Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

And the winner of dreamer of the year is... Part 2!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,506 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

User1998 wrote: »

It's had a full rebuild though, that engine is good to go for at least 2 thousand miles now...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,079 ✭✭✭✭Duke O Smiley

Fiesta well able for much more but seriously€3k....

That's the mad part.

Imo worth €1k pushing at €1500

With nice pictures that’s €1995 or very close to it IMO.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

It's had a full rebuild though, that engine is good to go for at least 2 thousand miles now...

Front reg plate isn't even on straight.....
    Amateurs

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

With nice pictures that’s €1995 or very close to it IMO.

Private sale though, I'd expect that pricing at garage sale level to be honest.

• Registered Users Posts: 21,065 ✭✭✭✭Odyssey 2005

User1998 wrote: »

I'm pretty sure I was behind this in Kilkenny today. Had to turn on the recirculating air in the car. It wasn't smokey but it was fukin stink of fumes. Was being driven "energetically"

• Registered Users Posts: 73,454 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

That sounds right. They aren’t tested for emissions in the NCT either

• Registered Users Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

Just going to say, i think if it had a test, he mightn't be a million miles away. Those rotarys have a following, that one is well sorted and most importantly, as pointed out it's in the right tax bracket.

Maybe not 8k but 5 or 6k would be good for it i think. If you wanted a tidy one, i doubt there's any others for sale and you'd never import one now.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,884 ✭✭✭Tzardine

Just going to say, i think if it had a test, he mightn't be a million miles away. Those rotarys have a following, that one is well sorted and most importantly, as pointed out it's in the right tax bracket.

Maybe not 8k but 5 or 6k would be good for it i think. If you wanted a tidy one, i doubt there's any others for sale and you'd never import one now.

There is a very good series of videos by Car Throttle on YouTube. They do a full rebuild on an engine from one at a specialist's, including doing the street port. Very good run through of the rotary engine and how they are put together.

Worth a watch.

Actually watched those before, would also recommend :)

Just had a quick flick through donedeal, lots of exampkes for less than €2k but i think most of them would fall into the category of car that CT started out with, i.e. a POS.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

Juiceboxforyou YouTube channel went to a rotary specialist in Dublin in a video two or three weeks ago to get a engine rebuilt. I never knew there was a specialist for rotarys in Ireland and they said the same in the video.

I was going to say it definitely isn't next nor nead councours because it probably didn't leave the factory eith that much rust, but then again.

I like them and i can see why they are coming back to being cool but i don't know if it's worth actual money yet. Maybe in another 5 years.

What do you reckon yourself Duke?

I gave just €500 a few months ago for a very mint 3 door. Same engine, same mileage, albeit not a ghia, and totally rust free, not one spec on it. Cost me another 50 quid to fix the heater and electric window and it has a clean NCT.

I am doing a full refurbishment on it, its just parked in the shed untill the weather gets a bit nicer.

These Fiestas are not commanding anything near 4k yet, no matter how clean or concourse they are. There are a few advertised at the moment for silly money. They are just not quite there yet.

Just noticed it's automatic, I don't know if that adds or takes away from it (or does anything at all for the value) but either way I too would be of the opinion that people probably aren't paying into four figures for them yet.

Compare it to this one that we had a few months ago and it doesn't seem too bad. I'd definitely try to find another grand somewhere for the nicer Ghia example if I was buying.

I haven't driven one of those Fiestas in so long, I'd like a shot in one again. For a small car its nicely kitted out too, fogs, alloys, wood dash and even electric mirrors.

Funnily enough, I think it (the Ghia one) is being sold by my old metal work teacher from school :pac:

Just noticed that red one has had over a grand knocked off the asking price since it was last posted on the thread.

Whatever about the 98 one being worth 4k, the 97 still isn't worth 2k, it's just not fresh enough. I know i've ranted about it before but it's missing it's rear wiper arm, it's roof whip, spurious hub caps, had a bit of bodywork, i'd at least want him to straighten up the mat in the drivers footwell for the photos if he's going to **** me for 2 grand for that yoke.

Have both those Fiesta's got different engines. One's down as a 1.3 and the other 1.2

I know they came with a old 1.3 lump and then a newer 1.25 but I do not know when or what year etc.. they changed over.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,855 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Have a bit of a soft spot for those but they are a long way off a 4k asking price

The €4k ghia one is the 1.25 zetec, the other one is a 1.3 pushrod.

Hard to know what to want there, the 1.25 is nice but the pushrod is the pushrod, not as zippy but has it's own bit of character to it.

Yeah, its hard to pick between them. Logic would say that you go for the Zetec every time, but the pushrod had a lot of character, and was of course famously reliable even when treated harshly.

Tbh you can't go wrong with either engine. It was a great platform and they are good craic to drive regardless of which lump you have.

I will eventually pick up a Zetec S at some point. Had a spin in one years back, the 1.6 Sigma is a peach.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/honda-civic-ej9/26997348

€2450!

Bonus points for being posted in the classic section of donedeal.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭TheW1zard

That rx8 is the 5 speed. The one to get is the 6 speed, it has more ponies and revs to 10k

That Civic doesn't even have a NCT. Needs new exhaust and a seat belt and maybe something else I just quickly proof read the ad so may have missed something.

TheW1zard wrote: »
    That rx8 is the 5 speed. The one to get is the 6 speed, it has more ponies and revs to 10k

The one for sale either has a custom ECU or a stock re-writable one as it says in the ad it has a custom map so may rev that high as well and has higher power output than the car had when stock.

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/bmw-e36/27010690

NzRjZWM3MTdmMDczYjgxNWVlNjczMzQxNDYzNzZiZGUy8tosYRT1fKL9KiYCMQfeaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMTA0NDh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

YjM4MzkzYjQzNWM5YWY3M2JhYWU0YTVjZTAxNmU2NDTdBf05U4qPl_LEPVoG2nIuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMTA0NTF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

I know these are rare now but €2200 seems mental for one in this state, a 1.6 no less

Yep completely wrong engine. Thing about BMW is they were designed for big engines.

The one for sale either has a custom ECU or a stock re-writable one as it says in the ad it has a custom map so may rev that high as well and has higher power output than the car had when stock.

Yeah but when a 6 speed pulls up beside you know yourself!

NzRjZWM3MTdmMDczYjgxNWVlNjczMzQxNDYzNzZiZGUy8tosYRT1fKL9KiYCMQfeaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMTA0NDh8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

YjM4MzkzYjQzNWM5YWY3M2JhYWU0YTVjZTAxNmU2NDTdBf05U4qPl_LEPVoG2nIuaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b18xNjgzMTA0NTF8fHw2MDB4NjAwfHx8fHx8fHw=.jpeg

But the cluster lights are worth 200 alone lol

• Registered Users Posts: 366 ✭✭yamaha4life