Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Common idiotic actions you see roads every day

12346»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,614 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Drivers with zero concept of how to use roundabouts and signal when entering, exiting roundabouts. It’s a distinct Irish thing with probably only the French as potentially lethal when using them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Used to meet quite a few of them when I was on the road in the Munster region.
    Usually driving on the middle line to take up as much space as they legally can.
    When overtaking, they would speed up, move to block you and follow you for a few km beeping and flashing.
    Funnily enough they had no problem driving at 100 km/h to aggressively tailgate you.
    Mostly elderly "country gentlemen" (shmelly auld farmer in a 100 year old suit) driving a Nissan of some description.
    Or usually they would wait on a sideroad, see you coming at 100 and pull out right in front of you and dawdle down the road at 60. (All speeds in km :))

So you know that they were smelly and what they employment is, great work Sherlock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

1. People who hold up traffic so they can let someone join from a side road.

2. People on phones

3. Women doing hair, makeup, eyelashes, lipstick easily as dangerous if not more than using a phone.

4.People who pull out in front of you at 100kph and then proceed to slow to 60kph and when you check the rear view there is nothing behind you.

5. People who drive 70kph everywhere. 50 zones, 60 zones, 120 zones.

6. Tractors for many many reasons.

7. Tailgaters not the ones behind me the one in front stopping me from overtaking the three cars in a row doing 70 in a 100.

8. People who forget to turn off their indicator still 5 mins after their turn. I mean if you not aware there is a clicking noise and flashing light on in front of you what else are you not noticing?

9. Truck convoys

Did i say tractors?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

The roundabout from the M50 down towards Dundrum, the amount of cars coming down there in the left lane and going right when they get through the roundabout is unreal.
    My question is, is it illegal (i.e. if a Garda was there is there any punishment) or just bad etiquette?

I honestly think the standard of behaviour on our roads, from cars to pedestrians to cyclists, has never been worse. Having spent a good bit of time in Austria in the last year or two, I despair when I see their attitude to red lights, pedestrian crossings, etc, compared to ours. Amber means stop if you can - not accelerate, green man means pedestrians only (not cars, bikes, and whatever your having yourself), red light means stop.

We have a total disrespect for the rules of the road as a nation and lets face it, passing a driving test at 18-19 and never having to do so much as a refresher is a joke.

I am guilty myself, but I would love to see a huge increase in Garda policing of all road users and to have to re-do your driving test say every 20 years. If you can't pass your driving test at 40-50, then you shouldn't be on the road. End of story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,080 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

erica74 wrote: »

Kids shouldn't be "always runnin" anywhere near cars, buses, trucks etc, kids should be taught that vehicles have blind spots which make it difficult to see every angle all the time and as such, they need to walk slowly and be careful, if they don't understand this, they should always be accompanied by an adult. If a child runs across a forecourt and gets hit by a car, the fact that the car should have been driving slow is irrelevant, the child has still been hit.
    Teach both to be mindful of each other and that is more likely to reduce accidents.

So , once again, everyone has to be wary of the 1ton box being driven, as he/she driving it does not have to slow down for anyone?
    If I hit you , its your fault?
    Cop on - If I'm driving my car, I take responsibility for driving it.

The sense of entitlement of certain members of the "Road Tax Payers Club" is astounding ! :rolleyes:

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... " #NoPopcorn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I was working in Wexford yesterday and was driving back home to Dublin.

I was driving past the entrance to an Aldi and I had stopped behind a guy who was turning into the Aldi car park.

At the entrance was your standard two lane entrance, in and out. In the middle was a bollard and one of those spaces for standing in the middle of the road. They're fairly common

Your man drove over it instead of around it and tore a lump off the bottom of his car and continued like nothing had happened. Had there been someone standing there waiting to cross he would have seriously hurt them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,634 ✭✭✭Gamer Bhoy 89

Not so much stupid as it was a complete and utter fly & snakey bastard.

