Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AEW - All Elite Wrestling (*Spoilers for Latest Show*)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,762 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Ratings down across the board in wrestling. NBA playoffs took a chunk out of everyone.

It'd be interesting to know who these 'casual' fans are and what they think, the 400,000 who tuned a few weeks ago but didnt bother when there is some basketball on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

It'd be interesting to know who these 'casual' fans are and what they think, the 400,000 who tuned a few weeks ago but didnt bother when there is some basketball on.

Downplaying it a bit when the main event ran head to head with the most watched basketball game (a playoff no less that apparently was a banger) since 2019.

• Registered Users Posts: 60,596 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I love AEW and have yet to miss an episode however if it was live head to head with the champions league knock out stages AEW gets watched on DVR.

Would I be considered a casual fan because of that?

• Registered Users Posts: 48,990 ✭✭✭✭Lithium93_

Not a hope anyway that AEW would ever go head to head with the Champions League knock outs (in the hypothetical scenario mentioned), due to the time differences between Europe & the States.

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    Not a hope anyway that AEW would ever go head to head with the Champions League knock outs (in the hypothetical scenario mentioned), due to the time differences between Europe & the States.

To Americans The NBA play off would be as big a deal as the champions league knockout stages are to non American football fans and would likely take a back seat to fans of those teams playing in them.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

To Americans The NBA play off would be as big a deal as the champions league knockout stages are to non American football fans and would likely take a back seat to fans of those teams playing in them.

No, I think those big events in the main sports take precedence over everything else in most American households. Hence why all the main sports are cycled throughout the year so as not to compete with each other. NFL and NBA post season, college football and March madness basketball, these are the gold tier in American sports viewership.

Downplaying it a bit when the main event ran head to head with the most watched basketball game (a playoff no less that apparently was a banger) since 2019.

Because there's always an excuse, meanwhile the average rating slowly drop back down. At some point you got to ask why they aren't kicking on, is it really just competition or promotion, booking, whatever

• Registered Users Posts: 20,753 ✭✭✭✭beakerjoe

Because there's always an excuse, meanwhile the average rating slowly drop back down. At some point you got to ask why they aren't kicking on, is it really just competition or promotion, booking, whatever

Wrestling us a niche business.

Its never gonna compete with Football, Basketball, Hockey.

For a small, new company like AEW to be doing between 800k and 1.2 million viewers each week is amazing, esp with the product hindered by no arena full with live fans.

They are doing quite well. No questions to be asked really. They cant compete with live sports.

As show less than two years old averaging 45% of the WWE's viewership every week is pretty amazing considering the WWE had total and unequalled dominance in the market place for 20 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭kksaints

As show less than two years old averaging 45% of the WWE's viewership every week is pretty amazing considering the WWE had total and unequalled dominance in the market place for 20 years.

Isn't it significantly less than 45% of WWE viewership if you include total WWE televised content (Raw, Smackdown and Nxt). It would be more like 20%.

kksaints wrote: »
    Isn't it significantly less than 45% of WWE viewership if you include total WWE televised content (Raw, Smackdown and Nxt). It would be more like 20%.

I'm taking about individual main roster shows not overall combined viewership as of course the WWE would have a major advantage there having 7 hours of TV compared to the 2 hours AEW has.

Smackown being on a free to air channel viewing numbers would be very disappointing I would think.

Raw averages about 1.9m

Smackdown averages about 2m

AEW would average about 850k.

beakerjoe wrote: »
    Wrestling us a niche business.

Its never gonna compete with Football, Basketball, Hockey.

For a small, new company like AEW to be doing between 800k and 1.2 million viewers each week is amazing, esp with the product hindered by no arena full with live fans.

They are doing quite well. No questions to be asked really. They cant compete with live sports.

I think that's an out of date take on things. You should actually have a look at the kinds of ratings hockey and basketball have gotten the last few years, it's not a hell of a lot more than wrestling nowadays

I'm loathe to post numbers since there may be some caveats I'm not aware of but the Stanley Cup final only gets between 2 - 5m and the NBA Finals last year were a historic low

• Registered Users Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭LineOfBeauty

Well point out a wrestling show that's up this year....

The only one up during the pandemic is Impact.

And this idea of excuses is a nonsense. Every show was down, everyone knew wrestling would be down this week even if you had the slightest interest in American sports.

And hasn't Turner just rewarded them with an improved deal? Trying to spin their performance as anything less than an impressive success is a nonsense.

Well point out a wrestling show that's up this year....

The only one up during the pandemic is Impact.

And this idea of excuses is a nonsense. Every show was down, everyone knew wrestling would be down this week even if you had the slightest interest in American sports.

And hasn't Turner just rewarded them with an improved deal? Trying to spin their performance as anything less than an impressive success is a nonsense.

Everything is down. Streaming services have eaten into live TV. Its all in decline.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,169 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

Basketball: Wednesday at 10pm ET

AEW: Wednesday at 8pm ET

How did they go head to head? Very casual basketball fan but is there a fascinating 2 hour pre-game that fans are enthralled by? Are Shaq and Barkley their Dunphy and Giles that are must watch?

