Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Taken Down [RTE]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭The Late Late Show

I feel like someone was trying to play us to get us to watch the episode.

I said I was out after episode 2, and that's the promise I kept. I left the show. I was done and I am done.

I gave it 3 episodes and am now out more or less too. Unless I see good reports of episode 4, I am done with the series. Will not be watching it live tomorrow.

jvan wrote: »
    What was the scene in episode 3 that was supposed to be so stomach churning?

There was nothing in it to make it stomach churning. Episode 3 was a typical midseries filler episode we get in many dramas and it was ok but the fact that episode two was poor and episode one was solid but not exciting has meant that over half this series has been poor to average. Nothing truly great in the first half.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Is the sneak peek for tomorrow available online anywhere? Missed it at the end of last week's ep and RTE don't seem to throw them up on their YouTube like they've done with previous dramas?

• Registered Users Posts: 24 youre boring me now

..can YOU INSTEAD tell me WHY you think Taken Down is good????!!!!!

Well, I would, if you and your idiot chums didn't inundate the thread with relentlessly critical and inane critiques.

Another thing is I am not spilling specific plot details here and am NOT going to comment on storylines' specifics here and the series is not engaging enough to describe plots in spoilers. Stop criticizing other posters here and if you want to make a valid argument WHY Taken Down is good, do so!

Lol that you would even think it necessary to give specific plot points in order to offer an intelligent critique.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,537 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

^^ Mod: Enough of that. Banned for 2 weeks.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

A sign of a really top actor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,365 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

I have to wonder if some folks who are involved in the production of Taken Down are getting onto this thread to try and 'stir up' interest in the show-in a similar way others have tried to 'rile up' audiences and make them see a production.
    It doesn't work-it only kills interest, as they say.

I mean, after episode 2, folks were like 'wow, very few responses on this board-shows the lack of interest this is creating'. Then we get a ton of 'oh, there's a stomach churning scene in the next episode' followed by sudden upswing in comments after episode three...and yet nothing happened (from what I gather), and suddenly the comments got toxic and hostile.

Maybe I'm a conspiracy nut (which I'm not) but it seems quite odd.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,472 ✭✭✭brooke 2

It was critically acclaimed, and those people see nothing foolish in comparing an independent Irish production to a lavishly funded American adaption.

I think it may have something to do with violence! :D

Many posters on here, one in particular, are repeatedly bemoaning the fact that 'Taken Down' is so 'tame'. 'Love/Hate', 'Breaking Bad', 'Game Of Thrones', 'The Sopranos', 'Handmaid's Tale' seemed to sate their appetite for violence porn. One's heart would bleed for them that RTÉ's latest offering clearly does not do so!! :D

By the way, I have just started watching 'Taken Down' and did enjoy it. I am looking forward to seeing the remaining episodes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

I was told ep3 would be stomach churning by someone that does TV reviews - maybe its just me, but a photo and a bit of blood is not stomach churning. :D Yeah if you really think of it and realise she's wiping Esme's blood off the carpet, you might dislike it, but I've already berated him for saying its stomach churning :)

He has refused to say anything about tonight's episode.

But I do like it a lot - it does need a little more concentration than a typical drama and is slow in places, but still very good.

I have to wonder if some folks who are involved in the production of Taken Down are getting onto this thread to try and 'stir up' interest in the show-in a similar way others have tried to 'rile up' audiences and make them see a production.
    It doesn't work-it only kills interest, as they say.

I mean, after episode 2, folks were like 'wow, very few responses on this board-shows the lack of interest this is creating'. Then we get a ton of 'oh, there's a stomach churning scene in the next episode' followed by sudden upswing in comments after episode three...and yet nothing happened (from what I gather), and suddenly the comments got toxic and hostile.

Maybe I'm a conspiracy nut (which I'm not) but it seems quite odd.

That could well be the case with this. There is more drama on this thread than in Taken Down! When posters turn nasty and attack other posters, it is a sign they have lost the argument and have nothing else to say.
    brooke 2 wrote: »
    I think it may have something to do with violence! :D

Many posters on here, one in particular, are repeatedly bemoaning the fact that 'Taken Down' is so 'tame'. 'Love/Hate', 'Breaking Bad', 'Game Of Thrones', 'The Sopranos', 'Handmaid's Tale' seemed to sate their appetite for violence porn. One's heart would bleed for them that RTÉ's latest offering clearly does not do so!! :D

By the way, I have just started watching 'Taken Down' and did enjoy it. I am looking forward to seeing the remaining episodes.

The 5 dramas other than Taken Down you mention are violent but violence alone does not make a good drama. Those 5 dramas are excellent because they are well made, well acted, tell a good story and are compelling and intelligent. Taken Down is well made, the acting varies, the story is all over the place and toned down and while intelligent it is not compelling. Most importantly, the other 5 dramas enter the world they depicted fully and are not afraid to show it. Taken Down is afraid to fully show its world. Violence is a requirement in crime dramas and dystopian dramas. But the story has to be good as well. I do not like Chuck Norris films for instance because while they are violent, they also are poorly made, tell a poor story, have a very biased agenda, etc. I would rather Taken Down to anything Chuck Norris did but luckily that is not the only choice on offer!
    I was told ep3 would be stomach churning by someone that does TV reviews - maybe its just me, but a photo and a bit of blood is not stomach churning. :D Yeah if you really think of it and realise she's wiping Esme's blood off the carpet, you might dislike it, but I've already berated him for saying its stomach churning :)

He has refused to say anything about tonight's episode.

