Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

I committed a few sins too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,519 ✭✭✭ILikeBoats

Punto Sportings?

Here is my beautiful example. My first car, bought in 2007.
    It came with stickers up the door, I managed to get some off but the bottom two which are still visible were lacquered over for some reason.
    It had the abarth front bumper, 17s and a noisy exhaust! I loved it :D

522339.png

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭davycc

Lovely first car. I had a couple of broom yellow cinqo sporting under my belt ..

Epic fun mobiles
    All about smiles per miles!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25763472

€9950 for a 29 year W124 with no nct, afaik this was up for private sale not so long ago?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,616 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I Was VB wrote: »

€9950 for a 29 year W124 with no nct, afaik this was up for private sale not so long ago?

Assuming it comes with NCT I don't really think that's over priced

• Registered Users Posts: 311 ✭✭Vittu

It is a fine looking car, is it worth 9k? That depends on your situation. Mileage not too bad for the age. Will hold its price if well minded I imagine

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

The cheap tax is another reason for price. Insurance wouldn't be much either.

But at the other end of the stick I doubt it has any performance even though it's a 3 litre.

I'd imagine it's more of a wafter

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Would they be fixing that big hoor of a scuff on the drivers side of the rear bumper for the €10k?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

It was actually for sale from a private seller for €10k, I posted it in the classic "bargains" thread about a month ago. Its a lovely car and very rare in that spec and with that engine as an original Irish car. I think if it was a coupe it would probably fetch close to it.

I used to see it around Sutton and Clontarf with its original owner until fairly recently.

I sold my 94 W124 last year for €1950, admittedly it was a 2.0 with fairly basic spec. Thought it was right money.

Could a 2.6 24valve that’s 3 years older be worth €8k more?

I sold my 94 W124 last year for €1950, admittedly it was a 2.0 with fairly basic spec. Thought it was right money.

Here’s a 300E for over less than half price, lower miles and leather https://www.donedeal.ie/view/25769210

Co Cavan
    524438.jpg

Co Cavan
    524439.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 40,427 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Vittu wrote: »
    Co Cavan
    524439.jpg

what do your pics have to do with dreamer of the year?

They're on the way up in value, it's a large engined, well specced Merc. The other thing is it's at a dealer so that'll have an impact. It would want to be near mint however hence I qualified my comment that it would need an NCT, someone else spotted a scuffed bumper which I missed. I'd also expect that being done.

There was a good explanation posted a while back about how and why dealers charge more for cars like that, especially the likes of Deane's Motors, but in short they know more people and have a bigger customer base in the specific market.

I do think if the car is turned out right and in good condition then the price, while high, isn't overpriced. You could use it every day in perfect comfort with cheap tax, insurance and maintenance and if you look after it properly it shouldn't lose much value.

The overpriced stuff will follow now however with lads dragging cars out of hedges and asking €5k if a good one can be sold for €9/10k. I've seen this happening of late with automatic mid 90's Corolla XLi's on donedeal for over €5k. Now fella's are looking for €1k + for scrap cars. It's a mental bubble.

ba_barabus wrote: »
    They're on the way up in value, it's a large engined, well specced Merc. The other thing is it's at a dealer so that'll have an impact. It would want to be near mint however hence I qualified my comment that it would need an NCT, someone else spotted a scuffed bumper which I missed. I'd also expect that being done.

There was a good explanation posted a while back about how and why dealers charge more for cars like that, especially the likes of Deane's Motors, but in short they know more people and have a bigger customer base in the specific market.

I do think if the car is turned out right and in good condition then the price, while high, isn't overpriced. You could use it every day in perfect comfort with cheap tax, insurance and maintenance and if you look after it properly it shouldn't lose much value.

The overpriced stuff will follow now however with lads dragging cars out of hedges and asking €5k if a good one can be sold for €9/10k. I've seen this happening of late with automatic mid 90's Corolla XLi's on donedeal for over €5k. Now fella's are looking for €1k + for scrap cars. It's a mental bubble.

Still I reckon it’s about €4K overpriced with a fresh nct and immaculate bodywork.

Your correct with lads dragging shook looking motors from a hedge and asking stupid money.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Are the front and rear lights original on the €10k Mercedes 300 -24?

