Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

Bernard’s take on the protest. I see Maggie is back on the smokes

https://www.facebook.com/100007227857780/posts/2254444404806466?sfns=mo

Does the lady in red live in one of those hubs or is she just a mouthpiece for one of the loony lefts? She doesn’t seem to know the difference between a hub and hotel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Does the lady in red live in one of those hubs or is she just a mouthpiece for one of the loony lefts? She doesn’t seem to know the difference between a hub and hotel.

No she doesn't.

I would guess pavee point or something similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,840 ✭✭✭✭Dtp1979

tuxy wrote: »
    Lets assume the kids stop going to school a few months after starting second year. What should be done?

Eh, stop children’s allowance. That’ll keep them there a few more years anyway. Education will suddenly become more popular than culture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Dtp1979 wrote: »
    Eh, stop children’s allowance. That’ll keep me there a few more years anyway. Education will suddenly become more popular than culture.

would it really, as monetary penalties always changes peoples attitudes and approaches to things by.....?

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    would it really, as monetary penalties always changes peoples attitudes and approaches to things by.....?

Just make it a requirement. Not so much a punishment. Children’s allowance is only paid to kids who go to school.

Pardon the above typo. I’m well finished school

Just make it a requirement. Not so much a punishment. Children’s allowance is only paid to kids who go to school.

so cutting welfare 'encourages' kids to go to school by....

It’s not the kids who are taking themselves out of school, so they don’t need the encouragement. It’s the parents. Nip it in the bud. If maraget cash and co knew their allowances would be cut if they take their kids out of school early, then guess what, they’d actually make their kids go to school, like all other normal parents do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭Lu Tze

By changing the parent behaviour. Financial incentivising them to make sure the kids are going to school. Do you remember the plastic bag levy? 15c I think it was originally. How many disposable plastic bags do you see in shoppers hands now? Or more importantly, stuck on the side of a ditch in the countryside blown by the wind?

It works

It’s not the kids who are taking themselves out of school, so they don’t need the encouragement. It’s the parents. Nip it in the bud. If maraget cash and co knew their allowances would be cut if they take their kids out of school early, then guess what, they’d actually make their kids go to school, like all other normal parents do.

really!

Lu Tze wrote: »
    By changing the parent behaviour. Financial incentivising them to make sure the kids are going to school. Do you remember the plastic bag levy? 15c I think it was originally. How many disposable plastic bags do you see in shoppers hands now? Or more importantly, stuck on the side of a ditch in the countryside blown by the wind?

It works

so kids behavior is like plastic bags, right!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,076 ✭✭✭JMNolan

so kids behavior is like plastic bags, right!

Screen_Shot_2018_01_17_at_1_04.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Won,t work. Some medical reason will be made up as why kids wont go to school...keeps childrens' allowance then parent gets carers an all the subsidiary benefits(if not done already)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Shouting epithets from the sidelines isn't going to solve the homelessness crisis. We can judge people all we want for what we consider to be poor choices and irresponsibility, but the children are here now; how do we protect them and provide them with some basic stability?

By providing them with a stable home, and incentivising their education. Failing to execute the former is bound to create serious social problems in the future, and then you'll really know the cost of doing nothing but shouting epithets.

A stable home? Cash, for example, has over 30 convictions, their old man in in and out of prison. That is not a situation to leave anyone in.

The kids should be taken out of that environment altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,872 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

So she did show up to the protest then, is that right? Were all those kids not supposed to be in school?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

It's simply absurd that someone who doesn't want to work can be on more money than someone who bothers to get up in the morning and go to a job.

It's something that needs fixed. If it's a low paying job then they should get enough benefits to take then above the standard of living that a dole lifer has.

The welfare system was meant to keep people's heads above water, but it should never be so generous that it should appeal to people to say, " I'll have a bit of that".

Until this basic situation is addressed, well never fix anything.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,940 ✭✭✭Sweet.Science

For the love of god just give her a house already !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,042 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

She got a house!