But I do like it a lot - it does need a little more concentration than a typical drama and is slow in places, but still very good.

A photo and and bit of blood is mild and would be shocking in the era of The Riordans not now! Taken Down had the potential to be way better than it is but it is locked into RTE's policy of making 'Amy Huberman' style chick lit drama.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,127 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

A photo and and bit of blood is mild and would be shocking in the era of The Riordans not now! Taken Down had the potential to be way better than it is but it is locked into RTE's policy of making 'Amy Huberman' style chick lit drama.

Patently ridiculous.

It isn't and cannot be compared to Love Hate.
    It's emphasis isn't on violence and it doesn't have to be graphic. There is no doubt that violence is there in the under currents.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

It can't be compared to Love Hate yet that is how it was marketed and advertised?

+1. 100%. It's trailer was constantly shown with an emphasis on 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. It was always shown after RTE 2's re-run of series 1 of The Handmaid's Tale as well. So RTE was marketing it to that audience 100%.

I enjoyed many dramas not all were violent but one cannot help but feel Taken Down is tame and a disappointment to Love/Hate fans especially since it has nominally the same team behind it (how much actually was written by that team is another matter). The Charlie drama about Haughey I enjoyed too and that was not violent but well made and also depicted its world very well. I found Amber to be good and underrated too and while many were disappointed with its ending, that is exactly how the story ends in the world it depicted more often than not.

+1. 100%. It's trailer was constantly shown with an emphasis on 'from the makers of Love/Hate'. It was always shown after RTE 2's re-run of series 1 of The Handmaid's Tale as well. So RTE was marketing it to that audience 100%.

I enjoyed many dramas not all were violent but one cannot help but feel Taken Down is tame and a disappointment to Love/Hate fans especially since it has nominally the same team behind it (how much actually was written by that team is another matter). The Charlie drama about Haughey I enjoyed too and that was not violent but well made and also depicted its world very well. I found Amber to be good and underrated too and while many were disappointed with its ending, that is exactly how the story ends in the world it depicted more often than not.

Jesus H.

The new series on Monday 'Death And Nightingales' is advertised as 'from the makers of The Fall'...nobody is expecting to see The Fall again or even anything like it. It is to emphasize the quality we might expect.

Ridiculous to be giving out because you didn't get Love Hate. :rolleyes:

Jesus H.

The new series on Monday 'Death And Nightingales' is advertised as 'from the makers of The Fall'...nobody is expecting to see The Fall again or even anything like it. It is to emphasize the quality we might expect.

Ridiculous to be giving out because you didn't get Love Hate. :rolleyes:

Only the QUALITY of Love/Hate and The Handmaid's Tale ain't there with Taken Down!!!!!! Not even close. Death and Nightingales looks good and I hope it is. The Fall was excellent too. I didn't expect Taken Down to be a copy of Love/Hate but I expected it to be NOT a copy of blasted Striking Out which it almost is!

Last time Git done a line of coke he didnt fare too well afterwards :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

i am not giving u babey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 597 ✭✭✭clfy39tzve8njq

Last time Git done a line of coke he didnt fare too well afterwards

It wasn't the coke that did the damage twas the beer............. barrel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,001 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

The spoilers by RTE are past daft

They show you what will happen next week.

A even more moronic one - is they show you what will happen with this weeks episode - just after news.

Bizarre stuff

see can you catch a dublin bus

:D:D:D:D:D

Walk crawl

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Good Jasus this is woeful stuff

The hard chaw character is just a bad joke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Icsics

Poor ole Gardai not doing much right!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,854 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

The black fella with the brown cap is woeful as well. Script is rubbish. I’m out.

I gave it every chance - but is terrible.

I mean - 60% of the show is her going to work or doing work - not even over exaggerating

It should have been called - working in Dublin, except her Bus route is way better than she would get in real life.

Other Names

The Job
    The Bus
    Working in Dublin
    The Walk to the Bus
    Bus Route
    Back of the Bus
    The Double Decker
    No Change

Very racist too

Don't think there's any hope for this it's worse than awful

No 2nd series anyway

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

The garda meeting room scene was a new low

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭riemann

riemann wrote: »

I was wrong

The cork gaa jersey :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,695 ✭✭✭Lisha

To be far lowered by the brothel scene!

No 2nd series anyway

Christ no

I was wrong

Funny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Ah here. Vintage Cork GAA jersey just to make it clear to us he is a culchie guard.

Wonder did he go the whole hog with the big one though :D

Why is it always nighttime? Is it all the same night?

Good Jasus this is woeful stuff

The hard chaw character is just a bad joke

He's overplaying the dublinese a bit i agree. i thought he was very good in Love/hate and he plays the sleazy slimeball very well.

