Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

American killed by tribe in India

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

well we have world thats full of dangerous places but most who go there pretty much do whatever it takes to get permission and security to do so, not just dropping out from nowhere and being chopped up, or going across land mine field and hoping to get by fine.

Doesnt matter if person was american or other nationality outcome would been the same, given he was nuts in the first place, if locals keep out of there some westerner should take a hint.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Reminds of the guy(s) living with bears.

There is always a reason why people stay away from some situations, but no there is always the ones that reckon they can buck the trend and it is everyone else that is wrong.

As someone else mentioned earlier, this guy has shot to the top of the Darwin nominations.

You would have pity on his family, so long as they didn't know what he was about to do.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

a few nukes would soften their cough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,188 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

If there is only around 150 of them they must be very inbred by now, I'm not saying that trying to be smart or anything but you would think it would mean they have health problems when they are all so closely related.

It would remind me of a few places, one being in Galway. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,116 ✭✭✭archer22

These folk want to be left alone...so it's downright bad manners not to respect their wishes.

Anyhow I suspect it will be a long time before anyone else goes there to bring them the 'good news' :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

Reminds me of a group we have in Ireland but this Tribe in India stick to themselves.

I wonder is there any chance of swapping?

Rathkeale's more dangerous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

jmayo wrote: »
    It would remind me of a few places, one being in Galway. ;)

We like to cross the border to breed with Mayo women occasionally just to mix things up a bit ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

We like to cross the border to breed with Mayo women occasionally just to mix things up a bit ;)

How do you stop them from shooting arrows at you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,787 ✭✭✭Feisar

Ipso wrote: »

it's shtop in that part of the world

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,904 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Ipso wrote: »

We tell them stories about what it's like to win an All Ireland, it helps calm them down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

These xenophobic and racist islanders need to be educated on diversity and acceptance. It will be interesting to see what their views are on equality, consent and LBGTQIA+ issues?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

If there is only around 150 of them they must be very inbred by now, I'm not saying that trying to be smart or anything but you would think it would mean they have health problems when they are all so closely related.
    It depends on how many were the original number of settlers G. If there were 20 relatively unrelated folks they'd likely be fine. They may have strong taboos about having kids with closer relatives going by generational memory to reinforce it. They may from time to time sought out partners from neighbouring islands. At least in the past. Plus they may well have people with regular health problems but they're never seen on the beaches on those rare occasions visitors pass by. We just don't know. They're not even sure how many of there are.

It may not be enough to cause their extinction anyway. A recent study that looked into skeletons and genes of stone age peoples in Europe showed a much larger than background(and expected) range of genetic deformities. Suggesting that such groups were much more inbred than peoples today*. Ditto for the previous Neandertals who appear to have been very local in genetic profiles. Makes sense as Stone Age people were rare in the landscape and initially anyway tribes were small. One estimate has the Neandertals at their peak numbering less than 40,000 people spread across all of Europe and into west Asia. That's a GAA match at Croke park. And yet all those Stone Age people led to us modern Europeans.

Look at ancient Egyptian royal houses where they were marrying off brother and sister to preserve the godly bloodline. Yep they had a fair few banjo players in the mix, Tutankhamun was a chinless buck toothed cripple who married his sister and lost two kids in pregnancy likely because of genetic damage, but it seems even when it was that close it took a few generations for the really bad stuff to come out.

*Similar has been found in wild wolves. Although they're far healthier and suffer from far fewer genetic conditions than domestic dogs, they can be quite inbred and narrow of gene.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Isn't it only an issue if a dodgy gene raises its head, then as you're limited to your partners your offspring has double the chance of getting the dodgy gene, unless you're a Targaryen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭ARNOLD J RIMMER

How did the photographer not die :eek:

PIA18165_large.0.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

He should have sent them a few Instagram DMs first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,742 ✭✭✭lalababa

Wibbs wrote: »
    Wut nonsense is this? They have made it abundantly clear for many decades they want to be left alone. The government of the region respects that wish and makes it illegal to contact them. Once or twice they have been friendly to passing fishermen so long as they didn't step onto their land. Moron goes to convert them into a culture nor religion they want to have anything to do with, a moron that could kill them with a sneeze and they kill him. Sounds like a pretty good basis for self defence to me.

Sarcasm dudette???

VanGogh18 wrote: »
    These folk want to be left alone...so it's downright bad manners not to respect their wishes.

you have to be fooking joking me
    my god the left are an embarrassment of hypocrites

I'd be fairly right wing however we are looking at a fairly special case here. These people are literally fresh from the cave. It's as if the Iceman was walking the planet today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Feisar wrote: »
    Can you give me a bit more info (or what to google), I've never heard of this.

tmg-article_tall;jpeg_quality=20.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

"The AFP news agency quoted a source as saying that Chau had tried and failed to reach the island on 14 November. But then he tried again two days later.

"He was attacked by arrows but he continued walking."

I missed the part where it says "he ran the fcuk away"

This scene springs to mind. Natives telling someone else to feck off.

