Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Autumn Internationals Team Announcement/Talk

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 8,604 ✭✭✭fitz

matrim wrote: »
    Twice in that passage of play a NZ player was on the wrong side of the ruck and took out the scrum half as they were rolling away.

Care was trying his best to draw a penalty, was pretty quick to fall over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

fullstop wrote: »
    Exactly my point. The TMO made the call.

THE referee makes the call ......

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 128 ✭✭The Dagestani Eagle

never in doubt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

fitz wrote: »
    Care was trying his best to draw a penalty, was pretty quick to fall over.

Probably true the second time, the first looked like he was trying to use the ball.

Basil3 wrote: »
    I'll draw a pretty picture with an offside line when I'm sober

Will you be able to see straight then as well?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

Podge_irl wrote: »
    I don't think the NZ players at the "front" of the ruck were bound though. They just stepped in front of the ruck essentially - which teams do all the time I understand but not sure its a fair offside call based off that.
    Understand what you’re saying and it’s probably something to look at, but under the law it’s offside.
    What also makes it look worse it that Lawes is ahead of the he rest of his team when lining up to make the charge down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭lapua20grain

Bridge93 wrote: »
    Booing the announcement of Retallick as motm. Twickenham croed as classy as ever. Shower of ignorant ****
    Always have been, delighted they lost better team won don't think this is a resurgence by England they raised their game for this match and will fall back to their old ways against Australia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

bilston wrote: »
    So is anyone else slightly concerned about the lineout next week? Retallick was a one man wrecking machine on the England lineout today.

Best player in the world.

Not really, we'll have Toner and Ryan playing, one of the best combos in World Rugby. Only worry is hooker.

Always have been, delighted they lost better team won don't think this is a resurgence by England they raised their game for this match and will fall back to their old ways against Australia.

Heavy rain is a real leveller

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,077 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

England screwed up at the end. Great match. Hope NZ are well and truly knackered!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,721 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Have another watch of it there. The TMO told him it was offside and no try. Bit easier to make that call watching it on 4K HD than it is on the stadium big screen, so he took his word for it. And it was the correct call.

as the mentioned pre-game. new rules today in which the ref can dictate what he sees.

Garces has and always will be a flake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭mangobob

So is anyone else slightly concerned about the lineout next week? Retallick was a one man wrecking machine on the England lineout today.

Best player in the world.

More than slightly. The man is an absolute menace. Incredible player.

Congrats to all the kiwis here. Not your teams greatest performance by any means, but the old cliche of winning while playing below your best being the sign of a champion rings true here.

I honestly think NZ will step it up another gear next week.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

as the mentioned pre-game. new rules today in which the ref can dictate what he sees.

Garces has and always will be a flake

I don't know if Garces pissed in your cornflakes this morning but he absolutely made the correct decision here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,220 ✭✭✭cameramonkey

NZ kept England scoreless for nearly 60 mins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

NZ always get the decisions

Faugheen wrote: »
    I don't know if Garces pissed in your cornflakes this morning but he absolutely made the correct decision here.

I am trying to look balanced. Shhhhhhh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,396 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

'Magnificent game of rugby', says Clive. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Looking at the build up for the Welsh game and they're showing owens lining up a good step towards the Welsh line at all the lineouts. Clearly out of line with the touch judge whps saying nothing. I cant get away with that in junior rugby ffs. Some stuff , like feeding the ball pretty much straight to the 8 is completely overlooked at this level when in reality it should be the other way around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

Fair play to England though, not many gave them a hope today and yet were a centimetre (?) from winning. Small margins and all that. And Vunipola-less

They'll surely take a lot from that and I'm sure they'll be much improved for the 6n. Eddie's job safe now anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭penybont exile

fullstop wrote: »
    Have another watch of it there. The TMO told him it was offside and no try. Bit easier to make that call watching it on 4K HD than it is on the stadium big screen, so he took his word for it. And it was the correct call.

I don't think it was the correct call.

There was ever more blatant offside call 60 seconds from the end .... ignored by the touch judge and ref.

They shouldn't have even been looking at the Lewes incident .... way too close to call.

In the Jock game earlier their was a knock on leading up to 2nd try ... where was the tmo? Nowhere ..... he intervened 30 seconds later as Scotland crossed the line.

