Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Registered Users Posts: 409 ✭✭holliehobbie

I didn't think they paid insurance or tax?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

I didn't think they paid insurance or tax?

They'll get it when they need it, for staged crashes - thus why it is so difficult to insure cars over 10 years old - travellers taking out insurance for crashes.

And when it's a txi, they don't need to even do that.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

sexmag wrote: »
    Also it's not hate or racist to point these things out.

What would be racist or hate is if people started saying "I f**king hate travellers, I wish they would die,im going to hurt them etc"

We are not and I for one actually wouldn't condone that behaviour and would actively discourage it,regardless of how I feel about travellers.

To point out an ethinc groups statistically proven facts is not racist dispite how unbecoming they are for that group

Tbf sexmag, not you but plenty have suggested killing them all off like you would rats so there is some of that going on. Maybe you haven't read them all but I certainly have and it just makes my stomach feel queasy when that sort of crap comes out of peoples mouths/keyboards.

KrustyUCC wrote: »
    Margaret shared this post

Guests on new Traveller-led channel to include Peter Casey

Presidential candidate saw popularity rise after controversial remarks about Traveller culture

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/guests-on-new-traveller-led-channel-to-include-peter-casey-1.3778097

Of course the article is written by Kitty Holland one of the guests on the show

Vincent Browne's quotes are interesting

Danged racist society

Browne said racism against Travellers was “almost part of the DNA of the settled community”

Aha

Nothing to do with traveller behaviour

I think that article makes some good points especially regarding the four young men who died in a crash in Donegal. Is anyone saying "ah sure it's all their own fault for speeding/drink driving/driving a banger?

Nope, I haven't heard one person say that even though it may be true.

Just seen her latest post on Facebook. Mother of sweet divine Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Well what does it say?

BBFAN wrote: »
    I think that article makes some good points especially regarding the four young men who died in a crash in Donegal. Is anyone saying "ah sure it's all their own fault for speeding/drink driving/driving a banger?

Knowing something to be true and suspecting it are two very different things. The drink/drugs/chip pan stuff only came out at the inquest.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Well what does it say?

It’s not what it says.

Knowing something to be true and suspecting it are two very different things. The drink/drugs/chip pan stuff only came out at the inquest.

Are you saying that no-one blamed the travellers before the inquest?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Wow, didn't realise that moutpiece Brown was so pro-Travellers, going by his comments that it's ingrained into our DNA. It's not Vincent, their actions change the way we think. Prior to becoming a Garda around 2006, I didn't really have an opinion of them. Never had any real encounters with them aside from 1 time around 2006 just before becoming a Garda, driving through Limerick up Thomas St. A red hi-ace pulled out right in front of me, nearly hit me, I had to brake hard and steer left to avoid hitting him. He was coming out of a car park. I stood on the horn, and this big thick fat Traveller got out, pulled a wheel brace out of the drivers side pocket and started coming towards me. Needless to say I ****ing took off. Could have hit him, no idea if I did. Suppose that was me being racist, now that I think back....

But, that was 1 occurrence which didn't paint a picture for me. Then I became a Garda, and you might argue that I only saw the negative side of them. I'll argue, 13 years on, that there is no positive side, but I'm jumping ahead. My first encounter happened to be due to a fued, 2 families living in separate halting sites on the outskirts of the city decided they didn't like each other very much and started hacking at each other with slash hooks, baseball bats, hurleys, sickles, the usual stuff you'd just have lying around. A few of them nearly died, one lost most fingers on one hand, another has a beautiful battle scar running from just over his right eye back over the hear to the centre of his neck. Lucky it was a sickle, if it was a straight blade it would have gone through his skull. So we spent the following 4 months manning permanent checkpoints at the entrance to the 2 halting sites. 4 Gardaí for 16 hours a day, and 2 for 8 hours at night. Include the Gardaí required to cover breaks, and you get an idea of how many it took to ensure these 'people' didn't murder each other.

