Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Madeleine McCann

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,158 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

She wandered out herself, something happened (car accident/paedo)
    splinter65 wrote: »
    No I’m not the poster who mentioned twisting first. As the NSPCC have never made any reference to this, the most famous child disappeance in history, you or I have absolutely no idea what that organizations opinion is of the parenting skills of G and K McCann. None whatsoever.

The more you twist posters words the less sense your posts make.
    We know what the NSPCC recommend so by deduction we know they would not recommend The Mc Canns actions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,420 ✭✭✭splinter65

limnam wrote: »
    What we do know is the McCanns went against their advice and recommendations.

I don’t know about you but I rarely checked the NSPCC website for advice on a day to day basis. I don’t think even they expect that, but hey, I could be wrong I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,249 ✭✭✭limnam

A nut job.

Is someone who leaves young kids alone in an unsecured apartment while they go wining and dining.

I don’t know about you but I rarely checked the NSPCC website for advice on a day to day basis. I don’t think even they expect that, but hey, I could be wrong I suppose.

Considering you think it's perfectly normal to leave 3 young kids alone while wining and dining.

You might want to consult it more often.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD

Here I was hoping that my 20,000th post on this site was going to be something awesomely hilarious, or something that will go down in the annals of boards.

But no, it's a warning to remind people of the charter and the terms of use of boards.ie, please refrain from making things personal, stick to facts and no back seat moderation or labelling of others.

20,000. Yay.

Most of us don't need to check it we instinctively know whats right . I sure wouldn't need the NSPCC to tell me not to leave my toddlers alone .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

splinter65 wrote:
    Once again, it was your good self that suggested that I would probably consider those who insist that the folk who insist that the McCanns murdered their daughter but cannot put forward a how where when or why are “nut†members of a mob ( your very words, check your post) and I agreed with you. Because that’s what you are when you hold a very strong position on something but can’t even remotely back it up. A nut job.
    Have you evidence that rules out the McCanns? Btw your post is still there where you described those who hold a different position to yourself as nut jobs part of a lynch mob. Not my words, these are the discriptors you used. I repeated them back to you. How difficult is it to read what people write, genuine question?

Sadly it's a lot more common than we think for people to leave their children on their own, or in the care of completely unsuitable people, while they go out socialising. A social worker friend of mine tells me that they see instances of it all the time. There have been lots of cases when social services have to intervene as it is classed as child neglect.
    There have also been some terrible cases of abuse at the hands of so-called babysitters who aren't fit to be taking care of young children. I know that's a separate issue.
    Different social situations to the McCanns maybe, but the principle is the same.

iamwhoiam wrote: »
    Most of us don't need to check it we instinctively know whats right . I sure wouldn't need the NSPCC to tell me not to leave my toddlers alone .

The McCanns know what they did was wrong.

They've said so.

They made a risky choice and paying the biggest price for it.

No one in their right mind genuinely thinks otherwise.

inthehat wrote: »
    Sadly it's a lot more common than we think for people to leave their children on their own, or in the care of completely unsuitable people, while they go out socialising. A social worker friend of mine tells me that they see instances of it all the time. There have been lots of cases when social services have to intervene as it is classed as child neglect.
    There have also been some terrible cases of abuse at the hands of so-called babysitters who aren't fit to be taking care of young children. I know that's a separate issue.
    Different social situations to the McCanns maybe, but the principle is the same.

Oh if you're a working class knacker and slip out to the off license across the road it's wrong.

If you're a middle class doctor. It's fine.

Oh if you're a working class knacker and slip out to the off license across the road it's wrong.

If you're a middle class doctor. It's fine.

No. Definitely not fine. It's child neglect, and social services would have been perfectly in their rights to charge them for it in my opinion.

The more you twist posters words the less sense your posts make.
    We know what the NSPCC recommend so by deduction we know they would not recommend The Mc Canns actions

By deduction? Talk about clutching at straws! They don’t mention me either but I wouldn’t “deduct” that that meant that they approved of me ...

