Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Strokestown **Mod Note in Post #4461**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,053 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

gandalf wrote:
    So if they sent former Provos from Dundalk that would be ok?
    Did you not read 'ordinary, decent'.
    No way would that be ok. Probably a little better because they are from this country but still unacceptable to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,466 ✭✭✭blinding

gandalf wrote: »
    Really :rolleyes:
    Really ; Google what George Soros was doing as a Youth .:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

eagle eye wrote: »
    You see for me the fact that thugs were sent is the major issue.
    I've already answered your question by saying that they should send ordinary, decent people from the Republic of Ireland to do the eviction.
    This is called shifting the goalposts.

Why do Irish people have to carry out the evictions?

Since it's pretty clear what kind of animal scumbags have opposed these evictions, it seems to me to be a better idea to get foreigners to do it. Their personal safety is less likely to be placed at risk by these animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Did you not read 'ordinary, decent'.
    No way would that be ok. Probably a little better because they are from this country but still unacceptable to me.

How about a gaggle of car clampers ;)

blinding wrote: »
    Really ; Google what George Soros was doing as a Youth .:eek:

No Really that you posted that sh!te in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,901 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

seamus wrote: »

Since it's pretty clear what kind of animal scumbags have opposed these evictions, it seems to me to be a better idea to get foreigners to do it. Their personal safety is less likely to be placed at risk by these animals.

Well that is clearly not true, isn't it?

No Really that you posted that sh!te in here.
    The affect that George Soros and his acolytes are having on Irish society make what he was doing in his youth relevant here . I fear that his activities then have turned him into what he is today .

seamus wrote:
    Maybe brush up on you history of Ireland. One of these guys made it clear he was British. The British invaded Ireland and took over all the land many years. Many people are still upset by this.
    If you don't understand this then you haven't a clue.
    Personally I don't have this hate for the British. My issue is that thugs were sent to do the job.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

seamus wrote: »

Or the response was so extreme on the first place because these guys were used?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,249 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

Why do the people carrying out the evictions have to be Irish?
    Why does it matter, unless you're a racist bigot of course?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

What do want to do when you grow up Johnny?
    Evict people from their houses Daddy

*never have I been prouder of my ordinary, decent young lad*

Boggles wrote: »
    Well that is clearly not true, isn't it?

Well I suppose what he means is they can't target their family easily because they are outside the state. I mean look at what a contributor said earlier in this thread. He stated the facts on a facebook post and it resulted in a messaged threat to him and his family with a picture of his house. That was just for expressing his opinion backed up with the facts of the case. The mind boggles at the deluded mentality of people who act in this manner.

markodaly wrote:
    Why do the people carrying out the evictions have to be Irish? Why does it matter, unless you're a racist bigot of course?
    If they sent Irish born honest, decent black men to do the job I wouldn't have a problem with it.
    There goes your racism theory.
    If it's bigoted to be anti-thugs then call me a bigot all day everyday.

Well I suppose what he means is they can't target their family easily because they are outside the state.

You mean the imaginary border up the road?

I'd assure you they could get the addresses if they wanted to.

markodaly wrote: »
    So , Ireland is not to have any History Now .

Eu juice does weird things to yer’e brains .:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

I wonder, do the Gardaí have the names of the people that are responsible for animal cruelty, ( the dogs killed) and the assaults on the people that ended up in the hospital,

And if so.
    Are they are the company that sent them to the home to evict going to pay a penalty

markodaly wrote: »
    I Hear You’re a Racist Now Father !:eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,042 ✭✭✭randd1

Maybe brush up on you history of Ireland. One of these guys made it clear he was British. The British invaded Ireland and took over all the land many years. Many people are still upset by this.
    Personally I don't have this hate for the British. My issue is that thugs were sent to do the job.

It's a valid point. Only for the fact they were legally contracted as a business by another business to remove squatters from their property. I know for a fact if there was a squatter in my house, I'd turf him out. Same principle. Whether they were thugs or not, they were there in a legally contracted working capacity.

And they were certainly no more thuggish than the lads that attacked them with baseball bats and killed a dog.

