Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Margaret Cash steals €300 worth of clothes from Penneys and aftermath/etc!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

You can't expect News in New Zealand to know any better. It must be very confusing for anyone who has not dealt with them before.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

Cutting children's allowance the from the third child on would act as a disincentive, the children may suffer if it is ignored but I think you would find there would be alot of three children families after a few years

Be a bit crap for a normal working family with two parents out working and are paying their way with everything and would just like to have a fourth child that they can otherwise 'afford' to have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Give it as a form of tax credits

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Be a bit crap for a normal working family with two parents out working and are paying their way with everything and would just like to have a fourth child that they can otherwise 'afford' to have.

If you are dependent on Child Benefit to make ends meet then having four children is not a good idea. This goes for working couples as well as people who are welfare dependent.

• Registered Users Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

hawkelady wrote: »
    jaysus wept.... unreal... a storm is coming for this lot snd its about time...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,882 ✭✭✭✭McDermotX

hawkelady wrote: »

Absolute scum of the Earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭Grab All Association

A friend told me to download an app called MeetMe the other night and there was travellers from Galway, Athlone and Walkinstown with spray tans and one with bad/missing teeth fighting over video chat with each other. One of the traveller girls called the other Nanny McPhee because of her teeth. It was so ducking funny :D

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 20,366 Mod ✭✭✭✭RacoonQueen

tretorn wrote: »
    If you are dependent on Child Benefit to make ends meet then having four children is not a good idea. This goes for working couples as well as people who are welfare dependent.

Don't be silly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭JPCN1

When the election comes make it an issue when the politicians come looking for votes. I hope the New Zealanders deal with them in a way Irish Judges wouldn't.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

"Margaret Cash appears in court over stealing €300 worth of clothes from Pennys" the thread that just keeps on giving. Over 250 pages of ranting in an echo chamber. Perhaps it is time to move on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,145 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

2011 wrote:
    "Margaret Cash appears in court over stealing €300 worth of clothes from Pennys" the thread that just keeps on giving. Over 250 pages of ranting in an echo chamber. Perhaps it is time to move on?

People are angry, but little or nothing has been done to rectify the issues that is causing a large proportion of their anger, so certain elements of our society will continue to be blamed for their anger, expect this tread to continue indefinite, with more boring ranting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

2011 wrote: »

Given the fact we the taxpayers are paying for her lifestyle and she keeps courting attention, why should we move on?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

From my understanding Margaret is still looking for a home and is very active on social media. She may not be as popular in the media now because she wasn't happy how some of the treated by them.
    If she was to find a home or close down her social media account this thread may also run dry but at the moment it picks up attention every now and again because posters seem to be interest in her and discussing similar issues.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,604 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

Given the fact we the taxpayers are paying for her lifestyle and she keeps courting attention, why should we move on?

I am one of those taxpayers on the higher rate of tax paying for this lifestyle. I’m not a fan of this either, but getting this worked up with hysterical repetitive ranting isn’t going to help. Any well made points are lost is a sea pointless angry posts. But if you want to continue getting worked up by making the same points again and agin and thanking each other for it, knock yourself out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I am one of those taxpayers on the higher rate of tax paying for this lifestyle. I’m not a fan of this either, but getting this worked up with hysterical repetitive ranting isn’t going to help. Any well made points are lost is a sea pointless angry posts. But if you want to continue getting worked up by making the same points again and agin and thanking each other for it, knock yourself out.

It's actually going to help in many ways as it keeps her attention seeking alive and well, we can vent which is actually nice and can be very therapeutic, we can have a laugh and discuss something many are afraid to actually do and it highlights what the travellers are really like as the media paints them as been the best people ever.

Please don't shut it down.

I would really miss it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭Jerichoholic

This thread shows how people actually feel about them, that's a good thing. The media can manipulate most everything, but people deal with these rats in real life. You can't begin to pretend they are anything but a nuisance.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 100 ✭✭obby1

You can't complain, you had your chance to vote in the presidential election for a man who called them out on their BS, the public decided to put Higgins back in, a man who sings the praises of their unique culture.
    If Peter Casey does run in the GE, get behind him, and maybe FG/FF will do something about it if Casey romps home a big winner.

