stream media as nothing more than an episode of 'crimethink', many TDs and political entrepreneurs will take note that a substantial number of ordinary decent working people are in the market looking for political representation.

jmayo wrote: »
    Wide ranging me ass.

Have many of them not tried to play this as rural uninformed uneducated voters just voting for Casey?
    Yes the odd one might make reference to fact people may have voted for him because of his comments about social welfare rather than travellers, but it always boils down to them being a bit right wing in the end.

Joyce as good as said all Casey voters were all racists.

Only Fitzmaurice had any grasp of why people voted for Casey.
    Of course the rest of the panel are probably thinking he is the country bumpkin on there to keep the plebs happy.

And earlier in the day you had the old media stalwarts like Terry Prone (lets make excuses for haughey) looking down her surgically enhanced nose at Casey voters.

Didn't hear one of them say 'rural uninformed voters'.

I think you may have a bit of a complex about that.

We are talking on a day when a humanitarian dignified, intelligent man was overwhelmingly voted in for a second term, recording a record winning vote.

I think Casey and his vote amount got more than adequate discussion.

Not Gallagher though. Hes damaged goods after hus envelope gaffs.. He was rejected 7 years ago, and wheeled out again for another go in case we had changed our minds. Nope.

Gallagher could easily have followed Casey down the cheap rabbithole, but he didn't, and fair play to him for that imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭jobbridge4life

Casey absolutely crushed. Enjoy those liberal tears guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Congratulations to all of them,
    And a big Congrats to P Casey, getting second is huge, hope he goes the next time.
    Next general election should be fun, will have a couple questions to ask my local candidates for certain

Gallagher could easily have followed Casey down the cheap rabbithole, but he didn't, and fair play to him for that imo.

Because he was "above" that sort of stuff.

ROFL
    oh dear god stop.
    *wipes eyes.

Mehole Martin was watchong events unfold i reckon though. Casey nominated in 4 rural counties with a strongTraveller "tradition". Also polled fairly well there. FF will move on it.

Because he was "above" that sort of stuff.

Yes, he was, and so were all the others. And I will remind you that somebody who would never go down a rabbithole of hate was elected by a margin of 3 to every one of Casey's votes.

Massive win for the Irish people there.

Serious questions Francie.

Are you surprised at Casey's vote?
    Disappointed or angered?

Do you genuinely think everyone voted for Casey because of the traveller/social welfare angle? Can you countenance a lot of people are fairly piśšed off with the Cashes et al?

I dont know where it goes now, but it sure as šhit got interesting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Mary Lou outraged.

I’m delighted.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Sean (brown envelopes) Gallagher never ever had a chance..