Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AEW - All Elite Wrestling (*Spoilers for Latest Show*)

• Registered Users Posts: 37 ciaran2054

Tony on co-commentary with Paul Wight on Dark Elevation they should bounce off each other well.

Britt losing was a bit of a surprise.

I liked how Griff Garrison kept dropping the tag rope and then would remember and grab it again.

Archer is a monster and I hope he wins the ladder match I think he and Allin could have a cracker for the TNT title.

Rey Fenix is amazing however man he is going to seriously hurt himself one day.

Yea Brit losing caught me by surprise too. Would have preferred she won. Think the title would elevate if she held it and they had a face chase.

I hope they reward Rey Fenix by giving him a singles feud and title match. He’s beyond belief good. Every match he seems to have a new gravity defying move.

JR does seem to get worse week on week. Hope he knows how to call it a day himself and Tony doesn’t need to have that awkward conversation.

Papa Buck getting bloodied was a good way to elevate the tag feud.

Great episode though. Really enjoyed it.

Ps I can’t remember a more detestable wrestler than Brandon Cutler. Such a stupid look. Change the channel cringe.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I was surprised Nyla won, I was expecting Baker to win the tournament. It's interesting now though, you'd think the winner of Riho and Rosa is the favourite, but wouldn't be shocked if the final is a slugfest between Rose and Mizunami either. Also wouldn't be surprised if Shida retains against the eventual winner.

Just another very enjoyable episode of Dynamite from AEW, Archer/Fenix was a great main event. Good promo from Mox too.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Once it showed Family Buck at the back of that trailer, I knew it would come into play later.

I know people are sick of ratings talk but I'm really interested to see what the rating is next week with Shaq wrestling and White's first appearance. Wonder could it get them over a million.

• Registered Users Posts: 54,275 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Below is the most up to date card for Revolution. This is going to be a killer show

AEW WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP (EXPLODING BARBED WIRE DEATHMATCH)
    Kenny Omega (c) vs. Jon Moxley

AEW WOMEN’S WORLD CHAMPIONSHIP MATCH
    Hikaru Shida (c) vs. AEW Title Eliminator Tournament Winner

AEW WORLD TAG TEAM CHAMPIONSHIP
    The Young Bucks (c) vs. Chris Jericho and MJF

STREET FIGHT
    Sting and AEW TNT Champion Darby Allin vs. FTW Champion Brian Cage and Ricky Starks with Taz

FACE OF THE REVOLUTION LADDER MATCH
    Cody Rhodes vs. Penta El Zero M vs. Scorpio Sky vs. Lance Archer vs. TBA vs. TBA
    Winner receives future AEW TNT Championship Match.

Matt Hardy vs. Hangman Page
    Winner receives opponent’s 2021 quarter one earnings.

Orange Cassidy and Chuck Taylor vs. Miro and Kip Sabian with Penelope Ford

Casino Tag Team Royale
    Bear Country, Alex Reynolds/John Silver, Evil Uno/Stu Grayson, Santana/Ortiz, The Butcher/The Blade, Private Party, Top Flight

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Really enjoyed that Dynamite.

Mox v Nemeth was short.... woukd have rather Mox squash him in seconds but its a minor gripe. Loved his post match promo.

Loved Team Taz v The Blondes. Arguably the Blondes best match in AEW. All 4 guys told a simple story.

Loved Stings entrance with the misdirection of the body guard. Fantatsic. This segment and last weeks has given this feud the much needed juice.

Hager vs Cutler was grand considering Im not a big fan of either guy. I do like Cutlers entrance and hes sound in ring, but hes got a bland name and appearance. Could do with a new name and a mask gimmick.

Liked the Inner Circle angle with the Bucks. Can go a few ways. Feel Proud and Powerful could win the battle royal at PPV and go on to face either team.

Enjoyed Miros promo. Enjoyed the Cody match promo, its made me care a little more than I antipcated.

Loved the womens match and loved the ending. Britts coming on in ring which is great to sèe as she has the personality down.

Loved the main event. Both men could have added a lot to the ladder match, so I didnt mine who won and going on last added importance to it.

Still dont care about Page v Hardy. A waste of Page, though I continue to like the Dark Order Page story, so I wont mind it.

Dont get Kennys recent promos. They can do better.

A solid show with lots to enjoy. Big week next week, cant wait.

NITRO95 wrote: »
    Paul Wight will be a bigger deal in AEW than he ever was in WWE because he will be used as an attraction. I wouldn't expect to see him wrestling every second week, more likely every 3 - 4 months. I'm very much looking forward to him on commentary and hopefully Dynamite ends up with Excalibur, Tony and PW and JR can go far far away

I disagree. I feel he will be a bigger deal in now in AEaw compared to how hed be used it present day WWE. But if youre telling me 2021 Big Show is a bgger deal than 2002 Big Show, you are mistaken IMO. Can't wait to see how he is used if Im honest. Hes not a game changer but Im very curious at least in the short term.
    I know people are sick of ratings talk but I'm really interested to see what the rating is next week with Shaq wrestling and White's first appearance. Wonder could it get them over a million.

