Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Peter Casey believes Travellers should not be recognised as an ethnic minority

• Registered Users Posts: 30,541 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

https://www.bbc.com/ne...nd-politics-45928722

PSNI set the record straight and deny Higgins story that they were involved in giving security advice to use the jet to Belfast.

Add it to the list!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I'll think I'll give him a number 2 vote for saying what he thinks.

None of this PC claptrap anymore.

I dont know which of the other idiots to give a number one vote to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

None

• Registered Users Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Hitman3000 wrote: »
    Higgins looked like a fool when he stated that he had driven to Derry a few weeks earlier. Higgins likes the lifestyle and doesn't want to give it up. His behaviour in announcing his intention to run again despite his earlier claim of only seeking one term, was designed to frustrate a proper contest.
    Typical lefty liberal. Same as Robinson. The elite lead the good life talking ****e while the great unwashed pay for it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,750 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Will be interesting if that story ever appears on RTE.

There's a way more interesting story than that floating around about our beloved president!

Not a chance of any media outlets running with it though...

• Registered Users Posts: 15,958 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Sorry, I will probably be carded for this, but I really cannot help myself at this stage.

There is a poster on this thread who has been posting here non stop for (it seems like) all day every day and night since the Casey story broke.

I would wonder how they find the time! Boards is great craic, but not all the time! Some committment there....

padd b1975 wrote: »
    There's a way more interesting story than that floating around about our beloved president!

Ah we all know about that by now. Sorry not having a go at you, but it's common knowledge to many at this stage. I will say no more :P

Go on, give him a number one. Why not? That vote will go to the second preference by the looks of things on distribution of either Casey's surplus or elimination.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Journal.ie running with it now.

Beeeeautiful.

Sorry, I will probably be carded for this, but I really cannot help myself at this stage.

There is a poster on this thread who has been posting here non stop for (it seems like) all day every day and night since the Casey story broke.

I would wonder how they find the time! Boards is great craic, but not all the time! Some committment there....

You're ranked 7th in this thread as a contributor- not a small amount of posts yourself, considering you posted 3 times here now, in just a few minutes?:p

Thanks love.

I post when I have a bit of free time to chat and rant. It is not all day and night though!

Glad you had the time to check me out. I wouldn't even know where to find that information, maybe you could enlighten me. :D

Journal.ie running with it now.

Beeeeautiful.

I don't think that's the story the other poster meant. But maybe it is.

Anyway, aren't the Prez elections much more interesting than the Dail TD ones? Probably because it is more concentrated on a few candidates rather than hundreds of potholers around the country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Edgware wrote: »
    Higgins looked like a fool when he stated that he had driven to Derry a few weeks earlier. Higgins likes the lifestyle and doesn't want to give it up. His behaviour in announcing his intention to run again despite his earlier claim of only seeking one term, was designed to frustrate a proper contest.
    Typical lefty liberal. Same as Robinson. The elite lead the good life talking ****e while the great unwashed pay for it
    If you think right wingers are all about giving you money and spreading the wealth, you may be in for a letdown.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

hawkelady wrote: »
    Listen up francie...... Casey was asked when he was in tipp did he want to meet with the travellers and his reply was “ I don’t want to intrude on them, they know that I’m here and I’m more than happy to meet with them if they come up to me “

That was a fair comment. Of course the pikies didn’t come up to him cause they would probably be found out by brandishing slash hooks etc.
    I’m getting fairly sick of your tripe francie.. you never let up with your ****e !

I have listened to that interview also, and yes I can back this statement up, P Casey is very upset to be called racist,
    I have heard everything Mr Casey said, and there was nothing racist about him,
    He is for equality, for everyone
    I agree with him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Edgware wrote:

In fairness Robinson did some good. She highlighted the plight of Somalia when the west did not give a flying f**k. Can't think of any thing about Higgins tenure in office that I would put in the same category.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,671 ✭✭✭dav3

Billy86 wrote: »
    If you think right wingers are all about giving you money and spreading the wealth, you may be in for a letdown.

Shh, don't ruin the dream. Peter Casey flying around Ireland in his helicopter, looking down on the common folk, is a true man of the people.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Said this elsewhere but perhaps this is relevant here. Ask yourself why Travellers seem to be so widely disliked or distrusted by a lot of people. People say ''racism'' but if everyone is so racist, why are the same comments not so easily found about,say, Chinese people? Could it be because Chinese folks over here mostly just get on with life, education, work and don't cause havoc disproportionately to their numbers? Where do you think these reputations come from for Travelling people. Are they just conjured up from nowhere?

