Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Eoghan McDermott wants Fairytale of New York Censored - Mod warning post 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 849 ✭✭✭WoolyJumper

Acosta wrote: »
    I agree with much of this, but not censoring out the word. As someone said previously it's art. Whats art for one person is utter crap and even offensive to someone else.
    If someone doesn't like it then don't listen. If a radio presenter has issue with it then they shouldn't play it. But please let's not **** around with someone's art. Leave it be and listen to something that you enjoy instead.

Then the same could be said for anything that gets censored. If that's the case we should uncensor everything. At the end of the day songs getting played on the radio is part of an artists bread and butter. They can refuse to sell their music to radios that will censor their songs but due to broadcasting laws means they will really restrict airtime. Suddenly artistry matters less. I don't personally see what is so artistic about the word ****** or what makes it more artistic that f*uck which gets censored in art all the time. The meaning/message of the song doesn't get ruined by censoring the word ******. So again its really not a big deal. No one would care if the word f*ck was being censored from the song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,294 ✭✭✭limnam

What has been a snowflake got to do with your sexuality ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 856 ✭✭✭rebeve

What a ridiculous world we live in .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,552 ✭✭✭Acosta

Then the same could be said for anything that gets censored. If that's the case we should uncensor everything. At the end of the day songs getting played on the radio is part of an artists bread and butter. They can refuse to sell their music to radios that will censor their songs but due to broadcasting laws means they will really restrict airtime. Suddenly artistry matters less. I don't personally see what is so artistic about the word ****** or what makes it more artistic that f*uck which gets censored in art all the time. The meaning/message of the song doesn't get ruined by censoring the word ******. So again its really not a big deal. No one would care if the word f*ck was being censored from the song.

If a media outlet, presenter or broadcast authority decides to make a policy on something that they believe many would take offence I would be in favour of either putting it on at an appropriate time or not at all instead of changing it.

Generally when cenorship is applied to something, it's from the time of release. Be it a song, movie or tv show. This is a different case as the song has been played on daytime media for over 30 years, but does raise an interesting debate.

In terms of this song, if a radio presenter or station decides not to play it then there's plenty of others who still will. There's too many radio stations here anyway for such a small country.

I think many who enjoy the lyrics of this song would be bothered by bleeping it out. And I don't mean idiots who are waiting to be offended by anything they deem to be some sort of lefty conspiracy, but people who genuinely enjoy the song. The lyric will be important to them as it provides insight into the character being portrayed in the song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭brickysession

Irish Radio stations and class of radio presenter gone to the dogs in general.....not meant to offend any four legged friends!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

I hadn't realised that 2FM were still on the air.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

rebeve wrote: »
    What a ridiculous world we live in .

Indeed. You can literally listen to any song you want, whenever or wherever you want, on whichever device you want... and the easily offended are still furious that someone who presents a show on a dying radio station (not even the radio station itself, just some chap who works there) suggested that a swearword in one particular song should, as is usually the case with swearwords in songs, be censored.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,691 ✭✭✭ford fiesta

tuned into this clown earlier he was talking about athletes using painkillers..then went on to mention that it wasn't just 'bored housewives' (among mentioning others) who would take them...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,700 ✭✭✭storker

Is there not a version where he says “maggot” instead ?

Don't tell PETA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,101 ✭✭✭Max Headroom

storker wrote: »
    Don't tell PETA.

Peta Griffin....??...now theres a potty mouth...:P

• Site Banned Posts: 9 Yikes!

Indeed. You can literally listen to any song you want, whenever or wherever you want, on whichever device you want... and the easily offended are still furious that someone who presents a show on a dying radio station (not even the radio station itself, just some chap who works there) suggested that a swearword in one particular song should, as is usually the case with swearwords in songs, be censored.

But why censor it in the first place?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

If they'll burn books, they will burn people as someone once said.

Burning lyrics is what they do first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,494 ✭✭✭Choochtown

If only there was a way in which offended people could avoid listening to something on the radio that upsets them...

Bloody radios with no on/off buttons.

Danzy wrote: »
    If they'll burn books, they will burn people as someone once said.

Burning lyrics is what they do first.

I'd gladly burn anyone that says "mom , like,, awesome, you-guys......they're burning the "irish" out of us...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭rm75

Never heard of this chap but sounds like a pretty lame and transparent attempt to grow his personal brand. Identity politics is a crowded space out there and if you want to make serious coin from it you need to stand out. Fintan has done a great job of this and created an international media profile for himself from Brexit while Una used it to get herself a quango job.

The whole Quango and Non Profit circuit in Ireland is extremely lucrative and if you get one gig it's easy to lever yourself into more and more jobs. Of course the whole thing is nonsense but he's managed to get himself known by people who would never have heard of him previously so job done that man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Yikes! wrote: »
    But why censor it in the first place?

