Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

11 yr/old drag kid worshiped within LGBTQ community (Mod warning op)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Omackeral wrote: »
    That auld tolerance takes it out of you! Sweet dreams of twerking kids pal.

You need to think about how you behave online. Insults and petty point scoring is all you’ve done and you finish with this. Well done.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Ultros

Yes I do, how do you know he hasn't been doing some kind of performance from an early age? and now he has been given the opportunity to perform for other people and potentially earn a living from it. You're assuming his parents are responsible for all of this yet you have no proof of this, why is it so hard for people to believe that this is what he wants to do and isn't being forced into doing it by his parents.

Must be on a windup, nobody can be this naive.

If your young child ran away from home, would you go look for him? Or would you accept that he's made a decision, at 7 years old or whatever it might be, that he wants to explore the world.

Kids aren't mentally mature enough to make important life decisions, you are delusional and indoctrinated to the point of no return if you believe otherwise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Brian? wrote: »
    I’m off to sleep. That’s what I think.

Nah, you will be bacjk in a few minutes. Loving the attention, you are.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Nah, you will be bacjk in a few minutes. Loving the attention, you are.

Night.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Actually, the first part is pretty much absolute fact. He's a child. He's twerking in front of adult customers. They are facts whether you or the questionable Brian like it or not. The second part about his folks letting him down is my opinion.

I did not see any twerking in the video linked in the OP he is jumping and walking no twerking at all so it's not an absolute fact.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

You need to think about how you behave online. Insults and petty point scoring is all you’ve done and you finish with this. Well done.

I thought you were taking your ball and going home unless I said sorry. And then you were going to sleep.

Listen, you don't get to tell me how to behave. It's you that has the disturbing outlooks. You freely said on here that you've two sons under the age of 11 and you don't know if it would bother you if they danced for dollar bills in a room full of men in a nightclub. Yeah, it's me that needs to have a look at myself.

• Registered Users Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

Yes. You do sound outraged. The “sickening” at the end is a real give away.

Your opinion (that a young boy gyrating for the pleasure of grown men is normal and a result of normal parenting) is indeed sickening, and quite disturbing.

Ultros wrote: »
    Must be on a windup, nobody can be this naive.

If your young child ran away from home, would you go look for him? Or would you accept that he's made a decision, at 7 years old or whatever it might be, that he wants to explore the world.

Kids aren't mentally mature enough to make important life decisions, you are delusional and indoctrinated to the point of no return if you believe otherwise.

Yes of course I'd go look for him/her if they ran away. This is not the same situation I see no danger in what he is doing his mother was there to supervise him during his performance. Therefore, ensuring he was not in any danger during his performance.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,619 ✭✭✭erica74

It's about time parents stopped this nonsense of "you can be whatever you want to be", that is simply not true. Cop the fuck on.
    Like Aliens, but with dreadlocks.

I needed that laugh after reading this thread:pac:
    So why do you think a gay club is full of predators?

I think we can all agree that if it becomes common place for children like Desmond to perform in gay nightclubs filled with adults, which is predominantly where drag shows take place, then these clubs will be very attractive to predators. I didn't think that would need explaining, it is entirely obvious that that is what was meant by those comments.

• Registered Users Posts: 51,707 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Yes of course I'd go look for him/her if they ran away. This is not the same situation I see no danger in what he is doing his mother was there to supervise him during his performance. Therefore, ensuring he was not in any danger during his performance.

His mother has no morals obviously. Money mad I'd say.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 188 ✭✭Ultros

So you'd be fine knowing a bunch of auld lads go home and jack off about your child son/daughter every time he/she "performs". I suppose the 1 dollar bills being thrown at him would soften it a bit.

Mod-Banned

Ultros wrote: »
    So you'd be fine knowing a bunch of auld lads go home and jack off about your child son/daughter every time he/she "performs". I suppose the 1 dollar bills being thrown at him would soften it a bit.

No I wouldn't be ok with that but you're assuming that some of the people that were there and watched the performance were going to go home and do that which is not what I believe.

• Site Banned Posts: 1,253 ✭✭✭sk8erboii

DS86DS wrote: »
    Liberals never know when they've gone too far. They put ideological fanaticism above human life.

Like the Nazis?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

What ideology? It’s a simple question. What ideology am I defending? I
    "Progressive liberal" in the current sense of it.
    I actually don’t think it intellectual cowardice to be honest. It’s intellectual ambivalence at worst. I don’t feel the need to take a moral stance on the issue.
    If everyone in the world took your position then we wouldn't have equal rights for genders and sexualities and minorities or anyone. Irony of ironies. Though one I've found common.
    Sir Oxman wrote: »
    This is not in any way a part of 'gay culture'
    As general Gay culture it isn't. However pederasty has a long history within Gay culture down the centuries. In the Ancient world the most common approved, even celebrated form was pederasty. So just as the Straight culture has had a long connection with older men and teen girls(commonest search word on porn sites), so Gay culture has had similar. Just because a man is Gay doesn't mean he's as unlikely or not to be into that sort of thing. Just like a Straight man.

It's one aspect that ticks me off about most groups seen as vulnerable to prejudice. On the one hand you have those still applying prejudice, on the other those who contend/believe the members of the vulnerable group are somehow without sin just because they belong to that group(and if they sin, often this is blamed on the overarching culture). I do understand the good intentions reasoning behind that, but it still grinds my gears, because it's bloody patronising to vulnerable groups and can even increase the bullshit they face.