Too much TMO ... not a good thing IMO ...the ref needs the balls to make the decision on the field. Say thanks ... but no thanks Mr TMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭GDK_11

Won’t be a popular opinion here through all the glee but thought England were good today. From where we were in the 6 nations it’s a massive improvement.
    Disappointed to lose by 1, thought the try was good but also thought it was a penalty last week so swings and roundabouts.

No shame losing to NZ. The reality is if every team plays to their max they would win, you need them to be a couple of percent off and your side at their max to get the win. That’s how good they are.

Three things saw England lose that one.

1. Kicking it out on the full with 39:30.
    One phase in their 22 and NZ would have kicked it dead, instead they gained 3 points.

2. Turning down the 3 points at 15-13

3. The lineouts but in particular the one after the ball was kicked out on the full and was brought back into the 22.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 805 ✭✭✭no.8

How sour are you, very sad to read this nonsense here. They played very well today and did themselves proud. only someone with all their senses wired shut would think the opposite. I hope Ireland pay as well with that level of intensity next week, because we'll need to.
    This evenings game will be a major test, let alone next week.

There was ever more blatant offside call 60 seconds from the end .... ignored by the touch judge and ref.

They shouldn't have even been looking at that.

In the Jock game earlier their was a knock on leading up to 2nd try ... where was the tmo? Nowhere ..... he intervened 30 seconds later as Scotland crossed the line.

Too much TMO ... not a good thing IMO ...the ref needs the balls to make the decision on the field. Say thanks ... but no thanks Mr TMO

Across the board, nation to nation, game to game , it is being reffed appallingly .

They ref the scoreboard, the clock and the "protagonists" .
    Every team in every game can feel justifiably aggrieved .
    Are the rules too complex?
    Are the refs weak?
    Do local tv producers have influence?
    Are we pedantic?

Every game.

GDK_11 wrote: »
    Won’t be a popular opinion here through all the glee but thought England were good today. From where we were in the 6 nations it’s a massive improvement.
    Disappointed to lose by 1, thought the try was good but also thought it was a penalty last week so swings and roundabouts.

No shame losing to NZ. The reality is if every team plays to their max they would win, you need them to be a couple of percent off and your side at their max to get the win. That’s how good they are.

It will sound petty, but i wouldnt read too much into it.

Held scoreless for 60 minutes on your own patch.

Dry track you were getting humped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,937 ✭✭✭✭bilston

'Magnificent game of rugby', says Clive. :)

It was intense, but put it this way I'd be happy enough if NZ played like that next week. Albeit worried about their defensive lineout.

Missing Watson, Tuilagi, Vunipola x2 aswell who if fit will all start in the RWC

Launchbury too will be touch and go for a starting place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Has Underhill properly announced himself? Hasn’t had too much of a run since that Wales cover tackle?

It will sound petty, but i wouldnt read too much into it.

Held scoreless for 60 minutes on your own patch.

Dry track you were getting humped.

Pretty simplistic view. Quite probably should have had a try and turned down a kickable penalty or two.
    We kept NZ scoreless for nearly 40 minutes, they must be crap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,088 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Anyone able to tell me what channel Wales v Australia and France v SA matches are on? Can't seem to find them in listings here

• Subscribers Posts: 42,644 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

England very unlucky.... But if you can't score for 60 mins of the game that's what happens.
    I personally didn't think lawes was off side, his feet were in line with his own players head.
    During the game I think the result is fair enough, the stats will be hugely in the favour of the abs when they come out, though they didn't exactly create anything of true brilliance.... The weather was a leveller.

England will take great confidence from that, and if they smash a poor Australian team next weekend their Nov will have been a success and they will be a force to reckon with come 6N time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭Jump_In_Jack

Eod100 wrote: »
    Anyone able to tell me what channel Wales v Australia and France v SA matches are on? Can't seem to find them in listings here
    Bbc2
    Eir 2

Pretty simplistic view. Quite probably should have had a try and turned down a kickable penalty or two.
    We kept NZ scoreless for nearly 40 minutes, they must be crap.

I wouldn’t even have justified the post with a response :)

Good performance from England. Question is can they repeat that consistently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,937 ✭✭✭✭bilston

They shouldn't have even been looking at the Lewes incident .... way too close to call.

