Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭.G.

Just need to keep winning. April is a big month with City's schedule. They get through that unscathed fair play to them. We've taken the team that blew the entire league away last season to the pin of their collar so far this season when others who revel in our failings have been nowhere near challenging them for many a season, much to be proud of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

April is huge for race. City have a April from hell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

April is huge for race. City have a April from hell.

City should have much more games especially if they progress in fa cup and champions league. Gotta stick right behind them and hope for a wobble from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,068 ✭✭✭Tipsy McSwagger

FFS this derby nearly always ends 0-0. Pressure is on City now which might be the best thing in the run in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

gstack166 wrote: »
    Who has he sold bar Cou to recuperate the £40m on Salah & Ox, £60m on Alison, £70 odd on VVD, £50m on Fab around the same for Keita.

I know it’s not as much as Mourinho & Pep but he’s spent big.

Where have a denied he has spent big? If he had a blank cheque book like City has had he may have been able to get a bigger squad.

20 players bought £382

Marko Grujić Red Star Belgrade £5,100,000 6th Jan, 2016
    Shamal George LFC Youth System £0 6th Jan, 2016
    Kamil Grabara Ruch Chorzow £300,000 15th Jan, 2016
    Sadio Mane Southampton £30,000,000 28th Jun, 2016
    Loris Karius Mainz 05 £4,700,000 1st Jul, 2016
    Joel Matip Schalke 04 £0 1st Jul, 2016
    Ragnar Klavan FC Augsburg £4,200,000 20th Jul, 2016
    Alex Manninger Free Transfer £0 22nd Jul, 2016
    Georginio Wijnaldum Newcastle United £25,000,000 22nd Jul, 2016
    Nat Phillips Bolton £0 1st Aug, 2016
    Mohammed Salah AS Roma £34,000,000 22nd Jun, 2017
    Dominic Solanke Chelsea £0 1st Jul, 2017
    Andy Robertson Hull City £8,000,000 21st Jul, 2017
    Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain Arsenal £35,000,000 31st Aug, 2017
    Virgil van Dijk Southampton £75,000,000 1st Jan, 2018
    Fabinho AS Monaco £39,300,000 28th May, 2018
    Naby Keïta RB Leipzig £52,500,000 1st Jun, 2018
    Xherdan Shaqiri Stoke City £13,500,000 13th Jul, 2018
    Alisson AS Roma £56,250,000 19th Jul, 2018
    Ki-Jana Hoever Ajax £0 1st Aug, 2018

26 sold £289M

Jordan Rossiter Rangers £250,000 13th May, 2016
    Joao Teixeira FC Porto £0 30th Jun, 2016
    Jerome Sinclair Watford £0 1st Jul, 2016
    Sergi Canos Norwich City £2,500,000 10th Jul, 2016
    Martin Skrtel Fenerbahce £5,500,000 13th Jul, 2016
    Jordon Ibe Bournemouth £15,000,000 13th Jul, 2016
    Joe Allen Stoke City £13,000,000 25th Jul, 2016
    Brad Smith AFC Bournemouth £3,000,000 27th Jul, 2016
    Christian Benteke Crystal Palace £27,000,000 19th Aug, 2016
    Luis Alberto Lazio £4,300,000 31st Aug, 2016
    Mario Balotelli Nice £0 31st Aug, 2016
    Joe Maguire Fleetwood Town £0 13th Jan, 2017
    Tiago Ilori Reading £2,500,000 18th Jan, 2017
    Andre Wisdom Derby County £2,000,000 1st Jul, 2017
    Lucas Leiva Lazio £5,000,000 18th Jul, 2017
    Kevin Stewart Hull City £7,000,000 21st Jul, 2017
    Mamadou Sakho Crystal Palace £26,000,000 31st Aug, 2017
    Philippe Coutinho Barcelona £142,000,000 7th Jan, 2018
    Cameron Brannagan Oxford United £250,000 11th Jan, 2018
    Lloyd Jones Luton Town £200,000 31st Jan, 2018
    Jordan Williams Rochdale £0 14th Jul, 2018
    Paulo Alves Wolves £0 19th Jul, 2018
    Danny Ward Leicester City £12,500,000 20th Jul, 2018
    Ragnar Klavan Cagliari £2,000,000 17th Aug, 2018
    Dominic Solanke Bournemouth £19,000,000 4th Jan, 2019
    Lazar Markovic Fulham £0 31st Jan, 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,586 ✭✭✭cmac2009

superg wrote: »
    Its been coming for a while now that they'd overtake us, being top dog doesn't suit these lads clearly so you'd have to hope now that its happened they can forget about it and refocus on the task at hand, win the games and see where it takes us. I still think we're a year ahead of where we should be, another summer of improvement and then leagues will be on but this is a chance still.

In my adult life I've never seen us win anything the easy way this is no different.

It took City till the last seconds of the last match to win their first premier league, we just need to keep in there and see what happens.

