Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 1,142 ✭✭✭Babooshka

Does anyone know if Casey's claim about Higgins objecting to a temporary halting site near his home are true, are there any facts out there to back it up?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Here we go wrote: »
    Can we put a poll up on who would want a halting site beside them ?

Apart from half a dozen of the usual bleeding hearts on here, the influx of no votes would break the internet quicker than Kim Kardashian's arse.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

alaimacerc wrote: »
    Yes, obviously my "input" as to why Casey's wrong on the facts, and advocating bad public policy -- that's also outside of the role of presidency, mind you -- lacks "substance". What gets the likes on this thread are lurid anecdotes about how terrible Travellers are, and thus how denigrating and mistreating them more is obviously the way forward.

Pretty proud to have zero of that sort of "substance", all right.

Go to any local paper and go through the court reports to see some of those lurid anecdotes.
    Then watch the news on telly of an odd evening to learn of someone murdered at a traveller wedding, a mass riot in a housing estate in a major town, a riot at a horse fair, a mass brawl to settle a family feud, a renowned boxer having his limbs broken because he won't represent his family in a bare knuckle fight linked to a feud, travellers appearing in court charged with robbing and violently attacking old people, families, etc.

Of course to people like you they are lurid anecdotes.

And you have some fecking neck to complain they are the ones being denigrated.
    Bannasidhe wrote: »
    Gosh - isn't it wonderful to see how dislike of a particular section of society and some nonsense phrase about 'acting Irish' (what ever the hell that means) appears to be the criteria we are looking for in a President.

A millionaire 'man of the people' who 'speaks for the ordinary voter' and 'says what the majority are thinking' - wonder where we heard all that before?

All I can say is if the lowest common denominator playbook gets this person elected than thank F he won't have an iota of actual power.

And yet another example of the superiority complex that some have going.
    The unvarnished truth now seems to be lowest common denominator to some.
    Some people can't handle the truth.
    That's a pretty large demographic, all right.

The demographic that have... let's say a range of negative views on Travellers is pretty big, too.

The question is, just how many people are so aggressively proud of themselves for such things, that they want them to be represented in the likes of Peter Casey, as if they were the highest values of the country?

Bit fewer, I'd say.

Has it ever crossed that mind of yours why so many people hold such a range of negative views on travellers ?

Most people are not aggressively proud of being pi**ed off with travellers, but they will aggressively defend the right to be p*ssed off when told they have no right to hold those views by spanners, either on here or in the media, who have no idea of what hassle and treatment they have received from travellers.

EDIT: speaking of court reports voila ...

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/homeless-mumofseven-margaret-cash-appears-in-court-over-stealing-300-worth-of-clothes-from-penneys-37434491.html

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Here we go wrote:
    Can we put a poll up on who would want a halting site beside them ?

Well 5 of the 6 on the debate last night indicated they would be ok with it. Personally I think the 5 of them are liars.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,758 ✭✭✭Laois_Man

I had been determined not to engage in this presidential campaign. But now I find myself getting drawn into it, and it's because of Peter Casey.

Since it's an utterly pointless election, I'm not sure whether that's a complaint or a compliment! It's still pointless!

You have to admit, it's a bit of a masterstroke from his point of view. He knows he's not going to win. But he has managed to increase his profile such that he probably has a real chance of coming second (which mightn't take much) and has done so by identifying a controversial opinion that a sizable chunk will agree with and about a demographic who mostly don't vote.

An entertaining gob****e is still a gob****e tho!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

This was brought up last night, it appeared from what was being said, that only the 2 x females weren't millionaires.

That'd be the patriarchy then.

Cool the cogs, some people are really het up, he's not going to get in*.

I dont actually want him as a president, (although I'd prefer him over all the others bar MickeyD), yet I'll vote for him as a bit of a protest, maybe the political classes might take note. "Many" people are sick to fcuk of the pandering to travellers that goes on.
    Muggeldy was a shoe in.
    This has just made it a bit more interesting.

*He might though, that would be "hillarious"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Nope, only in the confirmation biases of people expecting other people to do mindless donkey work at their beck and call. You go reread this entire sewer, you'll find I'm bang on.