I don't know if it was the right or wrong call, it was really really close. However to me it wasn't all that clear, in the same way it wasn't clear (allegedly) that Farrell didn't wrap his arms last week. As I said before it is TMO overkill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,817 ✭✭✭corny

Reed was offside by quite a bit in the last couple of minutes. Don't know how NZ weren't penalised for not rolling away either. Care was trying to milk it of course but one tackler had a hold of an English players ankles and made no attempt to roll. Held on to the tackled player for an eternity too.

clsmooth wrote: »
    Has Underhill properly announced himself? Hasn’t had too much of a run since that Wales cover tackle?

He was very good today. There were high expectations of him when he came from the Ospreys as the great hope at 7. Slow start and he’s had some concussion issues I believe,
    Back row has been very poor for a while, himself and Curry look like they could step up.
    He definitely has the physical aspect anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,278 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

They aren't a bad side despite their awful results from last season. That particular side had reached its natural conclusion and were in need of new players to come in.

They're a work in progress though and you could see that after the opening 30 minutes they were mostly out of ideas. They played on emotion and guts. Something that has a place in pro rugby but isn't sustainable over 80 minutes. They need to work on backline attack and set piece. They look decent at the breakdown and in defence though. Very cynical and got away with a lot. Slowed down NZ attack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,088 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Bbc2
    Eir 2

Thanks for that!

And will still win... Australia are having a brutal year

They're a shadow of their sides of old, I would be amazed if England din't win it with a bit to spare

clsmooth wrote: »
    I wouldn’t even have justified the post with a response :)

Good performance from England. Question is can they repeat that consistently.

Yeah I bit 🀣.
    Still a way behind NZ and Ireland for that matter but nice to see them fronting up a bit more

Pass looked forward from Hooper.

Bit that was an awful bit of play from the Oz 13 subsequently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭AbusesToilets

I don't know if it was the right or wrong call, it was really really close. However to me it wasn't all that clear, in the same way it wasn't clear (allegedly) that Farrell didn't wrap his arms last week. As I said before it is TMO overkill.

If it was the NFL, it would fail the Clear and Obvious reason to overturn the one field call. Personally, I think calls like that should go in favor of the attacking team, as it were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,263 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

The pre match event at Cardiff was really tastefully done; simple and sobering.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,272 ✭✭✭almostover

Lawes a fraction ahead of the forward most foot. Correct decision. Fine margins yes but by the letter of the law it's correct.

sydthebeat wrote: »
    England very unlucky.... But if you can't score for 60 mins of the game that's what happens.
    I personally didn't think lawes was off side, his feet were in line with his own players head.
    During the game I think the result is fair enough, the stats will be hugely in the favour of the abs when they come out, though they didn't exactly create anything of true brilliance.... The weather was a leveller.

England will take great confidence from that, and if they smash a poor Australian team next weekend their Nov will have been a success and they will be a force to reckon with come 6N time.

The weather definitely was a leveller, but it is an option that will be more welcomed from neutrals than nz fans

Yeah I bit ��.
    Still a way behind NZ and Ireland for that matter but nice to see them fronting up a bit more

Lots of positives to take. Would but be a little concerned that England have faded 3 times this year after running up and early score in first 20. Watson did his Achilles a second time right? Mall and Billy Vunipoola will make a huge improvemnt to that pack. Billy’s been particularly unlucky with injury

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭vetinari

almostover wrote: »
    Lawes a fraction ahead of the forward most foot. Correct decision. Fine margins yes but by the letter of the law it's correct.

Are you judging against the All Black player's foot on the left of Lawes?
    That guy has gone past the ruck imo.
    Really wish they'd start penalizing the tactic of charging past the ruck as a way to prevent counter ruckers. I know everyone does it.

I wish Aaron Smith hadn't picked today's game to have a stinker. He'll be a lot better next week. Which is rather unfortunate.

Clegg wrote: »
    I wish Aaron Smith hadn't picked today's game to have a stinker. He'll be a lot better next week. Which is rather unfortunate.

i think they are a better team with Ben from accounts at 15. But if they want to insist on two playmakers then just go with Dick Mo and spongebob from the outset.