Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump presidency discussion thread V

• Registered Users Posts: 7,236 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

peddlelies wrote: »
    Oh please, I'm sure the cohorts of justice on here refer to Devin Nunes in an equally glowing manner.

In my opinion, based on reality, Schiff has knowingly made misleading statements publicly and repeatably to distort and promote a narrative that he knew to be false. He was on the Intel committee, he had access to information others didn't have.

He's repeatably said there is "direct" evidence of collusion, evidence that is beyond circumstantial and "ample Evidence" of a conspiracy - he has appeared on cable and network TV hundreds of times promoting those same claims over a 2 year period. He also claimed Don JR committed perjury.

So The Trump tower meeting never happened and Trump Junior never said under oath regarding Trump Tower that:
    “Most of my knowledge has been gained since as it relates to hearing about it over the last few weeks,”

I think you're mixing up "did" and "was found guilty of" in the same way that OJ never murdered anyone.
    Here's a picture just in case you forgot what he looks like.

DuPEpUI.jpg

I can't see the image here but I presume it's the bug-eyed one popular on the_donald. It was posted here once or twice before by either Hank Scorpio, 2 Scoops or Ultros. I can't remember exactly which one it was but that hardly matters.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,725 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

Coming from him it holds as much weight as passing some gas.

You're right.

The head of the intelligence committee holds no power...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 840 ✭✭✭peddlelies

everlast75 wrote: »
    You're right.

The head of the intelligence committee holds no power...

Respect might be a better word, not from his colleagues on the other aisle anyway, they signed a letter requesting he step down.

Look, I don't think Schiff is worse than a blowhard like Jim Jordan, but I do think he overstepped his mark badly over the last couple of years. It's not responsible behavior to go on TV shows daily as head of the intelligence committee and promote a narrative he knew to be untrue or unfounded.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,544 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

It's not responsible behavior to go on TV shows daily as head of the intelligence committee and promote a narrative he knew to be untrue or unfounded.

Is he following POTUS45's lead? 10,000 (that's 10 *thousand*) lies and counting.

And we've not seen the end of the obstruction discussion; today's testimony by Barr opens more cans o' worms in that arena. Really too bad this is what government by Trump turns into, not surprising though, most businesses run by Trump end up in the courts.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,567 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

https://twitter.com/benyc/status/1123583514090151937

Muellers letter, for anyone who hasn't seen it yet

Igotadose wrote: »
    Is he following POTUS45's lead? 10,000 (that's 10 *thousand*) lies and counting.

And we've not seen the end of the obstruction discussion; today's testimony by Barr opens more cans o' worms in that arena. Really too bad this is what government by Trump turns into, not surprising though, most businesses run by Trump end up in the courts.

I'm talking about Schiff, not Trump.

Bold bit - Honestly I don't care what happens to Trump, but they'll be problems and I'm not talking purely political if they manage to force him out after the Russian stuff came up clean. You have to understand that his supporters believe he and his campaign were illicitly targeted, so if he's forced out even after there was no "collusion" it will get nasty. It's not going to happen imo.

On the bright side for those who want him gone he has about a year left before the next Presidential cycle get's rolling, he might not even run given how well Biden is polling.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,402 ✭✭✭✭duploelabs

Nice to see Kamala Harris rip in the Barr and call him out on his toady language at his initial press conference when he said there's 'no collusion'

duploelabs wrote: »
    Nice to see Kamala Harris rip in the Barr and call him out on his toady language at his initial press conference when he said there's 'no collusion'

How are her poll numbers doing?

The average American sees through it, she'll never be President or even get close.

Oh this is just hilarious. Apparently some prankster posed as a firefighter cheering on Trump. Trump retweets. Prankster changes account name to 'F**k Donald Trump' so that everyone following the POTUS's twitter feed sees him retweeting from "F**K Donald Trump"'s account.

Brilliant.

https://www.independent.co.uk/life-style/gadgets-and-tech/news/trump-twitter-account-tweet-us-president-a8894386.html

(I don't use twitter, the above is guessing what happened based on the article. Others more twitter savvy can chime in.)

The average American sees through it, she'll never be President or even get close.

That's not exactly pertinent to what I said 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 2,751 ✭✭✭Thepoet85

peddlelies wrote:

How is that relevant?

• Registered Users Posts: 39,965 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

I’ve just watched a clip from the hearing today of the current AG William Barr when asked by Kamala Harris whether trump or anyone at the White House had suggested to him about opening an investigation to do with 2016.

