Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No heating at home

• 19-12-2018 9:10pm
    Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭

Hi all. Since Monday my boiler has broken down and I emailed the agent whom sent down a plumber. The guy said that this boiler is way too old and it's obsolete so he called the landlord right there and she said that she will get it fixed asap.

So apparent she ordered one from Poland and it's not going to be available till after Christmas possibly new year. Now my mom is sick so is my younger brother who has just had a surgery.

I keep telling my landlord order one from Ireland why Poland for god sake?? And no response.

I was wondering can I go to the Gardai about this because she doesn't seem to give a damn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

the gardai won't do anything, maybe get some electric oil radiators or something for the mean time...

• Registered Users Posts: 172 ✭✭ninjarambohd

the gardai won't do anything, maybe get some electric oil radiators or something for the mean time...

But he's literally playing with my mom's and brothers life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,088 ✭✭✭aaakev

Have you got an open fire?

Good one call the gardai, keep us updated.

Is this serious or a troll?

aaakev wrote: »
    Have you got an open fire?

I do yes but that's not a fix because I got no freaking hot water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Is this serious or a troll?

The Gardai won't want to know.

The LL has to be given reasonable time to fix or replace.

It's a bad time to go but they can't have it sorted over night.

As mentioned get some electrical heaters or a gas heater.

Of course these aren't ideal but it will hopefully get them through.

Use a kettle.

Use the immersion for hot water and the fire for heat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 473 ✭✭lollsangel

How is he playing with your mum and brothers lifes?

Have you an open fire you can use? If so light it.

Either go out and buy a few electric rads or ask the landlord to provide them.

Even if they had a new boiler in the morning you couldnt be guarnateed it would be even installed this side of xmas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,487 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Are you confused? You said you have no heating in the OP. An open fire produces heat.

Now this is a noob question but what is an immersion and how do I use it?

Its a switch on the wall near the hot water tank that heats water electrically?

Im guessing you are not from around here. In the hotpress there will be a switch, turn it on but whatever you do remember to turn it off or an Irish mammy will come round and kick your ass....

There is no switch near it at all

Is it inside the hot press? How old is your house?

But he's literally playing with my mom's and brothers life.

no, he's not. A boiler has broken on the busiest week for boilers breaking of the year, the landlord has agreed to replace it but has ordered one from poland to save money , you have a fire in your house, possibly electric radiators also and a kettle or immersion to heat water. Nobody will die , you'll be grand.

Is it inside the hot press? How old is your house?

The house was built about 17 years ago. I kept telling my landlord to install a switch for it but to this date he hasn't done anything

A minute ago you didn't know what it was?! Id be very surprised if there was none in the house.

Is there any wires in your hot press around the tank?

A minute ago you didn't know what it was?! Id be very surprised if there was none in the house.

Is there any wires in your hot press around the tank?

I'll take a picture and upload now

Be very surprised if there is not an immersion or backboiler for water

also I see you filed a complaint against your landlord 2 weeks ago when they wanted to inspect the property, perhaps they would have noticed a boiler on its last legs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,939 ✭✭✭goat2

Is there a back boiler in the fireplace, if so, you will have plenty heating with a fire in the hearth

Here are pictures there is a switch but I turn it on or off it doesn't work.

https://i.postimg.cc/RZZ8BgPw/DSC-0395.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/bN8W6ykC/DSC-0396.jpg

Get some coal, wood and fire lighters or those easy to light logs.

Away you go and you have heat.

Leave it burning for an hour or so then open the door up to the hall/landing and open the bedrooms that are used but close everything else.

ahh ok youve a gas boiler with instant hot water and thus no immersion, or back boiler.... also the 'old' boiler is definitely under 20 years old .

Here are pictures there is a switch but I turn it on or off it doesn't work.

https://i.postimg.cc/RZZ8BgPw/DSC-0395.jpg

https://i.postimg.cc/bN8W6ykC/DSC-0396.jpg

No switch in them photos they are pumps.

• Moderators Posts: 12,378 ✭✭✭✭Black_Knight

I'm no plumber, but I don't see any sign on an immersion lads. Down off the high horses now

yeah its a gas boiler with instant water heating id say, modern enough ,

fireplace and an electric rad are your best bet lad.

ahh ok youve a gas boiler with instant hot water and thus no immersion, or back boiler.... also the 'old' boiler is definitely under 20 years old .

Yeh the boiler broke down in 2012 too the guy who repaired it said this needs to be replaced because its very very old but your landlord refuses and says just buy a part for it. The guy that came in today said its gone obsolete and that no way you can get parts for it. It's an Baxi Luna boiler.

Whos on a high horse?? Trying to help out and save a mother and brothers life here....