Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Are there any shops you don't like?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Dunnes is just a shop. Some right snowflakes here. "Oh no, the aisle is a bit confusing!" What would ye do if you had a real problem?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,909 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Dunnes is just a shop. Some right snowflakes here. "Oh no, the aisle is a bit confusing!" What would ye do if you had a real problem?

i can become overwhelmed while shopping, largely because i have autism with sensory issues, these kind of issues are actually common enough, even without issues such as mine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

supervalu always seems like there's very little in it. multiple facings of the same items.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

TK Maxx, never found a single thing I liked there. Ever.

Bookies and Cash for Gold places, a sure sign a place is going downhill. Likewise the seedy looking Casinos that exist here.

River Island, their men's stuff is a tad effeminate.

I don’t like TK Max as for River Island my partner and I love it yes it’s effeminate it’s a ship for the gays really

We were in one in Dublin and the shop was packed full of gay guys lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭pauliebdub

TK Maxx. It's feels like a jumble sale for clothes that went out of fashion 10 years ago.

Brown Thomas. Impossible to look at anything in the cosmetics section without being badgered.

Penney's. It's just mountains of cheap rubbish that people wear once, if at all before tossing in the bin. I hate fast fashion, it's such a waste.

eviltwin wrote: »
    Dunnes Stores, something about really puts me off.

In fairness they've really improved over the past few years, their homeware section has some fabulous stuff. I don't particularly like the company.

Giveaway wrote: »
    All if Kildare village. No decent coffee shop, nowhere to get a paper, no electronics or even a hardware shop. Hordes if pushy idiots killing eachother to buy the crap that couldn,t be sold on the high street

Hahaha, this is how I feel about Dundrum Town Centre. To a tee.

Most people have real problems. Many people have many real problems. Finding stuff in Dunnes should not be one more additional problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭killanena

Three shops, I buy a cheap smart phone within 100-150 usually once a year, they usually have the best priced pay as you go but the last 2 times they gave me a sim card with 20e topped up on it and added that to the total without even asking me.. I refused both times to pay for something I didn't ask for as I unlock the phones myself and use 48. I work in retail so I try not to give staff in most outlets a hard time because I know well what its like but that is just outright disgraceful.

I don't like Dunne's store either, only reasons are I don't like the layout or design and men's clothing is a rip off. Staff are generally quite nice and helpful though and I do like their deli.

Argo's, I don't mind the waiting, its when half the time I've gotten stuff its been damaged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

Giveaway wrote: »
    Pennys. Single use only clothing.
    All if Kildare village. No decent coffee shop, nowhere to get a paper, no electronics or even a hardware shop. Hordes if pushy idiots killing eachother to buy the crap that couldn,t be sold on the high street

May I add, at crazily over inflated prices. The place is a joke.

I bought a jacket in the States at $199 (just launched) the same jacket was in the store in KV for 499 euro a year later.... how is that a bargain?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,480 ✭✭✭✭road_high

NSAman wrote: »
    May I add, at crazily over inflated prices. The place is a joke.

I bought a jacket in the States at $199 (just launched) the same jacket was in the store in KV for 499 euro a year later.... how is that a bargain?

The full priced stuff is mad alright. I just only ever buy stuff that’s been reduced which is pretty easy as there’s usually good offers. Jack Wills is definitely well discounted as is Tommy Hilfiger- you can be lucky or not.
    Noticed the Ralph Lauren shop has been getting more expensive (probably as the recession is over) and less discounts. They used have random 25% off anything you buy- now it’s if you buy 3 or more items

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Every shop has their attractions and draw backs for me. For example I think Dunnes clothes are gack but love their homewear (not the Paul Costello notioney crap) and supermarket. I would avoid Next for myself but would go there first to get bits for my nieces. I wouldn’t shop much in Penneys except for pj’s and socks. I used to love Topshop but a lot of their clothes lately are hideous. TKMaxx I don’t believe I’ve ever set foot in. I buy all my booze in Tesco but wouldn’t buy meat there after the horse burger scandal.

Next is an expensive Penneys. Their menswear section is poor and dull. Only use is pants for work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 461 ✭✭buzzing147

Penny's, full of headless chickens, running around, especially on Thursday mornings

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

pauliebdub wrote: »
    In fairness they've really improved over the past few years, their homeware section has some fabulous stuff. I don't particularly like the company.

The problem with dunnes, particularly in smaller towns, is the staff.
    Some of them have been working there since the stone age, and have no skills whatsoever.

I once brought a big load of shopping including a 24 pack of beer to the checkout, it had been reduced On the shelf label, but scanned in at the full price.
    I questioned it, the auld hag behind the checkout rolled her eyes, and with what looked like huge effort for her, got off the seat and walked slowly down to where there beer was stocked.
    Came back and said, "well its scanning at the higher price", and just looked at me like I had 3 heads.

