Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 3,809 ✭✭✭CerebralCortex

Debussy wrote: »
    I cringe every time someone says travellers are victims of racism. White people CANNOT EXPERIENCE RACISM.

Really, really wish people would learn this basic fact.

Yes they can.

• Registered Users Posts: 68,838 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

JeffKenna wrote: »
    You obviously aren't living in a rural area.

I live in a small town of 2000 people, which is renowned as a stopping off point for travellers. We have some trouble with them, but 99% of the time they come and go without incident.

So tell us, how many settled people where 'killed' that made yer man sure they were coming back to kill him, so he used the ultimate sanction as they left the scene?

I have no doubt they were up to no good btw.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

They have special ethnicity status' the last time I looked.
    Ethnicity and race are not the same thing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

If he bows out it will be an hilarious count, and a great opportunity for a protest vote.

The PR system will be in meltdown. Quotas all over the place. I think it would be great if he stood down, not because of anything he did or said or was bullied about, but the mayhem that could ensue :p
    Rennaws wrote: »
    It was all so predictable and boring this time last week..

Who would have guessed it would get so interesting..

I really hope he doesn’t step down but I agree, it would make a farce of it and the system..

Would be funny to watch if he got strong support..

Even if Casey stops his campaign, the fact that his name will still be on the ballot paper means that the actual counting of votes will go on as if nothing had happened. In theory Casey could still be elected as President, whether or not the other candidates would challenge the result or if Casey himself would decline is another matter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

No. Racism = power and privilege. Travellers are white and as such cannot not claim to experience racism.

True. This is a fact. They are white skinned and benefit from white supremacy.

Hitman3000 wrote: »

From the UN:

the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin that has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭vonlars

I live in a small town of 2000 people, which is renowned as a stopping off point for travellers. We have some trouble with them, but 99% of the time they come and go without incident.

So tell us, how many settled people where 'killed' that made yer man sure they were coming back to kill him, so he used the ultimate sanction as they left the scene?

Are you for fcuking real?

How would you like to be an elderly man, living alone after being robbed numerous times by this animal? Would you not be scared they were going to come back in the middle of the night?

Go and have a quick google for yourself. See the fear they put into people. You have no doubt they were up to no good, but sure that's grand. Let them at it, it is their culture after all :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,561 ✭✭✭JeffKenna

How praytell would you get stats on settled people murdered by travellers?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

I think you're very out of touch with reality if you believe that.

That's an odd response to someone who suggested agreeing to disagree.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭vonlars

From the UN:

the term "racial discrimination" shall mean any distinction, exclusion, restriction, or preference based on race, colour, descent, or national or ethnic origin that has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of human rights and fundamental freedoms in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.

Their ethnic origin is Irish. Their genes are Irish.

How praytell would you get stats on settled people murdered by travellers?

Well you should know... you claimed he was 'sure' they were coming back to kill him.

How was he 'sure'?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,971 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Paging Paul McGrath

Debussy wrote:
    And what coulour are Irish people? Oh yeah, white.

There are several race types of Irish, predominantly Caucasian which travellers are part of whether they wish to admit it or not.

vonlars wrote: »
    Are you for fcuking real?

How would you like to be an elderly man, living alone after being robbed numerous times by this animal? Would you not be scared they were going to come back in the middle of the night?

Go and have a quick google for yourself. See the fear they put into people. You have no doubt they were up to no good, but sure that's grand. Let them at it, it is their culture after all :rolleyes:

Any criminal will put the fear into people.
    Are there criminals preying on the old in settled communities? Why, yes there are.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

From the UN:

Race is a biological thing. Bone density, hair growth pattern, facial features, Skull size, health issues etc.

Travellers like most native Europeans are classified Causcoid. Skin tones vary across the race, Most Middle Easterners and Indians are also caucasian.

An ethnic group within a race is a different thing and it's true of course that ethnic groups can experience discrimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

They're no more a separate ethnic group than people from leitrim

• Registered Users Posts: 19,218 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

And what coulour are Irish people? Oh yeah, white.

Not all of them.
    Irish people come in variety of colours. Just ask Paul McGrath. Or Simon Zebo.
    A study carried out by the Royal College of Surgeons and the University of Edinburgh revealed last month that that Irish Travellers emerged as a distinct ethnic group long before the Great Famine. The study found that while Travellers originally descended from the general Irish population, they are now very distinct from it.

