Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

One eyed monsters

• 05-11-2018 8:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭

That time of year again. A huge amount of people with one or more bulbs out. Must have passed 10 or more in the 8km home tonight.

Also we seem to have a new phenomenon - the DRL moron. Also known as the twats who think that because there's light coming from the front, their tail lights are on when they aren't.

How hard is it to buy a bulb or flick the switch to "auto"??

Come to think of it, why does nanny state EU not make always-on LED lights mandatory, front and rear? They're extremely cheap now, and standard on a lot of models. While they're at it, extend the law to a built in dashcam. The miniscule costs involved when producing thousands of cars at a time would probably reduce insurance costs by double digits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,478 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

sdanseo wrote: »
    That time of year again..

Oh great, this thread again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭V8 Interceptor

Come to think of it, why does nanny state EU not make always-on LED lights mandatory, front and rear?

Because that would be Nanny State-ish?

• Registered Users Posts: 50 ✭✭bdeithrick

That time of year again. A huge amount of people with one or more bulbs out. Must have passed 10 or more in the 8km home tonight.

Also we seem to have a new phenomenon - the DRL moron. Also known as the twats who think that because there's light coming from the front, their tail lights are on when they aren't.

Come to think of it, why does nanny state EU not make always-on LED lights mandatory, front and rear? They're extremely cheap now, and standard on a lot of models. While they're at it, extend the law to a built in dashcam. The miniscule costs involved when producing thousands of cars at a time would probably reduce insurance costs by double digits.

Drives me mad every year . Zzz ans the fusking fog lights on too, to compensate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,068 ✭✭✭✭neris

motorbikes seem to have decided to join the fun this year aswell

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,946 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Oh great, this thread again.

And that right there is what's wrong with this forum. :rolleyes:

Might as well make it private at this stage so all the experts can chat to themselves between the various threads instead.. Oh wait...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    And that right there is what's wrong with this forum. :rolleyes:

Might as well make it private at this stage so all the experts can chat to themselves between the various threads instead.. Oh wait...

Its what's what with boards as a whole to be fair.

It would make sense though in this case given that there are so many cars driving around in the morning/evening with zero rear lights - even if you're using the Auto setting they'll still be off in most cases. First thing I recoded TBH.

The thing I've noticed most in the last fortnight or so is how blinding a lot of the leds are (factory fit versions I mean, not badly done after market versions)

That and people not dipping their lights to oncoming traffic seems to be spreading beyond motorways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83,516 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

I think we need a universal headlight flash you give to someone who has 1 headlight working. Some of these drivers go around for months with one light working and only notice it gone when the "money racket" NCT fail their car.

Reati wrote: »
    Its what's what with boards as a whole to be fair.

It's always been especially noticeable here imo - no doubt a result of the half dozen plus chat themed threads between the various sections.

As I've said in the past, it's very off putting to newer users too.. Something this forum badly needs

I think we need a universal headlight flash you give to someone who has 1 headlight working. Some of these drivers go around for months with one light working and only notice it gone when the "money racket" NCT fail their car.

The more irritating and dangerous part of it is how the bulb that remains is either so badly aligned that it's blinding or they just have it on main beam to compensate

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

What would make more sense would be for the relevant legislators to put some sensible laws into place, so that instead of worrying about the shape or colour of bananas or cucumbers, we get laws that makes it mandatory that any bulb can be replaced in less than 5 minutes without the use of specialist tools, (like torqx bits) or if tools are required, they have to be supplied with the vehicle as part of the standard kit, and be of sufficient quality that they can be used more than once.

Having to remove the battery and some of the air manifold system to get in to replace a headlight bulb is making a nonsense of things like having to carry spare bulbs in a kit, in that changing the bulb on the side of the road is not going to happen, not if it needs a toolkit and lifting those sorts of weight out of the engine compartment, and that's not the worst example.

In theory, the technology is there that if a bulb fails and is not replaced within a "reasonable" time scale, the vehicle could be prevented from starting, and appropriate display warnings could be issued before that stage is reached. Might not be the most popular introduction though given the number of vehicles with multiple light failures that are on the roads, a recent pre NCT inspection at a local garage resulted in replacing 5 bulbs on 3 different corners of the vehicle.

A game for the kids. They count the vehicles coming towards them, and reset the count if there's a light out, or the lights are wrong (fog lights on when it's not foggy), it will be rare for them to get to a count higher than 10, which maybe says something about how bad the situation is, and how bad the enforcement is.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I thought this was about something else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭Kamili

thats if they even bother to present it to the NCT. I'd suspect there are a massive amount of cars on the roads that haven't got a valid NCT. Tax and insurance is another matter. Ah sure be grand attitude brought about by lack of enforcement. Any fines handed out don't even cover the savings made to deter it happening again or continue to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

I don't know whats worse: one headlight working or crooked misaligned beams that blind all round them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,715 ✭✭✭corks finest

Think it's a carrigaline thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

In my experience locally anyway, the very worst offenders for this are the gardai.... Squad cars marked and unmarked all night with zero lighting on the rear :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,615 ✭✭✭grogi

Children need to be cared for...

