Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

pjohnson wrote: »
    Theres still a market of voters that would wet themselves to vote for him if he did.

I wouldn’t exactly wet myself but it would certainly further cement my reasons for voting for him.

Especially when Leo’s telling me who I should and shouldn’t vote for..

Leo’s a proven liar. Casey has the balls to actually say what he thinks..

The rest of them are falling over each other trying to be more PC then the next guy..

It fluckin sickens me..PC my ar5e..

Give me directness and honesty any day of the week.

Best poll of the lot is Paddy Power, he very rarely gets anything wrong imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭vonlars

It's only 'not racist' if you pretend that they aren't a distinct ethnic group.

The thing is though, it's actually not racist.

What are your opinions on the Padraig Nally case? Think he should have been found guilty? Think it's alright for our elderly in rural Ireland to live in fear in their own homes?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,177 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

It's only 'not racist' if you pretend that they aren't a distinct ethnic group.

According to every modern definition, I personally am an ethnically distinct grouping, a "race" if you will. It is therefore, by the very logic of you and those like you, an act of racialism to call me an arsehole or indeed to not pander to my every whim.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    That doesn't answer what I asked you, again where is the racism in the comment you responded to?

I'm surprised that you think that doesn't answer what you asked me. The poster equated 'being a Traveller' with 'not paying taxes, scrounging off the rest of us and robbing rural Ireland blind'. I don't think this requires further explanation, tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If the "being taken out of school in early teens" part can be rectified (and if additional educational supports provided to travellers, but withdrawn during the recession, can be reinstated), a lot (if not all) of those other problems you've mentioned can resolve themselves. An increasing number of Travellers are remaining in the education system, and going on to third level, but it's not easy for them. I know of two Travellers who have/are studying for PhDs and they're still Travellers and are still keenly aware of their culture. It won't just magically happen though... Comments like Peter Casey's offer more heat than light. Bashing and further marginalising Travellers, and making sweeping generalisations about them, might be somehow 'satisfying' to you and others, but it will achieve nothing.

Bullshyte to part in bold.

I remember travellers in school in the 1980s.
    They hardly attended and there were no repercussions.

And no one gave them agro because they were afraid of them, so it wasn't as if they were bullied out of the place.

And yet more and more funding has been given to them in the 90s, in the 2000s long before there were any cutbacks and yet it is the same old story.

And the attacks on elderly people living alone, the thefts, the feuding fights at funerals and wedding have continued and it even appears have gotten worse over the years, yet more funding is given to quangoes and NGO's to supposedly improve things.

FFS enough is enough.

What was wrong with Caesy's comments, he called a fooking spade a spade.
    He uttered what the vast majority of people, who have had negative dealings with travellers, actually think.

Why doesn't the pro traveller people and groups ever ask why exactly does a huge chunk of the general public have such negative views of travellers ?

Last night on one of the current affairs shows a spokesperson for Pavee Point admitted there were issues with high criminality in traveller community, but then basically said it was society's fault.
    Even worse that self entitled wan o'callaghan just let it slide when she should have challenged him straight up.

One thing has to be said, Casey has caused a light to be shone on a section of Irish society that gets away with bloody murder, literally in some cases, and the powers that be, the media lefties and the chattering twittering liberals don't like it one bit.

That alone is worth a vote.

I am not allowed discuss …

...The poster equated 'being a Traveller' with 'not paying taxes, scrounging off the rest of us and robbing rural Ireland blind'....

I cannot possibly fathom where that idea might have come from...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

jimgoose wrote: »
    According to every modern definition, I personally am an ethnically distinct grouping, a "race" if you will. It is therefore, by the very logic of you and those like you, an act of racialism to call me an arsehole or indeed to not pander to my every whim.

When the large African "lady" on the train platform recently barrelled into me and then called me a "stupid fat white Irish bitch" when I said "oy watch where you're f**king going" the outrage was muted, to say the least.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

vonlars wrote: »
    The thing is though, it's actually not racist.

What are your opinions on the Padraig Nally case? Think he should have been found guilty? Think it's alright for our elderly in rural Ireland to live in fear in their own homes?

There should be an amnesty for any situation where a traveler gets shot while either robbing from or attempting to rob from someone else’s property.

I'm surprised that you think that doesn't answer what you asked me. The poster equated 'being a Traveller' with 'not paying taxes, scrounging off the rest of us and robbing rural Ireland blind'. I don't think this requires further explanation, tbh.

So the majority don't then ? #deluded

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

I tell you why it doesn't because nothing of what the commentator said is racist, an inflammatory generalisation prehaps but again not racist. You clearly haven't a clue what the difference between ethnicity and race is. Travellers are a different ethnic group because of culture and descent but still Irish. It's absolutely disgusting that the term racist has been hijacked by bigots who wish to close down any debate. Bigot = an individual who dismisses the opinion of others, sound familiar?

When the large African "lady" on the train platform recently barrelled into me and then called me a "stupid fat white Irish bitch" when I said "oy watch where you're f**king going" the outrage was muted, to say the least.

Oh good lantherin' Jaysis can you imagine that the other way about... :pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

And was she running for President? You should at least talk to Joe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭Dr Brown

If Travellers are an "ethnic minority" then we can also say that the Hutch and Kinahan gangs are also "ethnic minorities" with their unique criminal "culture".

• Registered Users Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Rennaws wrote: »
    There should be an amnesty for any situation where a traveler gets shot while either robbing from or attempting to rob from someone else’s property.

