Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v New Zealand match thread

• Registered Users Posts: 190 ✭✭defrule

World Cup will be ours for sure now. This NZ team is child's play, by next year we should be able to roll them over.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,084 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Unfortunately the bad news from Joe is still to come

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

awec wrote: »
    Enough of this lamenting of players who are injured.

The team we have out today is good enough to win.

Ireland by a score.

Awec will show you the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

What a game and what a win. Great intensity from us for all 80 minutes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,413 ✭✭✭chupacabra

Delighted

Me fcuking heart!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 617 ✭✭✭franklyon

defrule wrote: »
    World Cup will be ours for sure now. This NZ team is child's play, by next year we should be able to roll them over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Kept New Zealand to 0 tries...that's a serious achievement in itself

When was the last time this happened to NZ, when it wasn't poor conditions?

The all blacks had a dry clean surface, and our defence didn't allow a single try.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Amazing game, soured by the griping about the ref. Blaming him for the touch judge calling that forward pass was a particular highlight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,314 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Thats insane!!

The crowd were SUPERB!!!

Every player can stand up tall after that. What a game!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭ScrubsfanChris

That's the first time I've smiled today. I lost my mum this morning, so thank you thank you THANK YOU Ireland. Thank you for giving me a good memory of this day for years.

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Kept New Zealand to 0 tries...that's a serious achievement in itself

Anyone got the stat on when that happened last that NZ were kept tryless?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,935 ✭✭✭TallGlass

Be some party tonight :D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

I am organising a game of rugby in cork, near UCC who's in?

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

#The all greys

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,178 ✭✭✭✭beertons

How do you pick out a man of the match in that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,289 ✭✭✭MayoForSam

All Blacks are most definitely only human like the rest of us. Roll on Japan, can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

McGrath was a lucky boy. 2 ridiculous box kicks in the last 5 that put us under needless pressure.

That said, woooohoooooooo :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,373 ✭✭✭twinytwo

For anyone debating POM and stander starting for Ireland... tonight showed why they do.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,084 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Let's not get ahead of ourselves a year is a long time. Looks good though with the cover we have

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Aidric wrote: »
    McGrath was a lucky boy. 2 ridiculous box kicks in the last 5 that put us under needless pressure.

Look at 2013 and what happened. Barnes even warned us about the puck and go.

When was the last time this happened to NZ, when it wasn't poor conditions?

The all blacks had a dry clean surface, and our defence didn't allow a single try.

They showed us so much respect in their play in the first half, shows the credit this Ireland team deserves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,305 ✭✭✭ionapaul

Aww, that was amazing...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 17 Mick Shipman

Read is an absolute gent. Very gracious of him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭Losty Dublin

I wouldn't even swap this result for a reversal of the Brexit referendum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭kal7

Kuang1 you now have to do all match threads.
    Thought might never see us win now 2 in two years. No tries for NZ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,278 ✭✭✭✭flazio

That's the first time I've smiled today. I lost my mum this morning, so thank you thank you THANK YOU Ireland. Thank you for giving me a good memory of this day for years.

Sorry for your loss. Happy to hear there was just a small silver lining in the day.

I'm going to go eat cake and drink myself silly.

• Registered Users Posts: 352 ✭✭Snowfire

Never been happier to lose a €20 bet. Fantastic work throughout. Magic

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Kieran Read is an absolute class act

It's only a game played by a handful of countries

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 52,319 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

Alpha_zero wrote:
    It's only a game played by a handful of countries

Shove it up your arse!

Brent Pope called himself a placid paddy

• Registered Users Posts: 2,807 ✭✭✭CFlat

I'm genuinely chuffed sitting here. Overcome as well.

Not crying though, definitley not crying...no siree.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Some very uncharacteristic mistakes from the All blacks today. Both Reid and Retallick made a number of handling errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,435 ✭✭✭Wailin

Ffs. Are you trolling? Ridiculous statement.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,930 ✭✭✭jr86

NZ really should have lost last week too, and lost to SA recently and lucky to pip them in another game

Are they well and truly being drawn into the pack? That said this could be long forgotten by September next year

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 23,220 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kiith

When was the last time NZ played and didn't score a try?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Some very uncharacteristic mistakes from the All blacks today. Both Reid and Retallick made a number of handling errors.

Think that was down to the pressure the Irish defense had them under at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,161 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

So so so proud of the lads !

She smiling back man, keep that smile going. Big condolences from all us here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,880 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Nobody, NOBODY beats Ireland twice in a row.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

twinytwo wrote: »
    For anyone debating POM and stander starting for Ireland... tonight showed why they do.

I'll happily hold my hands up.

Likewise Kearney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,248 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Aidric wrote: »

My wife was losing patience with me for giving out each time they kicked the ball back to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,444 ✭✭✭✭Skid X

Rory Best would make a good President when Micheal D retires.

He'd have all the skills and there isn't much loose ball play required.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Kiith wrote: »
    When was the last time NZ played and didn't score a try?

Surely there in an Opta rugby guy on twitter...they'll know

• Registered Users Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Scythica

GET INNN!!!!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,631 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

What a game. We might never see an Irish team like this again. Every one of those players is a permanent legend

Michael D delighted the absolute legend

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

One thing I have to say is Henderson significantly kept up the physicality when he came on. Exactly the type of player you want on for that type of game