Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shotgun 2020

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Out of interest why 16 strides and why the short recovery?

Is there an optimum number or duration? I figured 15 secs is about 50 steps so I just count 50 on 50 off to make it simple. 16 because it was 4mins total of work and focus on form. Just seemed like a good bite sized chunk to begin the intensity. I did 2 laps of Mungret Park so 8 strides got me most the way around. I used the last bit for a minute easy before another lap with 8 strides.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

I guess generally speaking when I've seen anyone doing strides (Boardsies, my own experience or even reading up on the theory) the general consensus was they typically didn't go beyond maybe 6 or 8x20s max. Definitely haven't seen 16 of them. In terms of recovery it's always been full recovery of at least minute. Depends if you're doing strides or actual mini interval session I guess.

Hmm I see. I get the full recovery to ensure full lead into, build up to form strides. I've done the 8x20s but always short recs. I suppose it was a mini interval. Just to open the legs up and step out of Z2! Doesnt P&D do 10x100m in its program? I guess if I was doing them after a tempo I'd just do the 6-8 and with longer recs. Appreciate the comments P.

Now that you mention it I do recall seeing 100's in p&d plans. Can't recall the recovery though.

I just know from reading about and getting advice on strides that the full recovery is important. You're targeting the nervous system more than anything but again that being said, you're looking for turnover and want to add something to the monotony of all the easy miles I guess.

One fun type of session that luke had me doing when coming back from injury started off at 2x (20/30/40s off 60s) evolving to 4 sets in a few weeks.

Sun 12 Jan
    Long Run 14.35m @8:28, hr 140, 2hrs01

Headed straight out for this after swimming with the kids. From UL up and back from Monaleen Heights, around the busy riverbank and home. The first hour felt good but the cardiac drift progressed as I tired on the 2nd hour. I kept a reasonably consistent effort but the last 3 miles were running on empty. Happy to bank a 2hr run at the end of a good week.

Total 75.66m in 10hr52
    Run streak at 17 days
    VO2 moved from 51 to 54
    Weight from 83.8 to 83.2kg

Focus for next week
    Keep easy easy
    Small volume of intensity
    Strides
    Roll out the yoga mat

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Great stuff Mike :D

Mon 13 Jan
    Easy 8.79m @9:00, hr 132, 1hr19

Out well before the binmen for some easy miles in the dark. The bins themselves were upright but wobbling. It was pretty windy and very quiet around Limerick city. A normal high tide but the flood defences were up. It initially felt calm until I turned to head back uptown into the wind. I ran through suburbia on mile 7, leaning into an increasingly gusty wind. I saw another runner fully clad as I was, skipping along with the tailwind and a salute, one warrior to another.

Then the last mile and a bit. I turned for home and the gusts were pushing me down the road. It was suddenly calm and easy again. Here I passed another runner. A girl, in shorts, doubled over fighting the merciless wind. She looked like she was near the end of a headwind marathon, that finished with a leap off a cliff into hell. I nearly stopped to see if she was ok but she fought on. She was half a mile, uphill, to relief. Another warrior. Shout out to anyone getting it done this morning before it gets too hairy. Stay safe!

Tue 14 Jan
    Intervals and a Runner's high!
    10.68m inc. 3x (400m/2x200m)

I slept 9 hours last night so fresh as a daisy today. I geared up for what looked like cold miserable rain. For the last 2 months I've had a few pairs of new speedy shoes looking at me every time I laced up the daily trainers for another easy run. Today though... today we got to have fun! I chose the NB 1500v5 as I have only worn them once. Immediately felt the contact with the road and wanted to run. Yes it was pretty cold, pretty wet and pretty miserable initially but I warmed up and the sun emerged.

4 miles easy to steady down to Mungret Park. It has a hill so some of these reps would be tough. I ignored the watch other than the buzzing to go and slow down. I just ran hard. If I could not immediately jog the recovery I hit the rep too hard. Generally the reps up the back of the park into a small breeze were the slowest and toughest. It was a short set overall just to shock the body into work mode. The second last 200m was up the hill and hurt but a generous 400m recovery (8:30 pace) was almost full recovery. I passed swashbuckler here and saluted but not sure he recognized me in the cap :p Then ran down the hill like a kid chasing a bigger kid.