Effects wrote: »
    tmg-article_tall;jpeg_quality=20.jpg

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

lalababa wrote: »
    Sarcasm dudette???
    The lowest form of wit? :D
    VanGogh18 wrote: »
    WOW WHAT SIDE WILL THE LEFTIES TAKE
    THE COLONIAL INVADIN GRINGO
    OR THE BASED SAVAGE ISLANDERS
    I'd say it's less "Left/Right" VG than that old European cultural strong hankering for the naked innocent noble savage living in paradise before the fall. European culture is positively stuffed with that. As politically diverse a pair as Hitler and Marx had a thing for it. It's a very long standing meme going back to the classical world(within Europe the sunlit south around the Mediterranean was a local variety, of simple peasants and lives of cricket song bliss). Now it didn't stop some Europeans destroying such cultures when they found them, indeed often from a sense of disappointment when they found out the fantasy didn't match reality. Somewhere like Tahiti filled this fantasy for centuries. As recently as the late 19th century the artist Paul Gauguin fecked off to Tahiti to find his "paradise" only to find the moth eaten sordid colony, underaged prostitutes and the clap. And some great art. As you do. Then again when your mate Vinnie cuts off his earlobe by way of apology back in France, you figure fecking off to Tahiti a good plan...

Either way European culture has been somewhat protective of the "Noble Savage", or at least the idea of them. And I would say that much of that is in evidence here in this event. A microcosm of the European dichotomy and contradiction of admiring the "Nobel Savage" and at the same time seeking to convert him to our world. Arrows sorted the latter out.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

This story reminds me of when Father Dougal was warned not to press that red button:

tenor.gif?itemid=5712598

Laws of natural selection have taken hold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,604 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Jesus there really are some special folks in AH. All they see is left/right regardless. Probably think "da left" causes the rain.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

pjohnson wrote: »
    Jesus there really are some special folks in AH. All they see is left/right regardless. Probably think "da left" causes the rain.

The thing I hate about the Liberals and the left is they don't deal in reality and if you don't deal with reality it will deal with you.

This man died of stupidity pure and simple.

The thing I hate about the Liberals and the left is they don't deal in reality and if you don't deal with reality it will deal with you.

This man died of stupidity pure and simple.

I didnt know religious preachers were known as liberals.

What I meant is like the Liberals and the left these preachers don't deal in reality either.
    You know what I meant you don't have to argue every point.

Anyway, what is your take on the whole situation?

What I meant is like the Liberals and the left these preachers don't deal in reality either.
    You know what I meant you don't have to argue every point.

Anyway, what is your take on the whole situation?

The actual situation is an idiot went to a place where he was likely to be killed and amazingly got killed.

Naturally the AH situation is WHAT ABOUTS THE ISLAM & DA LEFTIES. Its all some can manage and its gas. No matter the topic. Suprised dole & Maggie Cash haven't got a mention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭Haithabu

A freighter ran aground on the north beach of the island in 1981, the Primrose. The crew requested evacuation because they believed the islanders were going to attack however bad weather meant their primitive canoes couldn't reach the vessel. The crew were evacuated by helicopter.

https://www.upi.com/Archives/1981/08/25/Twenty-eight-sailors-shipwrecked-for-nearly-two-weeks-off-a/1381367560000/

The shipwreck is still there, I wonder what the Islanders thought of it when they got to it eventually.

https://www.google.com/maps/@11.5933068,92.2134359,877m/data=!3m1!1e3
    Is that the island ? Looks like that shipwreck is the only attraction now.

The actual situation is an idiot went to a place where he was likely to be killed and amazingly got killed.

Naturally the AH situation is WHAT ABOUTS THE ISLAM & DA LEFTIES. Its all some can manage and its gas. No matter the topic. Suprised dole & Maggie Cash haven't got a mention.

Don't think I have ever mentioned Islam in any of my posts.:D

No but you've been rambling about lefties instead. The other special lads been yammering about islam and his idol Brievik.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,566 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

The island should be bombed. Wiped out. Evil people.

I've seen some stupid posts, but this is up there with the best of them :rolleyes:

Somebody mentioned further back that those Islanders were original out of of Africa people...this was also thought for a long time about the Negrito the original pre Malay inhabitants of the Philippines because of their black skin and African type hair.

However surprisingly, recent genetic tests showed them to to be more closely related to the Mongoloid people of east Asia.

Their dark skin and frizzy hair appears to have been nothing more than an evolutionary adaptation to living thousands of years in a tropical environment.

No but you've been rambling about lefties instead. The other special lads been yammering about islam and his idol Brievik.

Trying to tar us all with the one brush?:D

I don't like lefties and liberals they have had their way far too long their nonsense does not work.

You are seeing the lunatic fringe of the right with the pro Brievik posts and thankfully this viewpoint will never hold power.

The Lunatic fringe of the liberal left, on the other hand, has been given the keys to the house and wrecked it.

Don't have any time for these preachers either but he paid for own stupidity not somebody else.

Trying to tar us all with the one brush?:D

I don't like lefties and liberals they have had their way far too long their nonsense does not work.

