Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Vintage Car Scam........in Rathkeale!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

I don't know, the article doesn't actually mention their ethnicity, only their location. Make of that what you will...

Yeah this place is fooking terrible always jumping to conclusions about our culturally enriched ethnic minority.

I have heard it is the AMISH :eek:

You can't be up them at all at all.
    the_syco wrote: »

Ever notice how the media that always calls a spade a spade are the British owned tabloid redtops.

No wonder they are so hated and reviled by the liberal lefty feckers.
    KevinCavan wrote: »
    For every 5000 law abiding travellers, there’s one bad apple.

I presume you are dyslexic and got it mixed up. ;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

*Youngest one doing her English homework...
    Asks "Dad,whats an oxymoron"?

Me: "well isnt this fortuitous"

jmayo wrote: »
    I presume you are dyslexic and got it mixed up. ;)

Must be sarcastic
    Poe's law perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,003 ✭✭✭handlemaster

DrumSteve wrote: »
    Excellent, just in time for hourly traveller bashing thread.

Or maybe and honest admission there is an issue of acceptance by some crime is ok

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

Rathkeale is a lovely spot, so nice in fact. That I know of a cycle club who advise their members to stay away from cycling on certain areas around there. Due to being robbed...Maybe it's just a coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,039 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

And 25999 lovable rogues

• Registered Users Posts: 4,994 ✭✭✭c.p.w.g.w

And 25999 lovable rogues

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

pjohnson wrote: »
    Well other criminal issues aren't meant to be talked about here. Guess they are less relevant.
    What other criminal issues aren't meant to be talked about here?
    Augeo wrote: »
    My ole lad got his hedge cut one summer, agreed price of €100 ......... light skim of hedge done and the price was then €150 iirc. My Dad felt intimidated so handed over the cash.

I can imagine similar being done with cars etc and on a larger scale, the media aren't giving all of the details on this.
    Your poor dad. :( :mad:

The beautician I go to had to close her salon because of the regular theft (saying she messed up their tan or whatever and insisting on not having to pay) and intimidation (bullying and threatening until she agreed they didn't have to pay). She now works from home and has lost loads of clients and potential clients (as she doesn't want to advertise her address, naturally) but says it's still worth it. The power they have is just ****ed up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Am i the only one giggling at messed up their tans?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

Rory28 wrote: »
    There are 31,000 travellers in Ireland. Going by your figures that means there are 6 criminals in Ireland that are travellers. Does that sound right to you?

Nobody picked up on the sarcasm in my post. It was meant to be tongue in cheek. It was also meant to reflect what the p.c. brigade would say, the ones who are living in an area where you never see a real life traveller.

ELM327 wrote: »
    I would love to see a study on the number of crimes perpetuated by travellers per capita , and the same for "settled" people.

I don't think your 5000:1 hypothesis would be supported, or even close to representative, frankly.

Again have you heard of tongue in cheek?;-)

Must be sarcastic
    Poe's law perhaps

Thanks for picking up on my sarcasm, you are about the only one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

For a shower that represents less than 0.6% of the population, it says something that there seems to be an hourly bashing thread.

If threads were untrue, they'd be deleted, but they are not. Thus the "hourly" bashing threads show the phenomenal level of criminality by this group of criminally minded people.

For a shower that represents less than 0.6% of the population, it says something that there seems to be an hourly bashing thread.

If threads were untrue, they'd be deleted, but they are not. Thus the "hourly" bashing threads show the phenomenal level of criminality by this group of criminally minded people.

This ethnic minority group doesn’t place the same value on education as “country people,” or “gougers.” Travellers don’t get official high paying jobs because of a lack of education. Travellers don’t want to live within the constraints of society. They don’t want to pay taxes. They will gladly take social welfare and children’s allowance, while working. So basically they want to have their cake and eat it too. They have medical cards, so they don’t pay for g.p. visits. “Gougers” or “country people” are afraid of them, so we leave them live this half in, half out life that they choose. We leave them claim medical cards, social welfare and childrens’ allowance, while they work. The guards won’t go near them unless they are unleashing total hell. The revenue commissioners won’t go next or near them. If they get turned away from a pub they can sue that pub. The publican will risk having to pay them ten grand because it’s cheaper than a strong likelihood of having his pub trashed. So basically travellers can have all the benefits of a western society, without contributing towards it, while claiming they are alienated by it. Rant over.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »
    Rathkeale is a lovely spot, so nice in fact. That I know of a cycle club who advise their members to stay away from cycling on certain areas around there. Due to being robbed...Maybe it's just a coincidence

you get mugged whilst cycling?? thats a first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,521 ✭✭✭✭Esel

fryup wrote: »
    you get mugged whilst cycling?? thats a first

Sulkie drive-by mugging.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,816 ✭✭✭skooterblue2

80% of Traveller males over 18 have a criminal record. The other 20% just havent been caught yet.
    15% of the prison population are travellers, it used to be 30% before the 2000's.
    Travellers compromise 1% of the Irish population. Before we had a massive influx of migration and criminalised bad debtors.