I was sitting in my girlfriend's car and we were going through a road (continuous line). She was doing the speed limit. A car emerged from behind and was like half a car distance behind her. He started flashing his lights, and we didn't cop on until a good 2-3 minutes later. He was flashing his lights repeatedly. The first thing my girlfriend thought was "something's wrong with my car" (rear lights may be broke, or there might be something hanging off) so she pulled in to the nearest, safest spot to pull into. Your man behind us then sped away faster than he was going.

We got out to look at the back of the car. Nothing was out of place and all her lights were working.

I came to the conclusion that he perhaps tricked my gf into pulling in so he had an excuse to speed off in front without overtaking.

That's all I had left in my brain to think of. There was no reason to flash us and there was nothing up with the car. It still puzzles me to this day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Crooked misaligned headlamps/foglamps

HID's in dipped reflectors

Tipping the brakes at every possible moment

Texting/using arsebook in traffic

Use of foglamps where there is no fog

Not turning off foglamps when you approach the car in front

Race tuned shoeboxes with N plates

Red light runners

People who are infuriated that you overtake them

People who pull out as you're beside them when overtaking them and the vehicle in front of them on a motorway

People who never look around them or think of others

People who try scam someone else at the express toll lane

Biddy and Mary in their coin purse of a car barely keeping it between the ditches

Stopping on a main road when not in slow moving traffic to let someone out of a side road. The "good Samaritan", a martyr for others and their sinful ways

People who stop on the roundabout to let someone out

People who can't park out of laziness

Whiny, mouthy, lazy, ignorant, public house muck savage gobsh*tes who masquerade as farmers inflicting their poor lifestyle choice upon everyone they can with antiquated, clapped out, bodged, dog sh*t machinery (note: actual farmers would never carry on as mentioned and are usually pleasant people in real life let alone the roads!)

I'm sure there's many more...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

bazz26 wrote: »
    Driver's face stuck in their phone reading fakebook or texting while traffic moves on ahead of them.

Why can't some people just listen to music like the rest of us non-dangerous folk.

Also, I know of a lorry driver who was playing with himself on the m50 and that video was put up on social media :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Stab*City

Why can't some people just listen to music like the rest of us non-dangerous folk.

Also, I know of a lorry driver who was playing with himself on the m50 and that video was put up on social media :o

Or even the video of the man playing with himself in the car taken by the lorry driver?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,164 ✭✭✭Bigbagofcans

Stab*City wrote: »
    Or even the video of the man playing with himself in the car taken by the lorry driver?

Oops, yep I typed it arseways. I heard that lorry driver was fired cos he had shared the video on his Facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,883 ✭✭✭Feisar

Lane discipline at roundabouts. I'm not talking about proper use even. Just when there is two lanes at one and either the inside or outside car cuts over a bit into the other lane.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,229 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

I am looking at it in real time here . Parked in a large Dublin hospital car park and no spaces left . People are circling looking for parking , one plonker has just parked on a narrow point and up and left his car in everyones way . Now only one car can pass and its blocking people in and causing absolute mayhem . I genuinely want to get out and key his car .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

Feisar wrote: »
    Lane discipline at roundabouts. I'm not talking about proper use even. Just when there is two lanes at one and either the inside or outside car cuts over a bit into the other lane.

Going to the shops the other day, pulled up at a 2 lane roundabout, guy in front of me in the left hand lane, indicates right and then actually drives straight. Gobshíte even had the nerve to beep the fella beside him for having the audacity to drive straight even though he wasn't indicating at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Do you see people on their phones much while driving ?
    I see this (in Spain) on a daily basis ... it really really pisses me off ...
    Once I saw a woman driving a driving school car with her kid in the back ... texting - the ****ing IRONY ... at least she didn't have a student in the front, that would have been more Spanish then Spanish.

There was no reason to flash us and there was nothing up with the car. It still puzzles me to this day.