That's not how some of the spoofers have characterised their alleged flutters. And "outside bet" would at the very least imply a chance of winning, and if they think they're getting good value for it, more than a 1 in 300 chance, at that.

As I say, either your colleagues are lying, or they think he's in some sort of contention. Make your own mind up which.

Peter Casey is a 500/1 outside bet. He probably won't win, but he might.

Leicester City were a 5000/1 outside bet the year they shocked the footballing world and won the Premiership.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,775 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

To be honest....this conversation about travelers etc is all a bit pointless in the context of the president - they have very little real power.

I do think a lot of people hold similar views to Casey on this particular issue and I would be one of them.
    I am pretty left wing (I voted for marriage equality, repeal the 8th etc) but on this area I think he has a point.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Which one are you taking about when you say millionaire? Higgins is a millionaire, so is Casey and Duffy. Not sure about Gallagher, Ni Riada and since Freeman had to borrow the money doubtful.

I see only one candidate being lauded here as 'speaking for the majority'.
    Fann Linn wrote: »
    He won't get elected, and I don't expect anyone on here realistically expects him to. But what he said has resonated with many many people.

What is wrong with identifying a project which cost 1.7million and is still lying idle because some 'want more'?

What is wrong with people, in the midst of the worst housing crisis being told you'll get one offer and then down the list ye go?

And I know as Pres, Casey can't fix or resolve the above, however, it might just make the Govt sit up and take notice with all the attention this story is getting.

Worst housing crises - spiraling rents - government inaction - TDs who are private landlords - reliance on private developers to 'fix' the problem - NAMA - lack of local authority housing - ridiculously long turn around time in getting LA stock occupied again.

Why isn't the man of the people talking about that?
    There were many cards he could have played if he wanted to discuss the housing crises. A Royal flush of cards he could have played. He chose one card only. The let's single out a hated group and act like they are the problem.

A traveler family live in private rented house a few doors up from me. Know them by their first names, they’’re quiet, kids go to school, we wave or say hello as we pass each other. They lead their lives and i lead mine and for all intents and purposes we’re equal even though our day to day lives are different.

That’s what Peter Casey said last night. He wants all to be seen as equal. Giving special circumstances to a certain section of society is doing more harm than good as it creates resentment and I agree with him.

He’s getting my vote.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

sightband wrote: »
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election-2018/listen-presidential-candidate-peter-casey-believes-travellers-should-not-be-recognised-as-an-ethnic-minority-37428508.html

Pretty bold statement...not a bad strategy though, unlikely many travellers vote, if any. The vast majority of voters despise them but can’t say as much.

“His comments were last night described by Pavee Point as “ill-informed and grossly insulting and offensive”.

And David Joyce, a member of the Travelling community and the Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission, told the Irish Independent: “He should withdraw from the campaign. He’s shown he’s not fit to represent all the people of Ireland.
    “This man is a racist. He is scapegoating my community.”

What does scapegoating my community mean in relation to his opinion that they should not be recognised as an ethnic minority? In fact what does “scapegoating my community” even mean?

Pat Kenny asked the question would you have a temporary halting site next to your home (to paraphrase).

Not one of the candidates gave a straight yes answer.Very telling in a number of ways.

All we got from them was hackneyed PC waffle and telling people what they wanted to hear without offending.

To be honest I'd rather hear a candidate speak their mind then pander to the feelings of an "ethnic minority". I'm 28 stone. If he called me out for being a fat bastard should I get offended? Absolutely not.

What he said about the house in Tipperary was correct in my view. It certainly wasn't unreasonable.

Plain speaking from a candidate is refreshing whether you agree with them or not. Would I vote for him? Probably not. But that will be based on what he's standing for.

