Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Taken Down [RTE]

• Registered Users Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭tylercheribini

Only first episode, hopefully it picks up though as it expands into other urban locations.

Haha Sinn Fein attenpting to reinvent themselves as colour blind is comical given their past/present

They are all about affirmative action these days. Only a woman candidate could be selected in Tipperary to run in the next General election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,517 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Only first episode, hopefully it picks up though as it expands into other urban locations.

Yes otherwise it will be like the kidnap scene from Fair City.

They are all about affirmative action these days. Only a woman candidate could be selected in Tipperary to run in the next General election.

Yea but protect paedophile/rapists within their ranks, they are as hypocritical as the church.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Yer man queing for food was worse than Pat short... Terrible...

He's a friend of mine the actor, thought he was ****e

The lead female cop was pretty good. Liked her in love hate too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

writer deserves a good run - so will watch again. Could be the awkward 2nd album.

No harm that character dying - couldn't understand him.

The previews these days - just after show are a disgrace, spoiler alert of its own show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,100 ✭✭✭ectoraige

I thought it was well written, good first episode. If they are looking for Flora, they should check the fridge.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    That, like the final season of House of Cards, would seem to be the point.. Social and Liberal commentary in the guise of prime time entertainment.

It's actually shocking how quickly people in this country have adopted this Americanised shyte in the last few years.
    I hate how the Irish Left has started to just copy the American Left, despite the massive differences in culture, history, demographics etc basically everything. American social and liberal commentary has no relevance to this country.

Yet these dangerous idiots are already at it talking about privilege and people of colour, and laughable irrelevant ****e they see on CNN.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

I never watched Love/Hate so looking forward to getting in on this from the start later

Gleeson compared it to The Wire on Darcy last night :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I hate how the Irish Left has started to just copy the American Left, despite the massive differences in culture, history, demographics etc basically everything. American social and liberal commentary has no relevance to this country.

Yet these dangerous idiots are already at it talking about privilege and people of colour, and laughable irrelevant ****e they see on CNN.

Completely agreed. America is a deeply divided country with social and racial problems going back generations... But those cannot just be copy/pasted onto other societies like ours.

The problem is that many Irish people need to be liked and approved of, and that is why these dangerous philosophies have gained such traction not just on Irish twitter accounts but formerly respected main stream media (who are now staffed by people more concerned with "trending" tweets and "likes" than reality), not to mention our social media obsessed current Taoiseach of course.

The ginger was actually a Gleeson was he?..yeah..over acted really..

I had feared this would turn into some sort of 'woke' drama but after the success of Love/Hate I decided to give it a try.

It's very very slow paced and already painting the refugees as victims while the white man is the oppressor. Throw in space filling random various shots of Dublin and sadly we are looking down that well-trodden path of mediocrity.

Ill stick with it because it is the first episode but so far not so good. Compare for example to a very gritty drama that aired last Sunday 'Doing Money' its a poor affair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Worth another look. Some acting was particularly bad and elements of the script. Most annoying thing is that awful, now cliched incidental music that seems to de rigeur for any 'dramas' these days.

Love/Hate was a solid drama but even that came nowhere near the Wire. Nothing will to be fair....not even Simons latest masterpiece The Deuce.

I think what he might have really meant though that the themes explored are similar to some of the themes explored in the Wire especially Season Two with the Ports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Jesus. That was tough going.

And the ad break with an upcoming Maurice mc Cabe documentary just to tip me over the RTE ledge.
    Maybe they had him in as a Garda liason to really up the cringy bull**** factor.

This whole fiasco has completely turned me off ever opening the door to the TV licence inspector.

I never watched Love/Hate so looking forward to getting in on this from the start later

Treat yourself to the box set of Love Hate for Christmas. It really was worth watching.

It was the same in many areas, the local male Sinn Fein councillors then quit the party in my area.Lucky for us all they are too incompetent to ever take power here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Completely agreed. America is a deeply divided country with social and racial problems going back generations... But those cannot just be copy/pasted onto other societies like ours.

The problem is that many Irish people need to be liked and approved of, and that is why these dangerous philosophies have gained such traction not just on Irish twitter accounts but formerly respected main stream media (who are now staffed by people more concerned with "trending" tweets and "likes" than reality), not to mention our social media obsessed current Taoiseach of course.

The only one seeing that is people like you.

You do realise that this majority of Irish people don't have access to CNN.

To pretend they do is just stupid

Most Irish people also don't give a flying.. what's going on in the States. Outside of forums like this is rarely a topic.

Also we've had direct provision for decades in this country . And it's always been topical. It has nothing to do with the USA no matter how much you would like it to be.

Anyway back to the program because you know this thread is to discuss TV.