I told her that if it is marked as reduced then that's what it should sell at.

I got.another blank stare and she came out with this absolute clanger.....
    "What do you expect me to do, I only work here"

My reply.

"How about do your job?"

Her reply.

"There nothing i can do"

I told here she was about as much use as a chocolate teapot, walked away Leaving the checkout belt full to the gills with shopping.
    Went to Tesco and got all I needed there with no bullshyte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,740 ✭✭✭Foweva Awone

Supervalu own-brand stuff is actually pretty decent value, just avoid buying any other brands in there as they're massively over-priced.

Really need to be careful with the dates on fresh produce in there- I’ve seen past dated stuff on shelves there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,456 ✭✭✭blackbox

anewme wrote: »
    Penneys - One wear disposable clothes, going into landfill or sea somewhere. with no responsibility for the environment or for those making the clothes. There's so much waste from that chain.

That's more a problem with the customers rather than the shop. I manage to get years of use out of Penneys' clothes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Smiggles. Got roped in there once by my daughter. Never again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Pennies.. a Mecca for woman aged 10 and up and a nightmare for the poor lads waiting outside for the women to come out. I’ve yet to see a woman go in and out in less than an hour :(

What’s more, if a woman happens to be in a different town with a Pennies, they get an urge to go in there too in case they have something the other one didn’t.

Or what I find even more frustrating. This applies to shopping when go shopping anywhere and not just in penneys.

A woman will walk around a shop twice to look for something.

She'll realise that the shop doesn't have it.

She'll ask a member of staff if they have said item and staff member replies that they don't.

Woman will then ask when they next expect to have said item.

She'll stay in the shop and continue looking for said item even though it isn't there.

Needless to say. I havent shopped with a woman since I learned how to walk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Get Real

SuperValu (spell it right folks)....

Pennys

The irony here considering you're telling people to spell SuperValu correctly 😋

I agree with you on bookies. Particularly where there's three or four within close proximity. This is particularly true of towns in the UK. That could otherwise be nice but have a high street comprised of a gaudy Betfred, Admiral Casino, Ladbrokes and paddy power with a pawn shop or two thrown in.

Tower Records always seemed staffed by sneering aging hipsters. It smelt a bit odd too.

killanena wrote: »

I don't like Dunne's store either, only reasons are I don't like the layout or design and men's clothing is a rip off. Staff are generally quite nice and helpful though and I do like their deli.

It must be very different from the Dunne's near me. Staff seem to compete for who runs the slowest checkout. They switch off the belt manually for fear it might get a speed wobble rather than let it stop automatically when the item gets there.
    Apart from the poor staff it's not too bad. I have no idea whether it's a case of poor training or bad attitude.

blackbox wrote: »
    That's more a problem with the customers rather than the shop. I manage to get years of use out of Penneys' clothes.

Their clothes nearly always lose their shape in the wash as the material is such poor quality, and have to be binned.

Then buy clothes elsewhere.

I mostly use a 40deg wash. Sure the jumpers get a bit bally after a while, but I can live with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,977 ✭✭✭NewbridgeIR

Tower Records always seemed staffed by sneering aging hipsters. It smelt a bit odd too.

Agree, very judgmental.
    It's open 26 years now. Was always overpriced.
    Some very flakey staff.
    No consistency in how they treat customers.
    I really try to avoid it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

road_high wrote: »
    Super valu is a pretty poor shop. Though they vary enormously based on the franchisee. You always have to double check the prices, especially the special offers
    One local to me used be a Superquinn and it’s not a patch on the old store

They are in every town of any size, only thing which explains its popularity as its as expensive as M+S for some things

I've gone in there a couple of times, always seems extremely overpriced, I'm surprised they are still in business tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,729 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Get Real wrote: »
    The irony here considering you're telling people to spell SuperValu correctly ��

I know, I walked right into tha.....eh, well done, you passed the test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Woodies is staffed by disinterested transition year students or at least they come across as, far dearer than any half decent proper hardware store, OK for third rate power tools if you have paper thin walls to drill

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,530 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Another one for me would be Harvey Norman. It's just the constant state of "greatest sale ever" that they seem to be trapped in.
    That tactic puts me right off even going near the place.

Suppose my dislike for them started with the horrible shouty Oz dude on the ads. Irritating and grindy on my nerves.

GO HARVEY GO.... F**K OFF !

The HN assistants land on you faster than flies in the Outback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

And they only ever have 1 picture of the product!!!! Any chance of more than 1 picture? Amazon seem to be able to do it quite easily!!