With the work done and very happy about it I headed home, all the time trying to bring my heart rate back down to easy zone. I felt great. Really great. The heart rate settled and I was still bouncing. Then a beat I love dropped just at the right moment (Mark Ronson - Don't leave me lonely - Purple Disco Machine Remix) and I literally danced across a road with the euphoric endorphins of a runner's high! Ran the last mile home with a smile on my face. buzzing :D

3x (400m/2x200m) w/400m jog recovery
    Target pace: Nope just run hard!
    rep distance|rep time|pace
    400m|1:25|5:42
    200m|0:44|5:54
    200m|0:38|5:06
    400m|1:24|5:38
    200m|0:39|5:14
    200m|0:43|5:46
    400m|1:22|5:30
    200m|0:36|4:50

Oh no way! Was that you? Nope I didn't have a clue. I did wonder why I got such a big salute from someone who doesn't know me. Sh*te if I'd known I'd have joined you for a few laps.

Great session, nice to get that turnover again isn't it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Love when a session ends like that :D

Love when a session ends like that

You mean seeing Swashbuckler cantering along like a deer. Yeah it's some sight in fairness.

Haha some image alright :D

Oh no way! Was that you? Nope I didn't have a clue. I did wonder why I got such a big salute from someone who doesn't know me. Sh*te if I'd known I'd have joined you for a few laps.

Great session, nice to get that turnover again isn't it.
    Yep it was I :D Sure is nice to get the legs turning over alright. I've see that's part of your lunchtime routes. I was working from home today but that would normally be more of a morning route for me. Good to do the intervals there instead of the flat Industrial Estate. I'll get fit first and then maybe I can join you for a run or two this year
    Love when a session ends like that :D
    Hell ya! Its going to be quite hard to run easy tomorrow :D
    A deer in headlights wondering who this lump of a dude was saluting him :cool:

Yep it was I Sure is nice to get the legs turning over alright. I've see that's part of your lunchtime routes. I was working from home today but that would normally be more of a morning route for me. Good to do the intervals there instead of the flat Industrial Estate. I'll get fit first and then maybe I can join you for a run or two this year

Don't worry about "getting fit". Easy is easy. Happy to run any pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭Lambay island

Tue 14 Jan
    Intervals and a Runner's high!
    10.68m inc. 3x (400m/2x200m)

I slept 9 hours last night so fresh as a daisy today. I geared up for what looked like cold miserable rain. For the last 2 months I've had a few pairs of new speedy shoes looking at me every time I laced up the daily trainers for another easy run. Today though... today we got to have fun! I chose the NB 1500v5 as I have only worn them once. Immediately felt the contact with the road and wanted to run. Yes it was pretty cold, pretty wet and pretty miserable initially but I warmed up and the sun emerged.

4 miles easy to steady down to Mungret Park. It has a hill so some of these reps would be tough. I ignored the watch other than the buzzing to go and slow down. I just ran hard. If I could not immediately jog the recovery I hit the rep too hard. Generally the reps up the back of the park into a small breeze were the slowest and toughest. It was a short set overall just to shock the body into work mode. The second last 200m was up the hill and hurt but a generous 400m recovery (8:30 pace) was almost full recovery. I passed swashbuckler here and saluted but not sure he recognized me in the cap :p Then ran down the hill like a kid chasing a bigger kid.

With the work done and very happy about it I headed home, all the time trying to bring my heart rate back down to easy zone. I felt great. Really great. The heart rate settled and I was still bouncing. Then a beat I love dropped just at the right moment (Mark Ronson - Don't leave me lonely - Purple Disco Machine Remix) and I literally danced across a road with the euphoric endorphins of a runner's high! Ran the last mile home with a smile on my face. buzzing :D

3x (400m/2x200m) w/400m jog recovery
    400m|1:25|5:42
    200m|0:44|5:54
    200m|0:38|5:06
    400m|1:24|5:38
    200m|0:39|5:14
    200m|0:36|4:50

I was feeling quite lazy and disinterested earlier and resigned myself to not running this evening. I then read this beaut of a post at the right time and it motivated me to get out. I feel much better for it too. Thanks.