NIMAN wrote: »
    She got a house!

Fair play to her . She never gave up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

For the love of god just give her a house already !

Can I have one as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,322 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

She got a house!
    Queue facebook comments

"At last hun, you so deserbed it you and your angles have worked so hard"

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭kingstevii

sligojoek wrote: »
    Can I have one as well?

Me too!

She worked hard at something for the first time in her life?

Don't lissen 2 dem hun

From an economics point of view it makes sense to give her a house =.

Hopefully the government get the housing crisis under control so her kids dont have to go through this in the public eye like her mother.

Don't lissen 2 dem hun
    gby

Can I have one as well?

Here's the formula to see if you are eligible

Amount of kids X Amount of jobs +1= If this equals 1, you've won a house!

Hopefully the government get the housing crisis under control so her kids dont have to go through this in the public eye like her mother.
    Yeah your right free houses for everyone and their angles and their angles repeat ad infinitum!!!!!!
    Its what the gubbernment need to give to everyone, they are robbing us blind and winter is coming!!!! :rolleyes:

How do you suggest these free houses are paid for?
    Do you think anyone should have to work?

From an ‘economics’ point of view it makes sense to give her a house in Leitrim.

Social housing should be first offered to working parents on the housing list, not scroungers like Cash who have never worked a day in their lives and are a huge draw on resources.

She cackles that she’s been waiting 2 years for a house, what has she for herself done in those two years to better herself? Nadda.

Fr_Dougal wrote: »
    She cackles that she’s been waiting 2 years for a house, what has she for herself done in those two years to better herself? Nadda.

She's been on the housing list since she was 16.

PS: SS is only taking the mick.

From an ‘economics’ point of view it makes sense to give her a house in Leitrim.

Social housing should be first offered to working parents on the housing list, not scroungers like Cash who have never worked a day in their lives and are a huge draw on resources.

Its not easy to raise 7 children as a single mother .

This country has to change. The solution cant be to always make things free.
    Exactly . People keep pedaling utter nonsense to defend the free house and welfare spongers.
    Its nearly 5 bells . Home time. Good entertainment today folks, cheers :)

Ah, I remember you... 6/10

It seems very easy to have 7 children as a "single" mother

Of course she is a single mother....sure he is never out of the joy....and by her own posts other women...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,344 ✭✭✭Thoie

They sure don't understand that it's easier to get housed if you have a manageable amount of kids, rather than a football team full.

In a crisis like this, Cash would likely to have been offered her ideal home if she had, for example, 3 kids. Cos the government would only have to get her a 3 or 4 bed house.

But when you have 7 kids, you automatically need a much bigger house which are obviously in shorter supply.

Maybe a few of the layabouts on the dole will have second thoughts about having that 3rd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th child.

What should the minimum standard for public housing be? When I was in school there were one or two families I knew with 7/8 kids in a standard 3-bed house (that they'd got a mortgage on and were paying for themselves). These were 3 bed, 1 bathroom houses - bog standard at the time. At that time, families that large were unusual. All the kids finished school, and went on to employment/3rd level.

While we obviously don't want to revert to 1800s, or even early 1900s style tenements, with 53 people to a room, sharing an outdoor toilet, why do we/the council think Ms Cash needs more than a 3 bed house?

Over the last 20/30 years the standard of new houses is generally trending towards additional bathrooms (it's not unusual for a new 3-bed to have a main bathroom, an ensuite and a downstairs toilet), but there are still thousands of people living around the country with just one bathroom.

I feel the minimum standard for public housing should center around being weatherproof, warm, and safe. A bathroom, 3 bedrooms for families with kids, fewer for smaller families, central heating, proper cooking facilities and doors/windows that lock and keep the rain/wind out.

Having extra bedrooms/bathrooms/space is lovely - but outside of physical medical requirements (such as wheelchair users), it's a luxury.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Being a mother is by far the most important job any woman can do. Far better than being an incompetent accountant or incompetent project manager.

Can I have one as well?

