Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Syrian boy bullied in Huddersfield

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

If this deters other bullies, it's a good day but what happened on that video, happens every day in countless schools.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,550 ✭✭✭evolving tipperary

The bully is now being bullied. His name is all over Twitter - had a look at his facebook page. The last thing he posted has over 10,000 comments - a lot of them are disgusting and vile. He is a bully but he is a child too. And if he is bullying - no doubt it's coming from a dark place. People are messed up - attacking anyone won't make it any better.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

Meanwhile in Ireland we have our own problem, African heritage school boys ganging up in Balbriggan robbing children on the street and threatening pregnant women and their unborn children with broken glass bottles... Wheres the gratitude after their parents were welcomed here and granted asylum? Fcking disgraceful!

Sshhhh, you are ruining a perfectly good debate on the evils of racist whitey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

The fund is up to 100,000 now which brings me no end of joy.

Apparently a Video of sister being bullied:

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-england-leeds-46379548

Ah Jesus, that's sickening too, the size of the little child, the bullies are twice her size, same way as it was with the boy. Bullies are yellow bellied cowards. If I was their parents I would move the family away from there as fast as possible, nothing to do with their nationality, if they were English kids I would advise them to move away also. There is no reasoning with that level of ignorance. The bullying comes from the parents, I'm afraid to say, the kids don't lick it up off the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,029 ✭✭✭✭anewme

The bully is now being bullied. His name is all over Twitter - had a look at his facebook page. The last thing he posted has over 10,000 comments - a lot of them are disgusting and vile. He is a bully but he is a child too. And if he is bullying - no doubt it's coming from a dark place. People are messed up - attacking anyone won't make it any better.

Stop making excuses.

He's 16 and a big 16. Knew well what he was doing picking on the much smaller lad.

You're reading too much into a dark place, some people are just assholes.

The Go Fund me thing is just a joke now. Remember the time some eejit do guide set it up for s girl whom was allegedly assaulted and a d only to discover the girl herself was a bully with a tag. I really don't get why people would donate this type of money to totally unregulated go find me appeals when there are so many genuine charities struggling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

The young lad who jumped the smaller kid is now being charged , for the incident which occurred on the 7th of October

• Registered Users Posts: 1,091 ✭✭✭backspin.

I follow George Galloway on twitter and he retweeted the video. When i seen it I felt desperately sorry for the boy, how resigned he was to the attack, the fact he already had a broken arm and the scumbag still throws him to the ground then they way he just walked off. It was really depressing to see that.

But this is just a human story i don't believe there is an agenda at play. I despise bullies and id like to see as much protection as possible given to victims no matter what their race or ethnicity. Bullies should always be punished. I can't emphasize how much i hate them. That people get a kick out of tormenting someone is a real stain on a persons character imo.

anewme wrote: »
    Stop making excuses.

He's 16 and a big 16. Knew well what he was doing picking on the much smaller lad.

The Go Fund me thing is just a joke now. Remember the time some eejit do guide set it up for s girl whom was allegedly assaulted and a d only to discover the girl herself was a bully with a tag. I really don't get why people would donate this type of money to totally unregulated go find me appeals when there are so many genuine charities struggling.

Oh yeah, kids know what their doing...

And, everything is a joke...

People do what they want with their money. So be it.

Seems as genuine as anything.

backspin. wrote: »
    I follow George Galloway on twitter and he retweeted the video. When i seen it I felt desperately sorry for the boy, how resigned he was to the attack, the fact he already had a broken arm and the scumbag still throws him to the ground then they way he just walked off. It was really depressing to see that.

But this is just a human story i don't believe there is an agenda at play. I despise bullies and id like to see as much protection as possible given to victims no matter what their race or ethnicity. Bullies should always be punished. I can't emphasize how much i hate them. That people get a kick out of tormenting someone is a real stain on a persons character imo.