Wed 15 Jan
    Easy 9.3m @8:42, hr 133, 1hr20

First thing to note is a few weeks ago a similar run at 9:30 pace was 140hr avg :)
    I woke up before my 5am alarm but going back to sleep would have meant missing it. I knew it was cold out and didn't mind a run under a clear moonlight and stars but I heard the rain on the windows and almost went back to bed. Just do it! Gear on and out the door. Light rain, GPS quick so I didn't do my usual 30 leg swings. The first mile was 9:20 and I was awake thinking it would be a longer run than anticipated at this pace but nevertheless maintained the effort. The rain was cold but light and soon over. The clouds parting rather quickly to reveal a full bright moon and stars, woop!

Nothing unusual, just putting the miles in. Some paths a bit slippy but it was early enough to run on roads. The legs a little heavy from yesterday. Passed that girl from the other morning. It seems she, got up that hill, survived the wind and didn't leap off that cliff. She still didn't look to be enjoying it. To be fair it was baltic! After a hot shower, hungry was I. A big bowl of porridge with jam, a pint of electrolytes, a glass of OJ, a bagel with avocado and 2 scrambled eggs, a handful of grapes and a mug of joe.... and ready to start the day.
    I was feeling quite lazy and disinterested earlier and resigned myself to not running this evening. I then read this beaut of a post at the right time and it motivated me to get out. I feel much better for it too. Thanks.
    You are welcome! Thank you for reading and acknowledging and I'm glad it got you out the door to run off that gloom :)

You were first up on my strava ahead of Dermot Kearns even! Frighteningly early even by my standards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

That's some breakfast you had there, breakfast of champions ;)

Well done, up before 5am, serious!

That was me yesterday morning, awake before the alarm so only one option- get up out of the bed:eek: It must have been the excitement of my 1st early morning run of the week ;)

Fair play, it's not easy just getting out there that early but once out, you always feels better :D

I'm still wearing my shorts in the mornings but after how cold it has gotten i think the running leggings may need to make an appearance:eek:

I'm still wearing my shorts in the mornings but after how cold it has gotten i think the running leggings may need to make an appearance

Been wearing leggings the past few days but I'm soft.

Haha i may just be joining you so! Will see how cold tomorrow morning is:eek:
    Session today is at lunch so won't go soft just yet ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Strap on a pair will ya!!!

OOnegative wrote:
    Strap on a pair will ya!!!

I will i will...... In summer

Thurs 16 Jan
    Run 1: Easy/Steady 6.49m with 2m tempo
    Run 2: Easy 6.26m @8:32 with 6x 15s strides

I had a short window for the main run so a shorter warm up than I'd like for the tempo. Up to the Industrial Estate in the hope of some wind shelter. Just got stuck in. Lots of people out walking in small groups on lunch breaks so there was a bit of hopping up and down curbs. The 2 miles were 6:16 and 6:13. Hard work and happy with that. I planned sort of 10k tempo but this was more like 5k effort. I'd struggle to hold it for another mile let alone 4 more! Short cool down again to get back for meetings.

Work done and daylight still. I switched from the Boston 7s to the Beacons and immediately appreciated the fresh foam cushion and roomier toe box. I ran easy with the falling daylight out to the last pier outside the city. Took a pause and a stretch looking back at the low tide and birds digging in the wet exposed bank. It was colder than earlier but I felt good, if a little hungry. The strides were much better. Just 6x with a minute easy between them, focusing on form and running tall.

Fri 17 Jan
    Easy 8.58m @8:43, hr 129, 1hr14

Girls, girls, girls...
    A few runners out around the first 2 miles through suburbia. All girls with swinging ponytails moving at a decent clip. 6am, were the lads still asleep? Took it very easy. The double yesterday still in my legs. Heavy left quad, shin splints lower right leg. Just little aches. Out the back of the Industrial Estate, early commuters were flying in off the motorway exit. Too fast and broke my rhythm. A mile later, 4 miles in, I turned onto country roads. 2 miles of darkness and just the sound of my shoes tap tapping. A full half moon illuminated enough of the road to not stumble into potholes. It was a lovely quiet section under the stars. 6 miles and back into a noisy suburbia. A hint of the dark horizon dissolving into the blue hue of daybreak. I was a bit later getting back to sleepy kids. 30 minutes later we joined the rush..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭healy1835

I marvel at your early morning runs M. I can do the odd one, but no quality in there. How old are your kids again? I've a 2 year old who just doesn't sleep and torpedoes any hope of getting a session in early. Ideally I'd get a few in, but I think I'm a year or 2 away :(

healy1835 wrote:
    I marvel at your early morning runs M. I can do the odd one, but no quality in there. How old are your kids again? I've a 2 year old who just doesn't sleep and torpedoes any hope of getting a session in early. Ideally I'd get a few in, but I think I'm a year or 2 away

Yeah same as. Really is a no excuses type fella! My early morning plans were scuppered with a newborn waking at 5am this morning.