M

rex-x wrote: »
    In my experience locally anyway, the very worst offenders for this are the gardai.... Squad cars marked and unmarked all night with zero lighting on the rear :eek:

Spotted a silver Garda Ford Focus on saturday and only one headlight working, I wonder what their procedure is to get a buld replaced?

• Registered Users Posts: 104 ✭✭Farfromhome02

Most people don't even know how to turn their lights on never mind noticing bulbs not working

Some of the scrap driving around the roads is unreal and Its not even the old cars .

I wouldn't mind it's 5 quid in lidls/Aldi for a pack of replacement bulbs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,306 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

How hard is it to understand that when you turn the light on, both come on, so no "nanny state" law making them "always on" will have an affect.

Only a law stating that they are easy to access to replace would be of any use. Currently, some of the modern cars are a pain in the hole to get at, and that even with a car lift!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,040 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Spotted a silver Garda Ford Focus on saturday and only one headlight working, I wonder what their procedure is to get a buld replaced?

They shouldn't have taken the car out if they'd done their daily checks. At least that's what other professional drivers are told by the RSA.

They have service contracts with different suppliers, so they just pull into where ever has the maintenance contract and get one fitted.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

A game for the kids. They count the vehicles coming towards them, and reset the count if there's a light out, or the lights are wrong (fog lights on when it's not foggy), it will be rare for them to get to a count higher than 10, which maybe says something about how bad the situation is, and how bad the enforcement is.

World record is 17 vehicles.

Came close carrigaline to bishoptown last year (25 m journey)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,412 ✭✭✭fletch

Come to think of it, why does nanny state EU not make always-on LED lights mandatory, front and rear?
    I thought they did? At least front ones anyway

https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/daytime-running-lights/daytime-running-lights
    Vehicle manufacturers must fit DRL to new types of passenger car and light goods vehicle (car derived vans) type approved to European vehicle requirements from February 20111

1European Directive 76/656/EEC, as amended by 2008/89/EC, concerning the installation of lighting and light-signalling devices on motor vehicles and their trailers.

• Registered Users Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

I've met my fair share if drl drivers with no lights on the back. Don't understand how they don't cop as drls wouldn't illuminate a road like proper dims.

Also I'd say a good 40 to 50% of cars I've met the last week or two are one eyed monsters. A lot of this, as has been mentioned already, could be down to how bloody awkward some bulbs are to change. What once was a straight forward few mins jobs can take an age and tools to do now.

My biggest bug bearer in this dark, wet weather is wan4ers that have aftermarket HID kits fitted and blind everyone coming towards them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,193 ✭✭✭mikeecho

... waiting for thread where someone complains that they got a ticket for a bulb that had just blown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,236 ✭✭✭sdanseo

fletch wrote: »

Only the front though.

Very much on the topic I nearly hit a lad this morning turning right at a ghost island. He flew around the bend, it barely bright outside, dull grey and absolutely lashing, with not so much as a sidelight. Speeding too.

M

mikeecho wrote: »
    ... waiting for thread where someone complains that they got a ticket for a bulb that had just blown.

Perhaps no ticket issued if they show up at nearest Garda station within 10 days for it to be checked as working.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 733 ✭✭✭Dero

My wife's car (Peugeot 3008) has rear DRLs as well as front. I presume others in the Peugeot range do also. Hopefully others will follow suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

The big problem is that most people just don't care about their car, it's just an object. cheapest tyres, poor servicing and only essential maintenance. this is why you drive around car parks trying to find a spot where you can park without getting another ding in your car. I'm a petrolhead, I don't care what you drive, you can always see someones pride in their car by how they keep it. In saying that, some manufacturers take the piss when it comes to changing a bulb, on my Smart, it's easier to take the whole front off rather than use the teeny tiny access panel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

a lot of people don't know how to replace a blown bulb, and in some cars it's virtually impossible without taking it into a dealer.

No excuse for the DRLs though, or for the clowns who don't bother to put on their lights because it's not quite 100% dark. Should have dips on all the time at this time of year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Seems to be a bit better than other years but well, it is still early days.

Increase of cyclists without any light whatsoever and dressed in as dark clothes as possible on my commute though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 629 ✭✭✭Tommyboy40

inforfun wrote: »
    Seems to be a bit better than other years but well, it is still early days.

Increase of cyclists without any light whatsoever and dressed in as dark clothes as possible on my commute though.