Yes, it matters not a jot what nationality the child is when one sees these videos, I did not think of him as Syrian at all when I saw it, but only as a defenseless child. They are desperately sad to watch no matter whoever is being bullied. I suppose maybe because they remind us also of children we know who have been bullied, recently and even a long, long time ago because this kind of stuff goes on and on since forever. Maybe bullies should be called tormentors actually, because bully has become such an over-used word and has lost its sting. Childhood can be such an awful time for some.

backspin. wrote: »

I get where you're coming from.

But I equally don't like seeing someone bullied - a bully or otherwise. I think those people going to his page and name calling or threatening him are just as bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Stop making excuses.

They're not making excuses at all - they're highly critical of the bully. They're just saying that the lynch mob carry-on towards him now doesn't reflect well on those perpetrating it.

• Registered Users Posts: 316 ✭✭O'Neill

Jesus Christ, state of this thread, what a racket.

It's hard to tell this story because it still makes me so upset, but I only want to tell the very bare bones, so that people understand bullying comes from the community, not from individual children alone. It is not the worst I have seen by any means, but there was something archetypal in the scene that has stuck with me.

I arrived at the village school to pick up my daughter who was a tiny, quiet, reserved 6 year old. We were not long in the area, and knew few people. The whole school was gathered out in the yard. There was a tug of war going on. My little feisty girl was at one end of the rope, completely alone. She was very strong, still is, though small in stature, as she climbed trees a lot. At the other end of the rope there was a much bigger girl pulling against her, and all around that child were the other schoolchildren, and the teachers, and the parents who had arrived to collect their children. They were all roaring and gesticulating and bellowing when I arrived, feverishly urging for ''their'' child to win; it was somehow an utterly savage scene, vivid and incredible, like something you might see in a surreal movie.

It only took moments. My daughter stood her ground, dug in her heels, and pulled that rope and won. There rose a horrible chorus of dismay from the gathered adults and children. They dispersed, groaning, not even having the wit to realise how ugly was their behaviour, that they were horrible bullies.

I took my little girl home that day. She did not go back to that place.

Many years later I met one of the teachers who had been there and they came up to me unexpectedly and said they were terribly sorry for what had happened. That's fine and I appreciated that, but people who allow bullying to flourish in their families, and in their children, and thus in their communities should realise the damage they can potentially do to good people.

I just hate to see these poor children in the videos being bullied like that. Makes me so cross.

Oh yeah, kids know what their doing...

And, everything is a joke...

People do what they want with their money. So be it.

Seems as genuine as anything.

The large bully knew quite well who he was picking on. That's fairly clear from the video.

I do believe this is 100 percent genuine. Sorry if that's not clear.

It's a different point more about go fund me in general being a completely OTT reaction to everything that ever happens. Massive over reaction too in this instance.

Feel sorry for the lad and his family as I would for any kids being bullied, but donating like that however well meaning, are misguided. Would be better towards counselling for an anti bullying charity for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,488 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Zorya wrote: »
    It's hard to tell this story because it still makes me so upset, but I only want to tell the very bare bones, so that people understand bullying comes from the community, not from individual children alone. It is not the worst I have seen by any means, but there was something archetypal in the scene that has stuck with me.

I arrived at the village school to pick up my daughter who was a tiny, quiet, reserved 6 year old. We were not long in the area, and knew few people. The whole school was gathered out in the yard. There was a tug of war going on. My little feisty girl was at one end of the rope, completely alone. She was very strong, still is, though small in stature, as she climbed trees a lot. At the other end of the rope there was a much bigger girl pulling against her, and all around that child were the other schoolchildren, and the teachers, and the parents who had arrived to collect their children. They were all roaring and gesticulating and bellowing when I arrived, feverishly urging for ''their'' child to win; it was somehow an utterly savage scene, vivid and incredible, like something you might see in a surreal movie.

It only took moments. My daughter stood her ground, dug in her heels, and pulled that rope and won. There rose a horrible chorus of dismay from the gathered adults and children. They dispersed, groaning, not even having the wit to realise how ugly was their behaviour, that they were horrible bullies.