That behind said J, the fact you're managing upwards of 100km weeks with a 2 year old that doesn't sleep is impressive.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭healy1835

Yeah same as. Really is a no excuses type fella! My early morning plans were scuppered with a newborn waking at 5am this morning.

That behind said J, the fact you're managing upwards of 100km weeks with a 2 year old that doesn't sleep is impressive.

Yeah when we were looking at where we could tweak for this marathon block the one thing that was off the cards was mileage. 110-120k is manageable right now, maybe a little more the odd week, but unless it's the summer I can't do anymore really...hence the longer tempos and harder LRs.

I'm not complaining about how much I get to run though, I'm well accommodated at home there :) just the lack of sleep that's all...hasn't caught up with me yet but there's always the worry it might.

healy1835 wrote:
    I'm not complaining about how much I get to run though, I'm well accommodated at home there just the lack of sleep that's all...hasn't caught up with me yet but there's always the worry it might.

I hear ya. Everyone is different but lack of sleep/recovery definitely played a part in my issues over the past year, especially when training ramps.

healy1835 wrote: »
    I marvel at your early morning runs M. I can do the odd one, but no quality in there. How old are your kids again? I've a 2 year old who just doesn't sleep and torpedoes any hope of getting a session in early. Ideally I'd get a few in, but I think I'm a year or 2 away :(

My kids are 3, 5 and 14. The younger ones get up 6:30-7 on school mornings. Out the door for us all by 8. I like to be back to help getting ready and have breakfast with them. So Have to be done by 7 latest. During the week we have an hour in the morning that I cherish. I collect them after school/creche and it's all go until bedtime. Weekends, my wife works most Saturdays (hence why I rarely get to do a Parkrun). Youngest has rugby tots at 9:30, 5y old gymnastics straight after. Sunday all out swimming by 9:30 then teenager has rugby, often travel to match and have to bring him training a couple of evenings. Same as most families. It's just about balance and the thing that is sacrificed is not time with kids, its Netflix etc.

I prefer to run early morning than late in the evening. Running late means eating late, later to prep next day, later to bed and so on. Although we are lucky in Ireland that our summer evenings are so long and late evening running in the summer can be great. Running early on empty is also a great way to manage weight, get your head straight for the day, get some peace (no traffic) and you tend to eat more breakfast and less late at night. It's tough during the winter as it always dark but also rewarding.

Challenging with babies if you are up and down during the night or up at stupid o clock. It's hard to set a rhythm. You just have to get it done when you can. Always have gear ready etc. Even a 40min lunchtime work run is better than nothing. I remember when night feeding I couldn't get back to sleep and just ran at 2am or did a row or yoga. You just have to make it fit. Shorter stuff, often.

Sat 18 Jan
    Steady 11.66m @7:53, hr 141, 1hr31

I knew it would be cold. I had the gear ready. But boy was the first mile bitter. Out by 5:30, Caz had me test out the Garmin Incident alert last night which is a neat feature. I'm asthmatic and the cold is always a risk. Helps her sleep as I ninja my way down the stairs so as not to wake anyone. No real need, little snores coming from the kids room.

-3 temps so after the usual first sleepy sluggish mile I found a rhythm running downtown. Mile 2 was 7:46 and felt easy. I went with it. Felt great. The shin splints gone. I like to run on quiet roads but they were slippier than the footpaths. Meandered around the town plugging in steady miles. The loop of the NCR was dodgy. Lots of slippy patches. The legs felt good. Mostly sub 8min miles at an easy to steady effort. I ran the hard shoulder of the Condell road which was basically a straight metronome 2 miles, in the zone. Back to a quiet house. Nobody up yet. I managed to steal a 30min nap before Caz got up for work and the kids arrived with rumbling bellies, rubbing sleep from their eyes.