Your maths are interesting considering those facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

This ethnic minority group doesn’t place the same value on education as “country people,” or “gougers.” Travellers don’t get official high paying jobs because of a lack of education. Travellers don’t want to live within the constraints of society. They don’t want to pay taxes. They will gladly take social welfare and children’s allowance, while working. So basically they want to have their cake and eat it too. They have medical cards, so they don’t pay for g.p. visits. “Gougers” or “country people” are afraid of them, so we leave them live this half in, half out life that they choose. We leave them claim medical cards, social welfare and childrens’ allowance, while they work. The guards won’t go near them unless they are unleashing total hell. The revenue commissioners won’t go next or near them. If they get turned away from a pub they can sue that pub. The publican will risk having to pay them ten grand because it’s cheaper than a strong likelihood of having his pub trashed. So basically travellers can have all the benefits of a western society, without contributing towards it, while claiming they are alienated by it. Rant over.

Yet PC **** claim with a straight face that they are oppressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,340 ✭✭✭Filmer Paradise

Sums it up really. The Casey vote should alert the powers that be that we, the taxpayers are sick of putting up with this kind of rubbish.

If Leo & Co went after this group with no mercy, he would be leading this country into his Nineties!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭cbreeze

Visit the Equality Authority website and you can see just how many tr******rs have received compensation for being denied entrance to public houses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

80% of Traveller males over 18 have a criminal record. The other 20% just havent been caught yet.
    15% of the prison population are travellers, it used to be 30% before the 2000's.
    Travellers compromise 1% of the Irish population. Before we had a massive influx of migration and criminalised bad debtors.

Your maths are interesting considering those facts.
    Shur they clarified only a few posts above that they were being ironic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Sums it up really. The Casey vote should alert the powers that be that we, the taxpayers are sick of putting up with this kind of rubbish.

If Leo & Co went after this group with no mercy, he would be leading this country into his Nineties!

If one Irish Times letter writer was upset, it would not be worth it for Leo

It's great to see the vintage car market take off in rural Limerick. Next stop, monocle wearing, partaking in the hunt, a rise in demand for RP elocution classes & Fine Gael membership.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's great to see the vintage car market take off in rural Limerick. Next stop, monocle wearing, partaking in the hunt, a rise in demand for RP elocution classes & Fine Gael membership.

What horsesh1t are you talking?

He mustn't be feeling himself.
    No mention of West brits, Irish Times or Kevin Myers.

800 years and you have Barstool Bingo.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

Well the RP classes might improve things. God knows the local accent is horrific.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

c.p.w.g.w wrote: »

4999?

800 years and you have Barstool Bingo.

You seem disproportionately upset by that little comment. Touched a nerve?

For your own good, you really need to get over this whole upset you repeatedly have about people not accepting your nauseating attempts to justify British rule here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

For your own good, you really need to get over this whole upset you repeatedly have about people not accepting your nauseating attempts to justify British rule here.

Except for the police here have flat caps and you'd be using Euros, you'd hardly notice the difference really

All speaking the Queens English and those house designs

And topic of the moment - mad for teh Limey cars people do be -which is grand - not many cars were ever made here as we only had stones and no potatoes

https://secure.i.telegraph.co.uk/multimedia/archive/02388/BRITAIN_2388153b.jpg

Ah pure gold! The site that just keeps giving.
    Please dont ever change.

Who else would hijack a thread about travellers scamming old people of vintage cars, in Rathkeale, with the 800 years of Fine Gael facilitated oppression sthick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,580 ✭✭✭jmreire

Thats one too many !!! :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

It's ironic that there was no mention of travellers in the title, op or link in the op, yet your first thought was that travellers are to blame, just by knowing the name of where it occurred. That's discrimination boss :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

ELM327 wrote: »
    I would love to see a study on the number of crimes perpetuated by travellers per capita , and the same for "settled" people.

I don't think your 5000:1 hypothesis would be supported, or even close to representative, frankly.
    Can we stop calling ourselves settled people? Travellers are simply Irish people who broke off about 400 years ago and are only ethnically different because they have been marrying cousins within a group of 30,000. If they want to consider themselves different fine but then we should be known as the Native group. Lets call ourselves Native Irish and they can be Traveller Irish. I'm sick of this "settled" crap. We're the native population, not some randomers who just came here and took the land from Travellers.

No not really.

Is it some bizarre assumption of yours that 'proper' Irish people shouldn't have any truck with vintage car ownership? I'd really like to know what planet you live on. You know there's people who are into things other than listening to cassette tapes of the Wolfe Tones, you really should get over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

For every 5000 law abiding travellers, there’s one bad apple orchard