After that, we had the usual run ins, begging for money (begging = threatening old people), pulling their caravans and cars up on whatever bit of land they can find, robbing Pennys blind, the younger members of the community hung out around the pubs at closing and literally started hitting random people as they walked by. One laid a young fella out right in front of me, looked at me, started laughing and ran. I laughed as I knew who he was and arrested him about 10 minutes after he went to sleep at his house. Then I had the 'head' of the main crime family in the traveller community literally tell me that they do all this because they don't get pulled for it, the courts leave them off. He laughed at us every time we had to speak to him.

Oh, and the 'tradition' of calling everyone after their father, so they're all John, and it's a game of Where's Johnny when trying to find the John that's involved - 'Oh that must be me cousin Johnny, he left a few months back, don't know where he went'.

So experience of nothing but criminality has skewed my view. I quit the Gardaí after nearly 10 years (couldn't recommend to stay away from a job more than this one), and I can hand on heart say that Travellers have painted themselves in a negative light for me. Any prejudice or 'racism' ( :rolleyes: ) is well warranted due to my interactions with this minority.

Actually, I have red hair and blue eyes, the rarest combination on earth. Pretty sure I'm a smaller minority than travellers. So you can't say anything negative about me, or it's racism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

There was many critics asking why so many of those type of accidents happen in Donegal, asking if it was something to do with the culture there. Not in this thread, but in another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

God help us with the posing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,303 ✭✭✭sexmag

It’s not what it says.

The kids heading to the disco?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭bada_bing

oh jesus!!! i just vommed in my mouth a bit!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Yeah exactly

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

All part of her plan to be a grandmother in her early 30s

sexmag wrote: »
    The kids heading to the disco?

Aye, but how old is that girl and wtf is that posing about? I’m no prude, far from it, but she’s a little girl. Not a tart. Why (a) dress like that and (b) pose like that.

Ah lads, for those of us who don't obsessively follow Ms Cash the last few posts have meant nothing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,139 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Aye, but how old is that girl and wtf is that posing about? I’m no prude, far from it, but she’s a little girl. Not a tart. Why (a) dress like that and (b) pose like that.

And (c) put it on a public profile

i hate to say it but if we saw a young girl dressed and posing like Margaret Cash's daughter, anyone would think the poor girl was being groomed by a pervert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,308 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Ah lads, for those of us who don't obsessively follow Ms Cash the last few posts have meant nothing?

She's uploaded about 20 photos of her angles ready for the disco. 4 young fellas with jeans/shirts and her daughter who looks about 12? and is dressed up like a little tart.

Clarification, I'm not calling the child a tart, I'm saying she has been dressed up like one.

Like many other traveller girls she probably is being groomed to marry her older cousin.

tuxy wrote: »
    Like many other traveller girls she probably is being groomed to marry her older cousin.

Probably one they’re going to the disco with!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭Doc Farrell

Last night , a few minutes after closing at 10pm , Northpoint NCT was broken into. They used a kango hammer to bust through a wall. That’s a half dozen times I know about that the NCT has been busted into. Try driving by when exhausts are being ripped off bangers just outside. Before Christmas the man who sells coffee there had his daily takings of 80 euro robbed. They ran off laughing. Tip of the iceberg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

“Beautiful Margaret gnu she the very act same of you margaret”

That’s her fecked the poor girl.

Also, lol at gnu.

She's uploaded about 20 photos of her angles ready for the disco. 4 young fellas with jeans/shirts and her daughter who looks about 12? and is dressed up like a little tart.

Clarification, I'm not calling the child a tart, I'm saying she has been dressed up like one.

The oldest is 12, I think the girl can't be more than 10 :eek:

that's what i was thinking too, very sad to see a young girl brought up that way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I'm no fan of the Cash clan but I'd say its a school disco, my daughters own national school had them.