The lead in it was very good. Hopefully it expands locations as it got claustraphobic

Hmm id start with Love/hate to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭Spon Farmer

ectoraige wrote: »
    I thought it was well written, good first episode. If they are looking for Flora, they should check the fridge.

Sure they ruined the mystery of Flora in the ads they've been showing for the last few weeks.

Did anyone else notice that in the canteen interviews Angry Garda was talking to the lesbian journalist from Fair City? I couldn't tell what accent she was using though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Hmm id start with Love/hate to be honest.

And stop with it to.

Love/Hate was a solid drama but even that came nowhere near the Wire. Nothing will to be fair....not even Simons latest masterpiece The Deuce.

I think what he might have really meant though that the themes explored are similar to some of the themes explored in the Wire especially Season Two with the Ports.

I liked the first series of The Deuce but do you not think the second series is a #metoo orgy(pardon the pun)? Of all the enviroments to apply it to,if anything the contemporary porn industry has regressed for females in many respects. Makes it so much harder to believe that a feninist uprising existed back when series is set. Theories abound that Franco's recent sexual harrassement accusations led to a substantial shift in the balance of power dictating shows direction.

I completely misunderstood this the first time I read it. :rolleyes:

How does this compare to The Rock on Virgin Media? Acting and plot wise. I know its a soap so hard to compare. This wont touch Love Hate that much we know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

listermint wrote: »
    The only one seeing that is people like you.

You do realise that this majority of Irish people don't have access to CNN.

To pretend they do is just stupid

Most Irish people also don't give a flying.. what's going on in the States. Outside of forums like this is rarely a topic.

Also we've had direct provision for decades in this country . And it's always been topical. It has nothing to do with the USA no matter how much you would like it to be.

Anyway back to the program because you know this thread is to discuss TV.

The lead in it was very good. Hopefully it expands locations as it got claustraphobic

You're right... Its about a TV show and not a very good start at that.

But point of order.. CNN has been in news section of Sky's EPG for years, people very much do watch what happens in America (since Trump came to power even more so) and pretty much everyone has access to the Internet where much of these online "trends" are reposted as gospel right here on Irish news and social media sites.

I don't know a single person that turns on CNN regardless of it being in sky EPG.

If you were to answer truthfully neither do you.

You could argue that we know the subject matter because it is something that interests us but I would by no means argue that my friends or family even care about it.

I'm self aware of that.

To argue that TV programs are aping a leftist view coming from American CNN is bringing tears of laughter to my eyes.

Again we've had direct provision for years here it has absolutely zilch to do with the US CNN or any supposed leftist agenda

Be a bit real for once will yaz.

I would ignore that poster, it's unsurprising the biggest shinnerbots on boards arrived within seconds of SF being mentioned.

CNN is the only American news channel available here since Sky got rid of Fox. And Twitter is dominated by American liberal politics , it trends worldwide daily.

I would ignore that poster, it's unsurprising the biggest shinnerbots on boards arrived within seconds of SF being mentioned.

CNN is the only American news channel available here since Sky got rid of Fox. And Twitter is dominated by American liberal politics , it trends worldwide daily.

Jesus age Christ.

I'm not a shinnet bot .

And Jesus age Christ I've never read as many trigger words out of a single poster in my life. The only thing your missing is a maga hat and a UK bulldog on your chest.

Give over with the rethoric for one night will ya and discuss the program on its merit .

Acting and direction.

You are really tiring

I liked the first series of The Deuce but do you not think the second series is a #metoo orgy(pardon the pun)? Of all the enviroments to apply it to,if anything the contemporary porn industry has regressed for females in many respects. Makes it so much harder to believe that a feninist uprising existed back when series is set. Theories abound that Franco's recent sexual harrassement accusations led to a substantial shift in the balance of power dictating shows direction.

No to be honest I couldn't envisage David Simon ever being one to bend the knee to anyone. I would say to a certain extent, the growth of the Porn industry provided women with a little more empowerment and essentially made the pimp
    redundant. Since the beginning of the twentieth century, a feminist movement has existed in some shape or form. The latest iteration of it is just bát shít crazy lunatics who discredit some genuine causes in the past.

CNN is also available on Freesat too.

There isn't much discussion of the actual program going on.:rolleyes:

Anyway, it was a bit slow moving but a decent start. The Guard queueing up for lunch was funny.

Yeah I thought was gas because I can see it happening. Actually the leads sidekick detective is pretty solid performer.

Speaks volumes.

I think Jimmy Smallhorne who plays a great villain (Git Loughman previously) is a great cast addition and has the power to carry this series if given enough screentime. Brian Gleeson is only suited to certain roles. Im not sure he ever shook off the Hughie typecast from the first season of Love/hate, a role which he was outstanding in.