Have you evidence that rules out the McCanns? Btw your post is still there where you described those who hold a different position to yourself as nut jobs part of a lynch mob. Not my words, these are the discriptors you used. I repeated them back to you. How difficult is it to read what people write, genuine question?

I never said you were a nut job. Once again, imo, those who have no scenario to describe how a crime was committed, but insist the crime happened anyway are nut jobs. What’s the big deal ?

...no part in her disappearance except their actions or lack thereof contributing to, Madeline's disappearance.

...in your opinion. Not a fact. Just your opinion. You still don’t know the difference between facts and opinions.

By deduction? Talk about clutching at straws! They don’t mention me either but I wouldn’t “deduct” that that meant that they approved of me ...

Approve of actions I said .They do mention actions not individual names

Yes we could deduce if you left your kids alone they would not approve of your actions
    You seem to have difficulty with not reading posts as written .

splinter65 wrote:
    ...in your opinion.

They left their child unattended in an apartment whilst they dined with their mates. Their actions contributed to their daughter's disappearance. Not my opinion but verifiable fact.

Is someone who leaves young kids alone in an unsecured apartment while they go wining and dining.
    But they weren’t left alone. They were being checked every half hour.

They left their child unattended in an apartment whilst they dined with their mates. Their actions contributed to their daughter's disappearance. Not my opinion but verifiable fact.

They didn’t leave them alone. They were being checked every half hour. Fact. Your opinion is that their actions contributed to their daughters disappeance.

Yes they were . For 30 minutes , enough for someone to snatch one of them actually because they were ALONE

My last post to you as I have you sussed now

splinter65 wrote:

There were left alone for 29 minutes in between checks. Do you understand what alone, unsupervised means?

Yes they were . For 30 minutes , enough for someone to snatch one of them actually because they were ALONE

My last post to you as I have you sussed now

My children have been downstairs alone for 30 minutes while I hoovered and they napped. Not child neglect. Fact.

There were left alone for 29 minutes in between checks. Do you understand what alone, unsupervised means?

My children have napped downstairs alone while I hoovered upstairs. Child neglect ? No. Fact.

splinter65 wrote:
    My children have napped downstairs alone while I hoovered upstairs. Child neglect ? No. Fact.

You claimed the McCann children were not alone, yet even the McCanns admit they were left alone. I'm beginning to think you are either a troll or a liar.

Wow.

So when the person "checking" leaves the apartment. What are they?

Alone......

While their parents ate and drank in the restaurant, they were left _alone_ in an unsecured apartment.

Who was with them during those intervals ?

No one. Alone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,283 ✭✭✭KikiLaRue

My children have been downstairs alone for 30 minutes while I hoovered and they napped. Not child neglect. Fact.

Presumably you’re in your own home, probably with the door locked? You are at home with your kids. That is different to being at a restaurant across the road.

KikiLaRue wrote: »
    Presumably you’re in your own home, probably with the door locked? You are at home with your kids. That is different to being at a restaurant across the road.

Again. I can't believe this has to be explained.

I think the intention is to agitate and get you to snap . It's transparent now

splinter65 wrote:

...in your opinion. Not a fact. Just your opinion. You still don’t know the difference between facts and opinions.

Hmmm......

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Calltocall

Heartbreaking case, I agree the parents neglect contributed to what happened but I do feel for them, they’ve paid an awful price, hearing it described as Kate was howling in grief the night the child disappeared was upsetting. I haven’t tuned into this case in a long time, does the doc shed any new llight on suspects etc have there been any new leads?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,170 ✭✭✭chicorytip

Something Else
    iamwhoiam wrote:
    The Mc Canns had never been to P da L before The apartment was not in a complex , it was outside on a public road I don't know a single parent who would leave a child in that situation and think it was right .

