Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"The Lonely Battle of Thomas Reid"

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Dual wheels

Base price wrote: »
    I watched the film last night and enjoyed it - if enjoyment is the right word.

It may have gone over some viewers heads (although Thomas Reid referred to it) that historically farmers in the area had concerns over industrial pollutants from nearby plants. https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/air-pollution-to-blame-for-cattle-deaths-claims-farmer-26115764.html

I was absolutly delighted when he won his case and it demonstrated to me that big business/multinationals and their cohorts cannot ride rough shod over us be we farmers, landowners etc.
    I've had the pleasure of knowing and dealing with farmers like Thomas Reid, my late Uncle was one. They don't conform to the norm irrespective of what everyone else thinks about them. They are quirky individuals that are part of our society and long may they live on.

I’d say your late uncle left you a few pound 😉
    I agree to a point, these men stick to their traditions and values, Padraic Nally is an admirable man and I’ve a few lads around my area who are similar but living in pure filth and squalor out of downright meanness is just wrong, the citizens of Ireland worked themselves to the bone to better themselves irrespective of Intel this lad is sitting on a pile of cash and he may as well have nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭kk.man

How do they get work done??

They get up every day, take their time with tasks, they have done this all their lives and have little knacks suitable to a one man opperation. That's their life! We think it's mad and hardship but it's all in a day's work.
    I beg to differ if they are making a pile from farming. Twenty years ago maybe but with costs rising and returns deminishing, I doubt it.

I have to say age will catch up with these guys and that's where it gets complicated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,492 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I’d say your late uncle left you a few pound ��
    I agree to a point, these men stick to their traditions and values, Padraic Nally is an admirable man and I’ve a few lads around my area who are similar but living in pure filth and squalor out of downright meanness is just wrong, the citizens of Ireland worked themselves to the bone to better themselves irrespective of Intel this lad is sitting on a pile of cash and he may as well have nothing
    At the end of the day it doesn't matter what you or the collective society thinks - live and let live.
    It is well known that Padraig Nally was tormented and his residence/farm was repeatedly burgled over several years. AFAIK Thomas Reid hasn't suffered the same direct approach but nonetheless he is also a victim.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I watched the film last night and enjoyed it - if enjoyment is the right word.

It may have gone over some viewers heads (although Thomas Reid referred to it) that historically farmers in the area had concerns over industrial pollutants from nearby plants. https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/air-pollution-to-blame-for-cattle-deaths-claims-farmer-26115764.html

I was absolutly delighted when he won his case and it demonstrated to me that big business/multinationals and their cohorts cannot ride rough shod over us be we farmers, landowners etc.
    I've had the pleasure of knowing and dealing with farmers like Thomas Reid, my late Uncle was one. They don't conform to the norm irrespective of what everyone else thinks about them. They are quirky individuals that are part of our society and long may they live on.
    I’m from the area. Some of my land is on very elevated ground that, if there was toxic fallout, it should hit me if an east wind blows. No sick cattle of sheep or horses other than normal run of the mill thing. Also, intel is the greatest thing that ever happened this area. If it ever went somewhere else the place would be devastated. Reid’s quirkinesses won’t pay people’s mortgage. And he mentioned a legal action in the film which might leave him with the place and money to buy another farm. He’s no innocent. The state of the place and we also giving out about the mercosur countries. All they have to do is show that place and we havnt a leg to stand on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭rule supreme

I'm glad he won , not many people would turn down that much money , nice to see someone that money doesn't matter to .

Cattlepen wrote: »
    I’m from the area. Some of my land is on very elevated ground that, if there was toxic fallout, it should hit me if an east wind blows. No sick cattle of sheep or horses other than normal run of the mill thing. Also, intel is the greatest thing that ever happened this area. If it ever went somewhere else the place would be devastated. Reid’s quirkinesses won’t pay people’s mortgage. And he mentioned a legal action in the film which might leave him with the place and money to buy another farm. He’s no innocent. The state of the place and we also giving out about the mercosur countries. All they have to do is show that place and we havnt a leg to stand on
    Jeez, read the link and note the date.

As a Dubliner I am more than aware of the employment benefits of multinationals but that doesn't intitle them, the IDA, or any other semi State body to ride rough shod over a Citizen. Thankfully in Thomas Reid's case our Supreme Court recognised that fact and overturned the CPO. It is not Thomas Reid's remit or care to ensure other's pay their mortgages.
    Also if anyone was driving past mine and saw the state of the farm last week before the end of the mandatory closed date for topping LIPP then in your opinion I wouldn't have a leg to stand on either.