He firstly asked for the question to be repeated(so his hearing isn’t great it seems) and then wondered out loud what suggests means. What the actual Christ is happening. It wasn’t a question from mastermind or 15 to 1 he was asked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 136 ✭✭DreamsBurnDown

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    He firstly asked for the question to be repeated(so his hearing isn’t great it seems) and then wondered out loud what suggests means. What the actual Christ is happening. It wasn’t a question from mastermind or 15 to 1 he was asked.

He didn't want to answer it, so was evasive. I would say the DOJ is getting enormous pressure from the White House to investigate everything that happened within the DOJ/FBI in 2016, in an effort to distract from the Mueller probe, tax returns, etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,422 ✭✭✭✭hotmail.com

I really hope trump ends at 2020... I can’t take anymore

Turn off CNN and you'll be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,965 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

And turn on which Channel ?

https://twitter.com/Yamiche/status/1123701826421968896?s=19

He could barely handle Harris.

Subpoena incoming.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,111 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

Why has Barr done this for Trump ? Why he is taking orders from the Whitehouse ? He has basically ruined his reputation and I don’t see what he has gained. Muller’s letter has really done Barr in....

Mueller's letter didn't do Barr in at all. Barr himself did himself in..

His self- immolation was made fiery bright by his own responses to questions raised during today's hearing... particularly in his pathetic attempts to respond to the incisive questions of members such as Kamala Harris.

Barr is the latest in a slew of pathetic "Pontius Pilate figures" from this Administration to illegitimately attempt to gaslight and undermine entirely legitimate and Constitutionally- originated attempts at oversight by Congress.

Self- Immolation is the only way I can describe Barr's actions in this appallingly managed process.

Quite amazing really!

I don't watch CNN.

I did however watch Maddow who had on 3 guests
    1) the WP reporter who broke the story of Mueller writing to and subsequently calling Barr
    2) Chuck Rosenberg, former U.S. Attorney for the Eastern District of Virginia, then Attorney General to serve as the U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of Texas, and then Chief of Staff to the Director of the FBI to discuss the reasons why Mueller would write to Barr and how unusual that might be
    3) NY Attorney General James from NY to discuss the cases against Trump et al

All 3 guests were asked if Maddow got anything wrong in her synopsis/preamble of the story. None did.

High calibre gueste and solid journalism from start to finish. Zero hyperbole.

Not sure what was on Hannity.

Hang in there! When every week brings a whole new "Watergate", and the Bar (r) lowers organically like rotting carcasses being swallowed in the muck and offal of a knackery, you must believe that some power will present from the high ground that surrounds the horrible miasma that is Trump, and will restore our better selves.

Not only can this attempt by Barr to give Trump a one- month head-start not be thought to be right; its naked and pathetic attempt to stack the deck can only be seen for what it clearly is.

Ugh!!!

Coming from him it holds as much weight as passing some gas.

What an absolutely pathetic, last- ditch attempt to deflect from a legitimate observation from a democratically- elected Member of Congress who has opined on the action(s) and pronouncements of a non- elected, clearly- partisan hack ( who had previously been held in some esteem) who has prostituted himself to Trump by his un- solicited memo months before he even joined the Administration.

So, finally Trump has found his Roy Cohn to serve as AG! I hope they each enjoy each other's company as they steadily slide towards the precipice.

Peddlers of Lies summarises the pathetic duo so very well...

Why would I bother respond when you've already got your disingenuous smear in? If you asked me in a decent manner why I believe Schiff has no credibility I would have gladly responded and linked to several false and misleading statements he's made.

Jaysus, I must be in the Twilight Zone!!

Erm! Would the alleged Schiff "several false and misleading statements he's made" by any chance amount to anything like say, 10,000 lies that have been documented and presented and entirely attributed to Trump, who happens to be the POTUS ?

I mean, there comes a time when the fluids coursing through the most sanguine of us will boil over at the patently disingenuous tripe that is portrayed as some kind of a fair comment here....

• Registered Users Posts: 418 ✭✭SeamusFX

Oh please, I'm sure the cohorts of justice on here refer to Devin Nunes in an equally glowing manner.

In my opinion, based on reality, Schiff has knowingly made misleading statements publicly and repeatably to distort and promote a narrative that he knew to be false. He was on the Intel committee, he had access to information others didn't have.

He's repeatably said there is "direct" evidence of collusion, evidence that is beyond circumstantial and "ample Evidence" of a conspiracy - he has appeared on cable and network TV hundreds of times promoting those same claims over a 2 year period. He also claimed Don JR committed perjury.

Here's a picture just in case you forgot what he looks like.

