Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

I think the company is trying to make me quit my job

Options
13»

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

Every teenager thinking about it should spend a few months on freecodecamp. The dropout rate would drop.

Because freecodecamp is brilliant at teaching people programming, or because most people will realise they can't program / don't like programming before committing to a computer science degree?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 111 ✭✭turdball

Bsc does not make it computer Science.

I did a general BSC Level 8 degree in Information technology (3 years) as I did not have the head for programming and loved Computing.

We had four modules Java programming in the course and hated it, had Maths every semester.

Now Work as an storage engineer with Sans, Nas devices, VMware,data centres, firewalls, and sometimes Cisco devices, windows server etc. Also getting my head around AWS,Azure at the moment. There good bit of scripting but most of it has been done by external contractors we got in that we can reuse or modify

Just writing this to the OP that there are other careers outside programming that are worth progressing. Training content can easily be got online and exams there to certify you.

OMM 0000 wrote: »
    Because freecodecamp is brilliant at teaching people programming, or because most people will realise they can't program / don't like programming before committing to a computer science degree?