That should apply to anyone, not just a traveller.

You see like Casey I believe in equality.

Any fooker that breaks into one's property to steal and possibly carry out violence should suffer the consequences.

For too long it was a joke where they could sue the person who they attacked if they got injured.

I am not allowed discuss …

I tell you why it doesn't because nothing of what the commentator said is racist, an inflammatory generalisation prehaps but again not racist. You clearly haven't a clue what the difference between ethnicity and race is. Travellers are a different ethnic group because of culture and descent but still Irish. It's absolutely disgusting that the term racist has been hijacked by bigots who wish to close down any debate. Bigot = an individual who dismisses the opinion of others, sound familiar?

Semantics aside, would you at least agree that their inflammatory generalisation about an ethnic group is equivalent to racism?

jimgoose wrote: »
    Oh good lantherin' Jaysis can you imagine that the other way about... :pac::pac::pac:

Sadly yeah!

And was she running for President? You should at least talk to Joe.

Nah she was running for the 5.10pm to Athlone I think.

Semantics aside, would you at least agree that their inflammatory generalisation about an ethnic group is equivalent to racism?

#BEEP BEEP BEEP

This opinion is reversing....!

#BEEP BEEP BEEP

This opinion is reversing....!

Not really, I'm just trying to find some common ground between my position and that of the poster I was quoting.

Can we have some facts here to back up your claim that what I said was an 'inflammatory generalisation'? I've given figures - why don't you show us where you get your ideas from?

vonlars wrote: »
    Can we have some facts here to back up your claim that what I said was an 'inflammatory generalisation'? I've given figures - why don't you show us where you get your ideas from?

You'll have to ask Hitman3000; those were his words.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

I'd urge everyone on here to email his campaign and encourage him to stay in.

Do you have an email address?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

So now to suit your argument you want to redefine what racism means and to give it an equivalent. Have the decency to admit when you are wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

AllForIt wrote: »
    https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/presidential-election-2018/peter-casey-suspends-campaign-for-presidency-following-controversial-traveller-comments-37437133.html

Sadly Casey has suspended his campaign. He must have realized he was going to win and didn't really want it.

edit: bit confused as to if he actually has now as artical says further down she's taking the weekend to think about it.

Suspended til Monday when hopefully he'll reflect on the public support and continue on with it.

The media and the govts cosy relationship is fairly evident here.

Various media outlets tripped over themselves to keep the negative outlook surrounding your woman Cash in the headlines recently, (IMO) because it suited the narrative that "all these people want free gaffs" and it suited the govt who needed a poster boy/girl to throw dirt and muddy the waters surrounding the housing and homeless crises.

Now Casey is being portrayed by the very same media in cahoots with Leo and the lads that he's a "racist" for calling on people to be given equal status , and the Taoiseach trying to influence how people vote is, if you don't mind me saying so, a load of cock.

Leo and the lads have decided Mickey should be given the keys of the big gaff in the park for another 7 years, and they're indulging in every dirty trick imaginable to ensure it happens, including insinuating a man is racist for calling for equality.

I wasn't sure how I was casting my vote, but in light of this load of nonsense and interference, I'm giving Casey my number 1.

Let's hope more people do likewise. Leo needs the message drove home.

• Registered Users Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

He will get a vote from me

Same, he brings up a good point that most folk are too afraid to even mention.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,322 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    Same, he brings up a good point that most folk are too afraid to even mention.

Really? You honestly think people are too frightened to complain about travellers in Ireland?

Because it seems to me like there's no fear whatsoever in people whinging about travellers, particularly here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭EdgeCase

I was walking along a footpath on street in Dublin and a guy on a bike suddenly ran into me and told me to "watch where the f*** you're gong you dozy ****"
    I said "you're on a footpath .. you know for PEDESTRIANS ..."
    He said : "***** and ****"

I'm sure it was 100% to do with him being a redhead with a particular accent and not anything to do with him being a complete asshat.

Oddly enough asshats come in lots of different varieties, hair colours, genders, races, heights, but they have one thing in common : asshattery.

So now to suit your argument you want to redefine what racism means and to give it an equivalent. Have the decency to admit when you are wrong.

I'm just trying to meet you in the middle, because semantic arguments are very dull and I'm more interested in expressing an opinion than 'winning' any argument. We agree that it was an inflammatory generalisation. I'm sure we can also agree that an inflammatory generalisation based on ethnicity is equivalent to one based on race.

You'll have to ask Hitman3000; those were his words.

Ok, seeing as you struggle so much with this I'll break it down for you.

93% of travellers do not work. Fact. Source: https://www.cso.ie/en/csolatestnews/presspages/2017/census2016profile8-irishtravellersethnicityandreligion/

The rest of them do not live on thin air. They claim welfare from the State. Welfare comes from taxpayers. The 2,000 travellers that work do not provide enough to cover the other 28,000. Basic maths on that one.

Because of this, they don't want to be their own society. If they were their own society it would fail because they couldn't support themselves. Instead, they want to be classed as an ethnic minority in Irish society so they can continue to claim their welfare from our government and our taxpayers.

They account for 0.6% of the population yet make up 22% and 15% of the female and male prison populations respectively. Source: https://www.ssgt.ie/wp-content/uploads/2017/11/TPI-Ethnic-Identifiers-in-Irish-Prisons-Book.pdf

Now, can you point out where I was being racist in my original comment?