Of course, had your man paid his taxes, his mortgage and his business partners, none of this would have happened. Hell, even if he engaged with them and came up with some sort of payment plan, it wouldn't have happened.

goat2 wrote: »
    I wonder, do the Gardaí have the names of the people that are responsible for animal cruelty, ( the dogs killed) and the assaults on the people that ended up in the hospital,

And if so.
    Are they are the company that sent them to the home to evict going to pay a penalty
    There is going to be a lot of amnesia around Strokestown and its not just the boys that got the bangs on the head .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Bringing down loyalist henchmen to evict old people from their home a couple of weeks before Christmas is a step too far. No sympathy for them.

Only one group attacked anyone and burned out cars. The other group were only there to remove people from the banks house. The people had the option to walk out themselves with no one near them.

There's only so long you can let adults take the piss and act like children before you throw them out.

What would you do with a 10 year old child if he refused to leave his room and go to school? Shove notes under his door begging him to come out until he's 18?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Squatter wrote: »
    Quality revisionism! - so it was the IRAs "spit at a Brit" campaign that led to the Black and Tans being imported to Ireland. Never knew about that!

IRA didnt exist in 1916? :confused:

Revisionism how are ye

What would you do with a 10 year old child if he refused to leave his room and go to school?

I imagine you wouldn't knock his teeth out?

Strange analogy. :confused:

You mean the imaginary border up the road?

I'd assure you they could get the addresses if they wanted to.

Oh I travel across that border on a weekly basis (hopefully the rubbish in Westminster doesn't change this!).

TBH I would have said that the contracted company didn't consider this sort of response either or the bank who hired them. It's interesting to see what happens now. How will this effect future evictions? Evictions are not going to stop, if anything they will accelerate as there are a loads of bad loans still out there. It is in no ones interest in this country to allow bad loans fester on for years and as unpalatable as it is they have to be dealt with.

You see for me the fact that thugs were sent is the major issue.
    I've already answered your question by saying that they should send ordinary, decent people from the Republic of Ireland to do the eviction.

So the actions are irrelevant, the country on their passport males them thugs?

There's only so long you can let adults take the piss and act like children before you throw them out.
    Since if some guy owes you money you would be ok with sending thugs to retrieve it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,726 ✭✭✭Feisar

Anger at thugs from Northern Ireland being brought down here to evict someone.
    No way should thugs have any involvement.

To be fair becoming a goon for hire isn't exactly the type of job an engineering grad usually applies for. Of course it's going to be thugs.

First they came for the socialists...

Many people need to grow up and realise they live in 2018. Which involves paying back their fellow citizens and the Belgians they borrowed money from.

But sure you go ahead and keep deflecting and going on about " da brits" if that's what helps you with your issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭Mike9832

Since if some guy owes you money you would be ok with sending thugs to retrieve it?

Get the Gardaí to do it

They have nothing else to do

Need to get them off the roads giving out tickets for tax and nct

A private company can do that

Feisar wrote:
    To be fair becoming a goon for hire isn't exactly the type of job an engineering grad usually applies for. Of course it's going to be thugs.

How do you know that ordinary, decent people wouldn't be interested in the job?
    Did you ever think that somebody mightnb capable of getting them out without resorting to using thugs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

If someone refused to leave your house would you forcibly remove them?

I thought you said you agreed with the eviction just not the "tools" used to do the eviction.

If all avenues have been exhausted then something has to give. As stated before the occupants knew they have a High Court judgement against them, they refused to leave therefore they had to realise they were going to be forcibly removed. What did they expect lads turning up and tickling them till they agreed to leave.

PARlance wrote: »
    What do want to do when you grow up Johnny?
    Evict people from their houses* Daddy

*never have I been prouder of my ordinary, decent young lad*

*the banks houses.

If they paid for them they'd be their houses and no one would be evicting them.

Let the emotive horse**** deflection continue. On you go......

Did you ever think that somebody mightnb capable of getting them out without resorting to using thugs?

Well if people commenting on a Facebook thread are getting threats with a picture of their family home in it I can just imagine what sort of bile that would be levied at anyone working as a sub contractor doing the actual evictions.