I do agree that the young girl is posing very provocatively, inappropriate for social media but alot of the time these young wans copy Kardashians etc and try the duck pout - looks ridiculous but young wans are easily fooled to follow so called celebrity culture.

Just as an aside, I never put any pictures up, ever, of my daughter on social media and she's now 17. Its her image not mine to shove all over the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭Odelay

For those of us not on Facebook, can you post a screen shot? What are we talking about?

bada_bing wrote: »
    that's what i was thinking too, very sad to see a young girl brought up that way.

Socialist intellectual Bernard Sweeney liked the post anyway If 'traveller role models' like him think this is all ok then there's no hope.

I'm no fan of the Cash clan but I'd say its a school disco, my daughters own national school had them.

I do agree that the young girl is posing very provocatively, inappropriate for social media but alot of the time these young wans copy Kardashians etc and try the duck pout - looks ridiculous but young wans are easily fooled to follow so called celebrity culture.

Just as an aside, I never put any pictures up, ever, of my daughter on social media and she's now 17. Its her image not mine to shove all over the internet.

I'll admit, I was tempted enough to have a look. Jaysus, plenty of girls dress a lot worse. Talk about exaggeration. :rolleyes:

And do their mums post up the pictures on facebook on a public profile?
    If so they are just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Didn't she make her communion last year?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Odelay wrote: »
    For those of us not on Facebook, can you post a screen shot? What are we talking about?
    Margaret can post pictures of her kids if she wants but it wouldn't be appropriate for any post to put it here.

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Didn't she make her communion last year?

Yes she did so she is 8 or 9 years old now?

And do their mums post up the pictures on facebook on a public profile?
    If so they are just as bad.

Just as bad as what exactly? Please explain how a child is in the wrong here?

She’s a child under 10 years of age. Dressing up and posing like that is ok behind closed doors. In my eyes it’s a serious case of child abuse. She dresses and acts way beyond her years. Who is she copying? Or is there a more serious element at play here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Wow, didn't realise that moutpiece Brown was so pro-Travellers, going by his comments that it's ingrained into our DNA. It's not Vincent, their actions change the way we think. Prior to becoming a Garda around 2006, I didn't really have an opinion of them. Never had any real encounters with them aside from 1 time around 2006 just before becoming a Garda, driving through Limerick up Thomas St. A red hi-ace pulled out right in front of me, nearly hit me, I had to brake hard and steer left to avoid hitting him. He was coming out of a car park. I stood on the horn, and this big thick fat Traveller got out, pulled a wheel brace out of the drivers side pocket and started coming towards me. Needless to say I ****ing took off. Could have hit him, no idea if I did. Suppose that was me being racist, now that I think back....

But, that was 1 occurrence which didn't paint a picture for me. Then I became a Garda, and you might argue that I only saw the negative side of them. I'll argue, 13 years on, that there is no positive side, but I'm jumping ahead. My first encounter happened to be due to a fued, 2 families living in separate halting sites on the outskirts of the city decided they didn't like each other very much and started hacking at each other with slash hooks, baseball bats, hurleys, sickles, the usual stuff you'd just have lying around. A few of them nearly died, one lost most fingers on one hand, another has a beautiful battle scar running from just over his right eye back over the hear to the centre of his neck. Lucky it was a sickle, if it was a straight blade it would have gone through his skull. So we spent the following 4 months manning permanent checkpoints at the entrance to the 2 halting sites. 4 Gardaí for 16 hours a day, and 2 for 8 hours at night. Include the Gardaí required to cover breaks, and you get an idea of how many it took to ensure these 'people' didn't murder each other.

After that, we had the usual run ins, begging for money (begging = threatening old people), pulling their caravans and cars up on whatever bit of land they can find, robbing Pennys blind, the younger members of the community hung out around the pubs at closing and literally started hitting random people as they walked by. One laid a young fella out right in front of me, looked at me, started laughing and ran. I laughed as I knew who he was and arrested him about 10 minutes after he went to sleep at his house. Then I had the 'head' of the main crime family in the traveller community literally tell me that they do all this because they don't get pulled for it, the courts leave them off. He laughed at us every time we had to speak to him.