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dallara

This is the best one I've seen in a while:

On donedeal: 89-e30-bmw-325i-rolling-shell-no-book

No engine, so its not a 325i then, is it? I would go on, but its a shorter list of what IS there.

No logbook? Not really even the seller's car then...

"e30 bmw 325i 1989 clean rolling shell driver side floor well will need to be replace apart from that solid book needs to be applied for no logbook" - "clean rolling shell driver side floor well will need to be replace" ?? Not really a clean shell so, is it?

Someone may buy this car out of sympathy though, as the money could be put to good use for literacy education, and some glasses for the seller, not to mention anti-psychotics, or maybe just a ride home on a rocket from whatever planet the seller is living on

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Cars become rare, it’s always been this way. A 3 door e30 was way more rare in its time than a 3 door Escort was in its day, and prices for shells will also go crazy on e30s.
    Humdrum cars that nobody sees the value in when they’ve hit rock bottom go up in value too, again it’s always been this way.

Still I reckon it’s about €4K overpriced with a fresh nct and immaculate bodywork.

Your correct with lads dragging shook looking motors from a hedge and asking stupid money.

Now this is dreamer territory

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/vintage-cars/25583752

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Dallara

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Cars become rare, it’s always been this way. A 3 door e30 was way more rare in its time than a 3 door Escort was in its day, and prices for shells will also go crazy on e30s.
    Humdrum cars that nobody sees the value in when they’ve hit rock bottom go up in value too, again it’s always been this way.

I bought 4 E30s all 2 doors during this "sweet spot" circa 2009. The most I paid was 400eur, for a "red" (faded to pink on bonnet and boot, white on roof) drove it away and performed a full mech restoration, and sorted all the rust underneath... I left the exterior body exactly as found, except a large section of paint that was burned off from welding up the rear quarter. I didnt have any red paint to paint over the burned section, so i used what I had, metallic blue hammerite..! It had a Lexus IS200 rear wing spoiler, 89KK263 It was the best "drivers car" I ever owned, I had a 2 inch thick history file full of receipts the man who bought it from me asked "What would I want that for?"

That broke my heart...

• Registered Users Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Where are these corolla prices coming from, theses things aren't worth any more than 500 or 600

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-si/25798001

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

That's a 3dr 1.6, i think he's not a million miles away. You'd probably buy it for 1700 or so. It has all the things Corolla people want in one, the Si interior, 4 spoke steering wheel, white face instrument cluster, power windows and sunroof.

I agree when you see 1.3 saloons going for 4 and 5k.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

That's nice little car. I'd have it, No bother.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,861 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

I know it's an si and as much of a E10 Corolla fan that I am, if that was very clean with nothing to do to it I could justify that price

• Registered Users Posts: 17,454 ✭✭✭✭MEGA BRO WOLF 5000

PsychoPete wrote: »
    Where are these corolla prices coming from, theses things aren't worth any more than 500 or 600

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/toyota-corolla-si/25798001

Because some youngfella up around Louth, Leitrim, Cavan is looking at that right now and touching himself.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,047 ✭✭✭Truckermal

That's a 3dr 1.6, i think he's not a million miles away. You'd probably buy it for 1700 or so. It has all the things Corolla people want in one, the Si interior, 4 spoke steering wheel, white face instrument cluster, power windows and sunroof.

I agree when you see 1.3 saloons going for 4 and 5k.

That's a beauty!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/ford-focus-t230-very-rare/25801422

YmM1ZmQ1MDE3Y2RkM2U0YjFhMTgyMzI5YmYyYjI5Y2YWKA63Ckp5r-4uYO_HxMMHaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNTUyMTMzMzN8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

Original Irish Focus t230, 2.0 turbo.

Is something like this worth €10k? Hasn't had an NCT in 10 years!

Who knows, I doubt even the seller does.

But, it's a very rare fast Ford of a mk1 Focus. I'd say it would surprise you how much it could be worth to the right person. Having said that the seller could of cleaned it up and taken much better pictures of it to at least justify the price. It doesn't look that bad but if you're going asking top dollar a set of mats and a decent camera would really have helped it.