To enforce ones will on others.

The left have an unquenchionable desire to exert control.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    To enforce ones will on others.

The left have an unquenchionable desire to exert control.

I'd consider myself massively on the left and I have no interest in censoring the arts. In fact the left have always protected the arts.

The right in Ireland have always been a problem since de Valera in regards to censorship.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,280 ✭✭✭mistersifter

I'd gladly burn anyone that says "mom , like,, awesome, you-guys......

So would I. Those are some detestable expressions that make people sound like spoiled, snot-nosed little sh*tes.

On another note, thanks to this thread I've had the misfortune of discovering that this eejit McDermott has a sister, complete with a degree in gender studies and repertoire of academic jargon that she likes to bandy about without restraint.

Both are insufferable individuals who really haven't got half the amount of intelligence that they seem to think they have.

So would I. Those are some detestable expressions that make people sound like spoiled, snot-nosed little sh*tes.

No..it makes them sound like idiots ..and even worse are people on television who use them...anyone over tha age of 10 has a mother,mammy, mam, mum
    never mom....Daithi and Maura are amongst the worst offenders.....I'm sure mr mc dermott has a mom....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭newspower

Have to say 2FM is not a station I have listened to for a long time.....and I am a regular radio listener. No idea who this guy is except he is someone looking for attention. The world is gone crazy when people keep sprouting this rubbish of Political Correctness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭castle2012

How has this gob****e got listener s. The best way to sort this out. Vote with not listening to that rubbish. Ratings are the most important thing for any radio station

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

I've always found that if something offends me on TV or the radio pressing the off button deals with any offence I suffer. I'm amazed it doesn't work for others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Aubrielle Yummy Twit

I've always found that if something offends me on TV or the radio pressing the off button deals with any offence I suffer. I'm amazed it doesn't work for others.

I think some people get a thrill off telling/trying to get things banned ... some social media buzz/point in the oppression Olympics fir him... he probably thought he’d have a lot of teens and 20s behind him (I’m guessing that’s his demographic- but as I’m in that one demographic he’s always come off as a male feminist mixed with ferg Darcy) but it’s backfired on him spectacularly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭Macdarack

I've had the misfortune of listening to 2fm recently, some Larry called nickey was on at the time, with some other tool,they were on about elves, anyway it sounded like a collage radio audition, 1st round, out of 10 rounds. So this saga doesn't surprise coming from another gimp from 2fm who wants to stir his way in to noteriety. Back off the tune dipshiit !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭Homer

I'd gladly burn anyone that says "mom , like,, awesome, you-guys......they're burning the "irish" out of us...

How is filler filler Marty Miller not a crispy critter yet so :D

Homer wrote: »
    How is filler filler Marty Miller not a crispy critter yet so :D

He's the Mc D equivalent on nova...loves the sound of his own sh1te....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,001 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

VeryTerry wrote: »
    I'd consider myself massively on the left and I have no interest in censoring the arts. In fact the left have always protected the arts.

The right in Ireland have always been a problem since de Valera in regards to censorship.

I'd consider myself on the Left but most censorship, enforcing of "correct speak", the drive to conformity of opinion is coming from the Left today.

A large and growing segment if the Left had gone nuts. Archbishop McQuaid level of nuts, across the Western World.

I think It will kill off the Left as a large movement reduce it to a middle class niche.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 342 ✭✭VeryTerry

I'd consider myself on the Left but most censorship, enforcing of "correct speak", the drive to conformity of opinion is coming from the Left today.

A large and growing segment if the Left had gone nuts. Archbishop McQuaid level of nuts, across the Western World.

I think It will kill off the Left as a large movement reduce it to a middle class niche.

I don't think that's really the case in the real world. There's a lot of overstated nonsense on the internet and students doing what they've always done. Nobody with half a brain is taking them seriously.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

VeryTerry wrote: »

But I'd say its the lefties who are behind this drive these days.

The likes of SF/AAA/PBP/socialists etc can't wait to jump in and defend the rights of people, be it to be offended or to get something for free.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

NIMAN wrote: »
    But I'd say its the lefties who are behind this drive these days.

The likes of SF/AAA/PBP/socialists etc can't wait to jump in and defend the rights of people, be it to be offended or to get something for free.

Makes more sense to me that it would be right wing. But to be honest it is probably all sorts of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Suckit wrote: »
    Makes more sense to me that it would be right wing. But to be honest it is probably all sorts of people.

You're going to have to explain that one!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

To you maybe, but you're wrong.