Sun 19 Jan
    Long Run 15.19m @7:33, hr 154, 1hr55

10hrs sleep and breakfast, woop! Way to fill the juices for a long run. It was looking like an evening run until I checked the distance to the in laws. Perfect. Well, almost perfect. Point to point with a net elevation gain. Nonetheless a cracking morning for it.

Straight away good energy. The first 3 miles flew and the effort was steady. Miles 3 to 8 were basically a long pull up to Fedamore into a slight breeze. Plenty of long gradual hills. I kept the cadence and didn't slow down. It felt good to just get a hint of the sufferzone. Just a hint. It was all country roads so at times it was blind turns. Other times the road stretched for miles and you could see the climb. It never felt as bad as it looked. The miles flew. I was loving the warm sunshine on my face despite the cold road.

I had checkpoints to ensure I didn't get lost too. After the last one it was a 4 mile straight road and I started feeling it. I reached the in laws with just over 14m done, ready to sit down. It was good enough but I ran up and down the next hill anyway to make it 15m. Just in time for dinner. 7:33 avg pace was good progress.

Overall for the week
    76.95m total - highest ever
    Introduced some intensity
    VO2 up a notch to 55
    Weight 83.2 down to 82kg

Next week
    Build on the sessions
    Mat and foam roller and recovery in general
    Hopefully Parkrun

Mon 20 Jan
    Easy 9.25m @8:54, hr 131, 1hr21

Chasing the daylight. Fully bright starting out but the sun starting to drop below the tree line. I figured I'd have just enough time to get through the country road miles. Leaving suburbia after 4 miles the sun was leaving a fiery orange wake beneath the clouds. The next 2 miles with my back to it running towards the darkness. The final but turning again towards the falling darkness, like a huge curtain closing on the horizon. Fully dark finishing and fully satisfied to get the last of the daylight. The legs were a little heavy but that was expected.

Tue 21 Jan
    Easy 8.25m @8:42, hr 136, 1hr11

Reluctant miles. Cold, dark, misty and foggy too. Lungs not happy. Planned to do a session today but up late watching Claire Burns hosting the health debate and I slept in. A long long day at the office left me hungry and not in the form for a run. I had to fast from 9:30 for blood tests in the morning. 80 mins window. I wanted to run for 10mins and eat for 70. Naturally I ran for 70 and ate for 10. By run, I meant plod. Every other man and woman in run gear looked to be bouncing along. I was the one with the miserable face tonight.

Inhaled a large bowl of cumin couscous with roast peppers, courgettes and sweet potato, sweet red onions, tomatoes and 2 soft seasoned poached eggs on top. Nom!

Wed 22 Jan
    Intervals: 2x (800m/2x400m/4x200m), 400 jog recovery
    13.93m total, 1hr52

Flat quiet dark Industrial Estate and cool calm evening. Perfect for a session. Good 30min easy to steady warm up then into the work.
    Set 1: Found the 800 tough just getting the leg turnover going. Lungs shocked. The 400s in 83 and 82 were much better. The 200s quick and short. I really pushed the 3rd rep to get ahead of a truck pulling out of a docking station. Overall hitting good paces and legs felt good. I was sort of dreading the next set.

Set 2: No rest just the 400m jog and into it. I had to stop the watch to pee then got mixed up and ended up running hard on the rest interval. By the time I realised the legs just kept turning over as I worked it out. The 2and 800 was solid, 2:50. I actually jogged 800m before the 400s to sync back up so well recovered. 83 and 82 again. Solid but more of the arms coming in. The last few 200s started quick but I started slowing on the last 50m. I was fine with not throwing the sink at them. Its early days. This was a big step up in volume from last week and a proper session.

I got the effort back to easy for the warm down home. The legs felt like they just had a workout but was surprised to see the overall time out. At 1hr52 it was practically a long run. Hoping to do the Parkrun on Saturday so easy for the next 2 days, maybe some strides. The Garmin downgraded me to unproductive and dropped the VO2 to 54. The 2 days recommended recovery seems about right. Good session tonight, happy with it.

2x (800m/2x400m/4x200m) w/400m jog recovery
    800m|2:56|5:54
    400m|1:23|5:34
    400m|1:22|5:29
    200m|0:39|5:20
    200m|0:38|5:11
    200m|0:35|4:43
    200m|0:39|5:13
    800m|2:50|5:40
    400m|1:23|5:34
    200m|0:40|5:23
    200m|0:38|5:11
    200m|0:37|4:57
    200m|0:40|5:21

Thu 23 Jan
    Easy 8.04m @8:49, hr 132, 1hr11

Nice easy run down a quiet foggy riverbank. You couldn't see more than 50m ahead and the sky and fog were the same colour. I'm a bit of a sci-fi geek and my mind wondered if another world lay beyond the fog. The legs a little heavy as expected but moving well. Wore the adidas solar glide, not my favourite but grand for a recovery run on a mix of trail, path. The water was flat calm and the birds busy digging food from the bank. I ran up and down the bank then over the living bridge and through the UL campus, never finding the portal to the other world. Happy to get out in the grey. My only window today.

Awful runner. Hate it!

Friiiiday 24 Jan
    Easy 11.06m @8:22, inc 6x15s strides, hr 138, 1hr32

Wow rare windless morning. 5am. So calm, so peaceful. Running on the middle of the road until I got to the park. No fog until then. It just hung still over the park. Stars in the sky. I took a moment to take in the silence and a cold sip of water from a tap I never noticed. One lap, the park all to myself. Thankful for the white line dividing walkers/cyclists to guide me so I didn't trip over a grassy edge. Park loop done and onto the country road. Pitch dark, lots of stars and felt good. I did the strides in the Industrial Estate with a minute between each. A little heavy. A steadier effort for the last 2 miles home. Done early enough to dress the kids and cook creamy scrambled eggs for 2nd breakfast.

The difference in two weeks for pace vs heart rate is ridiculous.

Thanks but always a good jump at the start if you have good consistency. I'm on day 29 of a streak running 1hr+ most days and 90%+ easy. I'm not a Novice but I have also never dedicated focus to running. The closest I came was in 2012 for a few months got stuck in and recorded my existing 10k and half marathon pbs.

Even last year on the sub3 plan I was swimming to tick off a National Master Gala event.

This year its running first. I'll do the odd bit of XC for core mainly or just for fun. I'm focused on recovery more that any other year. I'm perfectly healthy for the first winter in years too. Its very early days but hopefully all this easy running will translate to some performances over the year.

Because its subsidized by our S&S in work, looks like I have the Limerick Half Marathon to target :) Its got me excited to actually train for it. Should set a good base to build the DCM plan on top. First event this year is the Parkrun in the morning. I did 20:22 before Christmas so a bit of fitness will get me close to or dip under 20. Obviously overall aiming for much better this year but can only deliver what I have on the day. 19:59 would be very satisfying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,307 ✭✭✭ariana`

I love reading your log, the descriptive nature of your runs, you really sell running as an experience.

I'm finding the same at the moment, building a bit of consistency and watching/feeling my HR dropping on like for like runs, it's a super feeling, and while it may not translate to race times today or tomorrow, it will eventually and in the meantime it just feels damn good.

What parkrun are you doing? Good luck with it ;)

Looks like I have a race buddy if I decide to go ahead with the half in May so!

ariana` wrote: »
    I love reading your log, the descriptive nature of your runs, you really sell running as an experience.

I'm finding the same at the moment, building a bit of consistency and watching/feeling my HR dropping on like for like runs, it's a super feeling, and while it may not translate to race times today or tomorrow, it will eventually and in the meantime it just feels damn good.

What parkrun are you doing? Good luck with it ;)

Ah thank you! I try to not make it all about the numbers. Yep I use HR to get to know myself in whatever current state I'm in. Pretty enjoyable when there is no plan as such other than run with some structure. Its been said a lot that to run fast you have to learn to run slow. I'm doing Mungret Parkrun in Limerick. 4 laps and a hill. 20:22 to beat. Its a soft mark representative of the soft spare tyre I had starting back :cool: Basic plan tomorrow morning is to pace it better than that last one. Fast mile, slow mile, out the back door mile... :rolleyes:
    Looks like I have a race buddy if I decide to go ahead with the half in May so!

A run buddy maybe. Race buddy, em.. you are a 1:19 :eek: Thats nearly 5 mins better than my lifetime best! I will be doing some HM type sessions out on the course from mid feb on though.

And, what do you mean... if?!

I had considered transferring to the relay if I'm not in shape for HM yet.
    A run buddy maybe. Race buddy, em.. you are a 1:19 Thats nearly 5 mins better than my lifetime best! I will be doing some HM type sessions out on the course from mid feb on though.

Was a 1.19,in peak shape, with a coach.
    Far from that now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

I had considered transferring to the relay if I'm not in shape for HM yet.

Was a 1.19,in peak shape, with a coach.
    Far from that now

May is a long way away...

skyblue46 wrote:
    May is a long way away...

Ah yeah I don't disagree but its easy be pessimistic when you've had nothing but setbacks. The thoughts of getting into 1.19 shape, coming off that winter, with my own plan just seems a little...... Unlikely shall we say.

Best of luck this morning. Enjoy that hill......... X4

Sat 25 Jan
    Mungret Parkrun, hr 177/187!, 10.55m total

Not ideal prep. Rushing to get kids ready for rugby tots, gymnastics and Junior Cert grinds. Kids just wanted to play with a tent they made out of chairs and blankets. Teenager just wanted to go back to bed. All out the door for 9am. I'd have preferred a longer warm up.

Chilly, breezy but nice overcast morning. I did 2x15sec strides on the way down to the park. Hmmm not exactly zippy. The usual banter, one guy was doing his 50th. Lot and lots of girls actually. I thought I recognised some of the long ponytails that were swinging one early frosty morning recently. A dude in a beard and luminous next% shoes that looked well worn was the most relaxed. He eventually cruised to a low 17.

Off we went down the sharpest hill in the middle of the park. Jarring on the knees. Next% bolted off in front like a startled fawn. I fell in behind a luminous jacket for 3rd. 2 minutes in the rush settled as we prepared for the first hill. To be done on each of the 4 laps. A tall lad in a grey tee came by casually here to push me back to 4th. Legs turnover, pump the arms. The hill was ok but the breeze continued in your face around to the back of the park, the highest point. I was gulping in cold air already and the effort was firmly red zone. Zone 5.

Onto the 2nd lap and I passed the yellow jacket for 3rd down the sharp hill. Heart still beating out of my throat and lungs on fire. I had to settle. Onto the flat section and mile one beeped 6:15. The same as last time. Last time I went out the back door. My expectation today was just do better. Show progress.

Yellow jacket fell back and I tried to settle 50m behind the tall grey tee. Next% was already on the other side of the park. The heart rate hadn't come down for the 2nd hill and it was a struggle. I wanted to attack it but the turnover wasn't there. The power wasn't there. Hill done and the body started to swing with the arms. Core core core I told myself. The mat will come out this week. Grey tee must have felt it too. Gap still 50m.

Lap 3 and down the hill again. No chance of settling now. I was not in race mode, no chance of speeding up. It was survival mode, limit the fade. Rounding bunches of walkers on the flat section. I glanced at the watch. Hr 180, pace 6:55, oh dear! Low point here. Too old for this lark. Snapped out of it just shy of hill 3. Mile 2 beeped 6:35, not as bad as last time. Positive again.

Then the hill sucked it out of me. 8:×× pace on the watch. Grey tee pulling away. Path busy with all sorts. It would be so easy to slot in behind a group and jog the last lap. But hey, still 3rd and one lap to go. Just give it what you have. Onto lap 4. Legs out of control on the descent. Hit the flat section on my physio flies past me full of beans. 4th now going backwards. Trying to surge but legs dont have it. Lungs dont have it. This is the best I have. Limit the fade.

The 4th hill hurt a lot but I wasn't passed and just the straight to the finish left. Mile 3 beeped 6:55, woeful but not as bad as 7:00 last time. I have a PB at least. Progress! Crossed the line 4th, spent hands on knees, in 20:02, a 20sec PB.

I did 5 miles easy home to reflect. I'm satisfied with that. The pacing still poor, the fade poor but nonetheless progress. A benchmark to work from. My average hr was 177 and max on hill 4 of 187, my max!! I could not have worked harder and thats just how it felt. At times I wanted to attack and close the gap to grey tee or surge up the hill. The mind was willing, I was driven but the stamina just wasn't there. It will improve, its early days...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Considering you’ve had a few consecutive 75+ mile weeks past two weeks, the lack of zip in the legs is understandable. It’s early days as you say, you’ll improve hugely, you know you will.

If you had vaporfly that would been at least 19.59 ;)

All joking aside you know yourself there's plenty more to come. Nice marker laid there. That's not an easy route.