Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BDO Lake World Championship

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Neewollah

Where is Justin van Tergouw this year?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Neewollah wrote: »
    Where is Justin van Tergouw this year?

Failed to qualify for the BDO World Championships. He also did PDC Q School and failed to win a card.

He's played the PDC Challenge Tour this year. You can see his results for the year here: http://www.dartsdatabase.co.uk/PlayerDetails.aspx?playerKey=20142

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

That young Bennett lad is frighteningly good for 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭boomdocker

Jaysus these women can't hit a double to save their lives!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Bennett beat the likes of Ricky Evans on his way to winning the Cambridgeshire Open.

Serious prospect alright. Hope it works out for him.

boomdocker wrote: »
    Jaysus these women can't hit a double to save their lives!
    I've found the ladies championship to be very poor this year.

It has been far better in yrs past.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Bennett beat the likes of Ricky Evans on his way to winning the Cambridgeshire Open.

He only turned 13 on New Years Eve. :eek: Great performance from him.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,496 ✭✭✭Will I Am Not

Ricky’s pace would have suited him down to the ground. Bennett looks to be even quicker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,563 ✭✭✭✭peteeeed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,377 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

Thats class ^^

Suzuki wins her match with a 61 average....

Come on Fallon!

• Registered Users Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Is that a woman playing Fallon?

O'Brien has a good strong throw. Real zip in the shot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,882 ✭✭✭sc86

they should check obrien is actually a woman

• Registered Users Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

Two sets is too short for the women's matches. If you're a bit off form it's over before you get a chance to get into the game. This is the world championships - at least make it best of 5 in the 1/4 finals.

That was a bit of a shock. O'Brien played well in fairness.

lads still calling for fallon to be at pdc mens worlds then?

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Two sets is too short for the women's matches. If you're a bit off form it's over before you get a chance to get into the game. This is the world championships - at least make it best of 5 in the 1/4 finals.
    Best of five would be painful to watch with some of the weaker players though.

it goes up now for the semis and final.

Best of five would be painful to watch with some of the weaker players though.

it goes up now for the semis and final.

Well I'm not saying I want to watch more (unless that Polish lass is playing) but it seems unfair to go to the lengths that they do to qualify and then to be knocked out in 15 minutes.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,290 Mod ✭✭✭✭Kingp35

Bob Harris wrote: »
    Well I'm not saying I want to watch more (unless that Polish lass is playing) but it seems unfair to go to the lengths that they do to qualify and then to be knocked out in 15 minutes.

And the short form at isn't going to help them improve their standard either. It should be best of 5 sets from the Quarter Finals on.

Only the final is best of 5 sets, the semi-finals are still best of 3.

sc86 wrote: »

She still had a far better average than either of the two women in the previous match (prins , suzuki ). She just came up against someone who on the day played better

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,464 ✭✭✭Ultimate Seduction

Kingp35 wrote: »
    Failed to qualify for the BDO World Championships. He also did PDC Q School and failed to win a card.

He's played the PDC Challenge Tour this year. You can see his results for the year here: http://www.dartsdatabase.co.uk/PlayerDetails.aspx?playerKey=20142

Hes in the world youth final again though which is on Saturday afternoon I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,255 ✭✭✭alan partridge aha

sc86 wrote: »

Fair play proved badly wrong. Didn't see the match, was she really bad?

Scoring averages so far in the womens:

Rikand wrote: »
    She still had a far better average than either of the two women in the previous match (prins , suzuki ). She just came up against someone who on the day played better

the thing is 70 averages is the norm for them most days
    the very odd day they might do 80s
    her average from first game isnt much use to her now

• Registered Users Posts: 4,304 ✭✭✭munster87

Kingp35 wrote: »
    And the short form at isn't going to help them improve their standard either. It should be best of 5 sets from the Quarter Finals on.

Only the final is best of 5 sets, the semi-finals are still best of 3.

How could anyone watch all that

be good way to punish prisoners

No. Not really bad. Her scoring average was still the 5th best average so far in the womens championship but her opponent was 8 points better than her on average

Ah well. I'm glad I dont bet anymore than a 5'er. We'll get another run at it next year Fallon....

.... you know, that is if you havent switched to the PDC ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Tarzann

Gulliver needed 12 and hit single 6, single 3 ..... and single 1!!!! WTF

Tarzann wrote: »
    Gulliver needed 12 and hit single 6, single 3 ..... and single 1!!!! WTF

to leave herslef double 1 on her next throw if she got back. Makes sense.

Double 6 and Double 3 would not be popular doubles to hit for a lot of players