Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Got stopped again by AGS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭fletch

So was it struck out? If it wasn't, did you go? Did the Gard show up? If she didn't and it was struck out on the day, it sounds like she deliberately dragged you to court with a case she knew damn well was utter bullsh*t and would be struck out, but at least it would cost you time and money.
    Yes it was struck out and I didn't go to court but yeh it was risky. (but I wasn't losing a days pay for her incompetence)
    In the end, a different Garda (that I had actually met with) went to court on her behalf to get it struck out. She made sure she made it impossible to meet me face to face (always out "on the beat" or on a rest day)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,147 ✭✭✭BobMc

my dad was hit couple years ago, fender bender in town nothing serious at all. Usual, produce licence, ins. cert etc.

He did next day, and insisted on a receipt ot letter showing he produced. Garda was not happy but did it for him.

follow on couple weeks, 3 summons arrive for failure to produce !!

• Registered Users Posts: 193 ✭✭oholly121

The guards a great bunch of lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,344 ✭✭✭markpb

oholly121 wrote: »
    The guards a great bunch of lads

To be fair, there's no counterbalance here. No one is posting here about the positive or neutral experiences they have with AGS. I was stopped at a checkpoint last month, the guard was a normal, human being who reacted normally. How exciting would that post be!? I was stopped a few months before that and this one was chatty and friendly. Hurm, nope, probably not going to post about that either. I was stopped last year when I was on the way to the hospital because my wife was ill, the guard hopped into his van and escorted us across the wilds of Roscommon to get us to a hospital. He even jumped out and helped me bring her into the ED and made sure I was okay before going back to his checkpoint. Maybe I should have posted that but I didn't see the point.

People are the first to complain about AGS and the justice system being too lenient on criminals but if the guards are keeping an eye on cars at one stage driven by known criminals, that's fine with me. Who knows what will be discovered by a random stop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,404 ✭✭✭1874

ted1 wrote: »
    11 years? And you still drive a 17 year olds car?
    Ive my licence over 20 years, been driving a few years longer than that,
    Ive a 17yo car, what matter?

maidhc wrote: »
    In motoring career over the past 18 years I have never found the gardai to be anything other than polite and co operative. I didn't always have everything in order either, but the worst I got was a severe telling off at the side of the road.

I havent, they could do with being a bit more reasonable and professional, especially when its clear they aren't dealing with scum.
    My wife was brow beaten into believing she had done something wrong, randomly stopped around the time of it being highlighted about people driving without L plates and no full licences, when it was discovered she had full licence, Gard came up with some other crap and she ended up with points on her licence.

markpb wrote: »
    To be fair, there's no counterbalance here. No one is posting here about the positive or neutral experiences they have with AGS. I was stopped at a checkpoint last month, the guard was a normal, human being who reacted normally. How exciting would that post be!? I was stopped a few months before that and this one was chatty and friendly. Hurm, nope, probably not going to post about that either. I was stopped last year when I was on the way to the hospital because my wife was ill, the guard hopped into his van and escorted us across the wilds of Roscommon to get us to a hospital. He even jumped out and helped me bring her into the ED and made sure I was okay before going back to his checkpoint. Maybe I should have posted that but I didn't see the point.

People are the first to complain about AGS and the justice system being too lenient on criminals but if the guards are keeping an eye on cars at one stage driven by known criminals, that's fine with me. Who knows what will be discovered by a random stop.

True, people wont report good experiences usually, but most of my experiences regarding stops for checkpoints have started out with Gardai being unpleasant and unprofessional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

When I bought my first car (rather a long time ago) I was constantly pulled over, sometimes with full on blues etc and the Garda were quite unpleasant. Turned out that the car was well known before I bought it, having been used to import various stuff in the panels. Since then I must say that all my experiences with AGS have been positive. They do a difficult job dealing with some of the worst of society and having to knock on doors after accidents. Be polite and courteous, whether the Garda is or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭FanadMan

Have driven all over the country, both sides of the border, during and after the troubles. I've never had any bad dealings with AGS, they've always been friendly and courteous. Same with RUC/PSNI - they got a Donegal reg car through an orange parade

It's all down to how you deal with people. If you go into any situation with an attitude and a girn on your face then expect the same back. In the RUC mentioned above, I got lost because of diversions for the parade. Got stopped at a checkpoint and explained that I hadn't a clue where the hell I was or where I was going. One of the RUC guys said to follow him and he took us through estates to get around the problems. When we got outside the town, he sent us away with a wave and a smile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

I eventually snapped at a garda in Navan who pulled me over for "speeding", despite being in the middle of the town (outside Bank of Ireland) and being on a bicycle.

What's your real name? Lance Armstrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

My brother in law and his mate were stopped for speeding on bicycles before. They laughed at the Garda and asked how they were supposed to know as their bikes didn't have speedos.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,351 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

1874 wrote: »
    ted1 wrote: »
    11 years? And you still drive a 17 year olds car?

Ive my licence over 20 years, been driving a few years longer than that,
    Ive a 17yo car, what matter?
    I think you misread ted1's post!

D3V!L wrote: »
    My brother in law and his mate were stopped for speeding on bicycles before. They laughed at the Garda and asked how they were supposed to know as their bikes didn't have speedos.

What's the lowest speed limit? You'd still want to be peddling like the Duracell Bunny to break it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭D3V!L

What's the lowest speed limit? You'd still want to be peddling like the Duracell Bunny to break it!

30 in the city. Easily broken on a bicycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

yup and loads of hills coming into towns where you can go over 50 km/h on a push bike just by getting aero.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭Gazzmonkey

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    Be polite and courteous, whether the Garda is or not.

Absolutely not, we're not door mats.

They should receive as good as they give, remember.. a Garda is just another person.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

My bike has a speedo, 30 km/h is no problem, 40-50 entirely possible, it still is rocksolid at 60 and the fastest I've gone is 73.
    It is an E-Bike, But the E only goes to 25, after that it's just bike.
    And it's no racer either, sort of a half mountain half touring bike.

My bike has a speedo, 30 km/h is no problem, 40-50 entirely possible, it still is rocksolid at 60 and the fastest I've gone is 73.

Does it have drop bars? Brave doing 73 if it does not :)

The fastest I've gone is 73.

What's that in old money?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭jelutong

45 and a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

73?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,170 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

FanadMan wrote: »
    Have driven all over the country, both sides of the border, during and after the troubles. I've never had any bad dealings with AGS, they've always been friendly and courteous. Same with RUC/PSNI - they got a Donegal reg car through an orange parade

It's all down to how you deal with people. If you go into any situation with an attitude and a girn on your face then expect the same back. In the RUC mentioned above, I got lost because of diversions for the parade. Got stopped at a checkpoint and explained that I hadn't a clue where the hell I was or where I was going. One of the RUC guys said to follow him and he took us through estates to get around the problems. When we got outside the town, he sent us away with a wave and a smile.
    Pretty much. I've dealt wth police in Ireland, the UK, France, Spain and Italy going back to the mid 80s's and 90% of the interactions were either entirely professional, all the way up to pleasant and jokey(and have met a fair few petrolheads among their number).

I've encountered a couple of gobshites yes, one, many moons ago, in particular stood out as a really nasty bastard. A Guard who stopped me for no obvious reason and then got extremely aggressive, for no obvious reason either. To the extent that the Ban Garda with him was getting visibly uncomfortable. It was a pretty remote rural area and I was genuinely getting anxious with this guy. An elderly lady tending her garden nearby had overheard all this and actually questioned him about his behaviour. His response was littered with expletives. I won't go into what I did when I got the chance, but suffice to say I hotfooted it straight to the nearest big Garda station I knew to report him. I heard later he had popped up on internal radar before and ended up driving a desk.

But yeah, my overwhelming experience of Guards on the road has been positive.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

jelutong wrote: »
    45 and a bit.

Yikes! :eek:

73?

