Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are we becoming more racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

The article talks about racism not just being prejudice, but prejudice, privilege and power.

Ok, but the real issue on travellers is whether they are a race or not. The anti racists say they are (reversing the logic of racism, since it’s historically racists who categorise people into races).

As to other parallels with the US, black people over there are poorer than whites on average because of centuries of discrimination, or at least that has to play a significant part. Black people here have just turned up. Not unsurprisingly then, since they come from poor countries, they are poorer than whites.

(Although that logic doesn’t in fact apply to all non whites in Ireland. I’d be surprised if Indians were poorer than whites, and probably not Chinese either).

The article does make a good point about wealth though. No point in ranting about racial injustice on wealth unless you are going to do something about it, like a inheritance tax.

It discusses two very different ideas as to how racism is defined. Also See previous post - it didn't all post the first time ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Yes it's getting worse.

Ireland has always had a racism problem. It's only now being focused on those of a different skin colour.

It's getting worse now because of unwanted migration by people who contribute nothing to society who come here under the freedom of movement in Europe and chancers who are taking advantage of horrible situations around the world ie. Syria and Nigeria.

But even Nigeria shouldn't have refugees here. Africa has 50+ countries in it. There is no reason Nigerians should be seeking refugee status in Europe.

The problem is when one country in Europe grants a person citizenship the rest of Europe has to put up with that person. So the disaster that was Germany's open door policy is now all of Europe's problem.

Other reasons are the perception that refugees are actually all economic refugees. In my opinion most of them are. Refugees should be fleeing to the countries directly beside them until they find one that is safe.

Refugees should not be granted citizenship under normal circumstances. Long term situations of say 15 years should be granted citizenship. They should be willing to return to their country of origin as soon as possible or relocated to another country which better suits their culture if they don't assimilate.

Deportation of migrants, refugees and illegals should be quick and harsh if they break the laws of the country.

I don't care if you will be in danger in your own country, if you break our laws then upon conviction immediate deportation back to wherever. I don't care about jail time, just get them out and they should be blacklisted across Europe of possible.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

How come there is no mention of black attacks on Whites???

Because it doesn't suit the narrative that white people have a "multicultural acceptance" issue that Left Wing media outlets are constantly giving out about.

Look at Balbriggan, once a nice quiet countryside town by the beach in rural North Dublin. The type of community where you could leave the door open without a worry in the world.

Now it's fast on track toward becoming Detroit or Los Angeles.......where people are afraid to go out the front door, let alone keep it open.

And watch for when somebody's house gets smashed or when an elderly woman is brutally assaulted for her money.

No it won't be the fault of the perpetrators.......it will be "let's blame Whitey" from the usual Left Wing diehards , who will no doubt make excuses for how the wider community is not embracing these newcomers.

The Left Wing media with all of the power in TV and the printing press craps out constant propaganda on the virtues of multiculturalism.....all the while praising the virtues of "cultural enrichment".

But while these Leftist extremists are moralising from the lofty and breezy heights of their ivory towers.......

...people on the ground are been terrorised and losing their very place in the society.

Unlike the usual Left Wing loudmouths that constantly get to sprout their views on every platform................ regular people are terrified to open their mouths and say boo......let alone talk about what is happening to them and their communities.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

gozunda wrote: »
    Applicable as the issue depends how some choose to define racism - even here.

From your previous quote

This from another website

That type of thinking is dealt with in detail in the link above

I have no idea what you are trying to argue here. I understand what the article is trying to say but what are you applying it to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Yes that’s what my post was arguing against. Are you just going to post DERP HERES A LINK all thread?

You've obviously took that up wrong then. But no matter if it wasn't understood. Btw no need SHOUTY.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 118 ✭✭QuintusFabius

No, it's just a distraction from the real hatred and bigotry growing in Europe today - Islam.
    Also the fact that it's perfectly acceptable to be racist against whites - cos you know thats not real racism.

DS86DS wrote: »
    Because it doesn't suit the narrative that white people have a "multicultural acceptance" issue that Left Wing media outlets are constantly giving out about.

Look at Balbriggan, once a nice quiet countryside town by the beach in rural North Dublin. The type of community where you could leave the door open without a worry in the world.

Now it's fast on track toward becoming Detroit or Los Angeles.......where people are afraid to go out the front door, let alone keep it open.

And watch for when somebody's house gets smashed or when an elderly woman is brutally assaulted for her money.