I'd like to see an Ireland that some day, accepts the legislative structure that has been afforded to travellers, and put into real-life action, that supports that community and brings traveller and non-traveller communities closer together.

But we're a very long way from that day and I'm not sure it will ever happen. It will take an enormous amount of work, effort, faith, disappointment, money, will, encouragement, commitment and change management to make that a reality.

There will always be an excuse- Health Service, Infrastructure, Elderly, Education, Pensions- you name it- there will always be a political excuse.

I truly believe that most of the traveller community are good people but extremely disadvantaged and so reflect the challenges of extremely disadvantaged people in the settled community- but like them, with a good education and proper supports, they could change over the very long term.

But just like people in the settled community who are extremely disadvantaged, the odds are stacked against them.

I don't think that's the story the other poster meant. But maybe it is.

Anyway, aren't the Prez elections much more interesting than the Dail TD ones? Probably because it is more concentrated on a few candidates rather than hundreds of potholers around the country.

When the next general election come up.
    A lot will hinge on how they are reacting to this Presidential election

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

Higgins is the embodiment of the worst kind of Middle Class "Socialist".

Happy to pontificate, happy to shame others but never really went out of his way to get his hands dirty at the coalface in dealing with social deprivation in this country.

Wants the lifestyle afforded to the political class though....with the fat pay cheques and fat pensions.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,023 ✭✭✭willowthewisp

Is that the one a certain world renowned publication had to retract and make an apology over a few years ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,322 ✭✭✭eeepaulo

But we're a very long way from that day and I'm not sure it will ever happen. It will take an enormous amount of work, effort, faith, disappointment, money, will, encouragement, commitment and change management to make that a reality.

There's the main issue

From what I can gather the council came to them about re-housing them. They were not homeless, they lived where they were for 50 yrs or more.

Had they not applied to have a house from the council in first place.
    Are they happy with their present place of residence,
    I am guessing they are, since they have been 50 yrs residing there.

You say, they are not homeless.
    What gave the council the idea they are homeless

Higgins is the embodiment of the worst kind of Middle Class "Socialist".

Happy to pontificate, happy to shame others but never really went out of his way to get his hands dirty at the coalface in dealing with social deprivation in this country.

Wants the lifestyle afforded to the political class though....with the fat pay cheques and fat pensions.

Even though a couple of media outlets have reported this trip up North, will be interesting to see if RTE do the same.

After listening to Aine Lawlor interviewing Casey on Friday, seems to me that the Establishment are in FG/Confidence and Supply Government's pockets, and it's MDH for the win whether we like it or not.

Latest on RTE website anyway FWIW.

https://www.rte.ie/news/2018/1020/1005541-presidential-poll/

Thanks love.

I post when I have a bit of free time to chat and rant. It is not all day and night though!

Glad you had the time to check me out. I wouldn't even know where to find that information, maybe you could enlighten me. :D

very simple- just click on the replies section of the AH home page against the particular thread. It's all there. Absolutely no need to click on your profile at all. :)

But considering that you made the comment around how much certain posters were posting on this thread, in the first place, I think you know that anyway. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭The high horse brigade

It's more spin, the poll was up to 16th, comments from PC were on 17th

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,596 ✭✭✭Hitman3000

Latest on RTE website anyway FWIW.

Poll was taken between the 5th and 16th of Oct. Casey's remarks were on the 17th. I doubt he will be last after the amount of support his comments have gained.

very simple- just click on the replies section of the AH home page against the particular thread. It's all there. Absolutely no need to click on your profile at all. :)

But considering that you made the comment around how much certain posters were posting on this thread, in the first place, I think you know that anyway. :)

Ah lookit, I wasn't having a go at you at all. I just noticed a particular poster's name coming up when scrolling through the thread earlier. Fair play. I think s/he's having his/her dinner now though. LOL.

Agreed. We'll drop it. it's not relevant to the thread anyway. Back to posting about non-PC- PC and PC non-PC issues :p

Re the RTE poll, my point was that the Establishment is deflecting and making positive noises, even though we all know that the poll was taken before Casey's comments.

They want to brainwash us now. Sad isn't it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭Royal Legend

eeepaulo wrote: »
    There's the main issue

A few weeks ago a vocal spokesperson for the traveler community called the Garda scum, no national news outlet pulled him up on it

the other day one of the main spokesperson for Pavee point stated on RTE that it was Irish societies fault that there was a disproportionate amount of travelers in Irish prisons and again no one pulled him up on it

Thats not been treated as equal, thats been treated differently to the rest of us, give people an inch, they take a mile.

By the way, I know plenty of decent travelers, but just as many scummy ones as well, with a chip on their shoulder and some with no respect for the law in this country