The pace is considerably slower than Love/Hate which was a blood pumping adrenaline rush from the start.

The lead actress herself was quite good in Love/Hate as Aidos drug-addicted girlfriend Nadine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

listermint wrote: »
    Yeah I thought was gas because I can see it happening. Actually the leads sidekick detective is pretty solid performer.

And she was desperate in the young offenders

rob316 wrote: »
    And she was desperate in the young offenders

True

• Registered Users Posts: 276 ✭✭Johnwayne98

pudzey101 wrote: »
    will give it a watch on Sunday night , im sure it will be a love/hate type of show :D

Created by the people who made love/hate.I watched it tonight.Didnt find it as meaty as love/hate.Maybe it'll pick up next week.Fairly over-hyped all last week in the lead up to tonight.Ill still watch it next week though to see how it develops.

No to be honest I couldn't envisage David Simon ever being one to bend the knee to anyone. I would say to a certain extent, the growth of the Porn industry provided women with a little more empowerment and essentially made the pimp
    redundant. Since the beginning of the twentieth century, a feminist movement has existed in some shape or form. The latest iteration of it is just bát shít crazy lunatics who discredit some genuine causes in the past.

Yea i accept porn industry made pimps redundant if the woman had the 'talent' to make it in the porn industry but id imagine that was as common as a league of ireland making it in the prenier league. As far as the maggie gyleenhal calling the shots and holding her own against mafiosa types etc I just find it not credible then or pre-weinstein. Historical productions will always betray far more about when they are made than when they are set. Also watch the documentaries on Linda Lovelace to realise how women could be and were treated in the industry in the 70's. Even today porn has been reduced to gonzo hardcore arguably far more degrading than 70's/80/s fare.

Yea i accept porn industry made pimps redundant if the woman had the 'talent' to make it in the porn industry but id imagine that was as common as a league of ireland making it in the prenier league. As far as the maggie gyleenhal calling the shots and holding her own against mafiosa types etc I just find it not credible then or pre-weinstein. Historical productions will always betray far more about when they are made then when they are set. Also watch the documentaries on Linda Lovelace to realise how women could be and were treated in the industry in the 70's. Even today porn has been reduced to gonzo hardcore arguably far more degrading than 70's/80/s fare.

I think regardless of how much money you can demand for yourself, the film industry is a machine that chews everyone up and spits them out eventually and the program did hit on actual mysogyny you describe within the industry to a degree.
    Where porn made the pimp effectively redundant is that women were going directly into the industry as opposed to through the street or parlour trade

Discussion on the plot itself tonight??? Im guessing the Algerian man knew or seen something and im wondering if his hanging was really self inflicted. He received somewhat of a threat a few minutes earlier from the caretaker guy.

Would provision centres not fall under some sort of governance or are they privately ran and publicly funded centres?

I think regardless of how much money you can demand for yourself, the film industry is a machine that chews everyone up and spits them out eventually and the program did hit on actual mysogyny you describe within the industry to a degree.
    Where porn made the pimp effectively redundant is that women were going directly into the industry as opposed to through the street or parlour trade
    I wonder did Saoirse Ronan have to sleep with Weinstein and co to get where she is. She got pretty big suddenly. Bigger names than her had to.

Discussion on the plot itself tonight??? Im guessing the Algerian man knew or seen something and im wondering if his hanging was really self inflicted. He received somewhat of a threat a few minutes earlier from the caretaker guy.

Would provision centres not fall under some sort of governance or are they privately ran and publicly funded centres?

From horrific documentaries ive seen on Australian detention centres (lets call them what they are) they are purely out-of-sight-out-of-mind-facilities that the govt will happily fund but with minimal oversight. I would be happy to be proven wrong about Irish facilities but as we know so little I suspect not.

And the whole experience of being arrested fairly rattled him as well.He knew that the guard was watching him,for one reason or another.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Nice programme on TG4 ATM, Keeping Faith. Welsh crime drama.

I wonder did Saoirse Ronan have to sleep with Weinstein and co to get where she is. She got pretty big suddenly. Bigger names than her had to.

Shes quite a good actress but wasnt she very young when she landed her first part???

Although knowing Weinstein, anything goes.

Anyone heading for an instant review - cast your mind back to Love/Hate, the first series wasn't the best. It took a while for it to bed in...

That's very true

Anyone heading for an instant review - cast your mind back to Love/Hate, the first series wasn't the best. It took a while for it to bed in...

That's very true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

That speculation is absolutely inappropriate.

Ha ha the Garda queuing up for the food in the DP centre :D

And he wanted a bit of both main courses