No it won't be the fault of the perpetrators.......it will be "let's blame Whitey" from the usual Left Wing diehards , who will no doubt make excuses for how the wider community is not embracing these newcomers.

The Left Wing media with all of the power in TV and the printing press craps out constant propaganda on the virtues of multiculturalism.....all the while praising the virtues of "cultural enrichment".

But while these Leftist extremists are moralising from the lofty and breezy heights of their ivory towers.......

...people on the ground are been terrorised and losing their very place in the society.

Unlike the usual Left Wing loudmouths that constantly get to sprout their views on every platform................ regular people are terrified to open their mouths and day boo......let alone talk about what is happening to them and their communities.

I’ll be honest with you, the only time I feel uncomfortable in Ireland is with some white Irish.

Which is another reason why American logic doesn’t apply here, we don’t have the same kind of underclass.

gozunda wrote: »
    You've obviously took that up wrong then. But no matter if it wasn't understood. Btw no need SHOUTY.

Right. I deleted that just after you quoted it. Wasn’t up to snuff as an argument . :-p

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Of course we are. Humans have always been tribal, quite local and parochial, us and them. It's a near given of our cultural development as a species. Being pale in a dark country or being dark in a pale country just makes it easier for "us" to mark out "them". So given this naive if understandably altruistic ballsology of "multiculturalism" that we've been fed and an increase in people who are "different" on the back of that, then of course that them/us thing finds a more focussed aim. On both sides with it. Just like every single European culture that has embraced this busted flush philosophy. But the defenders of the credo seem to think somehow, we'll get it right. We won't. And we're not.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Cork is a very parochial place. no excuse for this type of carry-on but at times someone from another county can feel like an intruder down there.
    Perhaps you have been made to feel that way (and sorry to read it) but as someone who lives there most of my life, I don't get the impression that there is much racism in Cork city. Maybe I'm wrong but it would surely be visible if to a high degree.

When people agree that Ireland as a whole is becoming more racist, in my opinion this should be accompanied by a degree of evidence, rather than "Yes it has" and saying nothing further. Even anecdotal - for instance witnessing much more racist behaviour (abuse, discrimination) than, say, ten years ago.

I am not sure whether it is the case that Ireland as a whole has become more racist - this would need to be percentage-wise I guess, given the increase in immigration over the last ten years.

I'm guessing the majority of us here are white, speaking on behalf of those who are non white/non Irish (whether agreeing or disagreeing that Ireland has become more racist). Any non white/non Irish folk here to give their view? I suppose they'd have more insight.

As for attacks on those who are non white/non Irish and whether these attacks are racially motivated or not, I'd imagine, like anything, some are and some aren't. I don't think it should always be automatically concluded that an assault of someone who isn't white or Irish was motivated by racism/xenophobia. It would surely depend on the language accompanying the attack. Seems like it was such an attack of those young lads in Cork, which is horrible, really upsetting.

I don't know why that means Irish cities (plural) have become more racist according to their mother, but maybe there is more context to that statement in terms of her own experience.

I think there is a lot of condemnation of racism in this country though. Of course there is going to be some racism here however - I doubt anyone thinks there is zero.

Having said that, online (globally) there appears to be an increase in far-right sentiment - particularly in relation to muslims - so maybe this is reflected off-line too. It does seem to be in the U.S. (e.g. the KKK has seen a significant increase in membership). If a person is concerned about immigration or islamic fundamentalism though, it doesn't automatically mean they are racially abusive/discriminatory in their dealings with folks day to day. It's not a case of one of the other, it is a much much more nuanced matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

The fundamental issue is not cultural, but economic. Address the cause instead of the symptom. Europe will continue to lurch frighteningly towards the far right until the fundamentals are changed. And that involves a solution to the largesse of capitalism, while ignoring the empty screams of gibbering Marxists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

You know you've got it right when no one quotes you on after hours yus I is the champions of the internet

Not anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,681 ✭✭✭Try_harder

Stephen15 wrote: »
    When did I mention white collar crime? I'm talking about who's more likely to rob your phone there and then, stab you, kick your teeth or cause trouble. You don't sound like you'd last very long as a bouncer in a pub or a club. People profile people based on dress, where they live, their appearance etc. It's a fact I never said it's right or wrong.

Yes its my life's dearest wish to be a club bouncer...