He was flashing her to pull over so he could pass. It's very irritating but you're better off just letting them go I find, these twats tend to not take no for an answer and can end up doing some god awful stupid shít to get past.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

What on earth is with people thats bulbs are blown, they decide to drive around with their High Beams on blinding everyone else and not a care in the world. For the sake of 2-3 minutes and a couple of euro just change the god dam bulbs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

This annoys me no end. Overtake a slow car and they proceed to put their fulls on and beep. Or worse again, accelerate suddenly when you try pass them..
    Kimbot wrote: »
    What on earth is with people thats bulbs are blown, they decide to drive around with their High Beams on blinding everyone else and not a care in the world. For the sake of 2-3 minutes and a couple of euro just change the god dam bulbs.
    Some newer cars are a pain in the hoop to change bulbs, My Mazda is either headlight out or through the wheel well.

I'd still change it, so as not to be one of those single headlight ****ebags I'm forever giving out about though :P

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

People who are late noticing their exit off the motor way, jam on in lane 1, then creep across onto the hatchings. Stop. Then drive onto the slip once some other citizen has jammed on in the slipper to let them in.

Driving without clearing windows.

Dude, I know you are concealing that you are on a phone and trying to be discrete, but you are wearing glasses and there is a thing called reflection.

Stop and go makeup application.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

I would be okay with cars being rigged to explode if they exit a roundabout while indicating right. There'd be a tragedy or two at first, but it'd be worth it.

Tazzimus wrote: »

Some newer cars are a pain in the hoop to change bulbs, My Mazda is either headlight out or through the wheel well.

I had to look at a you tube video a while back to figure out how to change a headlight in my own. I opened the bonnet and took a look and as far as I could make out I'd have to take out most of the god damn engine to get at it. Turns out it's you have to lock the steering to one side and then it comes out through a hatch in the wheel well - was handy enough in the end but I never would have found it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

There's a roundabout near with two lanes leading in.

The left lane for the first exit is always choc a block. So some c*nt spin up on the right lane, do a full 360 of the roundabout and out the first exit.

It's probably legal, but it just bothers me. Traffic would get out much quicker if it wasn't so stop-start with these lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,711 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I always find these people amusing. I overtook a guy on the N62 the other day and he went ballistic, flashing his lights, beeping horn, gesticulating wildly as if I'd personally insulted him.

This despite the fact he was going going at least 10kph below the posted speed limit and me having an empty stretch of road to carry out the overtaking maneuver.

I kinda wonder what goes on in their heads.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 18,856 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kimbot

This annoys me no end. Overtake a slow car and they proceed to put their fulls on and beep. Or worse again, accelerate suddenly when you try pass them..

I'd still change it, so as not to be one of those single headlight ****ebags I'm forever giving out about though :P

In fairness I know some cars are a pain to get access to the lights but I know of 2 cars that are easily doing it for the last 6+ months, surely they could go to halfords etc and get them changed instead of been a pain in the hole on the roads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,866 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Feisar wrote: »

Incident from a few minutes ago, wherein the car in front decides to do a full lap of this roundabout in the outside lane, naturally no indicators! Again, boils down to not thinking of others...

Many years ago I used to drive a clattery old Peugeot with a larger turbo than standard that made it much faster. Many people tried to accelerate when I overtook for whatever pointless reason, to absolutely no affect to them whatsoever. Probably annoyed that their precious pcp scrapmobile was overtaken by an battered old car. For their feeble efforts they were treated to a sudden change of visibility!

Ah youth... :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

The roundabout from the M50 down towards Dundrum, the amount of cars coming down there in the left lane and going right when they get through the roundabout is unreal.
    My question is, is it illegal (i.e. if a Garda was there is there any punishment) or just bad etiquette?
    The lane markings are a bit unusual here. The left hand lane is for traffic entering the centre or heading left or straight at the next junction, onto Overend Way. The right lane is for traffic turning right onto Sandyford Road only.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭incentsitive

The lane markings are a bit unusual here. The left hand lane is for traffic entering the centre or heading left or straight at the next junction, onto Overend Way. The right lane is for traffic turning right onto Sandyford Road only.