45 and a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

FanadMan wrote: »

Attitude is a big thing When I was younger I used to hang around with boy racers etc (I know I know) anyway I was stoped and searched a good few times I always cooperated and was plesent because I had Notting in my car was fully taxed ncted and insured and I'd a full liecence my car wasn’t modified at all was just a golf other guys I hung round with where the same but did not cooperate to well with gardai they ended up been pulled everyday I was hardly ever after a while maybe a lesson in that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,176 ✭✭✭✭josip

Do cars get flagged at a local level on a sheet of paper or at a national level on a computer system?
    Given that most cars will get sold at some point or other, could the Gardai get updates from Shannon on changes of ownership and save a lot of people a lot of time and hassle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,448 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

hone, they were in the car park getting snacks in a shop beforehand!)

It did test my patience and I eventually snapped at a garda in Navan who pulled me over for "speeding", despite being in the middle of the town (outside Bank of Ireland) and being on a bicycle, had absolutely no equipment to measure speed. I'll never know to this day how I didn't end up in more hot soup over the "heated exchange" I had with him. I also don't know was it coincidence that after that I was never stopped again in that car (drove it round for another year)
    ot)

There’s no offence of speeding on a pushbike but there is an offence of “cycling furiously” which always cracks me up. I assume a judge would take a gyard’s word as to what constitutes”furiously”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Marcusm wrote: »
    There’s no offence of speeding on a pushbike but there is an offence of “cycling furiously” which always cracks me up. I assume a judge would take a gyard’s word as to what constitutes”furiously”.

Oh no! Meant the garda was on a bicycle, not me... I'd probably end up in the Boyne if I tried to use a bicycle again! :P

There’s no offence of speeding on a pushbike but there is an offence of “cycling furiously”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭sjb25

cycling furiously”

I would actually take the fine for this so I could frame it :)

sjb25 wrote: »
    I would actually take the fine for this so I could frame it :)

Similar offense in the UK used to convict this guy.

https://www.thejournal.ie/charlie-alliston-sentenced-3603691-Sep2017/

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Gazzmonkey wrote: »
    Absolutely not, we're not door mats.

They should receive as good as they give, remember.. a Garda is just another person.

Just be polite then.

It costs nothing and will generally be returned. Even if you meet an unreasonable Garda it won't really help if you anger them further by arguing. Give them whatever they want and be on your way.

Just my own experience.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,197 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

...Give them whatever they want and be on your way...

Exactly, your name, where you're coming from and where you're headed.

After that they can sing dixie.
    Was driving home from town many moons ago and a big backlog at a local checkpoint, was stopped by the most ignorant garda, wanted to know had I a valid tax disc and it was clearly displayed which I politely pointed out (something along the lines of "yes, garda it's displayed there" and not in a knobby manner) and he said at volume don't be a smart arse.
    I politely gave him my name, where I was coming from and where I was going and then told him I was driving off as I have done nothing wrong and he had no right being ignorant to me and creating such a tailback.
    Told him if he had an issue with that to follow me straight to the local station which was on my way home as I was stopping there now to report him.

He just stared at me as I drove off and I did stop at the station and report him and the garda behind the counter just took a deep breath and thanked me. I got the feeling from his manner that I was not the first he had heard of that other guy that night from the public.

I don't live in a police state, I've no problem with good garda but those ones that know everything and treat you like they are superior are aplenty, name, where coming from, destination then I'm off...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,070 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

josip wrote: »

It takes a special kind of moron to ride a Fixie on any public street, never mind in a city centre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,448 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Oh no! Meant the garda was on a bicycle, not me... I'd probably end up in the Boyne if I tried to use a bicycle again! :P

If you’re being chased by a guard on a bike then you must be doing seriously wrong!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Do cars get flagged at a local level on a sheet of paper or at a national level on a computer system?
    Given that most cars will get sold at some point or other, could the Gardai get updates from Shannon on changes of ownership and save a lot of people a lot of time and hassle?

