Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ireland's loolaa's are offended by a Santa and the unicorns tea towel

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

serfboard wrote: »
    I had a look at her Twitter feed where I saw this

So in other words, just unhinged enough to run for president on the anti-traveller/immigrant ticket, but not unhinged enough to actually get a worthwhile vote percentage?

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

Question for the parents of young children: I know things are a lot different to when I was a nipper but back then, santy was real until you were in 5th class at least, with him genuinely coming to a few in 6th.

I get the impression that the magic ends earlier now, at around 8 years old, or earlier?

I did not do the Santa thing with my kids and told my kids earlier it is just one of the games other kids and parents like to play. But through my kids and their friends my experience would match yours - that they are losing belief in the Santa thing earlier.

There is just too much media and social media going around these days that contradict the narrative and too many ways a child can be exposed to the truth behind the lie - or to be given cause to question the narrative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,194 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

I did not do the Santa thing with my kids...

I don't blame you. Why, in these thankfully enlightened times, do we celebrate a man who's main raison d'être is to sneak into children's bedrooms in the dead of night and empty his sack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,499 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Ah here you want me to provide you with evidence?

Have you been living in a cave ? Look at the gardai and Gerry McCabe, the bank crash, the HSE, the various junkets during the boom?

Are you actually serious??

Are you? What corruption in the HSE? The gardai, yes. Bank crash was private sector greed and a failure of regulation, but that's not corruption.

It's a word thrown about by people who like to complain about everything but can't make a coherent point so they just say everything is "corrupt" without even knowing the actual meaning of the word.

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

Sweeping generalisation backed up by precisely zero evidence shocker.

Pat McCabe the corrupt departments were the department of Justice, Tusla, Child protection. You had a state psychologist who lied under oath in front of a judge. You had the Forensics Department of the Gardai who found Paedo images on his computer. You had 2 Garda Commissioners Stand down and 1 justice minister.

Vicki Phealan. Corruption and whose the cover up, threats, gross incompetency.

The HSE 19 out of 220 new hires couldnt pass a basic english exam. Hires that there were "problems with registration". Radiographer dismissed in October for gross incompetency

Defence ? Larimar. Many questionable reports about waste fuel and cancers.

Tusla? Not going to go there.

Department of Foreign affairs? Development money spent on arms

I am sure there are loads more...... Its good to get out from under the stones and look around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,752 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

I did not do the Santa thing with my kids and told my kids earlier it is just one of the games other kids and parents like to play. But through my kids and their friends my experience would match yours - that they are losing belief in the Santa thing earlier.

There is just too much media and social media going around these days that contradict the narrative and too many ways a child can be exposed to the truth behind the lie - or to be given cause to question the narrative.

This is what I would have thought. Children these days have the worlds information in their pockets, so it would be very difficult to shield them from reality to the age it was for me 20 years ago.

Some might not agree with me, but I think it's a shame.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

Fair play to you, you must save a fortune.
    Do you still give them gifts for Christmas ?

A little but nothing significant. We do gifts at other times for other reasons. So over the course of the year they fare as well - or even better - than their peers. There is a small exchange of gifts that goes on as part of the Christmas Tradition in our house which is mostly centred around the main meal for us. But we have definitely stepped away from treating Christmas as a commercial thing in so far as is possible.

As a completely non-religious family we find we celebrate New Years Eve significantly more than we do Christmas itself. That just seems a natural celebration to have. One year down and another one beginning - just seems more worthy of celebration. We have even made a tradition of listening to the song Cherry Trees by John Spillane shortly before midnight because my kids love the line in it that goes:

"You know we've travelled all around the Sun
    You know it's taken us one whole year
    Well done everyone, Well Done"

"Santa" is just a game other kids play with their parents - or at least that is how I described it to them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭nthclare

A little but nothing significant. We do gifts at other times for other reasons. So over the course of the year they fare as well - or even better - than their peers. There is a small exchange of gifts that goes on as part of the Christmas Tradition in our house which is mostly centred around the main meal for us. But we have definitely stepped away from treating Christmas as a commercial thing in so far as is possible.

As a completely non-religious family we find we celebrate New Years Eve significantly more than we do Christmas itself. That just seems a natural celebration to have. One year down and another one beginning - just seems more worthy of celebration. We have even made a tradition of listening to the song Cherry Trees by John Spillane shortly before midnight because my kids love the line in it that goes:

"You know we've travelled all around the Sun
    You know it's taken us one whole year
    Well done everyone, Well Done"

"Santa" is just a game other kids play with their parents - or at least that is how I described it to them.

I like your traditional personal way of explaining santa to your kids, because with an explanation like that they wouldn't even think much more about it.

Everybody to their own, I enjoy Christmas but I'm more traditional in the sense that I like the whole pagan side of it, Yule logs and holly trees, crackling fire's, changing of the seasons,a new year.
    A Time of rest and reflection, walks by the seashore, kicking leaves down a laneway etc

One of the best presents I ever got was one wrapped up in brown paper, it was a tin box
    Inside was a hair comb, jar of Duck liver pate, shaving brush, gardening gloves and a hand made card.

I loved it because whoever thought of it was thinking of me.

Another thing I like about Christmas is visiting people in the evening time, especially when it's dry and dark, walking down a country boreen.
    All wrapped up in winter wollies, pair of boots etc
    And I'd usually have one arm longer than the other, meaning I'd bring a gift maybe a cake biscuits or something.
    I don't drink so, id Never bring any hooch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,942 ✭✭✭20Cent

This is what I would have thought. Children these days have the worlds information in their pockets, so it would be very difficult to shield them from reality to the age it was for me 20 years ago.

Some might not agree with me, but I think it's a shame.

Caught my 3 year old googleing is Santa Real.
    Managed to grab his macbook air off him before the results loaded.
    Spilt his latte all over the table and onto his copy of Ulysses but was a close call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

I haven't read the whole thread and don't really have an opinion on this topic I just wanted to pop in and thank the OP for reminding me about the word "loolah." That's a great fupping word and I haven't heard it in years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Hrududu wrote: »
    I haven't read the whole thread and don't really have an opinion on this topic I just wanted to pop in and thank the OP for reminding me about the word "loolah." That's a great fupping word and I haven't heard it in years.

I smile every time I see the thread title for the same reason. Great word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

Usually when I hear stories like these they are from the looney left getting offended on behalf of people who they know nothing about, it is funny seeing it from the crazy right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 398 ✭✭carter10

I smile every time I see the thread title for the same reason. Great word.
    first cousin of doolally

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Gemma O'Doherty appears to be having a real-time breakdown in the public eye.

She'll be working for Infowars this time next year.