Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Leinster v Connu.. Connou... Connaubh... Cannaught Build up thread

• Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 26,403 Mod ✭✭✭✭Peregrine

KBurke85 wrote: »
    You do know Leinster aren't the only team from the Pro 14 in the Champions cup.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

I'm going to do an awec and say Leinster put 50 on them. The Leinster backups have handed out hammerings at home this season.

On the other hand, I hope it matches the same fixture last season which was a cracking game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

Leo: Noel your on

Noel Reid: Yes!!

Goes to warm up. Stands in the touchline and looks to his side Bundee standing there raring to go

Noel Reid: Awh man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

I think Connacht will be too strong. Think it will be close.
    Disappointed not to see Porter start. Thought Conan would also start. Big match for Dooley. He's been buried for a while and is firmly stuck on the bottom rung.
    On the Connacht side, it's good to see Masterson back and involved. He has had a bad run of injury and has missed the best part of 2 seasons.
    TOH will hopefully learn from Keenan and maybe he can fend of being usurped by Keenan in Joe's plans. Lol

ClanofLams wrote: »
    Get a grip there will ya. "Crush them" :rolleyes:

good-good-let-the-hate-flow-through-you-13858771.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

Leo: Noel your on

Noel Reid: Yes!!

Goes to warm up. Stands in the touchline and looks to his side Bundee standing there raring to go

Noel Reid: Awh man

The Enforcer? He'd relish it, taking down the durty foreigner who stole his rightful place in the Irish team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭connachta

slow down guys, It really probably won't end with 20+ difference for either sides as crazy diehards imagined on the previous pages

Connacht team is strong but away and without his 3 main international players (Roux/Aki (bench though)/Marms)
    Leinster A team is strong, ask poor Welshmen, but with only 3 of the starring players, it won't be that easy vs a proper opposition. Connacht back-row made of 2 super rugby players + a pure gem won't be as much dominated as some expect

It should be pretty much the same gap as last season in the RDS, the other way I personally hope...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,201 ✭✭✭troyzer

Peregrine wrote: »
    A lot of people are seriously underestimating Connaught Connacht. Connaught Connacht always raise their performance for Leinster. Firstly, this fixture is their only chance to play Champions Cup opposition every season. Secondly, for their players, it's kind of like an audition for contracts in front of Leo. They'll bring their A game.

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,728 ✭✭✭Former Former

We'll have to change the thread title to "that's the joke".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

troyzer wrote: »
    fyp

Whoooooooosshhhhh!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 90 ✭✭elliot_st

Connachts best young forward - a leinster man.
    Connachts best young back - a leinster man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

As class as Leavy is, having no JvdF in that Leinster side is a relief
    Leinster have never put a TBP on Connacht afaik (open to correction)
    I got on Connacht when we were +16
    I'd be very disappointed if we don't make that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,773 ✭✭✭connemara man

elliot_st wrote: »

Leinsters best Forward Australian
    Leinsters best back Kiwi

What's your point...

Leinster's best young backrow- a Connacht man

Leinster B’s best young forward - a leinster man.
    Leinster B’s best young back - a leinster man.

FYP

Re-regs just don't make an effort anymore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,619 ✭✭✭✭errlloyd

wp_rathead wrote: »
    As class as Leavy is, having no JvdF in that Leinster side is a relief
    Leinster have never put a TBP on Connacht afaik (open to correction)
    I got on Connacht when we were +16
    I'd be very disappointed if we don't make that

We did in Galway in 2017.

errlloyd wrote: »
    We did in Galway in 2017.

jaysus how did i miss that one, only 2 seasons back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

Leinsters best Forward Australian
    Leinsters best back Kiwi

What's your point...

Wexford isn’t in Australia!

Leinsters best back is Ringrose. Then Henshaw, then the kiwi.

Dubinusa wrote: »

So a Leinster man, Leinster man and then Kiwi.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Dubinusa wrote: »

Mr Sexton laughs st you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭MattD

This is just low effort, Fardy isn't even first choice in his position. If he was Irish he'd be on loan at Connacht, and injured, by now.

salmocab wrote: »
    Mr Sexton laughs st you

Oh yes, my bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 579 ✭✭✭Heymans

The Enforcer? He'd relish it, taking down the durty foreigner who stole his rightful place in the Irish team.

He was schooled in D4. He doesn't hate foreigners.

Didn't you know he was best friends and housemates with the dirty foreigner from Oz only a season or two back.

It's the gentry folk in Leinster who hate the foreigners and open economy. It defeats their inbreeding traditions.