Not sure why you think not being top will now help the team refocus "at the task at hand" and start winning again. I'm sure they are fully focused going into every game, just been playing terrible recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

FFS this derby nearly always ends 0-0. Pressure is on City now which might be the best thing in the run in.

6 of the last 7 at Goodison have been draws. We always draw there and beat them at Anfield. Pretty much every season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,212 ✭✭✭shamrock55

This team just doesn't have the stomach for a fight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,342 ✭✭✭gstack166

Where have a denied he has spent big? If he had a blank cheque book like City has had he may have been able to get a bigger squad.

20 players bought £382

Marko Grujić Red Star Belgrade £5,100,000 6th Jan, 2016
    Shamal George LFC Youth System £0 6th Jan, 2016
    Kamil Grabara Ruch Chorzow £300,000 15th Jan, 2016
    Sadio Mane Southampton £30,000,000 28th Jun, 2016
    Loris Karius Mainz 05 £4,700,000 1st Jul, 2016
    Joel Matip Schalke 04 £0 1st Jul, 2016
    Ragnar Klavan FC Augsburg £4,200,000 20th Jul, 2016
    Alex Manninger Free Transfer £0 22nd Jul, 2016
    Georginio Wijnaldum Newcastle United £25,000,000 22nd Jul, 2016
    Nat Phillips Bolton £0 1st Aug, 2016
    Mohammed Salah AS Roma £34,000,000 22nd Jun, 2017
    Dominic Solanke Chelsea £0 1st Jul, 2017
    Andy Robertson Hull City £8,000,000 21st Jul, 2017
    Alex Oxlade-Chamberlain Arsenal £35,000,000 31st Aug, 2017
    Virgil van Dijk Southampton £75,000,000 1st Jan, 2018
    Fabinho AS Monaco £39,300,000 28th May, 2018
    Naby Keïta RB Leipzig £52,500,000 1st Jun, 2018
    Xherdan Shaqiri Stoke City £13,500,000 13th Jul, 2018
    Alisson AS Roma £56,250,000 19th Jul, 2018
    Ki-Jana Hoever Ajax £0 1st Aug, 2018

26 sold £289M

Jordan Rossiter Rangers £250,000 13th May, 2016
    Joao Teixeira FC Porto £0 30th Jun, 2016
    Jerome Sinclair Watford £0 1st Jul, 2016
    Sergi Canos Norwich City £2,500,000 10th Jul, 2016
    Martin Skrtel Fenerbahce £5,500,000 13th Jul, 2016
    Jordon Ibe Bournemouth £15,000,000 13th Jul, 2016
    Joe Allen Stoke City £13,000,000 25th Jul, 2016
    Brad Smith AFC Bournemouth £3,000,000 27th Jul, 2016
    Christian Benteke Crystal Palace £27,000,000 19th Aug, 2016
    Luis Alberto Lazio £4,300,000 31st Aug, 2016
    Mario Balotelli Nice £0 31st Aug, 2016
    Joe Maguire Fleetwood Town £0 13th Jan, 2017
    Tiago Ilori Reading £2,500,000 18th Jan, 2017
    Andre Wisdom Derby County £2,000,000 1st Jul, 2017
    Lucas Leiva Lazio £5,000,000 18th Jul, 2017
    Kevin Stewart Hull City £7,000,000 21st Jul, 2017
    Mamadou Sakho Crystal Palace £26,000,000 31st Aug, 2017
    Philippe Coutinho Barcelona £142,000,000 7th Jan, 2018
    Cameron Brannagan Oxford United £250,000 11th Jan, 2018
    Lloyd Jones Luton Town £200,000 31st Jan, 2018
    Jordan Williams Rochdale £0 14th Jul, 2018
    Paulo Alves Wolves £0 19th Jul, 2018
    Danny Ward Leicester City £12,500,000 20th Jul, 2018
    Ragnar Klavan Cagliari £2,000,000 17th Aug, 2018
    Dominic Solanke Bournemouth £19,000,000 4th Jan, 2019
    Lazar Markovic Fulham £0 31st Jan, 2019

He’s deserves the keys to the castle getting £86m for Ward, Solanke, Ibe, Benteke, Allen & Shako!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,775 ✭✭✭✭Gbear

He’s deserves the keys to the castle getting £86m for Ward, Solanke, Ibe, Benteke, Allen & Shako!

Or Mike Edwards does.

Quite an expensive shako it was too!

220px-MuseeMarine-ShakoMarine.jpg

Carra with the last word as the credits run

''they celebrated like they won the world cup final''

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez Mahrez

Huh?

• Registered Users Posts: 4,989 ✭✭✭Potential Underachiever

cmac2009 wrote: »
    Not sure why you think not being top will now help the team refocus "at the task at hand" and start winning again. I'm sure they are fully focused going into every game, just been playing terrible recently.

