Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

You'll definitely pay over the odds for a build Silvia over a standard one, the same is probably true for a GTST Skyline but maybe not a GTR.

The JDM landscape is no doubt completely different to the Euro market. Really high quality after market parts and a history and culture of modifying is not going to dissipate just because the cars are older.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Thinking of eh, popping the auld eh, Glanza up for sale... €14k, holy moses.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Now would be a good time! :D

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

I had to text him to find out. Yeah he's serious. He's entertaining offers around 10k...

That is mental. He is completely off the head. It would be even over priced for a VTi imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 372 ✭✭hawkeyethenoo

Think I’ll sell my Glanza as well :) tho It’s one thing putting a glanza up for 14k but there’s no chance he’ll get close to it though. Nobody in their right mind will pay it. one of the lads had his up for 8,500 had an ad up for weeks and only got offers of around half that, had to take the ad down. Sold it locally for 6,500 still good money

Eoinbmw wrote: »
    Now would be a good time! :D

Tis a bit like selling your second property in Q4 2007.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭yamaha4life

I sold my glanza for €1500 in 2013.
    TD04 front mount boost controller bucket seats etc engine bay and under the bonnet sprayed purple car resprayed gunmetal grey. If i still had it i could add a 0 to the price? Lol

• Registered Users Posts: 1,746 ✭✭✭Eoinbmw

Tis a bit like selling your second property in Q4 2007.
    That is a perfect analogy of the market I reckon!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Think I’ll sell my Glanza as well :) tho It’s one thing putting a glanza up for 14k but there’s no chance he’ll get close to it though. Nobody in their right mind will pay it.
    That's another problem with the Irish market. Irish owner sees Hondyota GTZx 3000 Type R gets 20k in the UK or US or Japan and thinks it's worth that here and there are enough potential buyers willing to pay. Only there's not. A few years back when the glut of JDM imports post celtic tiger hangover was hitting rock bottom prices here, the same cars were at least a third and often double or more the price in say the UK and even higher in the US and Japan. I pointed a couple of UK lads to cars for sale here that when they saw the prices they couldn't hotfoot it to the ferry quick enough with cash in hand.

Ireland is a very different market. We tend to be suburban aspirational and stuff that's seen as a bit non U tends to go out of fashion fast. The insurance industry, that bastion of measured fairness and transparency :rolleyes: hated the JDM stuff, or anything too lairy so pushed them as boyracer machines while taking genuine owners roughly from behind without lube or the decency of a reach around come renewal time. Oh and the arbitrary cut off of 20, the 15 then 10 years old was verboten(while peddling their usual bullshíte). SIMI of course had plenty to say. How dare Irish consumers seek out better specced cars at lower prices... And the government just loves the oul "easy credit" to buy new cars as it garners more tax and makes the books look good. Plus because of the small number/percentage of petrolheads here support is low enough. It's not like England where if you walk 2 miles you'll trip over a specialist who will rebuild your 1920's Armstrong Siddeley from a single bolt and a chassis plate.

So a Glanza like the above could have potentially hundreds of buyers if they were selling it in London, but a half dozen selling it here.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

^What Wibbs said.

There was an e39 M5 for sale recently on donedeal for something mental like 70k, again I texted to see if he's serious and he pointed me to the one that sold in the USA for $150k.

You can't compare, totally totally different market. Shur you can still buy a 600cc kei car in Japan for literally hundreds of euros, Ireland 6-7k. Different market, you can't compare them. I wouldn't mind if a fella though a car owed him that sort of money but you know they picked them up for peanuts like that ek 1.4 civic posted earlier for 10k, they're just chancers and everything that's wrong with buying cars in Ireland right now. When they do it they should be rightly ridiculed.

I sold my glanza for €1500 in 2013.
    TD04 front mount boost controller bucket seats etc engine bay and under the bonnet sprayed purple car resprayed gunmetal grey. If i still had it i could add a 0 to the price? Lol

I bought mine in 2012 i think it was for €1800 and the fella was glad to get that for it from what i can remember.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

And it's a waste of time reporting ads like that to donedeal. My head was melted a few weeks ago with a similar seller. Reporting did nothing.

Why would you waste your time reporting Donedeal ads of dreamers?

It's not like some poor guy will accidentally pay 14k instead od 1.4k.