Would I vote against him for saying what he thinks? Absolutely not.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

I know people voting for Muggeldy purely for the day off. if he moves on to the great Aras in the sky while in office

They would be disappointed. If god forbid Michael D should die in office there would not be a public holiday/day of mourning (call it what you want). Erskine Childers died in office back in 1974 and as far as I know there was no public holiday then.

mfceiling wrote: »
    Can you give us examples where "half" (50%) of the fans in this thread have said he will win the election.
    Nobody will win this election except Micheal D.
    Peter Casey has opened up a can of worms here and it's now time to listen to the concerns of the settled community without the "racist" nonsense being bandied about.

I'd be surprised if he could find 1, never mind half.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Bannasidhe wrote:

MDH slogan is" President for us all" . So I guess you are referring to him.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,357 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Peter Casey is a 500/1 outside bet. He probably won't win, but he might.

Leicester City were a 5000/1 outside bet the year they shocked the footballing world and won the Premiership.

Leicester had 10 months to make it happen.

Sadly peter only has a couple of weeks

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭ThunbergsAreGo

That'd be the patriarchy then.

Cool the cogs, some people are really het up, he's not going to get in*.

I dont actually want him as a president, (although I'd prefer him over all the others bar MickeyD), yet I'll vote for him as a bit of a protest, maybe the political classes might take note. "Many" people are sick to fcuk of the pandering to travellers that goes on.
    Muggeldy was a shoe in.
    This has just made it a bit more interesting.

*He might though, that would be "hillarious"

Why Micky D? I ask this genuinely, I dont really know what he has done in 7 years and 14 years in any job is crazy

According to the Times there will be a peaceful protest by travellers in Thrules at 4 pm. I assume they're all getting off work early.

If the govt really wanted to quash protests in this country they could just pay a wage to anyone attending them. Most of the crusties would run a mile from anything classed as work.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

They would be disappointed. If god forbid Michael D should die in office there would not be a public holiday/day of mourning (call it what you want). Erskine Childers died in office back in 1974 and as far as I know there was no public holiday then.

We got about an hour off school on the day Childers was buried.
    Local TV technician rigged up an aerial and brought in a TV.
    Teacher made us sit and watch.
    Not exactly rivitting for an 8 year old!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

Very flustered over the Lear jet to Belfast but car to Derry, uncomfortable when it mentioned he's a landlord. Hey he's a great socialist, just aswell he wasn't asked the rent he charges, one newspaper article claimed 2500 a month. Failed to mention he picks up his NUIG pension of 19 k every year. It's nice to see he's not getting the coronation he thought he was going to get. As said he will probably still win bar a huge upset before Friday. But despite your claim to the contrary he was rattled especially when Duffy told him he had an effective pay of 500k+ a year . Wage plus unvouched expenses of 317k.

It is way too dam easy to show support for the poor and downtrodden when you have half a million a year coming into your bank account from the taxpayer.

Think it was Duffy who mentioned Ivana Bacik should have ran as a labour candidate. For feck sake, she couldn't even get elected in Gilmore's constituency when he got a massive first preference vote. She's nothing but an ideologue. I'm flummoxed how she manages to have such a high profile in public discourse.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Nobody last night called out MDH for claiming to be an Independent candidate

why do all his posters have the labour party logo on them then?

I think he's had a good enough run of it and will be collecting enough pensions when he eventually retires

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭quintana76

Not if the media had any say in it. (As they always do). There probably would be a campaign for a public holiday to mourn the passing of 'their man'. Their long beloved Michael D.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Anyone who lives near a halting site will have numerous complaints about the residents there. They will range from feral children, littering, burglaries of local houses and shops(specifically alcohol theft), stealing of copper, hooking up illegally to electricity supplies,dangerous dogs who no one will claim if someone is badly bitten.

No one but no one and I dont care what the bleeding hearts say here wants a halting site near them. The bleeding hearts most definitely have never met a travellers and they live miles away from halting sites. The halting sites are mostly as I said located in disadvantaged areas because politicans dont live there( they might have property rented in these areas) and neither do the journalists or bleeding heart liberals. These advantaged people use all their connections to make sure nothing develops in their areas, be they accomodation for travellers or migrants or drug clinics or social housing.