Cattlepen wrote: »

Your 100% right if Reid was supporting a young family and was running a proper farm it would be a different story but he’s clearly run the place into the ground. What was once a fine house is now nothing more than a ruin, the yard is a disgrace, silage plastic everywhere auld cars dumped in the ditch, too bloody mean to call out the vet to a lame cow, he fell in for that farm and let it go to sh1te, the irony of him as a beef farmer buying cheap frozen cod from a multinational for which the local cattle mart made way for... he contributes nothing to his local economy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,801 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

For 10 million lids I'd lie down on the Maynooth road and let them ride rough shod over me using a 66 bus.

I heard somewhere once something like 'be obedient to principles, but never bound as they will drown you'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,529 ✭✭✭✭briany

Larbre34 wrote: »
    'be obedient to principles, but never bound as they will drown you'.

Sounds like a clever phrase, but I think there's too much grey area in it and too many people would read it as, "Stick to your principles... until they become inconvenient."

Update today.
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/kildare-farmer-lodges-fresh-objection-to-new-intel-application/
    He is some man and well done to him. He should be applauded by any farmer who is coerced to sell his land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,933 ✭✭✭Odelay

Update today.
    https://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/kildare-farmer-lodges-fresh-objection-to-new-intel-application/
    He is some man and well done to him. He should be applauded by any farmer who is coerced to sell his land.

I bet they’re sorry they ever thought of bulling through his land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,416 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Your 100% right if Reid was supporting a young family and was running a proper farm it would be a different story but he’s clearly run the place into the ground. What was once a fine house is now nothing more than a ruin, the yard is a disgrace, silage plastic everywhere auld cars dumped in the ditch, too bloody mean to call out the vet to a lame cow, he fell in for that farm and let it go to sh1te, the irony of him as a beef farmer buying cheap frozen cod from a multinational for which the local cattle mart made way for... he contributes nothing to his local economy
    In a way then, he's the hard case that tests the rules. The planning process has been shown in this instance to not discriminate on the basis of how 'worthy' an applicant might be considered by the commentariat. He's entitled to lodge his objection and have it considered. How he runs his farm is a matter for the Dept. of Agriculture, not the planning authority.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,088 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Kinda better for himself if he'd just leave that chapter of his life behind now and not be continually objecting to the neighbours.
    The justice system worked and all that but there's other things to life than this sort of carry on.

I'm not sure I think much of Agriland making a story out of his latest objection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

I'm not sure I think much of Agriland making a story out of his latest objection.

Did ya think much of Agriland to begin with? :P

endacl wrote: »
    In a way then, he's the hard case that tests the rules. The planning process has been shown in this instance to not discriminate on the basis of how 'worthy' an applicant might be considered by the commentariat. He's entitled to lodge his objection and have it considered. How he runs his farm is a matter for the Dept. of Agriculture, not the planning authority.
    Mmmn, on the flip side consider the purchase by the State of the lands - Thornton Hall, Coolquay, The Ward, Co. Dublin :mad:
    How do you square that circle?

Meanwhile Thomas Reid continues to buy frozen cod from a conglomerate as he only objects to the likes if its inconvenient to him
    The only winner here is the rats that live there

Kinda better for himself if he'd just leave that chapter of his life behind now and not be continually objecting to the neighbours.
    The justice system worked and all that but there's other things to life than this sort of carry on.

I wonder would you be of the same opinion if a multinational company arrived in Wexford, shate on your lands whilst the State sat back wondering what you were going to do about it.

Meanwhile Thomas Reid continues to buy frozen cod from a conglomerate as he only objects to the likes if its inconvenient to him
    The only winner here is the rats that live there
    Thomas Reid is entitled to live, farm and buy food from any outlet that he wishes - the same as the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 944 ✭✭✭Aravo

No easy answers here. I have mixed opinions on this matter. If there were a poll on this it would be interesting. I know of the links to land but I would also have to think of links to family, the benefits in job creation, community benefits etc. Let's face it, Intel is a town in itself with the numbers currently there. In this busy area most would be tempted to take the money and start afresh. No mortgage, no bills, set for life and that would be for families linked to the land brothers, sisters etc. On the other side what IDA did as part of the original CPO was land hoarding. They were basically bullying him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The rules on CPO are there to try to balance two conflicting rights.
    When any body tries to take a shortcut through them, they undermine the whole process.

I think Thomas Reid should leave it go, at this stage. Just farm his land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,747 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Water John wrote: »
    The rules on CPO are there to try to balance two conflicting rights.
    When any body tries to take a shortcut through them, they undermine the whole process.

I think Thomas Reid should leave it go, at this stage. Just farm his land.

Would definitely be better for his mental health which has obviously suffered greatly throughout this debacle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭Good loser

Thoroughly selfish behavior by Reid.

Don't see anything to admire in his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

I suppose he just should have been a, good loser, and let them take his farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 561 ✭✭✭1373

If he loves his place and is forced out then it’s an awful thing to happen, none of us would like to be in his shoes . Against that if every land owner took his stance ,there wouldn’t be a decent road in this country

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,747 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Good loser wrote: »
    Thoroughly selfish behavior by Reid.