Think you are mixing up the roundabout. This one. The left lane is only for people going to M50, yet lots of cars drive in it and turn on indicator.

https://www.google.ie/maps/dir/53.2713139,-6.2398475/53.2733942,-6.2435075/@53.2701123,-6.2447107,17.17z/data=!4m2!4m1!3e0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,940 ✭✭✭Tazzimus

I had to look at a you tube video a while back to figure out how to change a headlight in my own. I opened the bonnet and took a look and as far as I could make out I'd have to take out most of the god damn engine to get at it. Turns out it's you have to lock the steering to one side and then it comes out through a hatch in the wheel well - was handy enough in the end but I never would have found it!
    The Mazda's headlight looks like it's more in the wing than anything.
    My old Honda I also have, you could climb into the engine bay to change the bulbs, there's that much space.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭jochenstacker

greenspurs wrote: »
    So , once again, everyone has to be wary of the 1ton box being driven, as he/she driving it does not have to slow down for anyone?

The sense of entitlement of certain members of the "Road Tax Payers Club" is astounding ! :rolleyes:

I hope you tell your kids to play in traffic. By your logic they'll be fine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

I hope you tell your kids to play in traffic. By your logic they'll be fine.

Kids play on roads all the time, quiet roads, estate roads, car parks and the like.

We all used to lay football and hurling on the road.
    Not to mention all the pedestrians and cyclists that share the road.

You've every responsibility to watch for every other road user.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 390 ✭✭jochenstacker

Kids play on roads all the time, quiet roads, estate roads, car parks and the like.

We all used to lay football and hurling on the road.
    Not to mention all the pedestrians and cyclists that share the road.

You've every responsibility to watch for every other road user.

Course I do. Watching everything like a hawk. And kids should also be taught to look out as well.
    Would be idiotic not to. I was taught to look out for cars as a kid, be careful on a bike and in a car to look out for pedestrians and bikes. When everyone looks out for each other, we're all safer.
    But an attitude of "everyone has to look out for me means I don't have to pay attention" is silly, to say the least.

The roundabout in Blanch at Waterville that leads to the M50 is a nightmare at times.
    It's a bit oddly shaped and I think drivers think the M50 is straight through when it's actually right. Waterville exit is straight through. Again, lots of cars in the left lane and not indicating and then indicating right really late.

Roundabouts in general are disgraceful though. Not indicating, late indication, wrong lane, taking different exit than your indicator shows.

I've just accepted that they are a bit of a free for all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,812 ✭✭✭thelad95

The roundabout in Blanch at Waterville that leads to the M50 is a nightmare at times.
    It's a bit oddly shaped and I think drivers think the M50 is straight through when it's actually right. Waterville exit is straight through. Again, lots of cars in the left lane and not indicating and then indicating right really late.

Roundabouts in general are disgraceful though. Not indicating, late indication, wrong lane, taking different exit than your indicator shows.

I've just accepted that they are a bit of a free for all.

The worst thing is those idiots who think they have some sort of exemption to slowing down and will cruise up at about 40km/h then hit the brakes and stop way past the yield line if a car has the temerity to approach from their right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

Just witnessed a driver do a 3 point turn on the main Leixlip-Maynooth road, in the section between Pike's Bridge and the Dunboyne Road jn. Insanity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

At a roundabout yesterday that the left lane was for left only and the right lane for straight on and right. Road marking had clear arrows to this effect. I'm going straight on so am in right lane. Nissan Quashqai in left lane pulls away then indicates right past the left exit and then indicates left to go straight on the same direction as me. When I saw the right indicator on I just lifted off and let them at it. No point having an accident and being "right".

Another annoyance is when you are on cruise control on a motorway and someone overtakes you, pulls in and then slows down slower than the speed you are at. You reovertake, pull in and they speed up again to overtake again and then slowdown again. This can go on on on...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 205 ✭✭JPF82

Pherekydes wrote: »
    Just witnessed a driver do a 3 point turn on the main Leixlip-Maynooth road, in the section between Pike's Bridge and the Dunboyne Road jn. Insanity.