DuPEpUI.jpg

Schiff said there was direct evidence of collusion, because there IS! Maybe Mueller couldn’t find 100% evidence, because Trump and his crooked cohorts destroyed the evidence, but there is still plenty of evidence to prove there was indeed collusion! Trump asked Russia for help on National TV, numerous members of Trump’s team met with Russians. Trump don and son-in-law met with Russians with the promise of dirt on the opposition. One of Trump’s team even gave the Russians polling data. There were numerous meetings between Trump’s staff and Russians where his people lied about and covered up the meetings. Then Russia did interfere in the election on Trump’s behalf. Mueller has confirmed that the Russians influenced the election and were behind Wikileaks. The Russians also acquired data from the RNC, but never released it. Then when Trump became president he not only lifted sanctions, but he made many unusual and illogical moves that benefited Russia. In addition he had private meetings with Putin and tried to lie and cover up about them. Please explain how this isn’t evidence of collusion. Now let’s compare this to Devin Nunes who has lied, covered up and lied again countless times. It’s so sad how people are blind to the corruption of the new Republican Party!

I simply am not getting Joe Biden!

The latest polls have him waaaaaay ahead of Bernie,Beto and all the rest of the B's, not to mention what appear to be hundreds of A's, C's and D-Z's that are being offered by the Democrats. I just don't see it!

And specially, when his 'First 2020 Campaign Rally' from Pittsburgh portrays a small 'intimate' town hall and the star of the show is the pink-shirted girl who gurned and grimaced just over Joe's left shoulder. Undoubtedly, she is a lovely and highly intelligent girl, but why would you place her immediately in line of sight when she was clearly only interested in waving the flag every so often, and was overcome by tiredness after a long day/week/month..

You might think its is cruel on my part to mention the young lady, and I'm sorry if my comments upset or annoy anyone. However, if Biden is to be taken seriously, then he absolutely MUST host serious rallies. And that means that everyone in shot needs to be on message and not detracting from it, whatever it is..

Just saying.... any TV producer will tell you... manage your shot!

Well? How is this relevant to her questioning of Barr?

She's brilliant. Hopefully Biden and Bernie get out of the way and let her be the candidate in 2020. Imagine the debates with Trump. I wouldn't be surprised if declines debating her completely.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

She's brilliant. Hopefully Biden and Bernie get out of the way and let her be the candidate in 2020. Imagine the debates with Trump. I wouldn't be surprised if declines debating her completely.

Harris is stagnating at this stage, no buzz about her.

Danzy wrote: »

Harris is stagnating at this stage, no buzz about her.

Again, how are her polling numbers anything to do with her grilling of Barr?

It doesn't. Oh, apologies in my quoting before - I didn't say Harris was stagnating,but I mis-quoted someone else. I'd love to see here debate Trump as the Democratic candidate for 2020, I've followed her career for some time and she's brutally qualified. Brilliant woman who actually has done things in her life not handed to her by wealthy parents. Biggest challenge to her candidacy would be her gender and skin color. Should someone else get the Democratic nod, she'd be a great AG or VP.

TomOnBoard wrote: »
    I simply am not getting Joe Biden!

Me too. The main thing he has going for him is name recognition, which, when you look at Trump, works well in the US. He also has some positive effects from being Obama's VP.

I find it extraordinary that Trump supporters refer to him as "Creepy Joe". The level of cognitive dissonance is mind blowing. They have no problem with a guy saying that he can move on married women "like a b*tch", has cheated on all three of his wives, including with a porn star, and that incident happen while his 3rd wife is at home with his 5th kid, and with his second wife swearing under oath that he raped her. Incredible.
    It doesn't. Oh, apologies in my quoting before - I didn't say Harris was stagnating,but I mis-quoted someone else. I'd love to see here debate Trump as the Democratic candidate for 2020, I've followed her career for some time and she's brutally qualified. Brilliant woman who actually has done things in her life not handed to her by wealthy parents. Biggest challenge to her candidacy would be her gender and skin color. Should someone else get the Democratic nod, she'd be a great AG or VP.

My answer to both of the above posts is, frankly, I'm sick and tired of older, rich white men being President. I like Warren. I'd prefer her with maybe Harris for VP. Mayor Pete is impressive too, and Beto has a way about him. Both of the men are good but not President level yet.

My brother had an idea - whoever wins the nomination names the other runners in various positions, If Biden won with say Harris for VP, name Booker Chief of Staff, Beto in another role etc etc. That way very little Dem voters would be disenfranchised with their candidate not being selected.

Anyone that shows up the hypocrisy of Graham should be thanked in my book.

At the end of Lawrence O'Donnell's show last night, they composed a little video, which illustrates Graham's complete 180 on DJT.

Incidentally, Graham admitted he did not read the whole Mueller report, but was happy saying that "it was over" and let's move on.

Anyway, here's the link to the video

https://twitter.com/TheLastWord/status/1123785826574446594?s=20