Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Premiership football support.....I just don't understand the point?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Every Liverpool and man utd fan has a relative from there/lived there/ had trials there/ knows a player personally so they are excempt from this conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

I love football. Always played. We had no local LOI team when I was growing up. Athlone Town would have been the closest but they didn't register on my radar because well they weren't local.

We got cable TV in just before Christmas 88 and the first live club game I saw was United - Liverpool on New Years Day 1989 and Utd won so I followed them. Religiously. Their results really mattered.

I just find it hard to get excited about it anymore because there are so many mercenaries playing. They don't really give a shíte, deep down, about leaving everything on the pitch...about giving it all for your teammates, for the fans, for the club. You used to feel like they did.

But having grown up loving football and where my only exposure to club football was via ITV, I can see how people might have grown up so invested in a premier league club

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Omackeral wrote: »
    Second time I've seen this posted but I'm still at a loss as to how anyone would know you're a blow-in? You're not branded going in the gate. How would anyone even know you're new?!

In fairness it was at Tolka so you'd be easily spotted among the handful that was there.

I ended up going for 3 years with a season ticket until I moved but never would have found it a friendly atmosphere among the supporters. Not that it would really worry me though, it's not what keeps me away from games these days.

_

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Patww79 wrote: »
    In fairness it was at Tolka so you'd be easily spotted among the handful that was there :D

Right so what happened? Who said what to you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I think Mitchel and Web neatly sum up my complete apathy towards sportsball....

I ended up going for 3 years with a season ticket until I moved but never would have found it a friendly atmosphere among the supporters.

Right but you specifically said there was animosity towards blow ins and that you wouldn't be wanted there. Still haven't seen anyone answer this?

Maybe animosity is a bit strong if you're taking it to mean agression or something. You just wouldn't be spoken to or acknowledged at all so it probably gets to the stage where people may as well watch the sport on television. Now it was the tiger years where a most of the population turned into ***** overnight too so it probably wasn't the best era to be trying to get involved in something with people.

It just generally wasn't the friendly atmosphere people talk about though, maybe another club would be better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 67 ✭✭Jed and Dave

interesting thread. Can only talk about my experience.As a young football mad kid in Dublin I remember the big fa cup finals in the 80s, it was a big deal, the anticipation the hype. older brother lived in London so sent me home qpr jerseys so naturally the team I supported definitely wasn't in it for the glory!
    Great memories of getting off school on a Wednesday afternoon to go home and see Ireland under Jack Charlton. Around 13 got a free ticket to see Bohs play st.james gate in a cup semi and was mesmerised by Dalymount and over the years grew to love league of Ireland. The off season is too long I hate it!

I still go across the water when I can to follow my English team but my heart is in league of Ireland and Dalymount- my dream is to one day see a packed dalymount like the old days(ya never know!), personally I wouldent begrudge anyone supporting a premiership team they are football fans like I am, I think its what you know and what your exposed to more than anything. Yes the premiership is a much better standard but the young players in the league here definitely earn every penny of their wages and call me smug but I take pride in the fact that I saw the Seamus Colemans, James McCleans etc. when they were just starting out in the game. Personally I can see LOI getting bigger here and people coming back to the league - fans are very passionate however there are large parts of the country where the nearest team is miles away and people don't know it exists.

In my experience fans here follow premiership teams too - you see the same faces in the crowd Friday night here as you do on a Ryanair to England on a Saturday morning.

I go to the odd hurling game with my wife that's about it.

Maybe animosity is a bit strong if you're taking it to mean agression or something.

So no real animosity then if we're being honest.

Depends on what you're expecting but you can stick with that and ignore everything else if it makes your point and gives you a little win.

It isn't a good atmosphere for newcomers. That's more of an Irish thing than a soccer thing though. If you're not balls deep in something from day one then you're not wanted by the ones that were and it's probably not worth the effort to change that unless you crave people.

Depends on what you're expecting but you can stick with that and ignore everything else if it makes your point and gives you a little win.

Don't go getting all precious just because your argument was challenged.
    It isn't a good atmosphere for newcomers.

Others on here disagree. Still waiting to hear any solid examples of why it's not.

Don't go getting all precious just because your argument was challenged.