Don't see anything to admire in his actions.

Objecting to the most recent extension was no surprise.

Thomas has objected to each and every move Intel have made right from the very beginning, so this was no surprise. I think he should let it go and live his life again but he is entitled to object if he wants to.

I absolutely admire him for his resilience in being able to fight the illegal land grab that was attempted against him. It was disgusting behaviour by Intel, the IDA and the state,

But it’s really time to Forget Intel and get his life back on track.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

1373 wrote: »
    If he loves his place and is forced out then it’s an awful thing to happen, none of us would like to be in his shoes . Against that if every land owner took his stance ,there wouldn’t be a decent road in this country

I get you, but for me there's a big difference between getting CPO'd for say a new motorway and for a foreign company so they can increase their manufacturing.

For the motorway example, while you'd be disappointed in losing your land, it would at least be for some national infrastructure so you'd have to accept it.

The Intel example would undoubtedly have huge benefits too with the amount of people who would be employed as a result, but for me it's a slippy slope to be going down if we start forcing people out at the whim of a foreign company. And I'm saying that as someone who has been employed by US multi-nationals so I'm not one of those people who points at big-business as the cause of all our woes.

Reid is undoubtedly very paranoid about any plans Intel have and it's hard to blame him after what they tried to do to his farm previously. Remember his farm was there long before Intel arrived.

Having said all that and having supported him fully in previous appeals, now I get the feeling that if they planned on putting up something as basic as extra outdoor lighting he'd probably object to that too. As long as they don't directly affect his farm, I think it's the correct decision to allow planning in this case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭theaceofspies

Thomas Reid is entitled to live, farm and buy food from any outlet that he wishes - the same as the rest of us.

Nail on the head. Its called freedom - freedom to live and freedom to shop in the shop you prefer. Unfortunately in this country there is a history of public representatives and members of public office being influenced by favours to the detriment of Irish citizens. Cromwell himself would have recruited some of the gangsters that held public office over the years.
    Is it any wonder this man won't give them an inch.

Imagine we all lived like he does

He bemoans the poor price he gets for his cattle yet won’t support the local butcher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 644 ✭✭✭sportsfan90

Imagine we all lived like he does

He bemoans the poor price he gets for his cattle yet won’t support the local butcher

Do you know that he bemoans the prices he gets? I don't recall ever seeing him on the news at any protests or him mentioning it in the documentary although I'm open to correction on that.

To me he's just someone who wants to keep to himself. People can criticise him for his objections all they like and that's fair enough, but it's really none of our business if he likes discounted Donegal Catch, goes vegan or whatever he chooses to eat.

Do you know that he bemoans the prices he gets? I don't recall ever seeing him on the news at any protests or him mentioning it in the documentary although I'm open to correction on that.

To me he's just someone who wants to keep to himself. People can criticise him for his objections all they like and that's fair enough, but it's really none of our business if he likes discounted Donegal Catch, goes vegan or whatever he chooses to eat.

I suggest you look at the mockumentary where he bemoans the price of cattle, selfish is what he is, rotten with money he doesn’t go to the local hairdresser encourages vermin eats auld cheap cod his cattle suffer because he’s too mane to pay a vet... sinful behavior

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

I totally agree on all those points but they are a separate issue from the stance he took against the IDA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,263 ✭✭✭straight

I suggest you look at the mockumentary where he bemoans the price of cattle, selfish is what he is, rotten with money he doesn’t go to the local hairdresser encourages vermin eats auld cheap cod his cattle suffer because he’s too mane to pay a vet... sinful behavior

How could you see from your couch that his cattle were suffering. It looked to me as though he treated them like family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,313 ✭✭✭threetrees

He's single so presumably his siblings or nieces and nephews will inherit his land. The first thing they might do is sell.......to Intel.

I think he has taken his principles too far, he should get on with his farm and live a stress free life.

threetrees wrote: »
    He's single so presumably his siblings or nieces and nephews will inherit his land. The first thing they might do is sell.......to Intel.

I think he has taken his principles too far, he should get on with his farm and live a stress free life.

He is living a stress free life.

straight wrote: »
    He is living a stress free life.

He’s stressed out to the Ballix

How could you see from your couch that his cattle were suffering. It looked to me as though he treated them like family.

I wouldn’t think you know too much about farming gosin, if he had got a vet his cow wouldn’t have suffered and died, he also feeds his cows out in the muck and sh1t, as far as I could see the only animals he looked after were the rats

I am a farmer and I can tell you where there is livestock there is dead stock. How do you know a vet would have saved the cow. He shot her so she wouldn't be suffering.

The cow was after calving any farmer who cared for his stock would get the vet, aside from anything the financial loss is greater with the loss of the cow... he only shot her after he left her suffer

I bow down to your superior farming knowledge

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Mod note I think this thread has run the course, closed.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.