Wait, sorry this is the internet, I beat Conor McGregor at MMR :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Stephen15 wrote: »
    When did I mention white collar crime? I'm talking about who's more likely to rob your phone there and then, stab you, kick your teeth or cause trouble. You don't sound like you'd last very long as a bouncer in a pub or a club. People profile people based on dress, where they live, their appearance etc. It's a fact I never said it's right or wrong.

Sounds like you need some of that unconscious bias training. Report to the nearest safe space.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I'm not a racist but... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,669 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Perhaps you have been made to feel that way (and sorry to read it) but as someone who lives there most of my life, I don't get the impression that there is much racism in Cork city. Maybe I'm wrong but it would surely be visible if to a high degree.

When people agree that Ireland as a whole is becoming more racist, in my opinion this should be accompanied by a degree of evidence, rather than "Yes it has" and saying nothing further. Even anecdotal - for instance witnessing much more racist behaviour (abuse, discrimination) than, say, ten years ago.

I am not sure whether it is the case that Ireland as a whole has become more racist - this would need to be percentage-wise I guess, given the increase in immigration over the last ten years.

I'm guessing the majority of us here are white, speaking on behalf of those who are non white/non Irish (whether agreeing or disagreeing that Ireland has become more racist). Any non white/non Irish folk here to give their view? I suppose they'd have more insight.

As for attacks on those who are non white/non Irish and whether these attacks are racially motivated or not, I'd imagine, like anything, some are and some aren't. I don't think it should always be automatically concluded that an assault of someone who isn't white or Irish was motivated by racism/xenophobia. It would surely depend on the language accompanying the attack. Seems like it was such an attack of those young lads in Cork, which is horrible, really upsetting.

I don't know why that means Irish cities (plural) have become more racist according to their mother, but maybe there is more context to that statement in terms of her own experience.

I think there is a lot of condemnation of racism in this country though. Of course there is going to be some racism here however - I doubt anyone thinks there is zero.

Having said that, online (globally) there appears to be an increase in far-right sentiment - particularly in relation to muslims - so maybe this is reflected off-line too. It does seem to be in the U.S. (e.g. the KKK has seen a significant increase in membership). If a person is concerned about immigration or islamic fundamentalism though, it doesn't automatically mean they are racially abusive/discriminatory in their dealings with folks day to day. It's not a case of one of the other, it is a much much more nuanced matter.

I'd agree. I don't think Ireland is that racist. Except for boards I never see much. There isn't any group like the national front and I'd imagine that generally it's pretty ok.

However I've seen some. I saw Roma being banned from a bus (before anyone asks if they deserved it, they didn't. The women involved definitely didn't deserve to be physically abused by the driver). I was out with a friend who's a born Dub and is black and had a scrote start shouting abuse at him (Which is really dumb. My friend is about 6'8'' and built like a ****house).

Despite seeing this I would have still thought that in general we are pretty good. Then I read this yesterday.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/nov/28/people-of-african-descent-face-dire-picture-of-racism-in-eu

In the two graphs there, Ireland is either second or third for the number of racial harassements that black people experienced.

That makes me think that although, lets say higher level racism, like the EDL or NF, is pretty low here, it appears that lower level racism may be more common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

No, it's just a distraction from the real hatred and bigotry growing in Europe today - Islam.
    Also the fact that it's perfectly acceptable to be racist against whites - cos you know thats not real racism.

The aul Islam didn't help darker skinned folk in Ireland or rest of Europe much.

If I was brown/black I'd be even more fcked off than usual.

Wakbar!!

.... and there goes any small progress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

I don't necessarily think people are becoming more racist. I think there's an increased tendency to classify people as racist if they do or say anything remotely objectionable around minority groups.

If The Commitments were to come out today, with young white Dubliners playing soul music and saying things like "I'm black and I'm proud," there would be a storm about "institutionalized racism" and "cultural appropriation." Everyone involved with the film would be tarred with the racist brush.

There's also a tendency to deflect legitimate criticism of groups like Travellers by leveling allegations of racism -- as seen recently with Peter Casey.

The fact that the word "racism" gets thrown around a lot more today doesn't necessarily mean that we're more racist. In fact, I would contend that a black person walking through the streets of Dublin today would be treated with a lot more respect than he would have received in 1975.

I don't necessarily think people are becoming more racist. I think there's an increased tendency to classify people as racist if they do or say anything remotely objectionable around minority groups.

If The Commitments were to come out today, with young white Dubliners playing soul music and saying things like "I'm black and I'm proud," there would be a storm about "institutionalized racism" and "cultural appropriation." Everyone involved with the film would be tarred with the racist brush.

