Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland v New Zealand match thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,044 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

Congratulations to all the paddies. Well played. Thoroughly deserved. You were outstanding today. See you in the RWC final next year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

Necro wrote: »
    Shove it up your arse!

Ah necro. Never change :D

so have the fact-checkers here found out yet when NZ have last not scored a try in a match?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,058 ✭✭✭Mookie Blaylock

sullivlo wrote: »
    Ah necro. Never change :D

Shouldn't even be carded for that one :)

• Registered Users Posts: 11,084 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

Dont know why anyone is down about Joe leaving us.
    As he explained there, it is all down to everyone else but him.

Good coaching is needed as he is a good coach. Just look at teams in any sport who are top if there league sport lose there coach and decline

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,047 ✭✭✭Bazzo

glasso wrote: »
    so have the fact-checkers here found out yet when NZ have last not scored a try in a match?

Against the Lions in the second test in 2017.

That move for the try looked like a new move. McKenzie was way over the other side of the pitch and had a lot of ground to cover.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,489 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

I am in a dream world

• Registered Users Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 907 ✭✭✭Alpha_zero

I know you are excited but Ireland won comport yourself with some class.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Second Lions test. Before that was 12-12 draw with Australia in 2014 and before that, oddly, was an 18-18 draw with Australia in 2012.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

Nothing lucky about that win whatsoever

Are the All Blacks a bit over rated?

Lads if you want to add a further 10 years to your life switch to Channel 4 +1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Fecking great win!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

That wraps up the three game series I just invented in my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Burkie1203 wrote: »

Oh. Mother of Jaysus. :eek:

My 1st time seeing that in front of me. What a day of first's for me in Irish rugby.

Brent just said that Chris Stern's wife died during the week there on RTÉ2. That is sad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

Cmod Note:

Right, that's it, I'm closing the rugby forum, having it encased in platinum and preserved for ever on the top of mount Everest...

What a fúcking awesome game!!!

OK Steve, breathe... breathe...

:D:D:D

Alpha_zero wrote: »
    I know you are excited but Ireland won comport yourself with some class.

rational question. get real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,331 ✭✭✭deise08

Such a well deserved win. And what a fantastic ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Gutted again and just when I was starting to get over Chicago. Fair dues to Ireland on an incredible performance and a very well deserved win. Another dent in the All Black magic. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭clsmooth

Who was MOTM?

clsmooth wrote: »
    Who was MOTM?

POM MOM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,154 ✭✭✭✭Neil3030

Who was MOTM?

POM of the match was awarded to POM

POM MOM.

POM MOM POM MOM POM MOM POM MOM POM MOM POM MOM

Who was MOTM?

POM officially but could have been any one of 7 or 8

Stander VDF Ryan Toner Aki all top class

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Per ESPN, Luke McGrath made ten tackles in twenty minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,053 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

Ireland were brilliant tonight. A lot of great performances.
    For me though it's a bit tempered by a feeling that this New Zealand team has looked a little fatigued over the last two months. The losses to South Africa and England we're poor performances. I feel like we will see a much different beast come the World Cup.

In relation to the NZ Loosehead Prop...

"Tadgh Furlong had him for breakfast..."... Eddie O'Sullivan

And 2 box kicks that could have gotten him strung up by a nation!

• Subscribers Posts: 41,942 ✭✭✭✭sydthebeat

I'm on the session

Only words are.

We played them off the pitch

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,829 ✭✭✭Cork Boy 53

Well deserved win for the Boys in Green and caps off what has been a marvellous 2018 for Irish rugby. Can they now follow this up by doing back to back Grand Slams?

the last NH side to keep NZ tryless (not counting Lions) was France in 1995

Germany play rugby did i see that right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,769 ✭✭✭nuac

It's only a game there are far more important things to be passionate about.

Actually there are few things more important. I look forward to telling my grandchildren about that match.

Who was MOTM?

POM. Can't argue with that although surprised given he came off quite early. Had two game defining moments though with the gathering of the grubber and turnover penalty win in his own 22.

I thought any one of a number of guys would have been deserving. Stander or either lock would have been up there. VDF would have been but he faded....the line speed and effort of his first 50 minutes told on his legs and he simply could not maintain that pace of defensive aggression and line speed.

In the backs, I thought Aki was very good and Ringrose was very tidy, shutting down a fantastic Jack Goodhue.

It's a game of fine margins. Stockdale had two chip kicks. The first nearly handed NZ the game, potentially and the second won Ireland the game. Funny old match. Earls was relatively quiet but worked hard. He's extremely deserving to be part of this after missing out on Chicago. Someone that has toiled away for years and had some rough days against NZ but will gladly treasure this one. I thought Kearney had a very tidy game. He didn't dominate aerially (although probably came out slightly ahead overall) but his ability to compete meant that NZ gave up ball and spilled possession a couple of times. One or two big interventions but fortunate not to see yellow and would have done under another referee.

Lastly, this was a show down for World Rugby player of the year. Only one player was left as a viable option at the final whistle. Well done, Sexton.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Was their first match today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

eagle eye wrote: »
    For me though it's a bit tempered by a feeling that this New Zealand team has looked a little fatigued over the last two months. The losses to South Africa and England we're poor performances. I feel like we will see a much different beast come the World Cup.

They beat England....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

That little one handed flip recovery from Marmo was terrific.

Folks, we have a really top grade scrum half in Murray.

But both our backups played a serious game of rugby today, and didnt look out of place.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,820 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Rugby is a sport only played by a handful of nations, that is a fact.
    How many feckin fingers do you have you mutant!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,584 ✭✭✭✭Steve

sydthebeat wrote: »
    I'm on the session

Only words are.

We played them off the pitch

And out the gate...

As EOS said in the pre match, you could be in the showers after the match and NZ could somehow pull a try out of the bag.

Joe and the team has brought Irish rugby to a new level...

It's emotional.

I've been higly critical of him in the past but I thought he was very good in his 20 minutes. Covered a huge amount of ground sweeping behind the line and made a couple of superb full length tackles.

His two kicks near the end were poor but I have no problem with the decisions to kick. We've seen France and Montpellier both pay the ultimate price in the last few weeks trying to pick and go their way to killing the game. Barnes clearly warned Ireland about their breakdown play before the final kick so he was absolutely right to send it into the air. The kick could have been better though.

nuac wrote: »
    Actually there are few things more important. I look forward to telling my grandchildren about that match.

Ah come on Bro I know you are excited and i will be magnanimous and pretend i didn't read that comment so that we can remain friends.

Vanuatu play soccer and all

eagle eye wrote: »

I feel you've already been watching a different beast.

England lost to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Yes they do!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,112 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

What a win, what a performance, what a night. Electric atmosphere

Has horrible flashbacks of 2013 near the end of the game but the Irish players gave it there all to make sure history would not repeat

Loved the slow walk forward for the haka

On route home now and going to enjoy a pint later

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

A few pics from today's mighty win in the Aviva.

DsPEWGvXgAAxDXr.jpg

DsPBAKdWoAEdfwg.jpg

686YR9I7?format=jpg&name=600x314

8tPOYGyr?format=jpg&name=600x314

https://twitter.com/i/status/1063895699023151109

That little one handed flip recovery from Marmo was terrific.

Folks, we have a really top grade scrum half in Murray.

But both our backups played a serious game of rugby today, and didnt look out of place.

yes, great performance by Marmion at the elite level. chapeau

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

Are the All Blacks a bit over rated?

No. We barely held them out in the end. Us at our best and playing at home.