Oh, and the 'tradition' of calling everyone after their father, so they're all John, and it's a game of Where's Johnny when trying to find the John that's involved - 'Oh that must be me cousin Johnny, he left a few months back, don't know where he went'.

So experience of nothing but criminality has skewed my view. I quit the Gardaí after nearly 10 years (couldn't recommend to stay away from a job more than this one), and I can hand on heart say that Travellers have painted themselves in a negative light for me. Any prejudice or 'racism' ( :rolleyes: ) is well warranted due to my interactions with this minority.

Actually, I have red hair and blue eyes, the rarest combination on earth. Pretty sure I'm a smaller minority than travellers. So you can't say anything negative about me, or it's racism.

Vincent browne used to regularly berate the general Irish public for not having the same views as he does, beit his communist philosophy or his attitude to travellers

His arrogance has only ever been matched by his level of delusion, vinny is too old to get some cop on now

Who said the child is in the wrong?
    Jesus, get your head out of your arse.

Who said the child is in the wrong?
    Jesus, get your head out of your arse.

The poster I was answering said Ms Cash was AS bad. Who was she AS bad as if not the child referred to?

The child is about 10. Just because someone else dresses worse, doesn't make it okay for children to go around in belly tops and short skirts and pout like a prostitute.

Having said that, if the mother had half a brain she would make her page "private" and then only her fan club would see them - not half the country.

Lets face it, the children have no hope and no future. A sorry state of affairs.

She’s a child under 10 years of age. Dressing up and posing like that is ok behind closed doors. In my eyes it’s a serious case of child abuse. She dresses and acts way beyond her years. Who is she copying? Or is there a more serious element at play here.

I think it says more about the people who look at it and infer sick connotations to it tbh.

Every girl wants to be Beyoncé or whatever, what's the big deal unless you look at those photos in a sick way?

The poster I was answering said Ms Cash was AS bad. Who was she AS bad as if not the child referred to?

That poster was me and I was referring to the mums not the kids.

I think it says more about the people who look at it and infer sick connotations to it tbh.

Every girl wants to be Beyoncé or whatever, what's the big deal unless you look at those photos in a sick way?

so every responsible parent out there should let all their daughters under the age of 10 dress up and look like hookers and post pictures of them on social media cos it's not a big deal??

The child is about 10. Just because someone else dresses worse, doesn't make it okay for children to go around in belly tops and short skirts and pout like a prostitute.

Having said that, if the mother had half a brain she would make her page "private" and then only her fan club would see them - not half the country.

Lets face it, the children have no hope and no future. A sorry state of affairs.

That only looks like a prostitute in your head. It certainly doesn't in mine. :rolleyes:

The mums he's talking about, not the children. I don't agree with putting up pictures of children on line - once on the internet they are there forever.

bada_bing wrote: »
    so every responsible parent out there should let all their daughters under the age of 10 dress up and look like hookers and post pictures of them on social media cos it's not a big deal??

I'll say the same again as I said above, that only looks like a hooker/prostitute in your head because no child looks like a hooker to me. :eek:

That only looks like a prostitute in your head. It certainly doesn't in mine. :rolleyes:

Do you not think its inappropriate to dress children like an adult would dress on a night out? Are you so naive to think that there aren't people out there that would take that picture and use it for nefarious means.

I think children should be allowed to be children and not mini adults with a face full of make up but like i said before, its celebrity culture - trying to be like some Z lister - but this is where good parenting comes in, sadly lacking in this instance.

I'll say the same again as I said above, that only looks like a hooker/prostitute in your head because no child looks like a hooker to me. :eek:

And THAT speaks volumes about you and your values.

It says a lot about ME and MY values that I don't see a child as a prostitute?

If it does I'm glad of that.