There's also a tendency to deflect legitimate criticism of groups like Travellers by leveling allegations of racism -- as seen recently with Peter Casey.

The fact that the word "racism" gets thrown around a lot more today doesn't necessarily mean that we're more racist. In fact, I would contend that a black person walking through the streets of Dublin today would be treated with a lot more respect than he would have received in 1975.

No there wouldn't because that was the whole joke. I think you might have missed it.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,348 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

IMO on the issue of whether we as a society are becoming more racist is moot. The jury is still out on that one.

What IS clear is that we have become a much more selfish, callous society lacking in empathy for those less fortunate than ourselves as we look after No.1 and to hell with those who are struggling ...as apparently they are all a bunch of freeloaders and scroungers gaming the system.

What a delightful direction Irish society is heading in...

JupiterKid wrote: »
    IMO on the issue of whether we as a society are becoming more racist is moot. The jury is still out on that one.

What IS clear is that we have become a much more selfish, callous society lacking in empathy for those less fortunate than ourselves as we look after No.1 and to hell with those who are struggling ...as apparently they are all a bunch of freeloaders and scroungers gaming the system.

the Me Feiner attitude is very noticeable in Irish society, from the poorest to the richest, to the political elite. Screwing people over for personal gain is considered almost a badge of honour amongst people and seems to be widely tolerated, or at least accepted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,717 ✭✭✭Praetorian

I think we are definitely less racist as a nation than ever and improving all the time. There will always be racist idiots, but as a whole I think we are doing well. I don't mean to be ageist but from my own experience the younger people are the less likely they are to still be raciest. So I think lingering problems will die out.

The integration I see with my own son in his school is truly wonderful. The kids don't see colour.

In general I think we can be proud of how quickly we have modernised and accepted other peoples and cultures. I saw and experienced some disgusting anti Irish stuff in the UK when I grew up in the 90's.

Grayson wrote:
    No there wouldn't because that was the whole joke. I think you might have missed it.

I beg to differ. There would certainly be some people offended that white privileged people were equating their struggles to that of a P.O.C. (or whatever the accepted adjective is today).

It's not us that are "missing the joke", they are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,633 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Grayson wrote: »
    I'd agree. I don't think Ireland is that racist. Except for boards I never see much. There isn't any group like the national front and I'd imagine that generally it's pretty ok.

However I've seen some. I saw Roma being banned from a bus (before anyone asks if they deserved it, they didn't. The women involved definitely didn't deserve to be physically abused by the driver). I was out with a friend who's a born Dub and is black and had a scrote start shouting abuse at him (Which is really dumb. My friend is about 6'8'' and built like a ****house).

Despite seeing this I would have still thought that in general we are pretty good. Then I read this yesterday.

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2018/nov/28/people-of-african-descent-face-dire-picture-of-racism-in-eu

In the two graphs there, Ireland is either second or third for the number of racial harassements that black people experienced.

That makes me think that although, lets say higher level racism, like the EDL or NF, is pretty low here, it appears that lower level racism may be more common.

On the bus issue how do you know they weren't trouble earlier in the day or on previous day's.

I've had huge trouble from the Roma gypsies.

I've been assaulted and spat on by them as of course the tirade of abuse and threats to life and so on.

They don't pay or when they do they throw in all sorts of scrap like washers and buttons and nowhere near what the fare is.

They will do this every day.

I'm afraid you're wrong, because those arguments have already been made. As just one example, Bryan Fanning in his book Racism and Social Change in the Republic of Ireland (2002) explicitly argues that The Commitments helped to import the broader history and culture of racism into Irish society, and created a "latent racism that was manifested when black people became visible within Irish communities."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

There's a lot more of it on After Hours nowadays, and on the internet in general, but the average person is too busy on the farm and doesn't have much time for the oul racism. Personally, I'm only a racist on Fridays.

That's kind of a joke, and it's kind of not in respect to Irish people.

Another punter up is another punter. You simply don't have time to meditating on the colour of their skin and what that might mean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,213 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I disagree. What I think is happening is that scumbags are feeling emboldened. There have always been such scumbags but we have a mixed race Taoiseach which would indicate otherwise.

The problem is a lot of people, including people with the very same mindset as yourself, are demeaning the actual words racist and racism.