obby1 wrote: »
    You can't complain, you had your chance to vote in the presidential election for a man who called them out on their BS, the public decided to put Higgins back in, a man who sings the praises of their unique culture.
    If Peter Casey does run in the GE, get behind him, and maybe FG/FF will do something about it if Casey romps home a big winner.

casey is what you d call, a populist, populists sometimes couldnt give a rats arse about 'the people'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,240 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Its almost like those ranting and raving here in AH dont actually represent the majority. I mean AH said Casey would win by a landslide and how did that turn out?

pjohnson wrote: »
    Its almost like those ranting and raving here in AH dont actually represent the majority. I mean AH said Casey would win by a landslide and how did that turn out?

he went from 2% to 20+% over night with his statement, if he made it at the start who knows what would have happened.
    I do know one thing, try living near them before you form a opinion

Wanderer78 wrote: »
    casey is what you d call, a populist, populists sometimes couldnt give a rats arse about 'the people'

I suppose Leo & co are not? they really care about 'the people'

when they build a halting site in the following places , then the media can have a real discussion.
    Foxrock
    Dalkey
    Castleknock
    Blackrock
    Howth
    feel free to add to the list of areas that deserve a halting site

I suppose Leo & co are not? they really care about 'the people'

in a way, yes and no, id imagine largely yes, but its our overall political ideologies are preventing us from dealing with these complex social issues. we re effectively watching project 'personal responsibility' in action, do we really want more of the same?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Fine so. Let's all bury our collective heads in the sand along with the politicians, PC brigade,journalists,judges and other members of the judicial system (sorry judicial industry) and pretend there's not a problem.
    Shure it'll all be grand. Typical Irish solution to all situations.

but its our overall political ideologies are preventing us from dealing with these complex social issues.

Whats the problem?
    Break the law, go to jail

washman3 wrote: »
    Fine so. Let's all bury our collective heads in the sand along with the politicians, PC brigade,journalists,judges and other members of the judicial system (sorry judicial industry) and pretend there's not a problem.
    Shure it'll all be grand. Typical Irish solution to all situations.

Nah better ye lot keep cryin on. Thread id one of AH's funniest tbh. Humour is in short supply here these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

"AH said"

What does that mean? Who said Casey "would win by a landslide"? I didn't see anyone say that, not to mention enough people saying it that you can arbitrarily decide that it is the collective voice of AH.

Whats the problem?
    Break the law, go to jail

does jailing people actually work, does it resolve these type of issues? i will agree though, our legal system is a part of the problem

• Registered Users Posts: 2,744 ✭✭✭marieholmfan

Gravelly wrote: »
    "AH said"
    What does that mean? Who said Casey "would win by a landslide"? I didn't see anyone say that, not to mention enough people saying it that you can arbitrarily decide that it is the collective voice of AH.
    54% voted Casey in the AH poll. A real life 54% would have made him president. He got 20%.

54% voted Casey in the AH poll. That did not appear to translate into the actual poll.

54% voted Casey in the AH poll. A real life 54% would have made him president. He got 20%.

Very dishonest post then - you are translating the results of a poll on what people wanted to happen into a fictitious claim that people predicted it would happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,020 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

when they build a halting site in the following places , then the media can have a real discussion.
    Foxrock
    Dalkey
    Castleknock
    Blackrock
    Howth

This would be an interesting
    If the government houses a lot of traveller families in these location for the next seven years.(Approx)
    In the next presidential election if Peter Casey did run again it would be interesting to see how they'd vote.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Foxrock
    Dalkey
    Castleknock
    Blackrock
    Howth
    If the government houses a lot of traveller families in these location for the next seven years.(Approx)
    In the next presidential election if Peter Casey did run again it would be interesting to see how they'd vote.

The Phoenix Park. You'd fit a lot of caravans in there.

The people who influence opinion - the journalists, commentators, writers, politicians, etc. are overwhelmingly isolated from any of the issues that get the blood up in the general public - hospital waiting lists, halting sites, crime, house prices, immigration, etc. Since none of these things adversely affect them, they paint any opposition or unrest about these issues as ignorance on the part of the great unwashed.
    Unfortunately, many of those who are affected by these issues are too weak to realise that they are being brainwashed into voting a certain way by people who believe them to be unworthy of real representation.