Then go to Argos.co.uk, where they always have lots of pictures. Also shows how much you are being screwed over the exchange rate.

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    Woodies is staffed by disinterested transition year students or at least they come across as, far dearer than any half decent proper hardware store, OK for third rate power tools if you have paper thin walls to drill

This.
    I worked in Athlone branch for 2 years many moons ago.
    They don't hire on experience and knowledge.

The way they see it, "They are a retail store, not a hardware store"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

Mad_maxx wrote: »

It’s an absolute mystery how woodies are still in business. The prices and staff are just shockingly bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Foot Locker: Overpriced with pushy staff who try to upsell you as much crap as possible. I used to get runners and t shirts there all the time but I stopped after the pushy sales assistant kept trying to land me with packets of reduced price socks.

The Tesco Express on Dorset Street Dublin: Without doubt the worst supermarket I have EVER been in. The queues there are horrendous.

Many people here also mentioned Lush: The smell doesn't bother me too much. It's the staff who pounce on you the millisecond you step through the door and hound you relentlessly.

Diesel: Bland boring clothes with the Diesel label plastered over everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Diesel: Bland boring clothes with the Diesel label plastered over everything.

If I ever had to buy Diesel clothing I don't think I'd buy it in a Diesel shop mainly because of there dull lighting!

• Registered Users Posts: 5,480 ✭✭✭Vicarious Function

Dunnes Stores grocery sections. They are massive in area with row upon row of chiller cabinets both open and closed. These bring down the overall temperatures of the shop. Not a comfortable experience! I once was served by a checkout girl there who was absolutely dying with a cold. I made so bold as to suggest to her she should be at home in her bed. She replied No because she'd only just started in the job and couldn't take sick leave.

I like the hardware sections for browsing. Fairly up-market prices though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,050 ✭✭✭✭cena

Irish sports store. not a great variety of different sports.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 568 ✭✭✭mikeymouse

The idea of a shop having a 'correct' direction to walk in is enough to put me off.
    Terry Wogan once suggested everyone go to EEKia and walk the wrong way around ,
    he hated the place.
    great place to take kids to play hide and seek or get them to make sentences using the names of stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,586 ✭✭✭4068ac1elhodqr

Some of the smaller Dunness stores require their baskets sanatised,
    years of use with not a drop of soap near them and ripped up plastic dangly handle bits.
    The galvanised steel cages are on the brink of 'sudden onset rust self-combustion'.

I like Dunnes again- found myself drawn back to them lately after getting so sick of ****e SuperValu. You can be fairly sure of the dates of products, the prices at the checkouts will be correct, very good specials and some lovely “posh” ranges too. If you spend over €50 the vouchers are good too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Most people have real problems. Many people have many real problems. Finding stuff in Dunnes should not be one more additional problem.
    Well there are signposts. And some people are saying "I don't like such a shop, something about it" - no actual reason. It's just a shop ffs. Good few people here seem to enjoy complaining for the sake of it. Great example is the Netflix thread recently.

Dunnes is a very good shop with plenty to offer, ditto Tesco.

I'll concede though that the smell from Lush is ridiculously overpowering and sickly. Such high levels of perfume can't be good for the skin either.

And Schuh for the assistants nearly knocking you over to offer help before you even get in the door. As said though, it's not their fault that such a crap method is mandatory. Don't know how the company can be so out of touch as to not see how off putting it is, which is hardly conducive to selling. I just politely say I'm ok thanks and scurry ahead though.

supervalu always seems like there's very little in it. multiple facings of the same items.

Their range is far less than Tesco or dunnes. And usually more expensive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,825 ✭✭✭LirW

Smyth's. It always mental, overpriced, useless staff. If I order online I'd get the same amount of help.

LirW wrote: »
    Smyth's. It always mental, overpriced, useless staff. If I order online I'd get the same amount of help.

The Ken Black sister shop is very good in my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,849 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

LirW wrote: »

I think Argos has become very popular for purchasing toys mainly because parents don't want the hassle of dealing with the isles and isles of stuff in Ken Black/Smyth's!

buzzing147 wrote: »
    Penny's, full of headless chickens, running around, especially on Thursday mornings

Is that dole or childers allowance day?!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,341 ✭✭✭miezekatze

I think tk maxx has improved in recent years. I used to hate the place, but I often find decent stuff there now and the shops aren't as messy anymore as they used to be.

I hate Tesco and Penneys for all the reasons already mentioned. Can't stand Argos either, the way you always have to wait around for ages until you get your order, and whenever you decide on something on the website it's not available in any shops around you.

Victoria Secret is pretty tacky, don't understand why anyone would want to shop there.