Its all the liberal lefties who are saying that if John, 25 with a penis wants to identify as a woman he(she?) can, or that a word in a song is so painful for every gay person in the world that we have to censor it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 149 ✭✭rm75

Bang on, that's the Labour party pretty much, utterly despised in working class areas. Senior civil servants might vote for them nobody else is interested in their rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Eoghan McDermott has a happy face

ligerdub wrote: »
    You're going to have to explain that one!

Traditionally Right wing aren't overtly acceptable of homosexuality, and this seems like something that was blurted out and bandwagoned.

Left aren't any better, but this just seemed to me that it was RW.
    Probably both and others to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,107 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

Don't want to hijack this thread or send it in a different direction but isn't this the presenter who asked his boss Dee Forbes what well known male she would like to kick in the testicles ? (thankfully she declined to answer)

Has he ever come out and apologised for that ? and in particular the offence he caused to male victims of Domestic/Sexual Violence and indeed Male victims of violence in general (I understand he himself was the victim of a serious assault fairly recently)

If not .... it might be more in his line that this tirade regarding Fairytale of New York.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,585 ✭✭✭ligerdub

Traditionally Right wing aren't overtly acceptable of homosexuality, and this seems like something that was blurted out and bandwagoned.

Left aren't any better, but this just seemed to me that it was RW.
    Probably both and others to be honest.

So right-wing "are not overtly acceptable of homosexuality" and the logic there is they would want a slur on homosexuality censored? :confused:

"Probably both and others"......emmmm no! There's no evidence that it's anything other than the standard LGBT/feminist type, of which probably about 1 in about 100,000 of whom would consider themselves (or considered by others as) right-wings.

If there's evidence that any traditionally conservative people want it censored then please fire away.

ligerdub wrote: »
    So right-wing "are not overtly acceptable of homosexuality" and the logic there is they would want a slur on homosexuality censored? :confused:

"Probably both and others"......emmmm no! There's no evidence that it's anything other than the standard LGBT/feminist type, of which probably about 1 in about 100,000 of whom would consider themselves (or considered by others as) right-wings.
    You left out the word 'Traditionally', maybe historically would have been more apt.
    To me, in this instance, as I didn't hear of many (barely any) LGBT complaining about it, it came across more as an attempt to sound like doing the popular thing.
    Couldn't give that much of a sh*t to be honest.
    By saying 'others', I was more referring to social media pests.
    Right Wing/Left Wing all swing too far in one direction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,359 ✭✭✭Declan A Walsh

For the benefit of those who somehow had never heard of Eoghan McDermott before this particular issue arose:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eoghan_McDermott

For the benefit of those who somehow had never heard of Eoghan McDermott before this particular issue arose:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eoghan_McDermott

Celebrity Super Spa....did he win it..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

what an attention- seeking nobody and he'll still be a nobody after this media hype has settled because he has NO SUBSTANCE .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

If Fairytale of New York was released today would the F-word in question still be allowed play on the radio uncensored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

gamecube wrote: »
    If Fairytale of New York was released today would the F-word in question still be allowed play on the radio uncensored?

It wouldn't even get to the recording stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 364 ✭✭gamecube

I have heard it played on a few different radio stations today uncensored

Does anybody know of a radio station that has bleeped out the F-word?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

HeidiHeidi wrote: »
    Who's Eoghan McDermott? :confused:

Or his sister, for that matter? :confused:

don't know them either, they sound like 2 shobgites:D when will this thing of taking offence at everything ever end.?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,589 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Guy gives opinion on radio
    People cry about it in the internet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Midlife crisis man

It's things like this that makes me hate society these days. Between this and Baby its Cold Outside and PETA with their bullshirt anti-animal phrases...

I have often heard Irish radio stations play Mylo - Drop The Pressure, especially before 9am while taking the kids to school with no bleeps for every time the song says MuthaFuka (which is a lot). Where is the outrage about Mylo?? Or Robin Thicke's Blurred Lines' rapey lyrics. We can't have double standards now. In fact let's ban music altogether.

Have a look at the Irish charts at the moment. #2 is a song called Sweet But Psycho. Now as someone who may or may not be directly or indirectly affected by mental illness, I find great offence in the use of the word Psycho. Let's ban that song too

There's no hope for the world

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,671 ✭✭✭jay0109

Have a look at the Irish charts at the moment. #2 is a song called Sweet But Psycho. Now as someone who may or may not be directly or indirectly affected by mental illness, I find great offence in the use of the word Psycho. Let's ban that song too

There's no hope for the world

It was in the news the other day - there is some mental health organisation that has called for that song to be banned because it stigmatises people with mental health issues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

sligojoek wrote: »
    It wouldn't even get to the recording stage.

But the way things are going once they ban FONY the next on the cards will be "All I Want For Christmas Is You" for demanding a person who may or not agree with such demands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭Midlife crisis man

Little drummer BOY. Did somebody just assume his gender. Ban the song