Big week and with a mainstream celeb and a mainstream WWE name, hopefully they can get more eyes in the product.

Come for Shaq and Show, Stay for the awesome FTR v JE.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Sirsok wrote: »
    TNA was fecking awesome back in the day! Hogan etc all ruined it but man I used to love that shoe.

In reference to Line of Beauty saying they only really pushed Styles and Joe.

Abyss would be a good shout, as would Storm, Young and Roode.

Tag Teams like MCMG and LAX always had a good spot.

X Division with Daniels, Low Ki and Kaz were solid also.

Gave rise to Monty Brown and Chris Harris ( Albeit initially)

I think old school TNA was a great place for up and comers and oldies alike There was a nice balance to it i think until Hogan and Bish ruined it.

Roode and Young eventually got to the top but after the peak of the promotion in terms of viewers, where the only main event level guys they had that you'd consider homegrown would be Styles and Joe. Abyss at a push I suppose though to me he was always positioned a clear level below where Angle, Christian, Hogan, Jeff Hardy ect. were.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Will be interesting to see the numbers, I think it will be in the low 900s. 831,000 was a solid number this week, also got their second highest rating in the demo so far this year.

Dynamite has been excellent in 2021, hopefully the strong showings continue. The only thing certain is Dynamite will beat NXT in the ratings like they do pretty much every week!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Didn't they just do a tag team battle royal at the last PPV?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Card seems great but a ladder match to decide who is the No 1 contender for a title that was being defended every other week seems overkill.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,231 ✭✭✭NITRO95

Will be interesting to see the numbers, I think it will be in the low 900s. 831,000 was a solid number this week, also got their second highest rating in the demo so far this year.

Dynamite has been excellent in 2021, hopefully the strong showings continue. The only thing certain is Dynamite will beat NXT in the ratings like they do pretty much every week!

I think they'll get high 900s and peak above 1m

I was just looking at Shaq's Twitter. He has 15.5 million followers. Not a mention of AEW on it though :pac: Surely Tony Khan will be asking him to put out a few tweets about it next week.

Thats a shame considering how much hes pushed for a match over the last decade.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Thats a shame considering how much hes pushed for a match over the last decade.

I think it was the same when Tyson showed up. Remember checking his Twitter and not a mention. With them paying these lads (I'd presume) good money to appear, it shouldn't be too hard to ask them to send out a few tweets promoting their appearance.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

10 vs Max Caster is a very random bout for the ladder match qualifier. They said that the tag battle royal isn’t full yet so if Caster doesn’t get in I’d say Acclaimed will feature in that. Maybe 10 and 5 will if Vance fails to win.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

I think a lot of people look back on TNA with rose tinted glasses (myself included). One thing they did consistently get right IMO, which AEW consistently miss the mark on, was wrestler themes. TNA had so many iconic themes, but AEW's are extremely forgettable. I don't think it helps young high energy teams like Top Flight to come out to the modern equivalent of elevator music. And they butcher some of the good themes they do have (Cody with the random intro and then the awful Snoop Dogg cover, the sloppy MJF/Jericho mashup). I'll give Kenny Omega the benefit of the doubt and assume his mess of an entrance is deliberate, along with the bizarrely cheap looking tights. Another bugbear of mine is the fact that the Lucha Bros don't have individual themes, Rey Fenix is a potential superstar and he doesn't even have his own music?!

I think the sometimes sloppy editing doesn't help as the way they cut music and audio can be jarring at times.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Themes everywhere seem to have gotten blander the last decade

Do people not like the AEW themes? I've found myself really enjoying like a good few of them. The Team Taz theme is great, it has that great wrestling theme trait in that it plays and you know that s*** is gonna go down. The MJF theme fits great. I love the Eddie Kingston and Lucha Bros theme and I'd argue Lance Archer's theme is in the top 5 themes in modern wrestling.

Also I'm a mark for the entire presentation of Kenny and Codys entrances. The only major talent whose theme I actively wish was better is The Young Bucks.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,598 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

I love the Ricky Starks theme too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,967 ✭✭✭realhorrorshow

Do people not like the AEW themes? I've found myself really enjoying like a good few of them. The Team Taz theme is great, it has that great wrestling theme trait in that it plays and you know that s*** is gonna go down. The MJF theme fits great. I love the Eddie Kingston and Lucha Bros theme and I'd argue Lance Archer's theme is in the top 5 themes in modern wrestling.

Also I'm a mark for the entire presentation of Kenny and Codys entrances. The only major talent whose theme I actively wish was better is The Young Bucks.