People lump the label on someone like Peter Casey or someone like me that does not want immigration of so called "asylum seekers" who are for the most part bogus economic migrants with little of no education or skills who will just create a drain on society and even worse possibly a timebomb of non integration, just as easily as they do on scumbags that beat up a black person or scream racist insults at someone from Asia.
    _Brian wrote: »
    I deal with lots of folk in rural areas and yes Ireland is a shockingly racist country. We also don’t live up to that welcoming everyone speil that we promote to the rest of the world.

Lots don’t understand the difference in asylum seekers or economic migrants both legal and illegal.

Do you ?
    Because you were one of the ones, if I am not mistaken, who believed all the ones entering Europe were poor asylum seekers and refugees, when even authorities now admit that a lot of them are economic migrants.

Again the term refugee and asylum seeker has been demeaned by economic migrants and chancers.
    The very fact you see lines of young males rather than women, children and the old is the big giveaway.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

TLDR - should we all be racist now Father?

Yes I agree a definition of what's considered racism is required to make this call also.

Racism is mistreatment of someone based on the colour of their skin or because of behaviour by others with their skin colour - simple as that. But there are a lot of misuses of the term.

I noticed this bit at the end of the story (amid all the ads) just now - "Locals admitted they were appalled that such an incident could happen in such a quiet area of Cork". Lived there years - it's not the wild west but it's not that quiet and I totally believe such an attack could happen there (to anyone).
    JupiterKid wrote: »

As Aegir said, it doesn't just come from top down though - the selfishness and greed manifests itself in the form of "I'm entitled" and "I know my rights" here in a huge way. Those are the freeloaders being referred to, and the anger is justified. If anything I find well off people can be very liberal and quick to condemn criticism of e.g. travellers, as they don't have to deal with the problems caused by a lot of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

I'm afraid you're wrong, because those arguments have already been made. As just one example, Bryan Fanning in his book Racism and Social Change in the Republic of Ireland (2002) explicitly argues that The Commitments helped to import the broader history and culture of racism into Irish society, and created a "latent racism that was manifested when black people became visible within Irish communities."

Sure you have clowns coming out and saying that they won't let their children watch Disney movies like Sleeping Beauty because Prince Charming kisses her without her consent.

My girlfriend says that she would never go out with a black guy because she just doesn't like them. Does that make her racist??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Irish people used to be able to congratulate themselves at how tolerant they were when our population was 99.9% white people.

Well, except for discriminating against Travelers, and that didn't count because they're a bunch of criminals who don't pay taxes and are always starting fights and robbing people.

Once we became a bit more diverse, the usual pond-scum element started to emerge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

I beg to differ. There would certainly be some people offended that white privileged people were equating their struggles to that of a P.O.C. (or whatever the accepted adjective is today).

It's not us that are "missing the joke", they are.

You'd hardly call the characters in the Commitments "privileged".

My girlfriend says that she would never go out with a black guy because she just doesn't like them. Does that make her racist??

Well, imagine some white female celebrity posted on Twitter: "I wouldn't ever date a black guy. I just don't like them." There would be thousands of condemnations of how racist she was.

I'm not saying that your girlfriend is bigoted, but numerous people out there just want to scream "racist!" at the bare mention of somebody's skin colour or ethnicity. I don't think it's reasonable or rational, but it's an indisputable reality.

1) That's not addressing the fact that it was a joke.
    2) are you arguing that the commitments is racist?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,793 ✭✭✭FunLover18

First of all, the article makes it clear that we cannot know for sure that the attack was racially motivated (although there's some pretty compelling evidence), so the following points are based on the assumption that it was racially motivated.

To those who say "bullying happens all the time/loads of kids are bullied" - what's your point? Should we just ignore a racist attack and accept racism as a fact of life?

To those who have reacted to this story by pointing out black people also attack white people - what's your point? Are you trying to defend or justify this attack because it goes both ways? Are you suggesting that these two boys were involved in those attacks on white people? Do you apply this logic to all crime - "A girl was raped? Well, men get raped too, you know ... Sometimes by women".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,129 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Sure you have clowns coming out and saying that they won't let their children watch Disney movies like Sleeping Beauty because Prince Charming kisses her without her consent.

Well kind of... it kind of does. In a very non-active, passive way. I don't mean she's racist in the sense that she doesn't date black men because they are black (from a principled point of view), but because she's lumping all black men together, based on the colour of their skin.

Not taking into account that someone could be defined as "black" but have very different facial features from another black man, of a different ethnic background.

She could meet one gorgeous black guy, who she does fancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Yes.

