Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Subscribers Posts: 41,585 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

Any political party that gets 23% in any vote would be king makers here in Ireland

• Registered Users Posts: 15,956 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

oceanman wrote: »
    but surely with unemployment at an all time low there cant be many of "those people who don't get up early in the morning" ?

Only if they want to, those who don't obviously laugh at those who do, and those that pay for them also.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,824 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Nine Anti Peter Casey articles by The Irish Times in the space of four days, all with what went wrong with Casey and Casey voters.

Those are articles challenging Casey's opinion.

Is your 'Caseytopia' a place where his opinion cannot be challenged? No thanks if it is.
    His opinion is going to be challenged, you have gotta stop playing the victim about it, and man or woman up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭pumpkin4life

Those are articles challenging Casey's opinion.

Is your 'Caseytopia' a place where his opinion cannot be challenged? No thanks if it is.
    His opinion is going to be challenged, you have gotta stop playing the victim about it, and man or woman up.

I don't even like or agree with Casey on most things, although my opinion of him has definitely gone up since then.
    Casey's a pretty poor if not a completely awful candidate in a lot of ways, and you're right about a lot of this.

But. Here's the thing.

A Casey upswing will drive a lot of the leading politicians/journalist/NPCs nuts, and will represent a leader figure, out there who spoke the truth about this one thing, not a hypocrite, socialist sponger who lied about the LearJet on TV so that he can sponge off the Irish population for seven more years. More people will at the very least, be encouraged by this and will respond to this in a positive manner, as is happening right now.

We especially need this, because truth be told, Ireland is in a state of decline right now, and people need to call out what is going on for what it is.

Only then can we fix it.

But when your national in decline sales wise (who are trying to get government funding) newspaper, runs nine anti-Casey articles without any balance in the space of four days, you know you've stirred up something.

My prediction about the Casey upswing seems to have come true as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,005 ✭✭✭✭AlekSmart

This is just more mythmaking.

Casey was a whimpering mess on Aine Lawlor's radio show when he said that he did not want to be elected President on the basis of his traveller comments.

How much more evidence of a 'row back' do you need? He doubled down on that when he said his comments on travellers did not, in his opinion, get him his votes.
    When questioned on what extra rights SEMS gave travellers, he was shambolic, stuttering out 'benefits' to a panel who gleefully tore him a new one.

But so enamoured is his support, they can joyfully ignore the lack of back up.

Crikey Francie...Casey really HAS gotten under your skin has'nt he ?

Or perhaps it's not actually Casey himself,but the 342,000 individuals who gave him a first preference vote,even with his,panel supplied "new one".

I wonder how the preferences would have worked out...perhaps that might have put matters right ? ...almost ?.......kinda ?.......

Mind you,you have the knack of pulling the right word out of the ether....

JOYFULLY :D

Worth basking in.......begins at 2%,and barely ten days later out of de bluez hit's 21%...........Ode to JOY,Francie a chairde...ode to JOY :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbJcQYVtZMo

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

Charles Mackay (1812-1889)

Casey will be silenced by our wonderfully impartial media.

They have been told to silence him, and they will. RTE I'm watching you. Well I can choose to read other MSM but I have no choice with RTE because of the license fee.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    Any political party that gets 23% in any vote would be king makers here in Ireland

Cue, silence and manipulation. Can people not see through this?

They have been told to silence him, and they will. RTE I'm watching you.

By far and away the most satisfying element to the Casey campaign,is just how it caught-out the mainstream Irish Media,particularly the RTE-IrishTimes axis of weevil.

That 20% figure,342,000 First Preference votes....has really presented them with the most difficult of conundrums possible....how to retain their credibility and maintain a pretence of informing,and reflecting the views of their readers/viewers/listeners.

One only has to peep into the vast fiery,doom laden conflagration,that is Fintan O Toole's vista of Post Casey Ireland,to see how wrong they called it,not for the first time either,BUT the first time they have been found out....:)

There's only one way to recover from this,for the sitting Media tenants,and that is to comprehensively rewrite histry....a process which,I imagine,is already in hand :D

Men, it has been well said, think in herds; it will be seen that they go mad in herds, while they only recover their senses slowly, and one by one.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,824 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

AlekSmart wrote: »
    Crikey Francie...Casey really HAS gotten under your skin has'nt he ?

Or perhaps it's not actually Casey himself,but the 342,000 individuals who gave him a first preference vote,even with his,panel supplied "new one".

I wonder how the preferences would have worked out...perhaps that might have put matters right ? ...almost ?.......kinda ?.......

Mind you,you have the knack of pulling the right word out of the ether....

JOYFULLY :D

Worth basking in.......begins at 2%,and barely ten days later out of de bluez hit's 21%...........Ode to JOY,Francie a chairde...ode to JOY :D

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kbJcQYVtZMo

And some people know how easy that is to do, because it has historic resonances. Get on a populist hate pulpit and start preaching = easy votes.
    I require my media to be critical of such stunts btw. So no surprise here when they are.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Dr Kelly made some good points

Like what?

She wanted to close down the discussion whinging that the subject shouldn't even be talked about and then came out with pc bullsh1t saying she would have no problem living next to travellers.

She's just another leftie hypocrite.