It wasn't challenged, it was cherry picked to suit whatever you wanted. There was nothing valid in there at all because you just focused on one word as the only avenue to make your point.
    Others on here disagree. Still waiting to hear any solid examples of why it's not.

Others agree, others disagree. I've no doubt you and others genuinely found it a great experience and I've no doubt me and others found it a lot less than great. Though, like I said, it wouldnt put me off going to see a domestic team. I wouldn't care if I never spoke to another supporter these days but it would bother some if the snobbery was apparent.

It wasn't challenged

It was, multiple times. Asked a few times here now how on earth others would know if someone is a newbie at all and secondly asked specifically what was done to them to make them feel like they weren't welcome.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

DS86DS wrote: »
    Sport to me is an extension of primal Identity.......the only two teams I support are Dublin and Ireland

But maybe I'm just a bit backwards....... I don't know
    What about music? You don't get why someone wouldn't just follow Irish music/bands? Do you only wear Irish made clothes and drink Irish only beer?
    You don't get that people can broaden their appeal outside the country?

And why only support two teams? Not your local GAA team? Not your local soccer team? Just the "big events" for Dublin/Ireland? That's more on the bandwagon than any primal identify.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

Its nice to have someone to cheer for basically. Even if you have no connection to the team it adds a bit more excitement to the whole spectacle.

I don't follow soccer but I do watch Motorsport and get really into it even though I have no connection to a particular team or manufacturer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I just saw I have a friend in limerick who supports man utd which is fine.

He now follows Salford. Haven't seen him post anything about limerick last season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,690 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

As a follower of Derry City, this OTT passion for British football clubs does baffle me at times.

We all know the make-up of Derry and its history. A lot of people I'd know would be nationalists and varying degrees of republicans. Many would hate all things British.

Yet so many have no interest in their local team ("I wouldn't go watch that sh1te") and spend money buying merchandise of English football teams, and even paying hundreds to travel to England to watch them.

But if they go on holiday, they do their best to get a lend of a Derry City top cos they want to show their pride of where they are from.

Very strange altogether.

NIMAN wrote: »
    As a follower of Derry City, this OTT passion for British football clubs does baffle me at times.

We all know the make-up of Derry and its history. A lot of people I'd know would be nationalists and varying degrees of republicans. Many would hate all things British.

Yet so many have no interest in their local team ("I wouldn't go watch that sh1te") and spend money buying merchandise of English football teams, and even paying hundreds to travel to England to watch them.

But if they go on holiday, they do their best to get a lend of a Derry City top cos they want to show their pride of where they are from.

Very strange altogether.

They sound like people not living in the past. Good luck to them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Where are all the Irish Birmingham City fans? Crystal Palace fans?

In Birmingham and London

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Berserker wrote: »
    Nope, the Irish in Birmingham were blues, as I said. Villa park (Aston) is a very muslim part of Birmingham. Guessing the Paul McGrath angle and his legendary status at that club; they still love him, might have something to do with the levels of support.

A fair portion were and a lot weren't.

NIMAN wrote: »
    Derry City is a British football that plays in the LOI.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 153 ✭✭Frunchy

You mean Londonderry?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,880 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

That is when the FAI should have captialised on it but there was no-one in the FAI with nous/foresight.

I don't know what the Dubs did to you, we had plenty of years winning nothing.
    In football - No Sam between 83-95, 95-11.
    In football - No Leinster from between 95-02

In hurling the core Dublin support is only about 3/4k you could get but they are as loyal as you could get. First hurling league since the 30s in 2011. First Leinster since the 60s in 2013.

Plus I think a class thing does come into it people from a lower socio-economic background such as soccer fans are even more susceptible to branding from the Premier League in England.
    It equates status in thier mind.
    They always want what appears to be bigger and better at first glance.
    There is a certain level of group-think going on.
    Even the footballers who leave Ireland are terrified to go anywhere except the UK.
    Lack of confidence in learning a new language and culture etc.

Haha what a load of condescending twaddle. Young lads usually go at 16-18. So where do they go:

1. The league you’ve watched since you were a nipper, where the club you’ve followed play, which is culturally similar to Ireland and that pays a multiple of other leagues.
    2. A country you’ve probably never been to, a club you’ve seldom watched and that pays a lot less than English clubs.

