Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭jmreire

Is 106k “very low” miles?

Lower than most Corollas of that vintage for sale, but hardly writing home about. I recently came across a green 01 saloon with 38k and I didn’t bother with it (although it’s rough as a bears arse compared to the above example) and it was 400 quid

But did it have a tow bar on it??? :D:D:D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

jmreire wrote: »
    But did it have a tow bar on it??? :D:D:D:D

It did in my eye, 1 nervous nun owner. I’d say it hardly saw 5th gear, but the poor thing was bounced from pillar to post on every outing unfortunately

• Registered Users Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭Top Dog

FDave wrote: »
    https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla/24734006

€2950 for a 2001 corolla. Daithi needs to learn how to take pics of cars from the front and back too. Lazy number plate hiding.
    Original windscreen? That's a selling point now? :eek::rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Top Dog wrote: »
    Original windscreen? That's a selling point now? :eek::rolleyes:

If he had of hoovered it it would be worth the money 🀣

https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1223987

49856661597_5ed7a33077_z.jpg

Guess how much..

How far off were you?

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I was £19000 off and I was allowing for it to be crazily overpriced.

Pure gold
    After the car’s initial Pre-Delivery Inspection at Mercedes-Benz in 1996, it is assumed that it was given routine maintenance to keep it in good running order, though there is unfortunately no documentation to prove this.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

Guess how much..

How far off were you?

13 grand! Holy Moses

• Registered Users Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

Guess how much..

How far off were you?

About
    £21000
    off and I thought I was over pricing the car.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Yeah, thought that was gas. Your man must be getting tips from Simon Deane in how to sex up a car ad. No service history, stain on the carpet, stone chips along the front, some degree of kerbing to all four wheels, tyres date marked over 20 years of age, car laid up for 5 years, given a wash and vac and value x10 on the calculator.

Dont forget the UK version of the classic
    The vendor believes there is no reason why it would not pass an MOT first-time

Fair play to them if they get near the asking, genuinely.

colm_mcm wrote: »

Pure gold

Its still on 24 year old tyres but we are supposed to believe the its not still using its original oil and filters!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭coolisin

Anyone else read that advert in a posh accent?

@duke I was around £15000 off the price.

But I love they have turned kerbing, and original 1996 tyres into a complete positive, while also giving a life story of some bloke who is so rich he never serviced a car just bought a new car instead.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Austmcc

Guess how much..

How far off were you?

Jaysus. I was over 20k off. My favourite part is the question mark after the first paragraph stating the mileage.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

Guess how much..

How far off were you?

You would be paying VAT because the mileage is below 6,000 km. So a bit of a nightmare end to a dreamer price.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭blade1

You would be paying VAT because the mileage is below 6,000 km. So a bit of a nightmare end to a dreamer price.

You wouldn't because you'd surely put up the 700ish miles before vrt.

blade1 wrote: »

You wouldn’t because surely you wouldn’t buy it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 12,346 ✭✭✭✭blade1

colm_mcm wrote: »
    You wouldn’t because surely you wouldn’t buy it :)

I might.
    I've been binging on Ozark during the lockdown .:pac:

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 19,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭Sam Russell

blade1 wrote: »

It is good to know that a purchaser, paying such a price, would not be caught for VAT as well as paying through the nose for the car.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,660 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Close the thread. After #1432 posts, we finally found the dreamer of the century. I'd imagine the 1495 views of the advert are lads sharing the joke around.

That shape just reminds me of Bertie Ahern, it has no redeeming qualities.

That is an absolute gem of a comment

And it makes perfect sense too!

Well done :P

• Registered Users Posts: 8,510 ✭✭✭jmreire

Close the thread. After #1432 posts, we finally found the dreamer of the century. I'd imagine the 1495 views of the advert are lads sharing the joke around.

A hang on a minute,,,thats an honest car, the shape you see is the shape you get,,,same cannot be said about Bertie, ( except maybe about the money....) ???:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That thing is for sale an absolute age

They are worth a nice bit usually though ?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Duke, I see your stupidly overpriced Merc and give you this https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/01-golf-gti-mk4/24733016

150bhp, now 300bhp?

You could be lucky owner 13
    1.8ltr on the book it's know a 3.5ltr
    It is in its bollix

Is that ad supposed to be a piss take or what?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,706 ✭✭✭Midnight_EG

Is that ad supposed to be a piss take or what?

I'm reading it as one, but then again I'm not certain.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,860 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

They have an ad for a Zafira with the golf in the background

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

That's a great yoke for going through floods.