At least Niamh Horan was honest about what she thought.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

They have been told to silence him, and they will. RTE I'm watching you. Well I can choose to read other MSM but I have no choice with RTE because of the license fee.

As party leader he will be able to do party political broadcasts on behalf of Fianna Fail in the election.

By far and away the most satisfying element to the Casey campaign,is just how it caught-out the mainstream Irish Media,particularly the RTE-IrishTimes axis of weevil.

That 20% figure,342,000 First Preference votes....has really presented them with the most difficult of conundrums possible....how to retain their credibility and maintain a pretence of informing,and reflecting the views of their readers/viewers/listeners.

One only has to peep into the vast fiery,doom laden conflagration,that is Fintan O Toole's vista of Post Casey Ireland,to see how wrong they called it,not for the first time either,BUT the first time they have been found out....:)

There's only one way to recover from this,for the sitting Media tenants,and that is to comprehensively rewrite histry....a process which,I imagine,is already in hand :D

Excellent summary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭bloodless_coup

Casey to be on the Late Late on Friday. Is Tubridy a traveller lover?

And some people know how easy that is to do, because it has historic resonances. Get on a populist hate pulpit and start preaching = easy votes.
    I require my media to be critical of such stunts btw. So no surprise here when they are.

He really did'nt have much opportunity for "Preaching" though,did he ?

He never mentioned this "Hate" thing you and others,constantly reference.

He posed questions,that were being whispered throughout the country,and when the media thought their microphones had malfunctioned,he went and repeated the questions.

Perhaps unsurprisingly,the same media then,as you suggest went into "critical" mode,without really having anything concrete to be critical about.

Now,a critical media may well be your media,but I prefer an investigative approach initially before taking any decision to criticise or support.

Peter Casey ain't no messiah,hell,he is'nt even serious enough to be a "real" Politician,he's only a Millionaire,Billionaire or whatever,and thus guaranteed to have provided a constitutional crisis when the first PBP Ministers rocked up to collect their Seals of Office.....jeepers,how close we came to having some REAL Craic in the Country !!!! :D

Populist hate Pulpit,yea,right....this populist stuff must be popular then,is it ? ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 768 ✭✭✭Victor Meldrew

It would have been great to also see the numbers of second and third preferences he may have got too. Pity the tallymen were not about...

If MDH had got sub 50% we would have been into transfers.....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,994 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

doylefe wrote: »

He gets a lot of airtime on RTE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

tretorn wrote: »
    Officially yes but watch this space should a ten bay halting site be proposed for Monkstown.

There are travellers camping by the pier in Dunlaoghaire and I kid you not but some poor devils who go swimming at Seapoint had their clothes knicked. Their towels were knicked too so they had to hop up and down in their togs and then make their way home in wet gear.

Good place for an official halting site then.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Good place for an official halting site then.

It will never happen, too many influential people including judges living in the area.

The council wont buy houses up either because they are too expensive so you can buy a property and be confident that the council arent going to install anti social tenants beside you.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,551 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Connors is crying over on Twitter about Casey being on the LLS tomorrow.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

It will never happen, too many influential people including judges living in the area.

The council wont buy houses up either because they are too expensive so you can buy a property and be confident that the council arent going to install anti social tenants beside you.
    I'm sure those judges have enough interaction with travellers at work :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 886 ✭✭✭NasserShammaz

Casey would be wise to wary. wouldn't surprise me if Tubs and RTE stitch him up and pack the audience with Travelers or even invite Mr Connors on and ambush him

No way in hell are halting sites going into Monkstown, there is lots of land in Cherrywood so the council will probably stick a few up there.

No chance , Loads of RTE lushes live there, now its one thing having them on the telly but living near you, one must protest

• Registered Users Posts: 16,888 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Casey would be wise to wary. wouldn't surprise me if Tubs and RTE stitch him up and pack the audience with Travelers or even invite Mr Connors on and ambush him

Isn't Mr Connors finished with trying to make Ireland a better place and leaving?

Glazers Out!

doylefe wrote: »

Just a shout out to watch the greyhound.

There will be nothing like the 23% representation in the audience. All manufactured for WATCH LLS.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

Andy Lee is on the show apparently. RTE wisely keeping John Connors etc off air. I don't think it matters with Casey now, I'm not sure he is going to do much more than what he achieved last week. I do hope he continues to troll people he is quite good at it.

nullzero wrote: »
    Isn't Mr Connors finished with trying to make Ireland a better place and leaving?

Is he completely deluded.

I hope he has left.

Will Margaret Cash and her tribe of angles be on. I hope she brings the father of her children too, I would like a few questions to be put to him.

The dishonesty of those in D4 or equivalent saying YES, NO PROBLEM with Traveller encampments on their doorsteps is just mad.

Most people think the same. But they have no voice.

I absolutely hate that kind of PC nonsense from the SJWs when they know it will never happen to them.

nullzero wrote: »

That would make Ireland a better place, :D

• Registered Users Posts: 4,301 ✭✭✭Homer

Connors is crying over on Twitter about Casey being on the LLS tomorrow.

I thought that whingebag was getting the first plane out of here to pastures greener? Oh wait, it was just more tripe to get a bit of publicity from the dunce.