The research suggests that Traveller origins may in fact date as far back as 420 years to 1597, while the author of the study said travellers are today more genetically different from the settled Irish as are the Spanish.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/q-a-what-does-ethnic-recognition-mean-for-irish-travellers-1.2993526

• Registered Users Posts: 1,255 ✭✭✭DavidLyons_

DChancer wrote: »
    Really enjoyed listening to this racist egomaniac buffoon squirm and whine on today's Radio 1 news.
    Still spouting his vicious bile while at the same time trying to play the victim.
    Few things more enjoyable than the sight of a pig roasting in its own juices lol
    Wow
    What a stupid statement.
    I mean so stupid it defies belief
    Wow
    What a stupid statement.
    I mean so stupid it defies belief.

The were assigned special “ethnic” status despite the wishes of a large portion of the population. They aren’t recognised as a separate race.

Their fellow, white Irish people are not subjecting them to racism when they object to their criminal, anti-social, degenerate “culture”.

Some real morons riding around on their high horses accusing the man in the wrong of being racist for stating facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Any criminal will put the fear into people.
    Are there criminals preying on the old in settled communities? Why, yes there are.

The question is are there proportionally more or less criminals in the travelling community, than the remainder of the population?

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Travellers are now as genetically different from the settled Irish as are the Spanish, he said. And if the small Traveller population is taken into account, they are still as different from the Irish as are the Scots.

“Travellers cluster with the Irish but they are very definitely distinct from the Irish. There is a considerable genetic distance between them.”

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/science/travellers-as-genetically-different-from-settled-irish-as-spanish-1.2969515

If you are going to debate this please please educate yourself?

nice_guy80 wrote:

They are a separate ethnicity as they have their own culture and the older generation had their own language" Cant", I doubt the younger generations can speak it but despite the racism card constantly being played they are Caucasian Irish and it ain't racist to point out the issues with these members of our nation.

If you are going to debate this please please educate yourself?

Are you going to ignore the culture of intermarrying and the effect it has on the gene pool of a core group?

Is this the 'plague' that keeps being referred to? Travellers killing members of the settled community? Is that what makes you so sure 'he was coming back to KILL him'?

I'm away off to Google to find the stats on travellers KILLING settled people. How many instances do you think I will find? :rolleyes:

Put this one on your list of stats. This scum doesn’t deserve to be part of the human race.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/jury-convicts-man-of-raping-and-murdering-schoolgirl-17-26083869.html

Then google his address and surname to see what the rest of his family are like.

The question is are there proportionally more or less criminals in the travelling community, than the remainder of the population?

As a ratio, yes, of course there would be.
    But there are reasons for that. (Not excuses, before the fulminators start the fulminating.) Reasons, which would be similar to high crime levels among other discriminated and oppressed groups around the world.

nice_guy80 wrote: »

But I am special :(

Put this one on your list of stats. This scum doesn’t deserve to be part of the human race.

https://www.google.ie/amp/s/amp.independent.ie/irish-news/jury-convicts-man-of-raping-and-murdering-schoolgirl-17-26083869.html

Then google his address and surname to see what the rest of his family are like.

Ah, can we have a game of cherrypicking settled versus traveller crime? Is that going to add anything to the debate do you think?
    We will try and outdo one another in depravity and violence...eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

Are you going to ignore the culture of intermarrying and the effect it has on the gene pool of a core group?

Innit funny how come it's never mentioned why they are genetically different?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,395 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

As a ratio, yes, of course there would be.
    But there are reasons for that. (Not excuses, before the fulminators start the fulminating.) Reasons, which would be similar to high crime levels among other discriminated and oppressed groups around the world.

Is the animal abuse and sulky racing on the N20 a result of discrimination too?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,039 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

It's their culture

Doesn't matter how many lives they put at risk that day the race was going ahead

Ah, can we have a game of cherrypicking settled versus traveller crime? Is that going to add anything to the debate do you think?
    We will try and outdo one another in depravity and violence...eh?

What the **** is your problem? Did you or did you not say you were off to find stats on travelers killing settles people?

Just a poor schoolgirl raped and murdered but you couldn’t even acknowledge a heinous crime.