Not if she meant that she is not attracted to black men. That's just a personal preference

but if she dislikes black people as humans because of their skin colour, then yes.

But I assume you meant the first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 965 ✭✭✭CucaFace

So a bunch of scum bags attack 2 guys who just happen to be black and the national media's question is are we racist? Completely missing the real question that should be put out there, 'are we ever going to tackle the real issue of the growth of feral humans in this state which are sponsored by the Irish tax payer for their entire lives'?

You'd hardly call the characters in the Commitments "privileged".

I wouldn't. But lots would

Well, imagine some white female celebrity posted on Twitter: "I wouldn't ever date a black guy. I just don't like them." There would be thousands of condemnations of how racist she was.

I'm not saying that your girlfriend is bigoted, but numerous people out there just want to scream "racist!" at the bare mention of somebody's skin colour or ethnicity. I don't think it's reasonable or rational, but it's an indisputable reality.

Where did I say my girlfriend was a white female?? My girlfriend is from Malawi.

On the bus issue how do you know they weren't trouble earlier in the day or on previous day's.

I've had huge trouble from the Roma gypsies.

I've been assaulted and spat on by them as of course the tirade of abuse and threats to life and so on.

They don't pay or when they do they throw in all sorts of scrap like washers and buttons and nowhere near what the fare is.

They will do this every day.

See, I was there. I see them getting on the bus most days, just sitting there and hopping off at their stop.

That day they queued up like everyone else. They got on the bus and went to pay, the driver said something like "I know what you're like" and wouldn't allow them to pay. They kept asking why and he kept saying I'm not allowing you guys on my bus. They were crying. Then he got out of the cab and physically shoved them off the bus. They ended up on the ground crying.
    I demanded his details so i could report him and he kept refusing. When i went to the police to log a complaint I was told that they were aware, they'd seen the footage and charges would be pressed.

The thing is, I was there. I saw it all unfold and yet when I say I witnessed it I'm told that I witnessed something else. It had to be the girls fault because it certainly couldn't be racism.

What i saw was racism. I'm not trying to see it, this isn't me putting a spin on events. I saw it happen and i know what i saw.

Irish people used to be able to congratulate themselves at how tolerant they were when our population was 99.9% white people.

Well, except for discriminating against Travelers, and that didn't count because they're a bunch of criminals who don't pay taxes and are always starting fights and robbing people.

Once we became a bit more diverse, the usual pond-scum element started to emerge.
    Discrimination against travellers as in all of the social supports, housing preferences, cultural activities that are illegal but a blind eye turned to when it's travellers.

Well kind of... it kind of does. In a very non-active, passive way. I don't mean she's racist in the sense that she doesn't date black men because they are black (from a principled point of view), but because she's lumping all black men together, based on the colour of their skin.

Not taking into account that someone could be defined as "black" but have very different facial features from another black man, of a different ethnic background.

She could meet one gorgeous black guy, who she does fancy.
    Yes.
    Not if she meant that she is not attracted to black men. That's just a personal preference

but if she dislikes black people as humans because of their skin colour, then yes.

But I assume you meant the first

She is black herself.

Trick question so. You should have mentioned this.

Makes her kinda self loathing. Imagine a white woman saying she would never date a white man ever because she doesn't like them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The accusation of racism is the modern equivalent of being condemned as a witch / communist / collaborator depending on how far back you want to go. A smear that it is very hard to disprove and shake off even if innocent. Accuse before you are accused is the only defence.

1) That's not addressing the fact that it was a joke.
    2) are you arguing that the commitments is racist?

If you would only read carefully, you'd see that I'm not arguing that The Commitments is racist.

I'm saying that if such a film came out today, there are many who would characterize some of those scenes as racist.

Recently, Claire Byrne ran a segment about whether the "I've just seen Imelda Quirke's arse coming down a ladder!" scene in the same film would be acceptable today, because of objectification of women, etc. This is the world we now live in. Stuff that was once seen as harmless humor is now defined as sexist, racist, homophobic, etc., and there's an ever-eager army just waiting to get offended at the slightest provocation.

Where did I say my girlfriend was a white female?? My girlfriend is from Malawi.

I didn't say anything about your girlfriend's race.

She is black herself.

You have a black girlfriend????

Ewwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.......
    :D:D:D:D

(Only joking)

Nah, but even though she is black herself, her disliking black men or thinking that she is superior to all of them, is a strange hybrid of racism and sexism.

It's silly and ignorant in my opinion.