I can only speak for myself but I find them a little forgettable. There are a good few I enjoy like some of the ones you listed, RIcky Starks, Hangman, etc, but I can see myself remembering them 15 years later like a lot of mid 00s WWE and TNA themes.

I don't think many of them create that "sh*t is about to go down" is the same way that the likes of Jarrett, LAX, Samoa Joe, Christian Cage, Kurt Angle, Abyss etc did in TNA. Maybe part of it is that entrances in general are a bit muted atm, understandably.

I can only speak for myself but I find them a little forgettable. There are a good few I enjoy like some of the ones you listed, RIcky Starks, Hangman, etc, but I can see myself remembering them 15 years later like a lot of mid 00s WWE and TNA themes.

I don't think many of them create that "sh*t is about to go down" is the same way that the likes of Jarrett, LAX, Samoa Joe, Christian Cage, Kurt Angle, Abyss etc did in TNA. Maybe part of it is that entrances in general are a bit muted atm, understandably.

Possibly the last point does play a part and not to come across like I'm hating on TNA cos the original AJ Styles theme, the Angle theme and the Joe theme are among my all time favourites.

I enjoy them.

I enjoy Mox, YBs, Kennys, Jungle Boy, Cody's theme (not the Snoop Dogg hatchet job), Jerichos, Allins, ......

Im way happier with AEWs current themes than WWEs current crop since CFO$ parted ways.

I had issues with CFO$'s, great songs in some cases but on a loop. No change, no different verses.... just 40 second and reapeat x4. (Ember Moon, TUE, EC3, Alliester Black, AJ Styles..... all good themes but totally repetitive after a 40 second loop.

Like Cody Rhoses Smoke and Mirrors redux was fantastic, a decent song all the way through, in comparisons EC3's tune on a loop after 30 seconds. Spoils the listen.

Some TNA themes worked for me.....AJ Styles "get ready to fly" and "I am" themes worked, loved EC3's theme (tunnnne), Angles themes worked too.

Current crop of WWE themes just dont work. Apollo Crews, Big E, Cesaro, Uso, Drew, ....... all lack any soul.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    I enjoy them.

I enjoy Mox, YBs, Kennys, Jungle Boy, Cody's theme (not the Snoop Dogg hatchet job), Jerichos, Allins, ......

Im way happier with AEWs current themes than WWEs current crop since CFO$ parted ways.

I had issues with CFO$'s, great songs in some cases but on a loop. No change, no different verses.... just 40 second and reapeat x4. (Ember Moon, TUE, EC3, Alliester Black, AJ Styles..... all good themes but totally repetitive after a 40 second loop.

Like Cody Rhoses Smoke and Mirrors redux was fantastic, a decent song all the way through, in comparisons EC3's tune on a loop after 30 seconds. Spoils the listen.

Some TNA themes worked for me.....AJ Styles "get ready to fly" and "I am" themes worked, loved EC3's theme (tunnnne), Angles themes worked too.

Current crop of WWE themes just dont work. Apollo Crews, Big E, Cesaro, Uso, Drew, ....... all lack any soul.

Completely forgot Darby's which is a banger and fits the character to a tee. Sting's has that big epic scale too that you'd want for him.

There more I like in AEW than dislike. Some I didnt initially like, but man they grow on you.

Totally forgot about Jarretts My World..... loved it. But I am a Jarrett mark.

WWE went all out for the Fiend and his theme is great (pity about the gimmick, AMIRITE?) but WWE really have dropped the ball. Theme music can make a star in some cases or elevate awful talent to passable.... it can make a huge difference.

I used to not care about Gangrel wrestling because I loved this theme (especially in the days when hearing his theme was not widely accessible).

Not every theme has to be a banger, but WWE have few great themes these days. AEW have some cracking ones, I cant get enough of Kenny and Codys themes.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

As much as I enjoy Kenny's AEW theme, I would love for him to get the NJPW one out occasionally if possible - hearing that live in Sumo Hall at Sakura Genesis 2017 was amazing!

• Registered Users Posts: 54,275 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I love the Ricky Starks theme too.

One of my favorite themes in wrestling today

It absolute suits him to the ground as well

• Registered Users Posts: 60,598 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Revolution sold out in minutes I'd guess it will be a quarter of the seats taken up to keep social distance.

Be nice to see a decent live crowd for it.

If there's not an Observer Awards tribute video to celebrate their success at the next Dynamite then what are we even doing? I'm literally salivating imagining how riled up it would get all the right people. Do it booker man!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭The White Wolf

Meltzer is probably going to get something else named after him after that haul. Did he really say in a tweet recently that there isn't a booker in the last twenty odd years that hasn't read his work and "learned" from him. I saw Cornette being incredulous over it.

Fcuk me like.