Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A question for Peter Casey voters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,019 ✭✭✭omega man

Idbatterim wrote: »
    37 out of 40 constituencies have been counted and Casey has 23.1% of first preference, nearly a quarter of the vote!

I see a few issues though, he gets too muddled up, is nowhere near passionate enough im opinion and Id question if he has the drive. you would nead a serious LEADER here to change things...

My hope is another individual or party take the baton and run with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭enricoh

Marhay70 wrote: »
    I see that exemplary role model for the Irish taxpayer, Regina Doherty, is taking the moral high ground against Peter Casey. Really we ought to hang on to this woman's every word.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/election-reaction-peter-caseys-statements-on-travellers-shouldnt-be-allowed-says-minister-881587.html

She is ideal material to be minister - the fact that shes female helped get the percentage of women in cabinet raised. Thats all that matters really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,499 ✭✭✭Choochtown

Patww79 wrote: »
    RTÉ cut it off sharp there.

It's on RTE news channel.

Poor Casey had to speak after the President.

I was embarrassed watching him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,925 ✭✭✭Marhay70

Wouldn't be a first for FG in general, just imagine if they were to be given free rein in Dáil Eireann.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,165 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

omega man wrote: »
    My hope is another individual or party take the baton and run with it.

the only one who I know of, is Lucinda Creighton... Look at where casey was languishing in the poles before he was asked a question and answered it honestly. Renua should back USC abolition, that is a headline grabber and many want that 'recession tax' removed. Leo the Liar said it would be abolished, it can absolutely be abolished, if there are hundreds of millions to send up in smoke on welfare increases every budget.

Also Casey politically doesnt really have much of a clue, he called himself leftist earlier, call yourself centreist for christ sake! There are no extremes in Ireland, certainly not to the right. Centreist here would be deemed left wing in many other countries!

I like the guy, I respect what he said, I voted for him. He has skills that he could bring. What I cannot understand is, how HOW HOW are the politicians here and the setup, so astoundingly bad?!

How is there not one person standing up for taxpayers in the DAIL, how many of them are in there? 160 odd and not one of those parasites, who just squander out taxes, will represent us! W! T! F?!

He can start a party and if he received over 2% of the vote, gets E200,000 a year funding from the taxpayer. There is no point in him running as an independent or going into the current comedy acts...

I see that exemplary role model for the Irish taxpayer, Regina Doherty, is taking the moral high ground against Peter Casey. Really we ought to hang on to this woman's every word.

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/election-reaction-peter-caseys-statements-on-travellers-shouldnt-be-allowed-says-minister-881587.html

Lizard of a woman along with that other slime ball Brian Hayes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,181 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

the only one who I know of, is Lucinda Creighton... Look at where casey was languishing in the poles before he was asked a question and answered it honestly. Renua should back USC abolition, that is a headline grabber and many want that 'recession tax' removed. Leo the Liar said it would be abolished, it can absolutely be abolished, if there are hundreds of millions to send up in smoke on welfare increases every budget.

I'd never vote for Lucinda or Renua though.

Rather have my foreskin sewn shut with red hot needles.

What they said, the more travellers in an area, the more he got votes. In Dublin 4 etc not so many, in West Meath a lot. I think it explains much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Result!!!

464759.GIF

He's foaming at the mouth over on Twitter all day, this joker is comedy gold.

what other country will bend over backwards, have citizens defending the indefensible, world class welfare system and a wild west, do what you want justice system?!

What they said, the more travellers in an area, the more he got votes. In Dublin 4 etc not so many, in West Meath a lot. I think it explains much.

Limerick/Tipperary, Casey came a closer second to Higgins than anywhere else, coincidentally the areas closest to Rathkeale.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭djPSB

Zaph wrote: »
    So it looks like Peter Casey is going to come in with about 20% of the vote rather than the pre-Traveller comments 2% that was looking likely, although he's currently showing at over 50% in the two separate AH polls. His comments, and people's reasons for voting for him have been done to death elsewhere, so purely out of curiosity, if he hadn't made those comments how would you have voted?

It wasn't his comments in relation to travellers.

If was his ambition to support the working people and stop the social welfare Republic.

