Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Why the hell is there such an increase in people using Snapchat screenshots with the captions on them in car ads????

You’re just not with it.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,721 ✭✭✭✭CianRyan

I can accept it (somewhat) when it's the only shot they have of new parts. Sure it's short sighted but better than nothing.

When they out up a Snapchat to the 9's picture of the car sitting in their drive though... Just walk outside and take another one!

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

I couldn't agree more, I hate when sellers do that.

Donedeal have a lot to answer for....they’ll take ads off anyone, even tens of ads, and accept them as “ private”, sickening racket...the homes section is rotten with businesses posing as privates, flogging 3piece suites, and suchlike. Pity dd has no opposition.

And it's a waste of time reporting ads like that to donedeal. My head was melted a few weeks ago with a similar seller. Reporting did nothing.
    Loadsa sellers masquerading as privates..donedeal don’t give a toss...and then they give this bs about “made with love in Wexford “ ..grabbers..
    H

Wibbs wrote: »
    That's another problem with the Irish market. Irish owner sees Hondyota GTZx 3000 Type R gets 20k in the UK or US or Japan and thinks it's worth that here and there are enough potential buyers willing to pay. Only there's not. A few years back when the glut of JDM imports post celtic tiger hangover was hitting rock bottom prices here, the same cars were at least a third and often double or more the price in say the UK and even higher in the US and Japan. I pointed a couple of UK lads to cars for sale here that when they saw the prices they couldn't hotfoot it to the ferry quick enough with cash in hand.

Ireland is a very different market. We tend to be suburban aspirational and stuff that's seen as a bit non U tends to go out of fashion fast. The insurance industry, that bastion of measured fairness and transparency :rolleyes: hated the JDM stuff, or anything too lairy so pushed them as boyracer machines while taking genuine owners roughly from behind without lube or the decency of a reach around come renewal time. Oh and the arbitrary cut off of 20, the 15 then 10 years old was verboten(while peddling their usual bullshíte). SIMI of course had plenty to say. How dare Irish consumers seek out better specced cars at lower prices... And the government just loves the oul "easy credit" to buy new cars as it garners more tax and makes the books look good. Plus because of the small number/percentage of petrolheads here support is low enough. It's not like England where if you walk 2 miles you'll trip over a specialist who will rebuild your 1920's Armstrong Siddeley from a single bolt and a chassis plate.

So a Glanza like the above could have potentially hundreds of buyers if they were selling it in London, but a half dozen selling it here.

Mr Wibbs makes a measured argument.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

For a nice change. :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/28224210

€7k for a 1995 Volvo Diesel estate?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

I Was VB wrote: »

Starting to make big money now. Like t5 money from years ago. Lovely car id have it in a second and it's classic soon.

I can see the logic in that.

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Surely dreamer territory? I sold one privately recently for nearly 1/3 the price- same year, less mileage, same spec - granted body a good bit rougher and NCT just out
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/28212996
    The presentation is excellent but a 14 years old why bother?

• Registered Users Posts: 982 ✭✭✭Rrrrrr2

Surely by 1995 Volvo were fitting airbags?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Surely by 1995 Volvo were fitting airbags?

Depends how long the car was sitting around unsold. The 440/460 certainly had them from 95 onwards as did the 850.

Would that be related to the engine in the VW Transporter so?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Would that be related to the engine in the VW Transporter so?

Not sure, I don't know enough about them tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 MeadowMaker

Like yeah but also no, not here at least.

