Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Normal food-sit in chipper

• 19-12-2018 11:11pm
    Registered Users Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭

Off to see the lights etc tomorrow(shes MAD into Christmas and lives in Navan, so loves it) and looking to have dinner out

Usually end up in supermacs, but trying to see somewhere normal or cheap thats nice
    Went to Fusciardi Cafe Marlborough St last time as was a sit in chipper, nothing special and overpriced.

So looking for any ideas, thinking of maybe seeing Grafton street lights and working our way down into usual places(ilac, jervis, etc)

• Registered Users Posts: 14,998 ✭✭✭✭elperello

http://www.alliance-francaise.ie/cafe/

This place on the corner of Nassau Street and Kildare Street is a little gem. Good simple food at a reasonable price in unpretentious surroundings.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,254 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

Does the menu have subtitles?:pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 9,678 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Does it have to be chips? Most decent Italian fish and chips are takeaway in Dublin aside from the usual fast-food joints (like Supermacs).

Maybe Bunsen Burger?
    https://www.bunsen.ie/locations/

Fishshack
    https://fishshack.ie/temple-bar/

GBK
    https://www.gbk.ie/menu#FriesSides

Bison bar
    https://bisonbar.ie/food/

Where ever you go, I hope you have a ball. There's a great atmosphere in the city at the moment, very busy, the lights look great.
    If you change your mind and are in to something other than chips ask away and I or someone will post up more restaurants. Let us know how you get on.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,841 ✭✭✭jeffk

John_Rambo wrote: »
    Does it have to be chips? Most decent Italian fish and chips are takeaway in Dublin aside from the usual fast-food joints (like Supermacs).

Maybe Bunsen Burger?
    https://www.bunsen.ie/locations/

Fishshack
    https://fishshack.ie/temple-bar/

GBK
    https://www.gbk.ie/menu#FriesSides

Bison bar
    https://bisonbar.ie/food/

Where ever you go, I hope you have a ball. There's a great atmosphere in the city at the moment, very busy, the lights look great.
    If you change your mind and are in to something other than chips ask away and I or someone will post up more restaurants. Let us know how you get on.

Thanks for such a detailed reply and great to hear a buzz in town :cool:

As you probably guessed not into anything fancy (ill try stuff) but herself is fussy, hence the tried and trusted semi chipper supermacs

Bunsen Burger seems to be jumping out :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,119 ✭✭✭✭Caranica

There's a sit in chipper on the corner of Camden Street coming from Harcourt luas. Could go there after Grafton Street then luas to O'Connell Street?

jeffk wrote: »
    Thanks for such a detailed reply and great to hear a buzz in town :cool:

As you probably guessed not into anything fancy (ill try stuff) but herself is fussy, hence the tried and trusted semi chipper supermacs

Bunsen Burger seems to be jumping out :)

You're welcome and fair play to you, it's just you can get Supermacs anywhere and if you're away from home it's nice to try something a bit different! You're going to pay a little over the odds when it comes to standard fair in Dublin, the cheaper eateries tend to be ethnic (obviously not for the fussy eater!!!) so it means pushing the comfort zone out a bit to get cheap good food. Elephant and Castle is a long established American/European diner that does decent standard fair, but it's pricey and you'll have to wait for a table. But you're guaranteed good, basic, plain food. Don't forget the pubs, even the Bailey will do a decent fish & chips but you're looking at €14 per person. It will be good though and you won't be hungry after eating.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭Pelvis

Ah here, you can go somewhere other than supermacs or a chipper with chairs inside and not get all "fancy". You're in a metropolitan capital city, live a little. You're better off sticking with yer spuds in the boglands than going to supermacs for jaysus sake.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

Kingfisher Parnell Street

• Registered Users Posts: 954 ✭✭✭caff

imme wrote: »
    Fantastic spot

imme wrote: »

Yeah we went there before thanks

Was nice, thought was expensive but suppose it is town and seems to be two euro more on average

• Registered Users Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭Davexirl

Del Rio's right across from the Abbey theatre.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,202 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If chips are not compulsory, Romano's in Capel Street (near Panti Bar) is very reasonably priced.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,965 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

spurious wrote: »
    If chips are not compulsory, Romano's in Capel Street (near Panti Bar) is very reasonably priced.

Fusciardi's a couple of doors up from it do lovely pizzas and is a chipper! Nice sit in area too.

Never been personally (one of these days I will!), but what about Gerry's on Montague Lane?

• Registered Users Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

If you are not fussy, then Bunsen is for you.

Their menu consists of

Burger
    Double Burger
    Cheeseburger
    Double Cheeseburger

Different types of fries.