It's sick the amount of tax that working people are paying on wages for such little return. Terrible Health Services, ineffective Police Force marred with scandal after scandal, horrendous public transport etc.

And then you have the social welfare sponges who don't work a day and are getting allowances and benefits galore. People believing they have an entitlement to a free house while others have to work to pay a mortgage and bills. Social welfare badgers complaining that they have to live in a hotel rather than be given a free house. The people's taxes paying for you to live in a hotel, Jesus wept!

Time for change. And Peter Casey is the only one to date to show support to the working public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

Grayson wrote: »
    I think you guys need to use dictionaries more
    https://www.dictionary.com/browse/feminism

By stating that, he is a feminist. That's the definition of the word.

Yes, rights equal to men’s but not for men to have rights equal to women’s. This is why they will actively fight men’s campaigns like campaigns for equal parental rights. So it was never about true equality.

• Potatoeman wrote: »
    Yes, rights equal to men’s but not for men to have rights equal to women’s. This is why they will actively fight men’s campaigns like campaigns for equal parental rights. So it was never about true equality.

Oh sit down. You haven’t a notion what you’re on about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,490 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

everlast75 wrote: »
    I'm sick and tired of people saying that they voted for Casey in order to shake up the establishment etc etc.

If you can't pull your head out of your ass and see the irreparable damage votes based on that premise has and continues to do to the States, then I can't help you.

I get the frustration at the refusal of those in power to speak to the facts, and I mean facts, not embellished anecdotes.

But ffs, a poster said that he got his vote when Casey said he wasn't a feminist, then when another said that Casey was "literally" wrong on the definition, the poster fudged the issue.

A lot of anger is there, and the subject should be addressed, and politicians should do much much bettet, but making it the basis of a presidential election is mental.

Well if the purpose was to send a message or shake up the establishment then it did work.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 10,878 Mod ✭✭✭✭PauloMN

Connors is the traveller equivalent of this clown:
    https://twitter.com/KilclooneyJohn

If you're ever bored and in need of a laugh, take a peek.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

I'm confused with the voting public in Ireland, Clearly a lot of people feel strongly about the issues raised by Casey and I don't blame them. However FG who under Enda Kenny brought it into law that Travellers are recognized in such a way, if people don't agree with their policies why on Earth are they voting for them?

Which party disagreed with them? It's hard to vote against policies when all (or near enough all) the parties are in lockstep.

psinno wrote: »
    Which party disagreed with them? It's hard to vote against policies when all (or near enough all) the parties are in lockstep.

All the parties are terrified of being perceived as being non PC. Maybe the vote for Casey will show that it's OK to reflect the views of the people now and again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,296 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

It's like anything in a democracy where we elect people to make laws and legislate. Get somebody to represent you and change it.

If a government were to respond to requests from random people where would we be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,545 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

In no particular order why I voted for PC

Leo said not to
    I’m a racist (apparently)
    I’m a cu&t ((according to some boards posters)
    I don’t think the likes of Mags Cash should leech of us forever without ever contributing a cent
    A travellor tried to rob my house
    Don’t think people should live on sw forever
    I’m a racist like all PC voters as the media suggested

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Great responses.

People who live in affluent areas or people who are blinded by socialist ideology like to tell themselves that only uneducated, thick, backwards right-wingers voted number one for Casey, but they'd be disappointed.

Many educated, centre-occupying, liberal folk like myself who voted an emphatic yes to marriage equality and voted to repeal the 8th, are sickened by the impunity a good chunk of traveller society enjoy, and we may not necessarily view Casey as an ideal presidential candidate but believe people should be able to express such views and dialogue should be opened relating to same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Sandor Clegane

I wouldn't of voted for anybody, Casey was the only one who showed any sort of integrity, he spoke up and was honest on a major issue facing our society today, in fact the others had the gall to say they'd actually accept a halting site in their area...outrageous lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭Ultimanemo

To be honest I agree with what he said, but I didn't vote because I know he only said that to get votes, he knew he had nothing to lose so probably he was trying to get his money back

imagine what the turnout would have been if casey hadnt of piped up! Most people I know, myself included, would not have voted otherwise!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,831 ✭✭✭irishproduce

I tell you what, there's a serious vote there for whoever will take the mantle and head toward the next election.
    All Casey had to do was address one single grievance and he came in second place from being sneered at.
    I hope either he establishes a party or a party emerges and he helps them.
    He is a strong figure head and the brand he has created as a result of this election is politically priceless. If it is not taken on from here, I'd be very concerned there is backroom stuff at play to shut it down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Limerick/Tipperary, Casey came a closer second to Higgins than anywhere else, coincidentally the areas closest to Rathkeale.