I took my little girl home that day. She did not go back to that place.

Many years later I met one of the teachers who had been there and they came up to me unexpectedly and said they were terribly sorry for what had happened. That's fine and I appreciated that, but people who allow bullying to flourish in their families, and in their children, and thus in their communities should realise the damage they can potentially do to good people.

I just hate to see these poor children in the videos being bullied like that. Makes me so cross.

What do you mean by 'their' child?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Faugheen wrote: »
    He was choked and the water was aimed at his mouth.

That absolutely is a waterboarding.

What video did you watch?

It is idiotic to consider that waterboarding

First they came for the socialists...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

Zorya wrote: »
    It's hard to tell this story because it still makes me so upset, but I only want to tell the very bare bones, so that people understand bullying comes from the community, not from individual children alone.

This isn't always the case. There are also bullies who bully for the sake of it.

Feisar wrote: »

In fairness, waterboarding is a very precise method of military psychological torture that is meticiulous in its execution. That is not what happened here.

professore wrote: »
    This isn't always the case. There are also bullies who bully for the sake of it.

for the sake of it?

That's a medical definition is it?

They're not making excuses at all - they're highly critical of the bully. They're just saying that the lynch mob carry-on towards him now doesn't reflect well on those perpetrating it.

They are making excuses. They said if he is bullying it has to come from
    a dark place.

Old enough at 16 too to well know right from wrong.

No, it does not have to come from any dark place. As others have said, some people are just nasty assholes. He picked on someone smaller as an easy target. Didn't pick on a big 6 footer.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Sky Blue 20

Now! After seeing a few things on Facebook and I'm not saying they are correct.
    One line is the lad that was attacked had threatened to stab the other lad.
    Also he was part of a gang that beat up a young girl and used a hockey stick to attack her.
    There are photos of the girl who allegedly was attacked online.
    Far more to this than the MSM will report.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 192 ✭✭elli21

Feisar wrote: »

It was an idiotic attempt at waterboarding

They are making excuses. They said if he is bullying it has to come from
    a dark place.

Old enough at 16 too to well know right from wrong.

No, it does not have to come from any dark place. As others have said, some people are just nasty assholes. He picked on someone smaller as an easy target. Didn't pick on a big 6 footer.

There could be a million reasons. I think most of research indicates it doesn't come from a happy place - it can come from ego though.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭John Sacrimoni

Just had a scroll through that alleged bullys facebook there, and i must say i find it extremely unnerving the amount of comments from muslims that are of a sexual nature.

There seems to be a bit of a pathological obsession with fùcking peoples mothers,sisters and children.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

Also he was part of a gang that beat up a young girl and used a hockey stick to attack her.

Would be hilarious is that's true.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭donkeykong5

Two sides to the story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Just had a scroll through that bullys facebook there, and i must say i find it extremely unnerving the amount of comments from muslims that are of a sexual nature.

There seems to be a bit of a pathological obsession with fùcking peoples mothers,sisters and children.

It's Huddersfield they seem to have a thing for young white female children as sex partners

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 217 ✭✭Cockford Ollie

Two sides to the story.

SJWs engaged in the latest trending outrage have no time for two sides of any story.

I can't find anything about teh boy threatening to stab the bully(The Sun wouldn't refuse a juicy detail like that) - Bully doesn't mention it in his defence either -

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/7850941/bully-syrian-classmates-waterboarded-blames-victim/

(Can't believe I shared a an article from that rag - but it has a note that the bully wrote explaing the situation) - he admits common assault.

I can't find anything about teh boy threatening to stab the bully(The Sun wouldn't refuse a juicy detail like that) - Bully doesn't mention it in his defence either -

https://www.thesun.co.uk/news/7850941/bully-syrian-classmates-waterboarded-blames-victim/

(Can't believe I shared a an article from that rag - but it has a note that the bully wrote explaing the situation) - he admits common assault.

No torture charges then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

Two sides to the story.

There always are.

Do gofundme do refunds?

Do trolls do disappearing acts?