Move on and ignore.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

E30 325i sport Mtec 1. €21000. Apparently Mint wont be faulted.

Cracked dash, non original wheels, no mtec 1 steering wheel, seat bolsters appear to have been recovered in faux leather which is now worn . 135k miles same since 2009 when it got a fuel filter.

Its could be a nice car if rust free but it's not worth 21k as is

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1987-bmw-325i-sport-e-30/27518167

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

^What Wibbs said.

There was an e39 M5 for sale recently on donedeal for something mental like 70k, again I texted to see if he's serious and he pointed me to the one that sold in the USA for $150k.
    +1000 The US market has gone nuts. The BAT site has really egged it on. No comparison at all. For a start, stuff we got in droves, they either didn't get, or were limited editions. Add in their 25 year import rule and all bets are off. If I'd any brains or money a few years back I'd have trawled the sheds and garages and barns of Europe and stashed some nice stuff and offered it up to Americans in the last year. Sadly I'm lacking in both.
    I wouldn't mind if a fella though a car owed him that sort of money but you know they picked them up for peanuts like that ek 1.4 civic posted earlier for 10k, they're just chancers and everything that's wrong with buying cars in Ireland right now. When they do it they should be rightly ridiculed.
    I'd agree, but I'll bet the farm that there are buyers out there who will buy into the current daftness. That tulip mania thing is far more contagious than covid. I remember the Buy and Sell magazine with people going nuts over "circle of hands" 50p pieces because a meme had spread that they were somehow valuable.
    I bought mine in 2012 i think it was for €1800 and the fella was glad to get that for it from what i can remember.
    Ah sure back in '12 the lad was right to be glad TF. Sure that was in play up to 2017 or so. If not later. This Woo Flu pandemic has lit the blue touch paper on all sorts of collectables. For all sorts of reasons.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭Speedline

I'm genuinely tempted to hang onto my 05 Avensis until its worth what I paid for it 7 years ago. I paid 1700 euros back then.

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭yamaha4life

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27960812

Has to be a typo @ €19,500

• Registered Users Posts: 3,503 ✭✭✭Killinator

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/27960812

Has to be a typo @ €19,500

'Perfect condition'...

Looks at floor mats and seats....'nah you're alright mate'!

Do people think that if they just say something is perfect or mint that if they put up no photos then people will automatically belive it.

If it's anything like my other half's old one it's not worth the value even if you knocked off a zero. Engines and running gear made of chocolate and bolted together with butter!

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Car99 wrote: »

Wonder would we get a few berries offthe briars

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

"comes with logbook"

Thats all you need to know.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭blade1

I saw something recently and the ad said "in perfect condition for restoration" :pac:

"Tractor available to help with loading"...

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Overall shell condition is poor, but comes with logbook.

Super

• Registered Users Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Wibbs wrote: »
    "Tractor available to help with loading"...

Lol and No Sob stories....:p

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

33 grand and I even think sterling too. It is clean and all but mad price altogether.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/84-toyota-corolla-ae86-uk-car-from-new/28145055?campaign=3

OWUwNzgxNTg1NzU4Y2I1OTczNjMwODg0ZDJiMTcxNTRnrITW77FkbtW1BIuvyYw5aHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xODA1ODEyODl8fHwxMjAweDEyMDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

• Registered Users Posts: 8,856 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

And sold apparently. Nearly 39 thousand euro for a 130bhp corolla, no thanks

In fairness Wotz it's an absolute minter with a low number of owners, original paperwork and with an original UK/Euro shell, rather than an imported JDM shell after the original dissolved like a disprin in the rain which happened to many if not most of them. Lots of pics too, even showing the underside, though the lack of engine bay pic would have me ask the question why. mid 20k in sterlings seems about right for good ones these days. They are mad craic to drive too.

PsychoPete wrote: »
    And sold apparently. Nearly 39 thousand euro for a 130bhp corolla, no thanks

The market is gone mad.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Surely the Corolla has gone to an raffle website where they can turn another 20k on it. Another reason the market has gone nuts. Lovely car but 30+k, lol no thanks.

Who wants a high milage, obviously got a wallop Vectra for €1800

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2009-opel-vectra/27839568

Couldn't even be arsed to get matching headlights.

I sold my Vectra recently for €500 and I was happy to get that...