Or is it an excuse?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,927 ✭✭✭Cherry_Cola

J. Marston wrote: »
    Basketball: Wednesday at 10pm ET

AEW: Wednesday at 8pm ET

How did they go head to head? Very casual basketball fan but is there a fascinating 2 hour pre-game that fans are enthralled by? Are Shaq and Barkley their Dunphy and Giles that are must watch?

Or is it an excuse?

There was two games, one playoff was at 8pm. At least research properly if trying to be a smart arse :D

• Registered Users Posts: 23,169 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

There was two games, one playoff was at 8pm. At least research properly if trying to be a smart arse :D

Lakers/Warriors, Lebron/Curry was the 10pm game. That's the big one. Or "The draw".

I'll leave ye to it. The ratings stuff is the saddest shíte to ever pollute wrestling. This place has gone the way of Reddit/Twitter with it.

Lads in Ireland worried about about how many lads in Wisconsin aged 24-36 were watching from 8:30 to 8:45. What a dose.

I hate the ratings ****e as much as anyone the next one and the other side are just as bad. It's an enjoyable product, an alternative that forces others to up their game, not everything is perfect with it but lads arguing over a few 100k of difference a week is an exercise in futility.

Lads in Ireland throwing out assumptions about "yanks" and thinking they know how things work here is almost worse, considering most have probably never been here or just went to NY on their hols one Christmas during the boom years. Basketball is huge, and I'm in Seattle that doesn't even have a team. The bars are hopping here on nights when games are on.

On another note entirely, has anyone used the the new merch website for AEW?

Ratings are a way to see how popular or succesful it is. Its that simple.

Lithium93_ wrote: »
    On another note entirely, has anyone used the the new merch website for AEW?

No, I am meaning to check it out. Anything nice?

beakerjoe wrote: »
    No, I am meaning to check it out. Anything nice?

The event shirts look class, haven't really had a chance to look at the website properly. So much choice...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,454 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

J. Marston wrote: »
    Lakers/Warriors, Lebron/Curry was the 10pm game. That's the big one. Or "The draw".

I'll leave ye to it. The ratings stuff is the saddest shíte to ever pollute wrestling. This place has gone the way of Reddit/Twitter with it.

Lads in Ireland worried about about how many lads in Wisconsin aged 24-36 were watching from 8:30 to 8:45. What a dose.

Mod note:
    You are not obliged to participate in such conversations, but you are expected to remain civil. Cop on to yourself and either get over this sort of aggressive nonsense, or stop posting.

I'm hitting the events all next weekend and can send on the merch list for those since there'll be exclusives if anyone is after anything, I'd be happy to pick it up for you. Meeting a few wrestlers too including Darby, Shida, Miro and Mox and Kingston so should be a good time!

Not at all jealous... Okay maybe a little bit :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

I mean the ratings this week were only brought up on the Friday after Dynamite aired in a post not positively framed towards AEW so I don't think there's too many on here worried about what lads in Wisconsin aged 24-36 were watching from 08:30 to 8:45. Which makes this place like Reddit apparently. Which I would disagree with, I think it's a good place to chat sh*t about pro-wrestling with very few dic*head posters around!

• Registered Users Posts: 29,070 ✭✭✭✭CastorTroy

Here, let me pick up those names you dropped. :)
    Is it a Meet & Greet, planned events or just through contacts?

But if you're offering to get people souvenirs, could you get me Tay Conti?

CastorTroy wrote: »
    Here, let me pick up those names you dropped. :)
    Is it a Meet & Greet, planned events or just through contacts?

But if you're offering to get people souvenirs, could you get me Tay Conti?

Haha will do my best.

These are official meet and greets but I've been chatting with Janela to go on the sesh and no doubt will meet tonnes on the travels also. My friend has hit up the porn star Jericho flew in last time to see if we can some sort of party going there too so should be a messy weekend nonetheless :D

• Registered Users Posts: 2,636 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

https://twitter.com/AEW/status/1395823767528656903

The Narita appearance on Dark was pushed to this Monday on Elevation but they have also announced that J.D Drake will be facing Rocky Romero in the main event, which is really cool. Should be an excellent match, Rocky has gotten even better as the years go by, his BOSJ match in Korakuen against ELP was quality.

This along with the recent Nagata appearance and the upcoming Narita appearance makes me think New Japan are evaluating a full partnership with AEW. Dark and Elevation could be great as an excursion destination for the Young Lions and sending some of the big guns to Dynamite would be class.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,478 ✭✭✭brianregan09

Haha will do my best.

These are official meet and greets but I've been chatting with Janela to go on the sesh and no doubt will meet tonnes on the travels also. My friend has hit up the porn star Jericho flew in last time to see if we can some sort of party going there too so should be a messy weekend nonetheless :D

Just Tell Shida I love her :p