Troll haha ive talked more sense on this thread than you with the nonsense you're coming out with.

https://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/7/74/Beijing_bouddhist_monk_2009_IMG_1486.JPG

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

Rubbish, no excuse to threaten the life of an innocent woman and her child while she went to the aid of a young boy being attacked and robbed in the fashion that happened recently in Balbriggan.

I’ve heard much worse from other scumbags.

Maybe we should be revamping the law/punishment system in this country so everyone has to think twice before breaking the law, rather than trying to unfairly focus on people of a different ethnic background.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

Since not even the rags are reporting that, it sounds more like you found some bull**** to suit a narrative and believed it. Wouldn't be the first time where images from other events are posted etc. Eg at one stage such a story went around about a migrant attack on a woman, covered social media complete with a photo. Very violent looking, it was a character from Ash Versus The Evil Dead....

So lesson is Facebook is not a reliable source...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,411 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

You are not saying they are correct and then proceed to repeat them with a statement that the MSM are refusing to report aspects of this case

Sounds to me that you are saying the things you seen of Facebook are correct

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

So the only evidence we have from anyone that was involved is that it wasn't bullying, it was due to an altercation earlier in the day, which would tally with the first words uttered in the video "What are you saying now?".

So not a racial attack on the child who left the "horrors of war torn" Syria before the war had even started..

Just a schoolyard row which happens every day all over the world.

• Registered Users Posts: 20 Sky Blue 20

batgoat wrote: »
    Since not even the rags are reporting that, it sounds more like you found some bull**** to suit a narrative and believed it. Wouldn't be the first time where images from other events are posted etc. Eg at one stage such a story went around about a migrant attack on a woman, covered social media complete with a photo. Very violent looking, it was a character from Ash Versus The Evil Dead....

So lesson is Facebook is not a reliable source...

Quite possible.
    Can't believe everything on Farcebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,411 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

So the only evidence we have from anyone that was involved is that it wasn't bullying

I must have missed this evidence, care to share?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,386 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

You are not saying they are correct and then proceed to repeat them with a statement that the MSM are refusing to report aspects of this case

Sounds to me that you are saying the things you seen of Facebook are correct

Facebook, where idiots get their news.

I'm a news junkie and one of the reasons I quit facebook is the amount of **** that people post. Everything from antivax to the power of crystals to racism. It's got worse since I left because now it tends to filter out content you wouldn't agree with. If you want to live in a bubble then facebook is the place to go. So now I'd only ever see stuff i agree with and I would still have no idea if it was true or not. I used to google the stuff I'd read to see if it was true.
    Then i realised that if you have to fact check a news source, it's not a news source and you should just ignore it.

I must have missed this evidence, care to share?

There is a hand written note written from the "perpetrator" linked a few posts up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,423 ✭✭✭batgoat

There is a hand written note written from the "perpetrator" linked a few posts up.

As a person who was bullied for years, I can comfortably tell you that they'd happily lie to justify their actions..

So he's saying it's definitely not racially motivated. Wonder if that's because it would be treated differently by the police.

batgoat wrote: »
    As a person who was bullied for years, I can comfortably tell you that they'd happily lie to justify their actions..

So you know this guy?? Or are you using your own personal bias??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Mutant z

Bullying happens in the playground everyday of the week and yet no one talks about that so why is this case any different.

Grayson wrote: »
    So he's saying it's definitely not racially motivated. Wonder if that's because it would be treated differently by the police.

Well if they got on previously, and there was only an altercation earlier that morning, i'm sure it will be easily found out.

So you know this guy?? Or are you using your own personal bias??

I think it's the fact that bullies are not known to be honorable people. Someone who will physically pick on someone weaker than them isn't normally going to be worried about telling a lie to protect themselves. It's not like there's an ethical/moral code there.

• Registered Users Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

Well if they got on previously, and there was only an altercation earlier that morning, i'm sure it will be easily found out.

It hasn’t been “found out” so far, so that sounds like bollocks then