2 of the 4 nominations he got

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

Lets face it none of the other candidates stood out except for Peter Casey.

They were basically sheep.

Fair play to Peter for coming second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Grayson wrote: »
    By stating that, he is a feminist. That's the definition of the word.
    Sounds more like an equalist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Moghead

Dunno why but I just got a real sleazyball vibe off Casey. Think it's the head on him or something, looks like the type who'd spend half the year paying to ride anything with a pulse in South East Asia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

Rennaws wrote: »

while the lazy self entitled dregs of our society are overly well catered for.

It’s wrong and it has to stop.

Do you mean our overpaid politicians when you say that?

mikeym wrote: »
    Lets face it none of the other candidates stood out except for Peter Casey.

They were basically sheep.

Fair play to Peter for coming second.

yeah the 'wont someone think of the children' politics has to stop! Look at what the likes of Michael collins did for this country, amongst others! True patriots and leaders, then LOOK, JUST LOOK at the insults to this country that are now running this country! Its actually disgusting!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,293 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Moghead wrote: »
    Dunno why but I just got a real sleazyball vibe off Casey. Think it's the head on him or something, looks like the type who'd spend half the year paying to ride anything with a pulse in South East Asia.

Did he wink at you?

I tell you what, there's a serious vote there for whoever will take the mantle and head toward the next election.
    All Casey had to do was address one single grievance and he came in second place from being sneered at.
    I hope either he establishes a party or a party emerges and he helps them.
    He is a strong figure head and the brand he has created as a result of this election is politically priceless. If it is not taken on from here, I'd be very concerned there is backroom stuff at play to shut it down.

I agree, but he would need someone with real conviction and balls and political experience to join him and honestly other than Lucinda Creighton who those vermin successfully silenced last time round, I cant think of anyone else...

Sure look at the 'quality" ah ha ha ha ahhhhhhhh! that FF and FG have, those jokes are at the top of the two biggest political parties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Entirely true which is why it's strange to see posts on here like Martin to take Caseys comments on board for FF postering purposes when in actual fact Martin is already on record as saying it was a great occasion when it was brought in. Can't use that tactic with him as leader.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,954 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Casey got 33% of the vote here in Galway East, a constituency in which Mick D was expected to have no opposition at all.

I think it's more about the message than the man himself, the subjects he brought up moved him from 2% nationally to over 20% by the time it was all over in just a week.

The media and politicians reckoned he would still get nowhere despite what he said.

They were very wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭mattser

yeah the 'wont someone think of the children' politics has to stop! Look at what the likes of Michael collins did for this country, amongst others! True patriots and leaders, then LOOK, JUST LOOK at the insults to this country that are now running this country! Its actually disgusting!

Move into the 21st century ffs. This country is light years ahead of a lot of European countries never mind the rest of the world. I would imagine you're not very well travelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

djPSB wrote: »
    It wasn't his comments in relation to travellers.

If was his ambition to support the working people and stop the social welfare Republic.

It's sick the amount of tax that working people are paying on wages for such little return. Terrible Health Services, ineffective Police Force marred with scandal after scandal, horrendous public transport etc.

And then you have the social welfare sponges who don't work a day and are getting allowances and benefits galore. People believing they have an entitlement to a free house while others have to work to pay a mortgage and bills. Social welfare badgers complaining that they have to live in a hotel rather than be given a free house. The people's taxes paying for you to live in a hotel, Jesus wept!

Time for change. And Peter Casey is the only one to date to show support to the working public.

Then why punch down rather than up?
    We clearly have an incompetent government and public sector. There are great people working in it but they are hamstrung by incompetent idiots on the top. Go after them, provide solutions and watch as the votes flow in. Oh no that sounds like too much hard work so the twat decides to punch down instead.

newspower wrote: »
    Might not be something people like to admit, but politicians are not lazy.
    Jesus you are actually losing the plot due to convincing yourself FG are something that they're not. It's not good for you - calm down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

Let's remind ourselves what Leo said in his pledge to get elected as Taoiseach..