RTE have sold a prime site in Donnybrook for 75 million, it would make an ideal location for a halting site so why didnt Michael D come out and pressure the Government to put a halting site there. He is all about using flowery language about travellers but when it comes to actually putting travellers somewhere he isnt so keen. There is plenty of room near the ARAS for travellers and plenty of room for their horses too so why not put a couple of halting sites in there, oh, no, put them in Belgard instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

MDH slogan is" President for us all" . So I guess you are referring to him.

Do stop being disingenuous.
    You can read the posts on this thread as well as I can.

A presidential candidate singled out a hated minority group in Irish society and is being lauded as 'plain speaking', 'saying what the majority thinks' - he played the hate card and folks are tripping over themselves to praise him.

This isn't about Higgins and you well know it. It's about pandering to prejudice. The fact that (apparently) the majority hold that prejudice makes no difference. Once that particular card is played we are on a slippery slope. It's Vote for Me if you don't like this particular group of people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

naughtb4 wrote: »
    Why Micky D? I ask this genuinely, I dont really know what he has done in 7 years and 14 years in any job is crazy

Coz i dont like the others!

Rikand wrote: »
    Leicester had 10 months to make it happen.

Sadly peter only has a couple of weeks

Leicester also had 10 months to lose it. They had to gain more points than every one else after 38 matches regardless of the timeframe.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

Do stop being disingenuous.
    You can read the posts on this thread as well as I can.

A presidential candidate singled out a hated minority group in Irish society and is being lauded as 'plain speaking', 'saying what the majority thinks' - he played the hate card and folks are tripping over themselves to praise him.

This isn't about Higgins and you well know it. It's about pandering to prejudice. The fact that (apparently) the majority hold that prejudice makes no difference. Once that particular card is played we are on a slippery slope. It's Vote for Me if you don't like this particular group of people.

You are aware surely that "prejudice" is defined as "preconceived opinion that is not based on reason or actual experience"

The wording highlighted are why hatred for travellers is NOT based on prejudice.

Worst housing crises - spiraling rents - government inaction - TDs who are private landlords - reliance on private developers to 'fix' the problem - NAMA - lack of local authority housing - ridiculously long turn around time in getting LA stock occupied again.

There were many cards he could have played if he wanted to discuss the housing crises. A Royal flush of cards he could have played. He chose one card only. The let's single out a hated group and act like they are the problem.

By chose, do you mean was asked a question about.

tretorn wrote: »
    Anyone who lives near a halting site will have numerous complaints about the residents there. They will range from feral children, littering, burglaries of local houses and shops(specifically alcohol theft), stealing of copper, hooking up illegally to electricity supplies,dangerous dogs who no one will claim if someone is badly bitten.

No one but no one and I dont care what the bleeding hearts say here wants a halting site near them. The bleeding hearts most definitely have never met a travellers and they live miles away from halting sites. The halting sites are mostly as I said located in disadvantaged areas because politicans dont live there( they might have property rented in these areas) and neither do the journalists or bleeding heart liberals. These advantaged people use all their connections to make sure nothing develops in their areas, be they accomodation for travellers or migrants or drug clinics or social housing.

RTE have sold a prime site in Donnybrook for 75 million, it would make an ideal location for a halting site so why didnt Michael D come out and pressure the Government to put a halting site there. He is all about using flowery language about travellers but when it comes to actually putting travellers somewhere he isnt so keen. There is plenty of room near the ARAS for travellers and plenty of room for their horses too so why not put a couple of halting sites in there, oh, no, put them in Belgard instead.

The garda headquarters is in the park. God forbid that the gardai ever got up off their arses and do a bit of work if the travellers ever moved in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

WAs there ever an inquest into the fire at the Ballyogan Halting Site, it claimed the lives of very young children.

I would like to know how the fire started, does anyone know.

The Gardai cant do a thing about the travellers, if they do Pavee Point etc will be up on their soapbox shouting about racism.

What really annoys me is Pavee point never have any criticism to make of members of their community who are caught red handed beating up old people in their homes. These same spokespeople are now demanding PC stand down because he spoke the truth, it would make you sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

I see a contemporary example of a €1.7,000,000 development and the 'special cases' demanding more.