Land cruisers are a weird one, like a twin cam for dudes that like surfing more than doing rings.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭TrailerBob

It's a clean cruiser, but it's a 10 grand machine.. maybe 11 on a good day. Friend of mine picked up a 94 LX model just as clean for 8.5k a couple of years back. Now if it was a 60 series in that condition on Irish plates.. you might be talking

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,159 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Rrrrrr2 wrote: »
    Surely dreamer territory? I sold one privately recently for nearly 1/3 the price- same year, less mileage, same spec - granted body a good bit rougher and NCT just out
    https://www.donedeal.ie/view/28212996
    The presentation is excellent but a 14 years old why bother?
    It's pretty cheap, but 150,000 miles in old money? And as you say 14 years old, so the insurance highwaymen won't be happy.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 41 MeadowMaker

TrailerBob wrote: »
    It's a clean cruiser, but it's a 10 grand machine.. maybe 11 on a good day. Friend of mine picked up a 94 LX model just as clean for 8.5k a couple of years back. Now if it was a 60 series in that condition on Irish plates.. you might be talking

60 series are rare alright. Have only ever seen one here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,097 ✭✭✭johndaman66

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-gti/27884100
    I'm not even saying that Corolla is or isn't overpriced considering the way the market has gone recently/ is going. The lady selling it is implying that it is a bargain given that "Similar one sold last week in the UK for £22,000" (for which no backup/ link is provided).

The reason I'm posting it is if you go back to posts #113 - #122 of this very thread there was a similar (if not nicer if I recall correctly) 92 GTI being discussed on whether or not it was overpriced at €9,000 and that was just over 2 years ago. As I recall it was pretty original (apart from TSW Stealths and maybe an aftermarket exhaust as I recall). I'm fairly certain it was an original Irish GTI too.

Throwing the cat among the pigeons at the time I asked if it really was overpriced, given the cost of buying and bringing over a less tidy looking one from the UK (only one I could see on pistonheads at the time that was not POA). With my own back of a beer mat type maths at the time the UK example was not working out insanely less expensive after all in for what seemed to be a much more rough looking example. My own gut at the time was telling me the one posted in the thread here as dreamer was arguably pretty on the money.

To think I was strongly considering going to look at that GTI at the time but for having the time. That same money I would have bought it with at the time has being sitting on deposit since, not earning anything worth in the way of interest and being annihilated by inflation.

That's all probably neither here nor there. I appreciate that the market has moved on a lot in the past two years.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Some pictures I have a sore neck from straining to look at them.

I know it's a GTi but they are mad underpowered for at least 20 years if not more so I do not see the attraction of them considering the price.

The lady selling it is implying that it is a bargain given that "Similar one sold last week in the UK for £22,000" (for which no backup/ link is provided).
    16,000 for that even with the pandemic pricing seems a bit mad ted. And yet again we have an Irish seller seeing the price of similar in another quite different market and assuming that's what it's worth here. If there's ten people in Ireland that would be interested in that car at any price I'd be surprised, in the UK you could have a couple of hundred.

Yeah that's not happening they're looking for AE86 money for the forgotten FWD warm hatch. It's lovely but I'd (personally) value it at half that price with better pictures and proper detail done.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,452 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

Corolla looks familiar. Almost sure I saw that on Facebook marketplace in the north a few weeks ago sub 5k. Even at 5k... No.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Makes me wonder what mine is now worth... But wow

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/1989-spec1-r32gtr/28242608

• Registered Users Posts: 2,704 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

The chape tax adds 30k...

Feckin hell though, that's some coinage

• Registered Users Posts: 8,858 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Corolla looks familiar. Almost sure I saw that on Facebook marketplace in the north a few weeks ago sub 5k. Even at 5k... No.

I'm also sure I seen that for sale maybe a month or two ago for less than half that. 8-9k seems to be the going rate for a restored GTI Corolla, they do have a good following, it's probably hard to get a good one but personally couldn't justify that kind of money for one

Cheensbo wrote: »
    The chape tax adds 30k...

Feckin hell though, that's some coinage
    Sixty thousand quid?!!! :eek::eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,616 ✭✭✭milltown

I love it!

"Tyres like new"
    Except they're really, really not!
    "Put on about four years ago"
    *cough* at least six years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Needles73

Some pictures I have a sore neck from straining to look at them.

I know it's a GTi but they are mad underpowered for at least 20 years if not more so I do not see the attraction of them considering the price.

Absolutely underpowered. Used to autocross with one. We used to reckon the Peugeot partner van we used to pull it on to events would be quicker.