Minister for Social Protection Leo Varadkar has said he wants to lead a party for “people who get up early in the morning”.

Then as recently as last October he had the gall to insist that he would..

"never apologise for standing up for people who get up early in morning, who work nights and weekends, who aspire for something better for themselves and their families”.

“It's their taxes that fund public services and keep our welfare system afloat and they deserve a break. And they know which party is on their side,” he added."

You're a blatant liar Leo. Enjoy your spoils because they won't last much longer...

https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/varadkar-wants-to-lead-party-for-people-who-get-up-early-in-the-morning-1.3090753

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/politics/leo-varadkar-well-never-apologise-for-standing-up-for-people-who-get-up-early-they-deserve-a-break-36249175.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,279 ✭✭✭The Bishop Basher

newspower wrote: »

If the cap fits..

Varadkar is damned if he does, damned if he doesn't. A thatcherite to the Paul Murphy types, a lying weasel leftist whatever to the anti every politician ever crowd.

Perfectly centrist politician whose party has achieved great things since taking over from the previous crooks in 2011.

Varadkar is damned if he does, damned if he doesn't. A thatcherite to the Paul Murphy types, a lying weasel leftist whatever to the anti every politician ever crowd.

Perfectly centrist politician whose party has achieved great things since taking over from the previous crooks in 2011.

Aye he has done a reasonably ok job but why are we only aspiring for reasonably ok in our politicians?

P_1 wrote: »
    Aye he has done a reasonably ok job but why are we only aspiring for reasonably ok in our politicians?
    Well I don't think we are, nor am I endorsing same - just noting the delusional nonsense that those who oppose him tell themselves.

Tbf hes had a fair few clangers on his watch. Housing and rent is the main one. I mean if its 3 times more expensive to rent here than in Manchester theres an issue that needs fixing.

Transport is another. Why are so many people stuck in traffic for so long in the likes of Dublin or Galway? Its basic incompetence and we can do so much better

Tbf hes had a fair few clangers on his watch. Housing and rent is the main one. I mean if its 3 times more expensive to rent here than in Manchester theres an issue that needs fixing.

Transport is another. Why are so many people stuck in traffic for so long in the likes of Dublin or Galway? Its basic incompetence and we can do so much better
    But the reality is that these are issues which simply cannot be resolved in a matter of months, especially when there are obstacles being encountered.

Aye. With the benefit of hindsight we really should have been building during the recession when prices were low. That ship has sailed unfortunately and were all paying the price for it now

FG have been a party of Government for seven years, the housing crisis has been going on for at least four of them. FG have employed sticking plaster remedies where surgery is required. The fact is, the state needs to build houses and FG don't have a track record of building houses.
    I remember one of their brilliant schemes to avoid building in the 1980s was to give every one occupying a Council house £5000 toward purchasing in the private sector. Brilliant for the builders and developers but disastrous for those in Council estates as those people who had skills and jobs, the cream of the working class, took up the offer and the vacuum was filled with every scumbag and villain from within a thirty mile radius resulting in areas like Killinarden in Tallaght becoming lawless jungles.
    FG are a Tory party, certainly not of the centre, interesting to see that Kenny's hero is in serious trouble in Germany for much the same reason as FG are here, where Merkel's policy of not building has led to spiralling rents and shortage of housing in areas around Frankfurt. Her party faces serious losses in the state elections in Hesse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,456 ✭✭✭Wrongway1985

Rennaws wrote: »
    You're a blatant liar Leo. Enjoy your spoils because they won't last much longer

Front page of one of the papers reporting he said let's not make a loser a winner referring to the surprise of Casey being a runner up by a long distance. Fwiw didn't vote Casey myself but ignoring quarter of the country who did vote for him and more importantly their reasons in voting for him is striking, complete lack of leadership. Such a cowardly man.

When I consider Varadkar's track record it's a record of outstanding mediocrity, he has achieved nothing in any of his briefs, couldn't even command majority support from party grass roots in the leadership campaign. A spectacularly unremarkable, smug egotist.