Young lads of 16-18 are always going to choose the first option. Leaving your family at that age would be hard enough without going somewhere you don’t speak the language and they pay less. And all for some pseudo intellectual argument from people on the internet.

As for the socio economic argument for Irish people watching English football...Jesus wept.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,075 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Haha what a load of condescending twaddle. Young lads usually go at 16-18. So where do they go:

1. The league you’ve watched since you were a nipper, where the club you’ve followed play, which is culturally similar to Ireland and that pays a multiple of other leagues.
    2. A country you’ve probably never been to, a club you’ve seldom watched and that pays a lot less than English clubs.

Young lads of 16-18 are always going to choose the first option. Leaving your family at that age would be hard enough without going somewhere you don’t speak the language and they pay less. And all for some pseudo intellectual argument from people on the internet.

As for the socio economic argument for Irish people watching English football...Jesus wept.

Of course it is a problem.
    If the young lads were a bit braver Belgium/Portugal/Switzerland etc (mid-tier countries) they would have more chance of playing then in the UK, learn a different culture.
    It would stop the complete obsession with UK football as well, and suddenly young fellas are following football in other European countries, like when Liam Brady played in Italy.

At the very least the fellas that come back from playing in mainland Europe would come back with another language and be better technical players.
    If there was a real scheme where the best of those who came back to Ireland played in the LOI it would improve the league.
    Then more people would follow that as well.

Going to the UK at 15 16 with no leaving done is hardly the best preparation,
    since they won't stay in Ireland, learning a language/culture elsewhere is a better option.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

If the young lads were a bit braver Belgium/Portugal/Switzerland etc (mid-tier countries) they would have more chance of playing then in the UK, learn a different culture.
    It would stop the complete obsession with UK football as well, and suddenly young fellas are following football in other European countries, like when Liam Brady played in Italy.

At the very least the fellas that come back from playing in mainland Europe would come back with another language and be better technical players.
    If there was a real scheme where the best of those who came back to Ireland played in the LOI it would improve the league.

since they won't stay in Ireland, learning a language/culture elsewhere is a better option.

Liam Brady played in Italy after years in Arsenal’s first team. He didn’t move there as a 16-18 year old.

Sorry I am not making this aspect of my point clear.
    When Brady moved to Italy he caused an interest in Italian soccer for Irish football fans.
    If Irish players keep going over to the UK they are neither broadening thier horizons and are keeping it UK focused.

If Irish young lads went over earlier then Brady did to mainland Europe like the young English lad Jadon Sancho, at least they would be getting culture/language etc.
    It would also have then benefit of taking away some of the obsession with UK from Irish fans as they follow these players elsewhere.

On the hostile LOI argument, it’s bollox. I went about 10 years ago and was welcomed with open arms. In fact, I drifted away recently for a number of personal reasons and those lads still contact me all the time. They’re a great bunch.

I’ve followed Spurs since I was 4. My brother followed them and got me into them. This was the mid 80s when it wasn’t exactly as fashionable to follow English football.

I don’t really equate Spurs with my LOI team. They’re competing on different planets but Spurs have been part of my life for 35 years so I genuinely love watching them. The last few seasons have been great - since Pochettino has come in, it’s really reignited my love for the club. If they win, I walk a bit taller on Monday. On the rare occasions they lose, I’m in worse humor. It’s a bit childish but I know I’ll always be like that because, for me, the emotional rollercoaster of watching Spurs of a weekend beats most other things I could be doing.

What’s better, I have a 6 year old and he loves Spurs too. It’s great - we can sit an watch them together and he wants to be Harry Kane and Dele Alli from the minute he gets up in the morning to the minute he goes asleep. All the magazines he gets have them on the cover and he’s mad into the cards and stickers too.

We will go over to a game in the new year and I can’t f**king wait. Over the last year, he’s had me out on the road playing football with him. It’s the first time in 20 years that I’ve thought it’s okay to go out and kick a football in the rain and pretended to be Harry Kane. It’s ****ing wonderful.