Perhaps the country boys can all manage a trip to Crumlin hospital for a photo op and prove how caring they are with sick children after they disown every dirty foreigner in the country

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

Heymans wrote: »

Didn't you know he was best friends and housemates with the dirty foreigner from Oz only a season or two back.

It's the gentry folk in Leinster who hate the foreigners and open economy. It defeats their inbreeding traditions.

Perhaps the country boys can all manage a trip to Crumlin hospital for a photo op and prove how caring they are with sick children after they disown every dirty foreigner in the country

What the f*ck are are you talking about?

Faugheen wrote: »

His usual shïte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Kevski

I wonder how long it takes to write a post containing so much utter nonsense.

Kevski wrote: »
    I wonder how long it takes to write a post containing so much utter nonsense.

I think he has a bank of random phrases that he copies and pastes into something masquerading as a paragraph.

For the love of god QUOTES!!!!

Let me spell it out for you. I am highlighting the differences between Noel Reid and people who actually DO hate foreigners. I'm defending his honour and highlighting the prejudice of some of our country cousins in the Leinster squad.

Is he:

A. Unfunny

Or

B. Deranged

Let me spell it out for you. I am highlighting the differences between Noel Reid and people who actually DO hate foreigners. I'm defending his honour and highlighting the prejudice of some of our country cousins in the Leinster squad.

Actually you've spelled out nothing. You've replaced vagueness with more vagueness.

If you've something to say then say it, plain and simple, name names. Which of the country lads in the squad hate foreigners?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 855 ✭✭✭foxyladyxx

B

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,826 ✭✭✭b.gud

Christ the match can't come soon enough so that there might actually be something worth talking about in here

I won't spell it out for fear of leaving myself open to libel or defamation.

It is a known fact and common joke between Dubliners that conservatives from the country in Ireland hate foreigners.

Most of them tend to be from the country or of very strange persuasion.

Someone made light of Noel hating foreigners. I took it upon myself to highlight that it is not Noel but our country cousins who are more likely or indeed do (privately) hate foreigners because they don't like competition.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

The only thing cringier than the last few posts is the disgraceful accent on the RDS announcer lad.

You'll be hearing it a lot on Saturday after Leinster tries.

I won't spell it out for fear of leaving myself open to libel or defamation.

It is a known fact and common joke between Dubliners that conservatives from the country in Ireland hate foreigners.

Most of them tend to be from the country or of very strange persuasion.

Someone made light of Noel hating foreigners. I took it upon myself to highlight that it is not Noel but our country cousins who are more likely or indeed do (privately) hate foreigners because they don't like competition.

Knew it. Bottler or bull****ter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

I presume it will be his failed attempts to get the locals to stop staring at Insta while Dave Kearney puts on a knock-on masterclass.

Nah, he usually announces Leinster tries like they're ****ing edicts in his grating D4 accent.

And I say that as a Dubliner. We're not ALL D4s.

This is hands down one of the best build up threads in ages.

It's legal in parts of Ballinasloe to marry an immediate relative provided they are legit ginger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

It's required in parts of Ballinasloe that you marry an immediate relative provided they are legit ginger.

Fixed that for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,700 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Good to see Aki back for Connacht.

He must have missed the, eh, 'nightlife', while he was away getting married.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

It's legal in parts of Ballinasloe to marry an immediate relative provided they are legit ginger.

How do they test they are legit ginger? Does the curtain have to match the carpet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

Zzippy wrote: »
    How do they test they are legit ginger? Does the curtain have to match the carpet?

There is also the do they have enough fingers to count to 12 test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,700 ✭✭✭✭Clegg

Just seen the results.

God it's gonna be fantastic when Leinster win next week.

Zzippy wrote: »

Nah just shine the light from your phone on them, if they start to burn then they're authentic enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,974 ✭✭✭connachta

As last year (and still) Leinster fans underestimated Butler, it's now the case for Colby Fainga'a too.
    He faced (or played along with) Fardy and has had exactly the same stats. It's a toss-up tomorrow.
    Same for young Boyle and Doris, slight advantage for the 1st.
    Leavy is the new idol in Dublin but our Captain Jarrad will hold the comparison, not a millions miles away at least

Centres go Connacht way, Front-5 should too

If there was not the home advantage, it'd up to grab for the Westerners. There it's close to 50/50. +14 handicap looks insane IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Nah just shine the light from your phone on them, if they start to burn then they're authentic enough.

It’s all fun and games until the light gets shone back on Tracy. Himself and his barber have been doing a great job of keeping it hidden