Legislators are not some omniscient benevolent force - do some thinking for yourself for **** sake
    Indeed P. Again this irony I noted above raises its head. Someone who thinks like this "it's the law, so OK" wouldn't have a problem with being Gay is a crime laws? Laws we had(and still have) on the books all over the world and well inside living memory. So if that wasn't OK as a law then how can you apply that argument to this case? You know better? If you grew up in 30's Germany you'd know better too, for the time and would almost certainly have been a tacit, if not active supporter of fascism. The stats bear this out. In any society true rebels who will stand up and be counted against the current cultural flow are incredibly rare.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,144 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

sk8erboii wrote: »
    Like the Nazis?
    Like pretty much every culture and politic, anywhere and anywhen.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Your opinion (that a young boy gyrating for the pleasure of grown men is normal and a result of normal parenting) is indeed sickening, and quite disturbing.

Reminds me of those Afghan dancing boy videos.

Look, if your child wants to dress up and do whatever, that's fine.
    But putting him on a stage in a sexual context and having videos online is wrong on so many levels.

This is going to follow him around for life.

• Registered Users Posts: 32,505 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Bannasidhe wrote: »
    WHAT?

Seriously, what are you talking about?

Some straight people are paedophiles. In fact, 95% of pedophiles are straight.

I responded the same but my post seems to have been deleted.

I don't agree with a child dancing about on a stage at 4am in club, it doesn't matter if its a gay bar or a straight one.... P#ss away off home! The parent(s) need to cop on and mind their bloody child.

I am a gay man BTW.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

A sexualised immature vulnerable kid
    A very famous, to the point of being obsessed about at this stage, sexualised immature, vulnerable kid.

You don't see any potential dangers on the horizon for this child?

Not to mention the fragile mind this child being exposed to this type of attention at this age.
    He was labelled by his parents as being gay at 3 years of age ffs.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,497 ✭✭✭Sweetemotion

WHAT?

Seriously, what are you talking about?

Fact,100% of pedophiles are pedophiles.

Nothing to do with being straight or gay.

Pretty much B. The data is naturally hard to collect, but yeah it seems of all sexualities/genders Gay men are statistically the safest to babysit kids. Straight men and women are much more of a threat.

gmisk wrote: »
    I am a gay man BTW.
    and like I noted earlier this nightclub gig was highlighted and disseminated first by a load of Gay lads who had been in the place on the night and who were processing large dollops of WTF did we just see.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,381 ✭✭✭cgcsb

He is undertaking a job as professional drag performer:

"The truth is, Desmond is a professional drag performer. No one forces him to perform, performing is what he loves to do and has always loved to do."

Correct me if I'm wrong as I have never seen a professional drag performance but, I believe it is the norm for the audience to throw money at the performer during their performance in the US. Therefore this is why the money is being thrown at him and I have no problem with it because it is what is usually done during a drag performance.

It would be simply not a done thing anywhere in Europe or Canada and I've been to a few. I would be shocked if it was commonly done in the US

Wibbs wrote: »
    and like I noted earlier this nightclub gig was highlighted and disseminated first by a load of Gay lads who had been in the place on the night and who were processing large dollops of WTF did we just see.
    Apologies I havent read the whole thread, but glad to see the people seeing it were bemused as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,652 ✭✭✭✭nullzero

I'd say they were mortified by it.
    The parents need to be hauled in front of a judge.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users Posts: 19,219 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Fact,100% of pedophiles are pedophiles.

Nothing to do with being straight or gay.

Yes.

I was going to go into that but I didn't really want to go into a complex (for some) discussion on paedophila and why it isn't really a simple binary straight/gay thing because their primary focus is on children. The gender of the child is a secondary concern to them.

A sexualised immature vulnerable kid
    A very famous, to the point of being obsessed about at this stage, sexualised immature, vulnerable kid.

You don't see any potential dangers on the horizon for this child?

Not to mention the fragile mind this child being exposed to this type of attention at this age.
    He was labelled by his parents as being gay at 3 years of age ffs.

I don't believe that he is being sexualised and I don't believe he is vulnerable. As for being immature I don't know the child personally so I couldn't say whether he is or isn't mature for his age. Therefore, I do not see any potential dangers on the horizon for him as long as his parents are there to supervise his performances.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,219 ✭✭✭✭Bannasidhe

Pretty much B. The data is naturally hard to collect, but yeah it seems of all sexualities/genders Gay men are statistically the safest to babysit kids. Straight men and women are much more of a threat.

I tried to see if I could present some of the data in a simplified way but... yeah... beyond my abilities on a Saturday night.

No I wouldn't be ok with that but you're assuming that some of the people that were there and watched the performance were going to go home and do that which is not what I believe.

Whether they go home & masturbate or not, whether it's a straight club or a gay club, it doesn't matter.
    Sexualising a child is never right, neither is having an 11 year old perform in a club at 4am.

bubblypop wrote: »
    Whether they go home & masturbate or not, whether it's a straight club or a gay club, it doesn't matter.
    Sexualising a child is never right, neither is having an 11 year old perform in a club at 4am.

I don't think he is being sexualised he is doing want he wants to do and his parents are allowing him to do it. As for the time of the performance it is not ideal but as long as he's not doing it on a daily basis I don't see a problem with it.

cgcsb wrote: »
    It would be simply not a done thing anywhere in Europe or Canada and I've been to a few. I would be shocked if it was commonly done in the US
    I have been to LA it is fairly common there.
    Also saw in a few places in San Francisco.