So, following Tottenham has been part of my life for as long as I can remember. I love football and I’ve loved them for as long as I’ve loved the sport. And now my little fella looks like doing the same. I make no apologies for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Born and brought up for my first 19 years in Manchester. The first 10 years in Moss Side, about 5 minutes walk from Maine Road. The second 10 in Longsight, which was about a 10-15 minute walk from Maine Road. City were my local side, so it was perfectly natural to support them. I do, however, find it hard to understand why folk over here support an English club side when they have connection or link with that club, or the city that they play in.

Sorry I am not making this aspect of my point clear.
    When Brady moved to Italy he caused an interest in Italian soccer for Irish football fans.
    If Irish players keep going over to the UK they are neither broadening thier horizons and are keeping it UK focused.

If Irish young lads went over earlier then Brady did to mainland Europe like the young English lad Jadon Sancho, at least they would be getting culture/language etc.
    It would also have then benefit of taking away some of the obsession with UK from Irish fans as they follow these players elsewhere.

Do you remember being 16? It’s bloody hard to leave home. There was a report recently on the lack of tradesmen in this country and one of the reasons was that they got homesick because they were being asked to work in say Kerry when they’re from Dublin.

Going to Germany, Spain, Holland etc would be bloody hard. Besides, are there many Irish lads turning these moves down because they can’t just rock up at Ajax demanding to train?

I think you’re being harsh. The English league is the biggest and richest league. It’s a country that’s culturally similar to Ireland and easily accessible (well until March anyway). Leaving home at 16 is hard enough, I wouldn’t blame any young lad for going to England or Scotland.

Maybe I am being a bit harsh.
    But the young lads from non-English speaking countries travel worldwide at young ages.
    So the Irish young lads who are a bit braver could do the same.
    Then as a result:
    Spreading interest in leagues elsewhere
    Returnees to Ireland will have more life experience etc

Maybe it is just wishful thinking on my part?

I agree it'd be great to get experience of different leagues. But it's unlikely to happen. Eng is next door, similar culture, same language, and probably more money. No different to the Scots or Welsh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

I agree with what your saying. Eric dier went to sporting.

But money. They can get paid 2 grand a week in England or get paid 700 somewhere else. Pretty easy choice.

I agree with what your saying. Eric dier went to sporting.

But money. They can get paid 2 grand a week in England or get paid 700 somewhere else. Pretty easy choice.

Eric Dier moved to Portugal when he was about 4 or 5.

Yeah, I suppose short term gain is always going to win out over longer term thinking, unless the family/young lad is very single minded.

In Birmingham and London

Where are the Irish based ones like you see with United and Pool fans over here? That's what I'm asking.

On the hostile LOI argument, it’s bollox. I went about 10 years ago and was welcomed with open arms.

I must've asked 6 or 7 times no for any proper examples of animosity or hostility towards new fans and have still received none. I think it's just another excuse or preconceived notion people spout. Again, how would anyone know who is new!? You're not given a special 'L' badge that marks you out. It defies logic.

Some people support a LOI team only.
    Some people support a premiership team only.
    Some support both a LOI and premiership team.

Why does it matter where people fit into the above?

There's a percentage of LOI fans that have a superiority complex. Don't understand it. Is it hiding inferiority feelings? Perhaps.

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    Some people support a LOI team only.
    Some people support a premiership team only.
    Some support both a LOI and premiership team.

Why does it matter where people fit into the above?

It ultimately doesn't really matter but it's a discussion on a discussion site. There's certain ironies to people absolutely abhorring England and their team yet calling Chelsea ''us''. No harm having a chat about it.
    RoboKlopp wrote: »
    There's a percentage of LOI fans that have a superiority complex. Don't understand it. Is it hiding inferiority feelings? Perhaps.

Likewise with English Premier League fans who automatically deride the LOI as sh*te or say ''I wouldn't watch that crap'' despite probably never giving it a proper chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,583 ✭✭✭LeBash

I support Aston Villa, not a premiership team now, but when I was a nipper the only football on tv was Premiership or internationals. So I supported Aston Villa because they had 5 Irish players on the team. Then I got caught up in it.

I'm actually very happy that we have 3 players and a couple of young Irish uncapped players at the team, so I suppose that goes along with the whole pride in country thing you were getting at.

I also support and have a season ticket for Bohs.

I must've asked 6 or 7 times no for any proper examples of animosity or hostility towards new fans and have still received none. I think it's just another excuse or preconceived notion people spout. Again, how would anyone know who is new!? You're not given a special 'L' badge that marks you out. It defies logic.