We can easily build enough houses for everyone who wants one and give them to them for nothing.

Being a mother is by far the most important hob any woman can do. Far better than being an incompetent accountant or incompetent project manager.
    I thought woman were trying to get out of the kitchen?
    What about a non incompetent accountant or project manager?

For context my mum raised 2 kids, while working and studying part time to be a nurse while my dad worked abroad for 16 years.
    So you can work and have kids, Margaret has not worked a day in her life and has continued to have children with no possible means outside of state support and robbing to support them. Do you think she is a good mother who is setting a good example for those kids? How many convictions does she have again?

Being a mother is by far the most important job any woman can do. Far better than being an incompetent accountant or incompetent project manager.

Ah hello again! Wasn't it software engineers you hated last time?

Anyway, just wanted to say, yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

We can easily build enough houses for everyone who wants one and give them to them for nothing.

Can we now?

The crisis is over lads!!!! Houses for all!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭KrustyUCC

Don't worry. The funding solution has already been stated
    It's in the Cayman islands. It's called the Ansbacher tree.

Ah hello again! Wasn't it software engineers you hated last time?

Anyway, just wanted to say, yawn.

Apparently anybody who actually got educated, worked, save for a house etc were mugs

Also Margaret is better than working mothers
    Ironically Mrs Cash is a much better mother than the working mothers who after a couple of abortions squeeze out a child at 45 who is then dropped at the creche at 7 AM and collected at 7 PM

Yeah, taking the p*ss. Best ignored probably.

Yeah definitely

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 363 ✭✭Pronto63

Bernard’s take on the protest. I see Maggie is back on the smokes

https://www.facebook.com/100007227857780/posts/2254444404806466?sfns=mo

As a broadcaster this hero makes the Muppets look like the BBC:D

Yeah, taking the p*ss. Best ignored probably.

A bunch of people who are mugs working for millionaires who wouldn't p ss on them save all their invective for a homeless single mother because they're racists and complain when someone (who could buy and sell them by the way) points out that they're wasting their lives?

You couldn't make it up.

You can all have houses lads. The country isn't short of money or land.
    But keep on spewing your bile.

gmisk wrote: »
    I thought woman were trying to get out of the kitchen?
    What about a non incompetent accountant or project manager?

For context my mum raised 2 kids, while working and studying part time to be a nurse while my dad worked abroad for 16 years.
    So you can work and have kids, Margaret has not worked a day in her life and has continued to have children with no possible means outside of state support and robbing to support them. Do you think she is a good mother who is setting a good example for those kids? How many convictions does she have again?
    Nursing is fine. I'm sure your mother was a saint.

A bunch of people who are mugs working for millionaires who wouldn't p ss on them save all their invective for a homeless single mother because they're racists and complain when someone (who could buy and sell them by the way) points out that they're wasting their lives?

You couldn't make it up.

You can all have houses lads. The country isn't short of money or land.
    But keep on spewing your bile.

This one from you was better:
    Unions are fantastic. Shoplifiting should be decriminalised. Housing is a right. Private education and heathcare should be banned. People who wait till they can afford it to have children are somewhere between sucker and subhuman.

Carry on.

This one from you was better:

Carry on.

Careful now(down with this sort of thing), he can buy and sell us all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Going back to when all this began last August her local TD Paul Murphy said the situation of the Cash family should “haunt this government”

Fianna Fáil spokesman on housing Darragh O’Brien said it was a “collasal failure of the state”

Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald slammed Fianna Fáil and wanted an immediate election

Not of one of these parties stuck with Mrs Cash and looking at it now they never cared in the first place.

Maybe Mrs Cash thought she had friends in high places but she was just a pawn used to score points

If I saw a family having to sleep in a Garda station I'd say the same. All very well after the fact to call people out on it.

She got a house out of it and it wasn't TD Paul Murphy, Fianna Fáil spokesman on housing Darragh O’Brien, Sinn Féin leader Mary Lou McDonald gave it to her.