The first two sentences of the above quote are simply inaccurate. I don't know any parents who would do likewise either but that is not to say the vast majority would not do so in similar circumstances. The context and circumstances here made it appear not a dangerous thing to do. The other couples in the group did likewise and almost certainly did so on their previous visits. So there was a presumption among the group of no risk or harm involved in leaving the kids alone for brief periods. I can understand why this mindset would prevail given the particular location. I would never understand a parent leaving a child unattended in a shopping mall or on a crowded street or beach, for example.

chicorytip wrote: »
    The first two sentences of the above quote are simply inaccurate. I don't know any parents who would do likewise either but that is not to say the vast majority would not do so in similar circumstances. The context and circumstances here made it appear not a dangerous thing to do. The other couples in the group did likewise and almost certainly did so on their previous visits. So there was a presumption among the group of no risk or harm involved in leaving the kids alone for brief periods. I can understand why this mindset would prevail given the particular location. I would never understand a parent leaving a child unattended in a shopping mall or on a crowded street or beach, for example.

The first two sentences of which post are inaccurate ? Mine or yours ?

The mc Canns had not visited Praia da Luz prior to that holiday .
    The apartment was not in an enclosed complex. Mark Warner in P da L is spread about over the village

And group mentality doesn't make it right . A whole group made a big mistake and it could well have been any one of them who lost a child

• Registered Users Posts: 225 ✭✭voldejoie

I'm four episodes in to the Netflix documentary and enjoying it so far. Even though there's not much in the way of new information, I like how they present things; it feels almost like there's an order to it that helps me make sense of what I had read about the case before and understand it better.

I can't help but think that even though we will probably never know what happened to Madeleine McCann, we can be sure that it wasn't anything good. The poor little mite, she was such a dote and she didn't deserve to be the victim of whatever happened that night.

Wow.

So when the person "checking" leaves the apartment. What are they?

Alone......

While their parents ate and drank in the restaurant, they were left _alone_ in an unsecured apartment.

Who was with them during those intervals ?

No one. Alone.

What did you do while your children napped? Sit quietly in the bedroom hoping they’d drop off any way?
    Or close the bedroom door and go downstairs, leaving them.............................
    Alone.

KikiLaRue wrote: »

But they weren’t in a restaurant across the road.

Anyone see the movie 'Home Alone' ?
    It seems the term 'alone' is being redefined to suit an agenda

First off, guys, stop feeding the obvious troll.
    voldejoie wrote: »
    I'm four episodes in to the Netflix documentary and enjoying it so far. Even though there's not much in the way of new information, I like how they present things; it feels almost like there's an order to it that helps me make sense of what I had read about the case before and understand it better.

I can't help but think that even though we will probably never know what happened to Madeleine McCann, we can be sure that it wasn't anything good. The poor little mite, she was such a dote and she didn't deserve to be the victim of whatever happened that night.

I'm about the same number of episodes in. Gerry said in police interviews that he left the backdoor open, but they could see the front door from the Tapas restaurant. It's a litany of errors on their part.

They also make the point that the initial interviews from the Tapas party was there was no consistency in how often they were checking on the kids. Some said every 20 minutes, some said every hour. Some said they went into the apartments, others said they looked in the window.

Anyone see the movie 'Home Alone' ?
    It seems the term 'alone' is being redefined to suit an agenda

Ah it's grand sure if you think about it. If they were out for 4 hours a night.

They were only alone for 3 hours and 52 minutes. sure they paused they're wining and dining every 30 minutes.

They also make the point that the initial interviews from the Tapas party was there was no consistency in how often they were checking on the kids. Some said every 20 minutes, some said every hour. Some said they went into the apartments, others said they looked in the window.

This changed after the Tapas party got their story straight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,004 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The only objection I have is the way the parents have been absolved of any wrong doing by leaving two toddlers and a 3 year old alone at night whilst they went on the lash.

Other than that no one really knows what happened, but can guess, speculate, theorise etc. That's because ANYTHING could have happened to the little babes.

But anyway, I have often wondered why the so called Abductor who had been casing the place out according to reports, did not have an accomplice to take the three of them while they were at it.

Sorry for the child Madeleine. Her parents neglected all three of them. Others in their group had kiddie monitors, they did not.

So you would kind of wonder sometimes what exactly happened. I have my own theory, and others have said it too.