Ah here. Vintage Cork GAA jersey just to make it clear to us he is a culchie guard.

Wonder did he go the whole hog with the big one though :D

And it too small for him and all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,148 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Lisha wrote: »
    And it too small for him and all

Left his coat behind too!

No doubt so he’d have an excuse though go back..

Bet they'll all be gone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭8mv

Going against the concensus here I know, but I thought that was a good episode. The first three episodes had some issues but the pacing was pretty good in this one. Confining most of the scenes to the brothel helped to move the story along and the focus was on a small group of characters. I think the acting was good in this one - especially Abeni, Toby and Benjamin.

8mv wrote: »
    Going against the concensus here I know, but I thought that was a good episode. The first three episodes had some issues but the pacing was pretty good in this one. Confining most of the scenes to the brothel helped to move the story along and the focus was on a small group of characters. I think the acting was good in this one - especially Abeni, Toby and Benjamin.

Yep, wasn't going to bother until the trailer kinda got under my skin. It is very intense and building nicely now.

8mv wrote: »

Toby looks very like Paul Pogba.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

It got awfully dark very quick when Toby was bringing Abeni to the alleyway!

Good episode, as was the last one. Abeni is becoming my favorite character

Jaysus can’t believe all the hostile comments arguing over whether or not it’s bloody good, it’s a new show on RTE it’s hardly going to be winning an Oscar, but hey it’s something to watch at 9.30 on a Sunday night - we don’t usually have that option unless it’s eh.. room to improve , or Francis Brennan

We’re getting awful picky for our small little country with very limited ‘made at home’ shows. Just shurrrup and watch the thing or don’t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭ANDREWMUFC

Benjamin is gas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,391 ✭✭✭VeVeX

It got awfully dark very quick when Toby was bringing Abeni to the alleyway!

Good episode, as was the last one. Abeni is becoming my favorite character

Jaysus can’t believe all the hostile comments arguing over whether or not it’s bloody good, it’s a new show on RTE it’s hardly going to be winning an Oscar, but hey it’s something to watch at 9.30 on a Sunday night - we don’t usually have that option unless it’s eh.. room to improve , or Francis Brennan

We’re getting awful picky for our small little country with very limited ‘made at home’ shows. Just shurrrup and watch the thing or don’t.

So we cant make a good TV show because Ireland is a small country?

We are fed mediocre crap because it'll do, it'll do for most people especially those with the small country mentality. Its what has RTE the cesspool of over paid talentless gobshítes that it is. Because ok is deemed to be ok. We are happy with subpar rubbish because Ireland is a small country, bollocks to that.

Ah here, the scene with Tayto from into the west and the other cop on surveillance was absolutely brutal. :rolleyes:

Could they be more suspicious?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 378 ✭✭Redneck Culchie

People might not be so hostile if they weren't forced to pay the TV license and endure this garbage on the state broadcaster and pay the wages of obscenely paid parasites like Ryan Tubridy and Ray D'Arcy. RTE can't make decent television unlike abroad. That is because it is absolute cesspit of nepotism and well connected talentless chancers stealing a living at the taxpayers expense.

VeVeX wrote: »
    So we cant make a good TV show because Ireland is a small country?

We are fed mediocre crap because it'll do, it'll do for most people especially those with the small country mentality. Its what has RTE the cesspool of over paid talentless gobshítes that it is. Because ok is deemed to be ok. We are happy with subpar rubbish because Ireland is a small country, bollocks to that.

Did not watch it tonight and did not see anything here to convince me either to watch it or not to watch it so far! But the excuse of Ireland being a small country is not enough. Ireland was able to make Love/Hate when the IMF were around and the post-Iraq war recession was at its worst. Going on the first 3 episodes of Taken Down, it was just another variation of Striking Out.

People might not be so hostile if they weren't forced to pay the TV license and endure this garbage on the state broadcaster and pay the wages of obscenely paid parasites like Ryan Tubridy and Ray D'Arcy. RTE can't make decent television unlike abroad. That is because it is absolute cesspit of nepotism and well connected talentless chancers stealing a living at the taxpayers expense.

Exactly. It is clear from episodes 1-3 that Taken Down is a tame and uninteresting drama, the exact sanitisation of drama RTE have been doing the last 4 years. The best dramas/films on RTE TV this week were The Handmaid's Tale, Live and Let Die and Mad Max Fury Road, neither of course made by RTE!!!! RTE's Taken Down is supposed to compete with such dramas and films and sold to an audience who loved Love/Hate (which made me proud of Irish drama and made in an era when RTE ignored the minority who cried 'torture porn' each time Nidge, Fran, Darren or Dano killed or beat up or shot someone).

I have no doubt Stuart Carlon and probably Jo Spain wrote a good story with Taken Down. Then, RTE took it and ruined it. Lesson is: NEVER let RTE get their hands on your drama as they will ruin it. A few people complain about a shot cat or a raped Fran the man and so much so wrt the cat they had to have the cat shown on TV ALIVE! RTE was moving in the proper direction when they did Love/Hate but have regressed back to The Big Bow Wow ever since.