You've been told but that doesn't fit with what you want, so all 6 or 7 times you've cherry picked to make you point. Absolutely no need to be wasting time with someone who argues tactically.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,519 ✭✭✭ozzy jr

DS86DS wrote: »

I support Dublin in every GAA football and hurling match.

Equally..... I support Ireland in all international events.

Ah you're one of those.

Supporting a club is so much better then what you do. It doesn't matter if that club is Shamrock Rovers, Bray Wanderers, Na Fianna, St Marys, Everton, Hibs.

Sport at club level is so much better than coming out in the summer for the All Ireland gaa games, or sticking on an Ireland jersey and watching a big rugby or football game. What's the word I'm looking for? Ah yeah, bandwagon.

You've been told but that doesn't fit with what you want, so all 6 or 7 times you've cherry picked to make you point. Absolutely no need to be wasting time with someone who argues tactically.

No, I literally haven't. You said nobody talked to you. That's not hostility. Judging by your posts elsewhere on this site, you come off as a very bitter and hateful individual anyway so maybe it's just you Pat.

There's certain ironies to people absolutely abhorring England and their team yet calling Chelsea ''us''.
    Just as there is an irony that LOI fans make that argument, yet support a foreign sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Just as there is an irony that LOI fans make that argument, yet support a foreign sport.

That's just silly.

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,786 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

People who angst about what other people care about. I just don't get the point.

Ah jaysus.
    I don't agree with it; but just the irony that they can't stand people following an English team, but it's ok to follow an English sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭MarkY91

I grew up in a Liverpool supporting household. It's what was handed down to me. It's just how my childhood was and Im happy with that.

I've been a fan since a kid in 2002(missed 2001 when they won most trophies) and its more often than not been disappointment and crap seasons so my support has nothing to do with glory hunting.

The premier League is a global league now. Most teams don't even have local lads playing in the team and only have English players to fit the quota they have to fill to keep FIFA happy. It's a world-wide league supported by people from every single country on earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

On the hostile LOI argument, it’s bollox. I went about 10 years ago and was welcomed with open arms. In fact, I drifted away recently for a number of personal reasons and those lads still contact me all the time. They’re a great bunch.

I’ve followed Spurs since I was 4. My brother followed them and got me into them. This was the mid 80s when it wasn’t exactly as fashionable to follow English football.

I don’t really equate Spurs with my LOI team. They’re competing on different planets but Spurs have been part of my life for 35 years so I genuinely love watching them. The last few seasons have been great - since Pochettino has come in, it’s really reignited my love for the club. If they win, I walk a bit taller on Monday. On the rare occasions they lose, I’m in worse humor. It’s a bit childish but I know I’ll always be like that because, for me, the emotional rollercoaster of watching Spurs of a weekend beats most other things I could be doing.

What’s better, I have a 6 year old and he loves Spurs too. It’s great - we can sit an watch them together and he wants to be Harry Kane and Dele Alli from the minute he gets up in the morning to the minute he goes asleep. All the magazines he gets have them on the cover and he’s mad into the cards and stickers too.

We will go over to a game in the new year and I can’t f**king wait. Over the last year, he’s had me out on the road playing football with him. It’s the first time in 20 years that I’ve thought it’s okay to go out and kick a football in the rain and pretended to be Harry Kane. It’s ****ing wonderful.

So, following Tottenham has been part of my life for as long as I can remember. I love football and I’ve loved them for as long as I’ve loved the sport. And now my little fella looks like doing the same. I make no apologies for that.

COYS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

Growing up in a rural part of Cork especially an island in the 90s I wouldn't of seen Cork City or anything to do with them on tv. We were one of the first households to get sky (multichannel) and all the Premiership teams were there to watch. My mother is huge man United supporter so grew up watching them.

When I moved to the city I kept an eye on Cork then, I've gone to matches and I'll happily support them but man United is my team. I see where people come from when they say your not from Manchester Liverpool etc, but soccer is a global sport its not necessarily fixed that you have to support the team where you grew up.

I feel its personal choice and I couldn't give a toss if someone doesn't like who I support, it's a sport at the end of the day