I don't think that cyclists are aware that they will always come off worst in a collision.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,852 ✭✭✭Steve F

I drive with dips on 365 days of the year(no DRL's) regardless of weather,time of day etc
    Can't remember how I got in the habit of doing it now but it's automatic to me I don't even realize I'm doing it. Same with seatbelt too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,115 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

Tommyboy40 wrote: »
    I don't think that cyclists are aware that they will always come off worst in a collision.

I think most cyclists are well aware of that, what they don't realise is how difficult they are to see from inside a car without lights.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

loyatemu wrote: »
    No excuse for...............…..the clowns who don't bother to put on their lights because it's not quite 100% dark. Should have dips on all the time at this time of year.

Toyota drivers would seem to be massive culprits for this. Driving through a town a few month back seen a van almost pull out of a cross straight into a Corolla in front of me. Both stopped, van driver got out and told the Corolla driver in no uncertain terms to put on her lights. I had flashed the Corolla driver a good few times before that but they remained oblivious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 544 ✭✭✭SBPhoto

I got my A6 Coded so that both the Front and back DRLs are always on when driving, also the lights also come on automatically when it starts raining. Its not only Toyota drivers that drive with DRLs only when dark, Hyundai and Nissan i find are the worst offenders in this regard and don't even get me started about Jeeps with only little tiny sidelights on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭BronsonTB

Just have a zero tolerance & 100 euro fine.
    Then have it enforced for winter months

Amazing how quick people would then get them fixed....

www.sligowhiplash.com - 2nd & 3rd Aug '25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

neris wrote: »

Not necessarily. An awful lot of bikes have separate lights. Meaning that only one comes on for dipped beams and they both come on for high beams.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I change a blown one as soon as I know, but my car gives no indication on the dash and I'm not checking all the bulbs every day. Easier to notice these days though as you'll always be driving in some darnkess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Thinly veiled "I have auto headlights" thread..

KaneToad wrote: »
    Thinly veiled "I have auto headlights" thread..

I like to laud the single worst financial decision of my life to date over people :pac:

M

Patww79 wrote: »
    I change a blown one as soon as I know, but my car gives no indication on the dash and I'm not checking all the bulbs every day. Easier to notice these days though as you'll always be driving in some darnkess.

I now change them in pairs, if one goes I change the other at the same time, saves me so much hassle in the long run to do it all as 1 job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

I now change them in pairs, if one goes I change the other at the same time, saves me so much hassle in the long run to do it all as 1 job.

Only my right headlight ever goes. Have changed seven or eight since my last blown passenger side.

M

Only my right headlight ever goes. Have changed seven or eight since my last blown passenger side.

With me it's normally the passenger side that goes first, thought it was the bad roads that did it.

Toyota drivers would seem to be massive culprits for this. Driving through a town a few month back seen a van almost pull out of a cross straight into a Corolla in front of me. Both stopped, van driver got out and told the Corolla driver in no uncertain terms to put on her lights. I had flashed the Corolla driver a good few times before that but they remained oblivious.
    SBPhoto wrote: »
    I got my A6 Coded so that both the Front and back DRLs are always on when driving, also the lights also come on automatically when it starts raining. Its not only Toyota drivers that drive with DRLs only when dark, Hyundai and Nissan i find are the worst offenders in this regard and don't even get me started about Jeeps with only little tiny sidelights on

Toyota DRLs must light up the dashboard as well? If those lights are on and you can see light in front it would be harder to notice the main lights (and therefore tail lights) are off, especially if the dips are LED too, which would be a similar colour temperature to the DRLs.

That's what windows are for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Toyota DRLs must light up the dashboard as well? If those lights are on and you can see light in front it would be harder to notice the main lights (and therefore tail lights) are off, especially if the dips are LED too, which would be a similar colour temperature to the DRLs.

More older Toyota's with not a bit of a light on I tend to see (or not see?) and was talking about. The newer models with DRL don't have the tail lamps on then. Hyundai and Nissan are bad offenders too as another poster mentioned but there are more Toyotas on the road generally around here anyway so tend to notice them more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Followed a guy from Killeagh to the tunnel (east Cork) the other morning, around 6am. No lights on his merc. Flashed him constantly. By Midleton I had had enough and rang guards.
    Followed him to the tunnel. No sign of the guards.
    When he stopped at the lights I roared at him out the window to put on his fecking lights. He looked at me with a gormless expression and then the oops face.
    Thats a distance of nearly 32km. With no lights on. Not a fecking thing. Not even DRLS. In pure darkness.
    He must have ate some amount of carrots when he was a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,111 ✭✭✭✭listermint

neris wrote: »

You know some bikes have only one light on one side of the headlight unit

I've yet to see a single bike without a headlight activated. I drive 140km per day. Not a single bike