Jesus, what a stupid spot to do it. The worst part of that road. The mind boggles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,106 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

Plodding along in the hard shoulder as if it was a lane and then drifting back on to the road when the hard shoulder narrows down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Sharknose

Saw it all yesterday evening. 5 pm, just dark, rush hour on roundabout at Waterford Regional Hospital. I'm queued at the small roundabout leaving Lidl to join the main roundabout. Car leaving the small roundabout coming towards me, like a black ship, not a light to be seen. I gave a polite 'bip' and a brief flash. Absolutely no reaction. As the car was passing me, by the street lights I could see the young lady driver, phone stuck to her ear, lost to the world.

A longer blast on the airhorn suddenly wakened her from her reverie, she didn't have a clue where she was, or what was happening. :eek:

JPF82 wrote: »
    Another annoyance is when you are on cruise control on a motorway and someone overtakes you, pulls in and then slows down slower than the speed you are at. You reovertake, pull in and they speed up again to overtake again and then slowdown again. This can go on on on...

I've noticed this sometimes happen when you hit a hill or incline. They're keeping the food steady on the power, so they slow down a little. The cruise control compensates for the hill by increasing the power slightly to maintain the speed, so you're faster than them again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,618 ✭✭✭erica74

greenspurs wrote: »

Of course everyone has to wary of the "1ton box":pac:, why would you think you wouldn't have to be wary? Are you stupid? :confused:

You replied to my comment but it appears to be quite difficult for you to wrap your brain around it.
    erica74 wrote: »
    Kids shouldn't be "always runnin" anywhere near cars, buses, trucks etc, kids should be taught that vehicles have blind spots which make it difficult to see every angle all the time and as such, they need to walk slowly and be careful, if they don't understand this, they should always be accompanied by an adult. If a child runs across a forecourt and gets hit by a car, the fact that the car should have been driving slow is irrelevant, the child has still been hit.
    Teach both to be mindful of each other and that is more likely to reduce accidents.

If a car hits your child because your child is running on a road, who was at fault is IRRELEVANT if you child dies or is seriously injured. The driver being at fault doesn't win you any prizes, your child is still dead or seriously injured. I'll ask again, are you stupid?

I didn't put the responsibility on any one group, I said, if everyone is mindful of everyone, then there's likely to be less accidents.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

I've long thought that RTE/Virgin TV, or whatever TV3 is called now, should be running educational adverts showing people how to drive on roundabouts. Just graphics (as if filmed from above the roundabout) showing what lane to be in for your exit, when to indicate, (and when NOT to), etc. I seem to have a vague memory of ads like that running years ago?? How to approach yellow boxes, stuff like that, that we all learned for our driving test and then just forgot. Perhaps seeing it on tv just before the 9 o'clock news might reinforce it in peoples minds, and the morons who approach a roundabout indicating right when they are going straight ahead (or worse, indicating left and THEN right when going straight!) might one day go "wait a minute........!!!!!!!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,227 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

JPF82 wrote: »
    Jesus, what a stupid spot to do it. The worst part of that road. The mind boggles.

I know. Just came around a slight bend and there he was straddling the road. Coming from the other direction was a bus. Utter stupidity.

DoozerT6 wrote: »
    I've long thought that RTE/Virgin TV, or whatever TV3 is called now, should be running educational adverts showing people how to drive on roundabouts. Just graphics (as if filmed from above the roundabout) showing what lane to be in for your exit, when to indicate, (and when NOT to), etc. I seem to have a vague memory of ads like that running years ago??

Something like this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭DoozerT6

^ That's exactly the sort of thing I was thinking of! I don't remember actually seeing that ad, but I must have, I guess. Maybe they need to be shown again, updated to show people what NOT to do! :D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Haven't seen it in a while but I'd a Honda Civic driver on the N3 today tipping along watching YouTube with the phone up in a windscreen holder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

Patww79 wrote: »
    Haven't seen it in a while but I'd a Honda Civic driver on the N3 today tipping along watching YouTube with the phone up in a windscreen holder.

Saw a guy on the M50 this morning doing the same, saw a few others with the phone resting on the steering wheel.

Actually saw a guy last week in a GoCar with 2 phones on the windscreen, 1 playing YouTube and the other Google Maps.