When you see your local politician, journalist or judge living beside a halting site, competing with an immigrant for their job, and queuing for hospital treatment, then things will change. Which obviously will be never.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Gravelly wrote: »
    The people who influence opinion - the journalists, commentators, writers, politicians, etc. are overwhelmingly isolated from any of the issues that get the blood up in the general public - hospital waiting lists, halting sites, crime, house prices, immigration, etc. Since none of these things adversely affect them, they paint any opposition or unrest about these issues as ignorance on the part of the great unwashed.
    Unfortunately, many of those who are affected by these issues are too weak to realise that they are being brainwashed into voting a certain way by people who believe them to be unworthy of real representation.

When you see your local politician, journalist or judge living beside a halting site, competing with an immigrant for their job, and queuing for hospital treatment, then things will change. Which obviously will be never.

Its really only the looney left who have any love for travellers, majority of TD, s pay lip service so as not be out of favour with the left wing media who they need much of the time, your average FG, FF or even Labour politician knows what they are like, as the green party are hopelessly naive and overwhelmingly live in Dublin South East, I suspect their infatuation is sincere

While most of the media live in comfortably middle class locations, they are invariably pretensious arty type **** who cannot help but row in behind anyone who annoys the totally uncool middle Ireland man or woman

Loving travellers is an article of faith for champagne socialists

he went from 2% to 20+% over night with his statement, if he made it at the start who knows what would have happened.
    I do know one thing, try living near them before you form a opinion

Plus the media done no polling in the intervening period between his comments and the election so this kept a lid on any building momentum

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Plus the media done no polling in the intervening period between his comments and the election so this kept a lid on any building momentum

Considering he had the media whipping up a frenzy against him, he did quite well.

The media are in a nice little bubble and not really in touch with the common man.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Considering he had the media whipping up a frenzy against him, he did quite well.

The media are in a nice little bubble and not really in touch with the common man.

The media hate middle Ireland, why do you think the media portray all direct provision centres opening as a joyous celebration and present all opposition as the work of the extreme right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52,619 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

I can't find any posts that said that.
    Could you point a few of them out please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,550 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

tuxy wrote: »
    As Joe Duffy would say "How did you know they were travellers?" :rolleyes:

A New Zealander won't know traveller from non-traveller and may come to the conclusion that all Irish people act this way. Which is about as fair as people on here saying all travellers are rats.
    People need to keep it in mind when they whine about identity politics, the left/right, conservative/progressive and so on.
    Maybe we can all stop being ****ty human beings without another war to remind us. 'A storm is coming for these people', maybe it's time to step back and think rather than running on emotion.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Casey has more empathy in his little finger than higgo has in his entire body.

Peter Casey would win big, be like the results of a election in N.KOREA, 99% for Casey, only difference would be the election would not be rigged

I'm on Casey's side in that I agree that there is a problem with traveller culture etc.

He lifted a lid on a can of worms that nobody else was willing to do. In that I commend him.

But I don't think he is a very articulate speaker and doubt he'd make a very good politician.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Its really only the looney left who have any love for travellers, majority of TD, s pay lip service so as not be out of favour with the left wing media who s

Big scandal of Ireland , look who gets appointed to Government boards/quangos, see the number of journalists who get these handy numbers and you know why the country does not have a real media reporting the news.

BattleCorp wrote: »
    I'm on Casey's side in that I agree that there is a problem with traveller culture etc.

He lifted a lid on a can of worms that nobody else was willing to do. In that I commend him.

But I don't think he is a very articulate speaker and doubt he'd make a very good politician.

That why he would be popular, he is not a product of media spin doctors , a political stepford wife, who tows the party line, all singing from the same PC hymn sheet.
    He is voicing what the men and women of the real world think, look at the Trump victory in Usa, the media and politicians gave him no chance, Ireland is primed for our own Trump, not saying it will be Casey, but i can see a political shock coming.

He does in his bollocks, he couldn't give a ****e, you ve been had!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,550 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

Because he hates the same people as you? What are you basing this on?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,297 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Foxrock
    Dalkey
    Castleknock
    Blackrock
    Howth

I'm from Dalkey. Two traveller families have lived in Dalkey for 30 odd years with very little trouble from them. Granted they are settled travellers but my point still stands.

Kingp35 wrote: »
    I'm from Dalkey. Two traveller families have lived in Dalkey for 30 odd years with very little trouble from them. Granted they are settled travellers but my point still stands.

oxymoron, settled travellers, so they now have a link to the community, shocked i am, people not causing trouble where they have set down roots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭boombang