Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shotgun 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 1,761 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Great to see you back running regularly :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

Sunday 24th Nov
    Long Run 8.46m @7:57, hr 149. 67mins

V02 back down to 52 (it was 59 for the sub3)
    Weight up to 87.1kg (it was 78kg for the sub3)

The week nearly ran away from me but salvaged a "long" run of 67mins. Been a busy week but December only promises to be busier. I need to find a rhythm. Actually enjoyed this. Focused on a fresh cadence in the fresh chilly breeze which kept it feeling lively. Out around the countryside which was quiet before the noise of Frozen 2 day trip with the kiddies. Survived both despite a hill at end of the run and the movie feeling longer and tougher to endure than necessary!

Monday 25th Nov
    Easy 6.79m @8:46

Garmin hr thought I was practically dying and gave me "unproductive" for this gentle trot around town. Hey Garmin didn't you know slow is supposed to be slow? :rolleyes: I was probably inhaling over 3 strides and exhaling over 3 strides hardly taxing. It was dark and cloudy, thus very dark and eerie around the north circular. If it wasn't for my plodding cadence I'd have frightened the bejeezus out of some walkers. I felt good running back over Sarsfield bridge into town distracted by the Christmas lights. The final mile uptown was a slalom around pods of jolly singing/shouting Christmas jumper clad students out on the lash.

Tuesday 26th Nov
    Easy 6.45m including 2x 8x20sec strides

Reluctant body and mind this morning. The legs were groaning and creaking from the rude awakening the last couple of days... running in the cold! Miserable morning. Even more unpleasant running faster than the "rush" hour morning traffic. Impatient drivers. I was nearly taken out at the exit of a garage. The strides themselves sucked. Into wind and rain, stepping in puddles and around walkers. Also nearly choked running by the bus stop/smoking shed outside the hospital. All in, not a very enjoyable run but at least its done. It was my only window as I fly out to the US this morning. Happy to get some intensity included. Tuesday will be the day for that and I'll build gradually up to a session over the coming weeks.

Wednesday 27th Nov
    Easy 7.21m @8:25, hr 140

I was worried about getting lost, although in the US you basically go left 3x and you are probably back to the start. 2 miles up a nice path with trees and a quiet wide road was a decent start for early morning. I turned left only to be running beside an interstate with massive trucks roaring by. I turned back down the path instead. Heavy rain during the night left pools across the path at points. I thought I'd skip around them on the grassy bank only to sink into it. In short the whole run was in wet shoes. A couple of miles around suburbia and a final mile looping a mall with large banks of shovelled snow still not melted from a recent fall. It was a cold wind too but overall happy to get a run done in daylight.

Happy Thanks giving Day 28th Nov
    Tempo 3m @6:44, total 8.34m

From 28C 2 weeks ago to -4C at 6am this morning. My body was wondering WTF?! I had to get it done early as there was a flight to catch. It was pitch dark so I opted for the 1.5m loop road circling a large mall which was street lit. Straight away ran into a headwind and it cut through me. I had sleeves, gloves and hat but it was nonetheless a shock to the system. I ran back to get my inhaler just in case, entertaining thoughts of the treadmill instead. I hate treadmills. I don't mind indoor bike turbo or rowing machine but I just hate running in one spot looking at a screen or wall and getting way too warm for the effort. I did ask on sideswipe's sub3 log what would force you onto a treadmill and this was not a reason for me. Back out to embrace the biting cold.

I hardly warmed up on the two warm up loops but I did have the whole road to myself. The 3x tempo miles were 7:02, 6:50 and 6:20. Each time I hit the back of the mall and the headwind I just drove the arms. The tailwind was not exactly a breather but the heart rate did drop back below the AT (aerobic threshold). On the 3rd tempo mile I quickened the tempo to finish strong. It didn't take long to cool down on the cool down laps! Overall a solid small bit of work so early and so cold my skin looked raw or badly sunburned in the glorious warm shower. Hopefully that early session too will help me sleep on the red eye home this evening.

Saturday 29th Nov
    Mungret Parkrun 20:22
    , total 8.05m, 65mins

Long week with travel. Up late after toy show. No brekkie.
    Excuses meh it was a benchmark and will improve.
    Splits tell the story 6:16, 6:51, 7:00. Out too fast and suffered. Nothing wrong with suffering, you need to but suffering at a slower pace than my last marathon pace not good. Felt fine on first mile but a hill and headwind on the 4 loops felt longer and stiffer as I lapped. Still, 6th, 2nd AG and a Parkrun PB not the worst. Normally top 10 are 19-20 and top 5 <18 and lead <17 So a few missing today. My mission is to beat my 30 year old self so getting fitter and competitive here would knock on the door. Seldom are my opportunities to get free on Saturday mornings so a bit of training before the next one will help.

Sunday 1st Dec
    Long Run 10.31m @8:16, hr 143

Cold, calm, crisp evening. Lovely for running though daylight would be better. The legs were a bit stiff from yesterday but happy with 85mins run. 8:50 pace starting and gradually dropping to steady for a finish. Contrasting environments. First 6 miles along busy roads, then through a quiet UL and onto an eerie silent slightly misty riverbank for a few miles. Had it to myself. It's not a long run really but long for where I am.

47m total for the week which is good considering travel and jet lag. Weight dropped under 85kg too but long way to go there. Running alone wont do it.

Focus for next week
    6 runs
    3 easy
    1 short intervals
    1 short tempo
    1 longer progression
    Roll out the yoga mat
    Food discipline
    84kg

Mon-Thurs 2-6th Dec
    5m Easy @approx 9:00

Each of the last 4 mornings I headed out before the kids woke up to run a short very easy run. 4x 2km laps of the South Circular Road. No watch, on feel. Trying to run steadily easy in the cold at about 9min pace. Each run was more or less 45mins. A mini experiment. Tomorrow I'll do exactly the same but with a watch. Just to record, I wont look at it. Curious to see if I dialled that goal easy pace in and if the heart rate was the right zone. A bit of a runny nose though from the weather change. Got the flu jab so hopefully will stay above the chest this year. I'd love to put in a good winter block.

Sunday 8th Dec
    Long Slow Run 10.51m @8:53, hr 143

Missed the last 2 days minding a head cold. Dosed up, slept 20hrs and much better this morning. Storm heading in the West so had to get this done. 1.5hrs holding the slow pace I was practicing during the week. Circa 9min pace. The first 3m gnarly enough until I looped a park with a little shelter. Mile 5 saw rapid dark clouds burst open and the wind pick up. My knuckles froze and I had to lean into the wind as the rain stung my face. About 5mins of that battle and I turned on a country road for shelter.

The next few miles were enjoyable. The clouds split, the sun popped out and I had a nice tail wind. My hr still hung around 140 so I guess that head cold is hanging on. The last mile was under a blanket of dark skies rolling in to stay, more frozen knuckles and horizontal rain. Proper Irish wintery run. I was the only eejit out in it too!

Overall 30.5m for the week in 4.5hrs, all slow.
    Weight dropped a kg to 83.7kg too.

Monday 9th Dec
    Easy 6.54m @8:20, hr 142

Early, cold, dark but thankfully a relatively calm morning. Lots of tree debris around. Hard to see on the darkest parts of the Condel road so a few skids and trips. The body felt stiff. I did a bit of core after the long run yesterday but the right quad a bit dead. Hopefully just the usual aches of starting out again..
    Spinach, tomato and feta cheese omelette for tasty post run brekkie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,583 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

The next few miles were enjoyable. The clouds split, the sun popped out and I had a nice tail wind. My hr still hung around 140 so I guess that head cold is hanging on. The last mile was under a blanket of dark skies rolling in to stay, more frozen knuckles and horizontal rain. Proper Irish wintery run. I was the only eejit out in it too!

Out of curiously what's your max HR and what ranges do you use for threshold, tempo, easy, etc?

Howdy P
    Still use zones I had yonks ago when I was tested in a lab in UL.
    Max HR then was 189 but now 186
    Z1 60-70%
    Z2 71-80%
    Z3 81-85%
    Z4 86-91%
    Z5 92%+

Once thought of Z3 as junk miles but time spent training in mid Z3 to low Z4 has yielded both half and marathon PBs. My problem with Z3 was I spent too much time in it or near all instead of the pyramid (perhaps why the Hansons method felt just right)
    60% Z1 -Z2 (80-90% in base phase)
    20% Z3
    15% Z4
    5% Z5

I'm not rigid with zones.
    When easy is supposed to be easy, stay under <140
    When easy is not easy enough 150hr
    MP is around 160hr
    Over 170hr and I'm over AT (Aerobic threshold)
    Over 180hr and I'm in the middle of a 5k

Tuesday 10th Dec
    5.34 reluctant slow miles @9:16, hr 138

Long day. Home at 8.30 and felt wrecked. Gear on and took 25mins of procrastination to get out the door. Brrr..
    Opted to head for town to do a figure 8 of the bridges. A favourite route of mine. Sort of got into it but had to run so so slow to keep the heart rate at 140 or under. Unfortunately its low heart rate stuff for a while until I feel a base and improve my core. Basically create a platform to build some sessions and races onto before I set up a marathon plan. Saw some pairs running not far from home. A new year mission is to not run alone all the time. Although my best run if the year was with a buddy.

Monday 16th Dec
    Lovely crisp cold morning. The kind I love to run around the city before it wakes up. Alas not to be! Cracked a rib last Tuesday evening go karting. Painful and unfortunately a pain I know too well. Been dosed up on pain relief and it's too tender to run. Laughing, coughing and hiccups hurt. Popped a chewing gum into my mouth this morning and instantly regretted it. The peppermint made me sneeze and the pain brought tears to my eyes. Life is too busy to be sitting still. All you can do though besides difene. To make matters worse a new pair of 2019 Adidas Adizero 4 arrived yesterday (bargain €71).

All I want for Christmas is to go for a run.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Ya big baby go karting!!! Horrible injury, suffered the same in my footballing days and it was as painful as fcuk!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Monday 16th Dec
    Lovely crisp cold morning. The kind I love to run around the city before it wakes up. Alas not to be! Cracked a rib last Tuesday evening go karting. Painful and unfortunately a pain I know too well. Been dosed up on pain relief and it's too tender to run. Laughing, coughing and hiccups hurt. Popped a chewing gum into my mouth this morning and instantly regretted it. The peppermint made me sneeze and the pain brought tears to my eyes. Life is too busy to be sitting still. All you can do though besides difene. To make matters worse a new pair of 2019 Adidas Adizero 4 arrived yesterday (bargain €71).

All I want for Christmas is to go for a run.

That sucks. Hope you heal up quickly. I think Caz should maybe start wrapping you in cotton wool before you're allowed out :)

2016, 2018, 2019... I think you might be right. Though its times like this I appreciate marrying a pharmacist!

@Barry - 75 laps chucking the kart into the hairpin at Delta Indoor track, for the win. At least not in vain! Yes unpleasant injury.

Christmas Eve
    Low HR easy 5.19m @9:20

2 weeks since the rib fracture. Beyond the painful bit. Managing to get around with pain killers so tried a very easy run. No sudden movements necessary as the roads were quiet. Calm and cold enough to see your breath but not freezing. Kept it base <140hr wondering around suburbia looking at the lights. Nice run, enjoyed it. Belly hanging out over the waistline not going to go away soon. Not worried, I'll get rid of it in 2020.

Happy Christmas to all you guys n gals. Hope Santa brings running stuff!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Happy Christmas to yourself and the family M, have a good one!!!

Friday Dec 27
    Easy low hr 7.62m @8:25, hr 134

Retired my long time cheap earphones. No more routing through tops, dragging out my ears, music drowned out by cars, same ipod playlists for ever. I wont take my phone out attached to my arm. Santa upgraded the garmin 645 to a 645 with music and threw in some BT headphones woohoo. Playlists synced over and worked perfectly for a low heart rate morning trot around a quiet city. I love the 645 and would not have traded or upgraded, but the same watch with music is great. I didn't get the music version last year as the jury was still out but some firmware updates, spotify and it's cool.

The run itself was meh, bloated after the christmas excesses. Keeping the hr <140 felt like fast walking at times. Its grand though, building a base and keeping it easy enough so the rib doesn't hurt suits me right now. Santa also brought some gear and another LoRo Believe training journal in Teal for 2020.

I set a goal of 1,600m for 2019 and hit in on this run. 600m more than 2018.

Saturday 28 Dec
    Easy low hr 9.02m @9:13, hr 139

Caz working so another early one. I need to establish the early habit again to get some consistency going. A longer loop around town. A drunk girl tried to be funny and knock my cap off in a rougher side of town but think she hurt her hand off my head instead. The 3 lads with her got a laugh either way. It made me think of a Runners World article last month about the harassment women get out running. I brushed off the incident and roared some expletive as I passed but reflected on it over the next mile. It could have been seen as intimidating running down the path and the 'gang' spread across it not giving way. I was forced to run between them. 2 of the lads actually sort of moved but the girl with the protection of her mates threw the arm out. Would you have crossed the road?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Would you have crossed the road?

Ordinarily no but when I'm in the middle of a run probably yes because I don't want to risk having to stop and also I'm usually in a happy place when I run so it wouldn't irritate me as much :)

Sunday 29 Dec
    Long Run 11.18m @8:59, hr 150-180!

Very reluctant 'easy' run. 2 laps of suburbia and I had really talk myself into running passed my front door. Just felt wasted and it was simply a slog. I could not lower my heart rate. It was 160hr running 10min pace at one point. I was just too far from home to walk so I continued to run. Slept 11+ hours last night, a rarity for me but felt off all day. More visitors so cooking, hosting and the kids tore the place apart. Perhaps an accumulation of the last few days and the body and mind not up for 100mins of running. I felt smashed after it. There are coughs and sniffing going on around the family. I've been in 5 different houses and my own has been busy so hopefully it's not something unhealthy. I got the flu jab but the health situation is a 100 times better than 12 months ago, for which I'm thankful.

Perhaps just fatigue, tomorrow is a new day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,558 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Would you have crossed the road?

Good question.

Considering where I live it’s surprising this kind of thing has never really happened to me. If I come across groups of ‘yoofs’ in certain places I generally wave a friendly ‘how’s it going lads’ which usually takes them by surprise.

But if it’s easier to avoid any potential confrontation up ahead I generally would cross the road or take a detour.

Mon 30 Dec
    Low hr 5.1m @9:45, hr 136

Post not for the squeamish! Ok very slow figure of 8 run around the 3 town bridges. Trying to keep the hr down in wind and anything barely resembling an incline. Passed Limerick Search and Rescue on bikes a couple of times on the loop. Always out. I admire those boys n girls. Late out but was tempted not to. Long day after I sliced through the nail and tip of my thumb with a carving knife chopping tomatoes. I was making omelettes for the kids who were all sitting up at the breakfast bar watching. It cut at an angle from the middle of the nail so just missed the tip of the bone, which you could see with the tip hanging off, nail still attached lots of blood, kids put off their lunch! As was I. Anyway, happy to do the run, even if I could judge my heart rate by the pulse on my thumb!

NYE 2019 last run of the year
    7.06m low hr @9:39

Really enjoyed this one.
    This time last year I was miserable, sat in a ward in hospital after a double asthma attack. Tonight on a cold, clear, crisp night, I ran passed the same hospital listening to my favourite playlist gulping huge breaths of fresh air, appreciating life. My lungs felt good, no great!

I had a super start. Hugs n high fives!
    I met a mate on the way back from fireworks in town and hugs n a little chat. Then around the corner met Niall, my sub3 buddy and his family also heading back home. Big hug from Niall and his missus and high fives from all the kids. I was simply buzzing running back up the road.

The garmin wrist hrm was acting up. I was running as slow as possible up hills but couldn't get it under 140hr. I stopped to take a manual pulse at it was 20bpm lower.. oh well, just ran on easy and happily.

No big summary for 2019. The goals were clear cut.
    2 bucket list
    1. Run a sub 3 - did 2:58:50 at GLR
    2. Swim a Gala - did the 200 free at the National Masters

More importantly
    3. Finish 2019 healthier than it started. I feel a million times better than 12 months ago and wont take it for granted!

Roll on 2020 and happy NY folks!

Hello there 2020!
    Easy low hr 9.06m @9:32 today, Jan 1. Hr 140 but a bit spikey for the first 20mins. 1:26:22 of slow Z1 running

Meandered easily over to other side of town to get the first miles of a new decade in. Wore the Adidas Solar Glide, the least favourite of the current shoes. I think I'm up to about 170m in them so will soon park them in work for the odd lunch run and get a new "easy" pair of something. I find the Solar Drive too soft and mushy. I have to double tie the laces that always open if I forget. My other easy shoes are NB Beacon 2 that I like so much I've ordered another pair. I'm open to trying a new general mileage shoe. The run itself was just miles. It was colder earlier out walking with the kids so I over kitted up and sweated more than necessary.

So hello there 2020! What's the plan?

1. PB at DCM. I'll run Hansons method again for it.
    2. More races in general. 5k, 10k and a HM
    3. Run up hills. To prep for keeping up with Kate's Ballyhoura Mountain Marathon course record attempt
    4. Run with people. I train alone almost all the time. I just cant make it to club sessions.

All running focus this year for the first time in forever.

Thurs 02 Jan
    Easy low hr 9.2m @9:12, hr 140. 1:24:35

Cold drizzly misty miserable rain. Late too by the time the kids bedtime story was done. I procrastinate. The insole of the right shoe (Beacon 2s) keeps slipping back so I wasted time trying to tape it down. Need to get glue, it didn't work. Despite the rain, I found a groove and kept it within the limit apart from a couple of hills into the wind.

I'm training by heart rate so I really need to dig out a hr strap. The wrist hr is too erratic. I felt hungry, so much so that I nearly ran into a lamp post turning my head to smell a chip shop! Overall a decent base run with 3 of the 9 miles a smidge under 9min miles. I told myself I'd do 100 low hr miles before I bring in a session. 82 to go. I should have 'easy' drilled in by then too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭Damo 2k9

Wore the Adidas Solar Glide, the least favourite of the current shoes. I think I'm up to about 170m in them so will soon park them in work for the odd lunch run and get a new "easy" pair of something. I find the Solar Drive too soft and mushy. I have to double tie the laces that always open if I forget. My other easy shoes are NB Beacon 2 that I like so much I've ordered another pair. I'm open to trying a new general mileage shoe.

I found that exact problem with the Solar Boost which are another version of that shoe, very mushy feeling and I found all of the sizing huge too!!

If you get a chance try on the NB 1080, my first NB shoes and I love them.

Damo 2k9 wrote: »
    I found that exact problem with the Solar Boost which are another version of that shoe, very mushy feeling and I found all of the sizing huge too!!

If you get a chance try on the NB 1080, my first NB shoes and I love them.

Hey Damo 2k9 thanks. I have NB Beacon 2s as my other general mileage pair and its great. Apart from the insole slipping (an easy problem to fix).

I had an earlier version of the 1080s. 2 pairs simultaneously in fact. Got over 1,200m total from them combined alternating. They were the first pair of NB shoes I wore too, recommended by sconhome after examining my feet/strike/stride etc..

I then went on to try the 880 series. Did 485 miles in version 7 and 584 miles in version 8. Overall cannot fault NB for general trainers.

The sizing is actually ok for the Solar Glide (I have wide feet) but another problem: I have just 170m done in them and already the rubber lugs are gone under the midfoot and the rubber is also gone from the outside heel. After getting circa 500m from the 1080s and 880s, this is very disappointing. I guess "mushy" also means they breakdown faster. I double tied the laces as usual today and one still opened. They laces are sort of waxy and very frustrating. I've now relegated them to the office "lunchtime" easy runs until the are finally done!

Thank Crunchie its Friday 03 Jan
    Easy low hr 8.68m @9:07, hr 138, 1:19:03

Lovely bright sunny afternoon for a run. Quiet day at the office so got some easy miles along the riverbank. A treat! Dogs, birds, kids on their new bikes and just lots of life. The signets are growing fast and shedding fur that looks like white and grey candyfloss littering the trail. The highlight was a massive set of white wings glide directly over my head as one of Limericks many river swans came in for a landing on the river just to the right of me. Very impressive and cool to see up so close. I ran most of the bank sussing it out for short lunchtime runs, what I could get done in 20, 30, 40 mins etc..

I had better control of the heart rate zone too because I wore a HRM. Actually managed to hold 9min pace or better for 4 of the 8 miles holding <140hr. I also felt the urge to just kick out and do strides or run fast for a bit which is a good sign. The motivation is there. Patience is key though. A wise man once told me you have to run slow to run fast. Its all 'bout that base, 'bout that bass, no treble.. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

Thank Crunchie its Friday 03 Jan
    Easy low hr 8.68m @9:07, hr 138, 1:19:03

Lovely bright sunny afternoon for a run. Quiet day at the office so got some easy miles along the riverbank. A treat! Dogs, birds, kids on their new bikes and just lots of life. The signets are growing fast and shedding fur that looks like white and grey candyfloss littering the trail. The highlight was a massive set of white wings glide directly over my head as one of Limericks many river swans came in for a landing on the river just to the right of me. Very impressive and cool to see up so close. I ran most of the bank sussing it out for short lunchtime runs, what I could get done in 20, 30, 40 mins etc..

I had better control of the heart rate zone too because I wore a HRM. Actually managed to hold 9min pace or better for 4 of the 8 miles holding <140hr. I also felt the urge to just kick out and do strides or run fast for a bit which is a good sign. The motivation is there. Patience is key though. A wise man once told me you have to run slow to run fast. Its all 'bout that base, 'bout that bass, no treble.. :)

Strides can (and should) be part of your base too.

@dna_leri you are right. I'm just drilling in the easy pace before I bring in the strides.

Sat 04 Jan
    Easy low hr 10.5m @8:55, hr 136, 1:33:20

I was up most of the night with tummy ache. Thought it might be a bug but a little better by the afternoon. Thankfully the good start to 2020 was not going to find an early blocker. Dark by the time I got out but cool and dry with a gentle breeze. I ran 2 loops of suburbia just in case and actually felt really good. It was wind and happily left it out there. I tried podcasts for the first time and quiet enjoyed how the time passed comfortably. The last few miles took a bit of focus to maintain the zone but all good. The Garmin agreed for once this week. After demoting my VO2 down to 49 after last week it's back to 51.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,206 ✭✭✭healy1835

Good to see you building again M. Where did you pull the 100 low HR miles figure from?

healy1835 wrote: »
    Good to see you building again M. Where did you pull the 100 low HR miles figure from?

I'll keep low hr miles in the general training as my recovery or very easy stuff, warm up and cool downs.

Nowhere really, round number. I did 100 before xmas though it took longer with the gap for the broken rib. Plus 100 in Jan gives me about 30hrs or a months worth of just low hr. If I felt I didn't have a base already I'd go to 2, 3 or 6 months. I'll still be base training after the 100 up to end Jan but starting to introduce strides and short reps. Then into a 5-10k focused block.

Maybe I missed it but any specific races planned?

You doing Adare?

Maybe I missed it but any specific races planned?

You doing Adare?
    Too late by the time I looked. I set my 10k pb there 10 years ago. Its grown so popular since! First benchmark is to do <20 at the local Parkrun. Once I can get low 19 I'll target <40 for a 10k. Plenty of those on. Push on from there. I'd love to get in shape to have a go at a 10k before the DCM plan kicks in. Would do the mojo no harm

Sun 05 Jan
    Long Run low hr 12.83m @8:56, hr 138, 1:54:40

My longest run since the marathon last year. I'm motivated to have a more consistent year. This was a good first long run. All easy but good time on the feet, in a new pair of NB Beacon 2s. Handled a long run out of the box no problem. Hardly noticed the first 5 miles listening to a rugby podcast. Along pull up Rosbrien Road to the golf club took focus to maintain the zone. The legs did feel it from 9m on. Nice to get it done in daylight, albeit a bit windy.

The week
    62.45m in 9.5hrs
    Weight 84.6 to 83.6kg
    Pretty happy with that. I'm on a 10 day run streak too.

Next week
    More of the same, keep the low hr base zone
    The rib is good already to stretch the body
    Bed earlier or I'll miss my window to run some days
    Plan a few events

First Monday of 2020
    Low hr 9.67m @8:55, hr 138, 1:26:20

I heard the wind howling as I got dressed. The Christmas decorations all boxed up in the hall, the festive holiday is over. Outside the door the driveway was littered with rubbish that I had to clean up first. The clouds covered the stars. It was 5:20am. The bins were toppled over along the suburban paths. The Christmas house and garden light shows all but gone so little distraction had little relief from the strong wind for the first 3 miles. The next mile was a mix of cross wind but as forecast, the rain came around 6am. I had half a mile of it stinging my face before I turned onto a pitch black country road.

2 miles of eerie darkness and quiet. I worried that a dog would suddenly run out a gate at me but surely they were all asleep and oblivious with the wind. As I approached some lights again the rain fell heavier. Back in suburbia on the last 2 miles the early birds heading to work were squinting and scowling into the conditions. One guy was fighting a golf umbrella and losing. I slalomed the bins on the last path to arrive home dripping wet just in time for the madness of kids first day back to school.

Tue 07 Jan
    Easy low hr 10.44m @8:53, hr 138

There is a pitch dark mile along the Rosbrien Road. The only light is the speed camera and it clocked my pedestrian 10kmh, a tiny chuckle on an otherwise dreary morning. The first 5 miles were pretty relaxed running but then my body snapped out of it on a hill into the wind and it took FOREVER to get home. I felt impatient on the last 4 miles waiting for the watch to buzz and indicate I had one less mile to go. Just one of those mornings where I rolled over and very nearly fell asleep again. It was a battle thereafter.

And yet you still went out. Fair play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,509 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

I literally could be reading about my run this morning! A v. Strong head wind most of the way home also didn't help:( But you went out & thats it done for the day :D

Sure is! Cant beat getting it done first thing eh? I saw a couple of other runners out by the time I was finishing up. Nodding a salute and seeing their faces all I could think was, bring on the daylight and some joy!

I love those mornings where the world starts to wake midway through a long run. It's a strange feeling.

P I'm sure you are talking about the natural world and people rather than the commuter noise. I'm out a bit early for daybreak yet but there is that tiny stretch in the evening now.

Wed 08 Jan
    Easy low hr 8.64m @8:32, hr 137, 1hr13

I headed out just a tad later this morning and learned there are a few more of the 6-7am brigade running and better runner salutes! The first mile was quiet, dark and sleepy. I ran passed an empty bus stop near my home and the thought of curling up on the bench for a snooze crossed a lazy mind. I did eventually warm up and wake up to have a pep in my step. I was startled on the pitch dark country road section by a white cows head, sleeping beside a low ditch. Otherwise it was just miles. But better miles!

The heart rate still creeped out of the zone on hills but not by as much and it recovered quicker too. The pace was comfortably under 9min miles. Even a little progress in progress still. By the time I reached the home stretch, the noise of the commuter traffic was in swing and the bus stop now full of people staring down into their phones. Decent run to start the day.

Thu 09 Jan
    Run 1: Easy low hr 6.01m @8:50, hr 140, 53:03
    Run 2: Easy low hr 6.45m @8:34, hr 135, 55:14

I had 10m in mind but lost my window turn over after the alarm this morning. Thought I'd split it into 2 easy shorter runs. The first was a glorious daylight cold calm run by a quiet riverbank. The water was like glass and lots of little birds speeding across the trail. The odd old man and dog. I didn't have the HRM so the wrist hr was a bit spikey. A few runners appeared on the way back to work, leaping over puddles under the living bridge.

The run this evening was less fun. Baltic misty rain. Dark and the noise of cars. A short run around suburbia and the Industrial Estate. I warmed up eventually but my belly rumbled and I just wanted to get home, get warm and eat. The effort felt really comfortable overall though.

Friiiiiday 10 Jan... already
    Easy low hr 8.68m @8:32, hr 136, 1hr14

Lovely crisp cold morning for a run. I was geared up but saw another lad with an uncovered bald head running over the flyover ahead of me. I was out before 5.30 so he was out earlier, and in shorts! More easy miles. The heart rate cap comes off after this weekend so looking forward to a sprinkle of spice next week. It's very early days but the numbers are inching forward. This run 2 weeks ago took a full 4 minutes more for the same effort, albeit from a pretty poor starting point VO2 49 yikes!

The legs were a bit stiff and achy and I figured it's just the mileage. Until I remembered the 150 or so jumping jacks in 3 minutes! Caz and I were watching Operation Transformation on Wednesday night and did the add break challenges. A whole 6 mins of S&C this week lol

Sat 11 Jan
    Easy 11.42m @8:23 inc strides, hr 142, 1hr35

A couple of slightly different things about this run than the last few weeks of running.
    1. Base hr cap off
    2. 2 set of 8x15 sec strides

I'd prefer to spend longer in the capped base phase but I'll keep the easy easy from now. I still kept the general effort at or below 140hr but didn't slow completely down on hills. More of a consistent pace. I thought after the first few miles of rain that it would be another dreary dark run. However the rain stopped, the evening stretched and I even timed it to spend a couple of miles running towards a cool orange cloudy sunset.

I did the strides in the Mungret park. 8x15 secs and 15 sec recovery with 2 mins easy between the two sets. I felt really good. A bit of shin splints in my right ankle but I dont feel it while running. Mungret is the local Parkrun and the first 2020 target is to go sub 20 there.

Out of interest why 16 strides and why the short recovery?