You can get a milkshake/soft drink/beer if you want one.

Forget Supermacs and splash out, its Christmas!

• Registered Users Posts: 32,381 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

If you still want "chipper chips" Beshoffs. I think the burdocks in temple bar is also sit in.

But I would agree with the others and go somewhere a bit different. You can head to a standard chipper any time.

• Registered Users Posts: 238 ✭✭greentea is just wrong

This does great pub grub & is just off stephens green!! They are not fancy, just great tasting food & lovely atmosphere!
    http://sheehanspub.com/

• Registered Users Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

Wow Burger is also nice - very similar to Bunsen though.

If you are heading over Meath Street area then I can recommend either Tasty8 or Catherines Cafe - nice little cafe just of Dame St aswell - think it is on Fishamble St called Chorus Cafe

rubadub wrote: »
    If you still want "chipper chips" Beshoffs. I think the burdocks in temple bar is also sit in.

But I would agree with the others and go somewhere a bit different. You can head to a standard chipper any time.

As a Dub, I've never got the appeal of either Beshoff's or Burdocks, to be honest. Maybe I missed out on their heyday, but a regular chipper is usually miles better in terms of quality, portion sizes and price (which is all you're looking for in a chipper, really).

I dunno, it just seems to be all hype with them...though I'd rate Burdocks above Beshoffs if you put a gun to my head.

+1 for Del Rio's, their liver and onions is dynamite. If you have the stomach for it, try the mixed grill. I've never seen anyone finish it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,969 ✭✭✭Assetbacked

A burrito place would be a good option for something well priced (about 7euro), casual and fast foodie.

Pablo Picante https://goo.gl/maps/xtquf1afMbw
    Tolteca https://goo.gl/maps/FZkRuDcFbT52
    Burritos n Blues https://goo.gl/maps/JLDL8Y7aEwK2
    Mama's Revenge https://goo.gl/maps/McBWchXGBKk
    Boojum https://goo.gl/maps/xNB8CobDG842

Other fast food places that are nice to sit in and reasonably priced (some repeated);

Burgers - Bunsen (be prepared to queue/wait) https://goo.gl/maps/v3BQ5izE1ft
    Fried Chicken - Mad Egg https://goo.gl/maps/VpNSmXArEC92 or https://goo.gl/maps/eYuQ4grw4352
    Kebab - Zaytoon https://goo.gl/maps/8WcVpsMDKe72 or https://goo.gl/maps/XxRFA74fgX22
    Falafel - Umi Falafel https://goo.gl/maps/ZA2J1H5A68y

• Registered Users Posts: 13,711 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

If the missus is as fussy as she sounds, I don't think Mexican, Persian or Middle Eastern is going to appeal.

I don't know how anyone deals with fussy eaters. A sit-in chipper is not my idea of a lovely meal out!

Ended up in Del Rio's as weather etc wasn't great to walk from grafton Street down, then cutting it tight with herself finishing work and getting up to Dublin then traffic in

Great spot with normal home cooked food setting us up for the buzz or madness ahead

Thanks for the information and replies, some places to visit the next visits to town

Jaysus! Your idea of home cooked food and my idea of home cooked food are a mile apart!!

Glad you enjoyed it though.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,632 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Kingfisher Parnell st proper chipper

Fusciardi's a couple of doors up from it do lovely pizzas and is a chipper! Nice sit in area too.

Never been personally (one of these days I will!), but what about Gerry's on Montague Lane?

Fusciardi's is ok

Dial Hard wrote: »
    If the missus is as fussy as she sounds, I don't think Mexican, Persian or Middle Eastern is going to appeal.

Maybe that's why the thread title is "... sit-in chipper".

• Registered Users Posts: 27,911 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Caranica wrote: »
    There's a sit in chipper on the corner of Camden Street coming from Harcourt luas. Could go there after Grafton Street then luas to O'Connell Street?

Think there is a couple of chippers further down on Wexford Street. Cafe Sofia (think that's the name) is nice for a sit down breakfast and they also do chips. There is an Italian chipper across the road, never been in it and it looks a bit grubby.

Five Guys is an option on George's Street.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Last of the big spenders :pac:

Birneybau wrote: »
    Last of the big spenders :pac:

Don't see how or why people want to spend silly money on food because some fancy things in it or fancy decor

Rather get normal nice food at a normal price knowing I will like what's in it

Don't see how or why people want to spend silly money on food because some fancy things in it or fancy decor

What’s normal food to you isn’t normal food to others.

I think a €27 seafood platter is better value than a €4 dinner in Supermacs & I certainly wouldn’t consider chips normal food. I like nice decor too, so each to their own! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Forget it, was a joke.