I doubt there was any abductor at all. No evidence whatsoever.

Probably when they sobered up.

Ah, so there's no actual proof they did it every 30 minutes.

No facts.

Interesting.

limnam wrote:
    Ah, so there's no actual proof they did it every 30 minutes.

Well if you believe the adults that engaged in irresponsible behaviour, what reason would they have to lie about the frequency of checks.

208 pages and not one poster has even attempted to put forward a theory about what could possibly have happened Madeleine.
    No, it’s the same old same old all the time. People inexplicably hating on people they don’t know and no nothing about. Rehashing the same old hackneyed nonsense over and over. Two different police forces have spent thousands and thousands of man hours and millions of pounds and are no wiser about what happened the poor little girl. I actually believe that none of you are as interested in her fate as you are totally desperate to see her parents punished for being two doctors (the cheek of them) from humble origins who lifted themselves up by their own bootstraps and made a success of their lives until one fateful day in May.
    Nothing will eat people alive from the inside out like begrudgery and jealousy.
    It’s literally pouring down the pages of this thread. Same posters, same posts year in and year out. Sad.

208 pages and not one poster has even attempted to put forward a theory about what could possibly have happened Madeleine.
    No, it’s the same old same old all the time. People inexplicably hating on people they don’t know and no nothing about. Rehashing the same old hackneyed nonsense over and over. Two different police forces have spent thousands and thousands of man hours and millions of pounds and are no wiser about what happened the poor little girl. I actually believe that none of you are as interested in her fate as you are totally desperate to see her parents punished for being two doctors (the cheek of them) from humble origins who lifted themselves up by their own bootstraps and made a success of their lives until one fateful day in May.
    Nothing will eat people alive from the inside out like begrudgery and jealousy.
    It’s literally pouring down the pages of this thread. Same posters, same posts year in and year out. Sad.

There is a certain product out there for polishing your halo.

What's your view on what happened?

splinter65 wrote:
    208 pages and not one poster has even attempted to put forward a theory about what could possibly have happened Madeleine. No, it’s the same old same old all the time. People inexplicably hating on people they don’t know and no nothing about. Rehashing the same old hackneyed nonsense over and over. Two different police forces have spent thousands and thousands of man hours and millions of pounds and are no wiser about what happened the poor little girl. I actually believe that none of you are as interested in her fate as you are totally desperate to see her parents punished for being two doctors (the cheek of them) from humble origins who lifted themselves up by their own bootstraps and made a success of their lives until one fateful day in May. Nothing will eat people alive from the inside out like begrudgery and jealousy. It’s literally pouring down the pages of this thread. Same posters, same posts year in and year out. Sad.

Nice attempt at baiting other posters, you hoping to get the thread closed or posters sanctioned?
    Here is a fact Madeline is missing due to the irresponsible behaviour of the two people that should have protected her, not opinion but fact.

Has anyone ever explained how the twins slept through nearly 5/6 hours of commotion in the apartment. Never waking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Here is a fact Madeline is missing due to the irresponsible behaviour of the two people that should have protected her, not opinion but fact.

Partly, yes. I'd also blame whoever took her, the lack of police action after the event (lack of roadbloacks etc.). It was a litany of bad choices all round.

I'll lay my stall out and say I don't believe the McCanns were directly responsible for the death of their daughter, who they appeared (to me) to love very much. I believe she was taken and will sadly never be found alive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Has anyone ever explained how the twins slept through nearly 5/6 hours of commotion in the apartment. Never waking.

No. However, when their hair samples were tested, there were no traces of sedatives found.

Sorry, but this is untrue.
    Yes they were very irresponsible leaving their children like they did, I'm sure they regret that every day of their lives.
    However, the person or persons responsible are the Person(s) that either abducted her or killed & hid the body.
    Without evidence against the parents, you cannot state they did either. So not responsible for Madeline being missing.

No. However, when their hair samples were tested, there were no traces of sedatives found.

Still hard to believe two toddlers slept through the commotion in the apartment that night,not even waking when taken from their bed to a different apartment.