You are seeing the lunatic fringe of the right with the pro Brievik posts and thankfully this viewpoint will never hold power.

The Lunatic fringe of the liberal left, on the other hand, has been given the keys to the house and wrecked it.

Don't have any time for these preachers either but he paid for own stupidity not somebody else.
    The poster VanGogh18 is a troll he appears here fairly regular using new names...Don't know why people are taking him serious :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I wonder if he was legitimately that religious or if that was just his cover story. Barring showing them a picture of a cross, I'm not sure how much religious information you could hope to pass on to a people who have no knowledge whatsoever of outside languages. We don't even have any knowledge of theirs.

archer22 wrote: »
    The poster VanGogh18 is a troll he appears here fairly regular using new names...Don't know why people are taking him serious :pac:

Aye. Thats obvious. I miss when AH used to have good trolls. Still when trolls are agreeing with the non trolls it says a lot :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

How did the photographer not die :eek:
    long ass telephoto lens :)

Aye. Thats obvious. I miss when AH used to have good trolls. Still when trolls are agreeing with the non trolls it says a lot :pac:

What that boards are starting to let opinions that you don't agree with be posted?

Margret Cash and the whole Cassy thing is a massive issue and if reading opinions you don't agree with upsets you I suggest you need to open your eyes to the world.

I take it you live in a nice area without halting sites or antisocial behaviour from the lifetime dole families?

Expect a strong pushback from the right over the next few years people have had enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

These people need to get jobs instead of killing people for looking at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

What that boards are starting to let opinions that you don't agree with be posted?

Margret Cash and the whole Cassy thing is a massive issue and if reading opinions you don't agree with upsets you I suggest you need to open your eyes to the world.

I take it you live in a nice area without halting sites or antisocial behaviour from the lifetime dole families?

Expect a strong pushback from the right over the next few years people have had enough.

Mod: It's also utterly irrelevant. What the hell is this thread about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

They already have jobs - killing stupid people explicitly told not to bother them.

Nixonbot wrote: »
    Mod: It's also utterly irrelevant. What the hell is this thread about?

Agreed but I was responding to the poster who dragged the thread off topic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

People are treating it as if they are some species of animal that dont know any better. They are humans exactly like us despite the massive cultural difference.Just because theyre a tribe doesnt mean they can go around murdering people

wakka12 wrote: »
    People are treating it as if they are some species of animal that don't know any better. They are humans exactly like us despite the massive cultural difference. Just because they're a tribe doesn't mean they can go around murdering people

Some people have an idea of how they think the world should be and they try and deny reality and shut people up to try and maintain the illusion.

This tribe are separate from the rest of the world and they have made it clear they want to be left alone.
    Whatever the moral debates or arguments I think one would be very wise to heed local advice and steer well clear.

As regards the bit in bold they stay on their own island the preacher went to them not a very smart move, to say the least.

Agreed but I was responding to the poster who dragged the thread off topic.

Off topic?
    Reminds me of a group we have in Ireland but this Tribe in India stick to themselves.

I wonder is there any chance of swapping?

Cute but yeah. Yourself and Vangogh did that.

What was it you were saying about denying reality? You snowflaked Casey and halting sites in aswell for no reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Of course it wasnt smart of him but why should the tribe have some kind of government level permittance to murder somebody for setting foot on a piece of land? Its just not right, and I cant believe so many people on this thread condone an innocent person being murdered in cold blood for no reason, I dont feel bad as he brought it on himself but the people who committed the murder should be imprisoned like anybody else will be for murder

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

People are treating it as if they are some species of animal that dont know any better. They are humans exactly like us despite the massive cultural difference.Just because theyre a tribe doesnt mean they can go around murdering people

The scumbag could have killed them all by passing on something like a 'flu or a cold

It's illegal to go contact them. He was told not to. He is no loss.

They are not going to swim across the oceans and kill you in your sleep. Stay away from their island and you won't die and neither will they

Of course it wasnt smart of him but why should the tribe have some kind of government level permittance to murder somebody for setting foot on a piece of land? Its just not right, and I cant believe so many people on this thread condone an innocent person being murdered in cold blood for no reason

I never condone murder and as regards the reality bit India is not rolling in money I guess they think to leave these people alone and avoiding them is the only workable solution.

I don't think anybody can be ok with this situation but it is what it is.
    What gets me about the preacher is he ignored advice for his own safety.

Leaving this tribe to itself seems to be the lesser of two evils as I can not see them be able to integrate into modern India, can you?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,351 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

the people who committed the murder should be imprisoned like anybody else will be for murder

And how exactly do you identify those people before you even consider that anyone else who goes there may end up being killed as well? Or assuming that they aren't killed, how do you ensure that they don't wipe out all the islanders by passing on a common cold or something equally innocuous? And how do you explain the concept of jail to what is essentially a primitive tribe, and that's without even thinking about language barriers?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Of course it wasnt smart of him but why should the tribe have some kind of government level permittance to murder somebody for setting foot on a piece of land?

Far as I know, the Indian government considers these people sovereign. They effectively do have that permission, as no countries laws are applicable to the place.