At a local level the "KLO" (keep a look out) can be on a sheet of paper in the parade room just to catch the attention of members coming on duty. But everything else is on the NVF (national vehicle file) in Shannon. When a change of ownership is recorded the "tags" do not change. This is because the scrots regularly transfer ownership in an effort to loose the suspect tag. So if you buy a car from a scrot then you need to get the history cleared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,492 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Seve OB wrote: »
    It takes a special kind of moron to ride a Fixie on any public street, never mind in a city centre.
    It wouldn't be my own particular choice, but there's nothing intrinsically dangerous about a fixie. It's not as if fixie riders are killing 3 or 4 people each week.

Using a fixie with no brakes is the issue.

tuxy wrote: »
    Using a fixie with no brakes is the issue.

Fixies do not have brakes

Some do some don't

Fixies do not have brakes

But they can be stopped using the fixed wheel, right.?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,794 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

His bike had no front brake: it was the inability to stop that tipped the judge over, not how he was cycling.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

galwaytt wrote: »
    His bike had no front brake: it was the inability to stop that tipped the judge over, not how he was cycling.
    It was a bit of both surely. If he hadn't been cycling slower, or watching out more, the collision could have been avoided or the impact reduced. The lack of a brake was one of several factors.

galwaytt wrote: »

I posted that link, not because of the details of the case or decision, but the specific offense he was charged with, 'furious driving'.
    This was in direct response to Marcusm's earlier email.

But they can be stopped using the fixed wheel, right.?

Yea the idea is to slow them down with your pedaling. But unlike a regular bike, you can't just stop pedaling. I haven't ridden one since I was a kid so can't really comment about how quick you can stop one, but certainly not as quick as a freewheel bike with brakes.

In general Fixies are made for track cycling and as a rule do not have any brakes. They can be installed though, I would guess depending on the frame. However I think it's rare enough to see someone go an stick them on

What about all the fixies in use because they are trendy(although I think it's dying out now) . You see them for sale at highly inflated prices (an indication of demand) . Sometimes they have a front brake and sometimed they don't. They have to outnumber track bikes by a large percentage. Especially in a country with no indoor velodrome.

tuxy wrote: »
    What about all the fixies in use because they are trendy(although I think it's dying out now) . You see them for sale at highly inflated prices (an indication of demand) . Sometimes they have a front brake and sometimed they don't. They have to outnumber track bikes by a large percentage. Especially in a country with no indoor velodrome.

I made the mistake at one stage of thinking that all the single-speed bikes you see on the road are 'fixies'. They're not - most single-speeds have normal brakes. They just don't have gears.

Yea the idea is to slow them down with your pedaling. But unlike a regular bike, you can't just stop pedaling. I haven't ridden one since I was a kid so can't really comment about how quick you can stop one, but certainly not as quick as a freewheel bike with brakes.

Can't you do the old back-pedal-brake thing that we used to have on bikes as a kid? They tend to skid a bit, but they are fairly effective at stopping.

I made the mistake at one stage of thinking that all the single-speed bikes you see on the road are 'fixies'. They're not - most single-speeds have normal brakes. They just don't have gears.

Yes but having the one brake on the front is usually a good indication and you see plenty of them. Much more common than track bikes on the road. Adverts.ie has loads of them for sale. Prices are way lower than when I last checked though, so obviously they are starting to go out of fashion again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

...Can't you do the old back-pedal-brake thing that we used to have on bikes as a kid? They tend to skid a bit, but they are fairly effective at stopping.

Those bikes weren't fixies.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

You can stop pedaling. That’s how you brake on fixie. It can easily be done in an emergency. The addition of a front merely reduces the braking distance. Braking this way isn’t entirely pleasant and only done in an emergency, which is why you rarely see it done. As a young fella I used to show off by doing it and sliding to a stop.

See here

https://youtu.be/eQu1rNs0an0

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,592 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

newmember? wrote: »
    Those bikes weren't fixies.

Mine was.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

not sure if it counts as furious but I know theres a massive problem in howth with cyclists descending the hill in excess of 60km/h nearly missing cars and pedestrians, multiple complaints to the gardai but nothing seems to be done about it.