Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool Vs Manchester United 16/12 - Sky Sports 16:00 **See OP for mod warnings**

14567810»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

Utd need signings in January.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭54and56

Compare and contrast:-
    giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,052 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

mikeym wrote: »
    Utd need signings in January.

Agreed 100%

They should give Jose another 400m.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,286 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Compare and contrast:-

More the steward at the end of the shot falling over

In the Kop for the game. Fantastic.

Utd beaten easily to reinforce their position.

A wonderful game.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

Really good performance by Liverpool today, totally dominant and Alisson calamity aside Utd barely had a sniff. Fabinho had his best game in a Liverpool shirt by a mile and Robertson was unreal going up and down the wing. Shaqiri really is proving to be an unbelievable bargain at £12m, I said it at the time it was a no brainer to sign him up at that price and add him to squad depth even if some questioned his workrate and or physical shape! Cult hero already imo.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

Gulf in class on the field and in the dugout. Jose style is extinct. All the top sides in Europe attack in final third. Press high and implement an attacking game plan. Only a pity for united fans they were not beaten 9 1 as they'd be rid of their manager faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,500 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

giphy.gif

The gif that keeps giving :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

fullstop wrote: »
    The gif that keeps giving :pac:

The gif that keeps gifing surely!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,705 ✭✭✭54and56

Only a pity for united fans they were not beaten 9 1 as they'd be rid of their manager faster.

No way!! The only way today can possibly get better is if Utd stick with Mourinho. Much as it would make us all feel good should he be fired after we put them to the sword today we have to remember there's a long game to be played here.

The further down the road to obscurity he can lead them the better.

Happy Xmas all :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

19:41:
    Jokes aside. It was the performance and result we all expected. No point getting hyped up beating a team that are mediocre at best. Same as beating Southampton or Burnley. 3 points for a win.

Move on.

United really are ****e.

20:41:
    Gulf in class on the field and in the dugout. Jose style is extinct. All the top sides in Europe attack in final third. Press high and implement an attacking game plan. Only a pity for united fans they were not beaten 9 1 as they'd be rid of their manager faster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭AidoEirE

Clinging to hope. On paper. It's the titanic mate. It'll not improve until the ship and its captain sinks. Fact.

But good luck with the paperback.

Absolutely titanic your right, although your playing well, best ye have in god knows how long but theres a few of ye wreckon you have the league won already the way you post.
    Won sweet **** all in how long, no silverware has come through your doors in years. Trophies you have are gathering dust.
    My point is, wait till the end of the season and see if you win the league then you can act billy big balls.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

19:41:

20:41:

Pints Pints Pints

• Registered Users Posts: 1,033 ✭✭✭Demosthenese

AidoEirE wrote: »
    Absolutely titanic your right, although your playing well, best ye have in god knows how long but theres a few of ye wreckon you have the league won already the way you post.
    Won sweet **** all in how long, no silverware has come through your doors in years. Trophies you have are gathering dust.
    My point is, wait till the end of the season and see if you win the league then you can act billy big balls.

Today was not about winning the league.... It was about making a statement of intent. Play a Derby against a poor team with poor form.... Beat them well. Dominate them. Show who has form and who doesn't. Put a nail in the coffin of a manager whose time is up. A specialist in pointing out others failures..... If you will.

Then and only then. Can you attempt to win a league. And become Billy of the big balls.

Fact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Facht

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,034 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

Jose’s got us playing the way we should....
    I’m into something like parking a bus...

Beautiful win and 3 points <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    In the Kop for the game. Fantastic.

Utd beaten easily to reinforce their position.

A wonderful game.

Yeah but are you happy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

monkey9 wrote: »
    Yeah but are you happy?

Like this I'd say

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

giphy.gif

It really does sum up Mourinho’s Man U to be fair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,037 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

Match of the day is on there if anyone wants to watch it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,605 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I thought Liverpool could have won it by 4 or 5 in the end, great performance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,450 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

niallo27 wrote: »
    Match of the day is on there if anyone wants to watch it.

You're alright thanks.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,564 ✭✭✭✭OwaynOTT

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    I'm expected a result to result from this game.
    Can't wait to not enjoy watching it.

Got the result! Could only have been better, if Liverpool had scored from Atkinson's interception that lead to a break and if the first Utd goal was onside and then unfairly disallowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,304 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    I thought Liverpool could have won it by 14 or 15 in the end, great performance

Fixed that for you, it was like a cup game against opposition from three leagues lower

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Shaqiri really is proving to be an unbelievable bargain at £12m, I said it at the time it was a no brainer to sign him up at that price and add him to squad depth even if some questioned his workrate and or physical shape! Cult hero already imo.

Charlie Adam is a fairly regular guest on the Monday Night or Friday Night football discussion shows on 5live. Not heard him for a few weeks but I'll deffo be checking if he is on tomorrow :) I bet the presenter asks the other pundit about Liverpool/Shaqiri though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,191 ✭✭✭✭Shanotheslayer

Charlie Adam is a fairly regular guest on the Monday Night or Friday Night football discussion shows on 5live. Not heard him for a few weeks but I'll deffo be checking if he is on tomorrow :) I bet the presenter asks the other pundit about Liverpool/Shaqiri though!

No MNF tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

I keep hearing about all this muscle that Lukaku has put on but has anyone actually seen him shirtless because to me he just looks...fat. Fat and slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,580 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

Owl. wrote: »
    I keep hearing about all this muscle that Lukaku has put on but has anyone actually seen him shirtless because to me he just looks...fat. Fat and slow.

And Van Djiks b€&@“; today. How he gets a pass from mourinho is comical, surely he can use his bus to throw him under😉😉😉

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

I thought Clyne looked like a weak link but he has been out for quite some time, Keira also was pretty meh. Even though Lovern gets a lot of flack I thought he was better than anything united had today. But still liverpool were just better and quicker to every ball today. I'm not sure what the hype about Allison is, much better than DDG with his feet but DDG beats him in every other department.

Even with liverpool having 2 weak players today if I did a combined eleven only DDG would start in that Liverpool team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,246 ✭✭✭ardinn

Oranage2 wrote: »
    I thought Clyne looked like a weak link but he has been out for quite some time, Keira also was pretty meh. Even though Lovern gets a lot of flack I thought he was better than anything united had today. But still liverpool were just better and quicker to every ball today. I'm not sure what the hype about Allison is, much better than DDG with his feet but DDG beats him in every other department.

Even with liverpool having 2 weak players today if I did a combined eleven only DDG would start in that Liverpool team.

I'd have allison over DDG any day of the week, immense keeper and statistically the best keeper in the prem by a good bit.

DDG is one of the best in fairness - god knows how he managed to stay in manchester this long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,347 ✭✭✭✭Grayditch

A 90 min visual presentation of the gulf of difference between two teams.

Just incase the league table didn't give it away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,288 ✭✭✭✭rob316

I thought Neville in the post match made the best point. How naive are United's board giving Mourinho a contract extension after 18 months given his longevity at other clubs. To get him out now and I presume buy out Poch from Spurs would cost a fortune.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Well at least yesterdays result puts the whole "Traditional 3rd season meltdown" from Mourinho to rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    Well at least yesterdays result puts the whole "Traditional 3rd season meltdown" from Mourinho to rest.

How many managers in recent history at his clubs have lasted longer than him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

3 years ago today, Jose was sacked by Chelsea after an awful start to the season.

Whats the chances history repeats itself today? :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

GavRedKing wrote: »
    3 years ago today, Jose was sacked by Chelsea after an awful start to the season.

Whats the chances history repeats itself today? :o

What was Chelseas points total at that point Gav, worse than ours I'm assuming. I'll be very surprised, delighted, but surprised, if he's gone before CL is mathematically impossible.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,035 ✭✭✭IITYWYBMAD

Liam O wrote: »
    How many managers in recent history at his clubs have lasted longer than him?

What's that got to do with anything?

The so-called 'special one' is having his usual 3rd season meltdown, as predicated. I actually found myself feeling sorry for Utd yesterday ye were that bad. But I quickly snapped out of it.

Defend him 'till your hearts content, if you want.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

What was Chelseas points total at that point Gav, worse than ours I'm assuming. I'll be very surprised, delighted, but surprised, if he's gone before CL is mathematically impossible.

Well we were 16th at the time and only had 15 pts having lost 9 games.

Its not that bad for Utd but theyre 11 pts off top 4 and 14 pts off relegation, theyre right in the middle of the pack really, even if their table position suggests otherwise.

Given Arsenal, Chelsea and Spurs are fighting for 3rd and 4th, I cant see Utd making up at least 11 pts over one team to get top 4 and theyre not going to win the CL, it would be a massive call but if Utd took this season and wrote it off, giving a new guy a chance to get his ideas bedded down, they could make a stab of it next season to be back in the top 4.

The squad isnt as bad as the results have been and they shouldnt be this far a drift from top 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,369 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

IITYWYBMAD wrote: »
    What's that got to do with anything?

The so-called 'special one' is having his usual 3rd season meltdown, as predicated. I actually found myself feeling sorry for Utd yesterday ye were that bad. But I quickly snapped out of it.

Defend him 'till your hearts content, if you want.
    Go through them and explain how this is current situation anything other than an anomaly in his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,403 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

Liam O wrote: »
    Go through them and explain how this is current situation anything other than an anomaly in his career.

This is an anomaly? Feels very similar to Chelsea 2015 I’d say.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    This is an anomaly? Feels very similar to Chelsea 2015 I’d say.

It feels very similar to every single club he was ever involved with.
    I said it when he got the manu job,the man is poison and only a matter of time before he falls out with everyone and loses the dressing room.

He has actually out done himself this time however and its a fecking joy to watch :D