But sure you go ahead and keep deflecting and going on about " da brits" if that's what helps you with your issues.
    Again, and I've made this clear, I've no issue with Brits but understand that lots of people do.
    I have a problem with thugs being hired to carry out a high court order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭ceegee

They tried that, they got a judgement from the court. The tax cheat ignored it.

Again, and I've made this clear, I've no issue with Brits but understand that lots of people do.
    I have a problem with thugs being hired to carry out a high court order.

You keep using the term thugs like it's valid or makes your opinions valid.

How can they be thugs yet Irish people doing the same thing wouldn't be?

ceegee wrote:
    They tried that, they got a judgement from the court. The tax cheat ignored it.
    We don't need thugs to carry out a high court order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,386 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

*the banks houses.

If they paid for them they'd be their houses and no one would be evicting them.

Let the emotive horse**** deflection continue. On you go......

Woah there Champ.

The post was poking fun at people looking for "ordinary decent people" to carry out evictions. I'm on the same side as you but untwist those knickers.

Owe big money and disobey a high court order like this and you are playing big boy games.

I saw people thrown out more roughly when I worked in bars in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,249 ✭✭✭✭markodaly

If they sent Irish born honest, decent black men to do the job I wouldn't have a problem with it.
    There goes your racism theory.
    If it's bigoted to be anti-thugs then call me a bigot all day everyday.

What if they were born in Poland or the UK or France, but are Irish nationals? Not good enough? Do they have to show a birth cert to you?

You're not a bigot because you are anti-thug, you are a bigot because of your 'Irish born' statement that you wrote earlier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,093 ✭✭✭relax carry on

Do you agree that a court order existed for the eviction and that the three should have peacefully surrendered possession. Please don't go down the route of exploring other options at this stage as to get the court order all other options had been exhausted. A simple yes or no will suffice.

If your argument is just a general case of a foreign company carrying out a contract in Ireland then that's a different argument all together. You should consider raising your concerns with your local TD about foreign companies operating here.

Breaking news: emerging images of an impromptu memorial service for Butch/Fido/Spot or whatever his name was.

c39d9bcbe6aaabe9555c49c78d0d406b.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Jaysus I've seen some car crash threads in my time but this is definitely up there with the worst.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,476 ✭✭✭✭Ush1

I imagine you wouldn't knock his teeth out?

Strange analogy. :confused:

Who got their teeth knocked out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

Jaysus I've seen some car crash threads in my time but this is definitely up there with the worst.

What's particularly bad about this, one side has the law on their side, the other has the mob.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

The problem here is that if you were to use Gardai, how would that look?

What would that do for the public impression of the Gardai if they were to be seen "dragging old people out of their homes before Xmas!". What would it do for their morale.

I agree that companies shouldn't resort to having to hire people to enforce their right to a court-ordered settlement.

This should be the function of a specific agency attached to the courts whose job it is to take possession of a property, forcefully evicting residents where necessary.

The UK have them, and it's a horrible job that should never be required, but the fact that people will ignore high court orders is what makes it necessary.

But this agency doesn't exist, so unfortunately private companies DO need to hire thugs to evict people from the company's property.

If you want to direct your protest somewhere, ask the Government why private citizens have to pay to enforce legal orders and why the state isn't doing it for them?

Ush1 wrote: »
    Who got their teeth knocked out?

The retired guard apparently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

What's particularly bad about this, one side has the law on their side, the other has the mob.

What abouttery to beat the band, lads completely missing the point of issue and pictures of dogs memorial sevices? All we're missing is the reference to the nazis / Hitler.

Full disclosure : the previous home owner was obviously a tax dodger of the highest order and should have been evicted months ago. But Ireland, and rural Ireland in particular, seems to love these "cute hoors". See the messing that's going on in cavan with current Quinn group executives being terrorized by the local community as another example.

markodaly wrote:
    You're not a bigot because you are anti-thug, you are a bigot because of your 'Irish born' statement that you wrote earlier.
    And you are clueless because you can't understand how anybody could view things differently to you.