It's just mental gymnastics to convince ones self that we aren't/haven't chucked this title away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,417 ✭✭✭.G.

cmac2009 wrote: »

They're human and haven't been in this position before so while trying to win games they've been aware that they aren't playing well and may have been worried like all of us of City's threat looming large, it may have affected them. I just hope that now its happened and we are back to being the hunter we can forget all the other stuff and try go again.

Clutching at straws like but I prefer optimism to pessimism

58180718-faith-quotes-1-1.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭Doff

No idea why Shaqiri isn't being played more. He was immense at breaking down smaller teams in the first half of the season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,827 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Hard to see beyond City at this stage.
    Peps going to get them firing on all cylinders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

SlickRic wrote: »
    The subs weren't great.

But, bigger picture, it's a derby. These games are normally frantic and won on moments.

I'd normally say you're right, but that's when the Derby involves 2 good sides.

Everton are an average side at best. A team that was in the cl final last season and leading the EPL most of this one, should be beating them easily enough.

Pool dip in form has probably cost them the league title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

shamrock55 wrote: »

That's nonsense. Utter and complete nonsense.

The only issue we've had is putting the ball in the net. That's nothing to do with fight.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,067 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

It's just mental gymnastics to convince ones self that we aren't/haven't chucked this title away

Ya while I do not think we have chucked the title away as a long way to go its foolish to think just because we are not top we will play better however. Confidence is what we need

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭keano25

A day that will be remembered for years, nay decades, as the Grand Old Team produce their best display of the season to cement their position in the lofty heights of 10th. Evertonians will regale this tale through the generations. "I was there the night we scraped a 0-0 at home against Liverpool", they'll say, a wistful tear in their eye. The greatest atmosphere that Goodison has seen in years was a suitable backdrop to this monumental achievement by the heroes in blue. The roar at the finish, as each Evertonian was secure in their minds that 10th was theirs and theirs alone, was a fitting finale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,508 ✭✭✭✭noodler

Have to also say this is garbage.

The battling is there for all to see.

Baffled at the subs for the second game in a week and sad Mo has decided to lose form now but great battling.

I really thought Leicester at home was a massive opportunity lost.

We were actually worse 2nd half, last 15min only Everton looked like they wanted to win it tbh

noodler wrote: »
    Have to also say this is garbage.

The battling is there for all to see.

Baffled at the subs for the second game in a week and sad Mo has decided to lose form now but great battling.

I really thought Leicester at home was a massive opportunity lost.

Can't remember dates off hand but from jan10th
    Chance to go 10 pts clear (fáil)
    Chance to go 7pts clear (fail)
    Chance to go 5pts clear (fáil)
    Chance to go 3pts clear (fáil)
    Chance to go 1 point clear (fail)

If you call that battling then God help you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

We're seeing what a squad can give you.

Salah and Firmino are going through a rough patch and Mané can't do it every single week. You need someone else to step up. Origi. A midfielder. Someone to take the pressure off.

There's a perfect comparison with City yesterday.

Aguero and Sterling couldn't do it. Mahrez does. Against West Ham, they couldn't score, but B Silva drives in and wins a peno. They've players outside their front 3 who are pitching in lately.

And Klopp deserves criticism. His subs are extremely conservative, and he's forgotten what made us dangerous at the end of last season - Ox's drive. The midfield 3 he's choosing has none of that, and bringing Milner on instead of Keita or Shaq was objectively strange.

Battling equals winning in your head?

Imagine being a point behind city and not having capacity for a battle.

Impressive stuff.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,248 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

You think they got into those positions without the need to battle, clueless fella!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,881 ✭✭✭✭klose

Yeah, klopp subs are again under scrutiny and rightly so. Disappointing that keita and shaq stayed on the bench, bringing on Lallana is just really head scratching lad has never changed a game in his time here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,081 ✭✭✭Fromvert

Just finished watching it, the midfield was terrible, Gini should have been hooked earlier, similar performance to United away, just not involved at all. Milner replaces him and spends his first 15 minutes kicking it out of play or to an Everton player.

Salah missed two great chances, Matip wins some amount of headers in the opposition box, too bad he has no control over where it goes after it hits his head, missed a great chance. Fabinho doesnt cushion the ball properly, another great chance missed.

Passing and control was not there, subs terrible again.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Buddy97mm

I am continually stunned by the amount of so called supporters who turn on team/manager/players when things are not perfect. This is Liverpool, we should support and encourage. I'm not saying we should be blind to failings and things going wrong, but let's not become like other teams and turn against them in difficult times.

I'm supporting Liverpool a long time, through some very good times and some times a hell of a lot more trying than where we are now. But what set our supporters apart was the fact that we stayed behind the team in those tough times, some of that wouldn't go amiss now. We're second, 1 point behind what some see as arguably the greatest Premiership team of all time. They will drop points, let's get behind our team and try and minimise what we drop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,397 ✭✭✭✭Turtyturd

I agree the subs should be criticised but Milner was brilliant on Wednesday so at the time, bringing him on wasn’t the most outrageous idea ever. He was shockingly bad though. It should always be 1 from him and Henderson.

I enjoyed that earlier in the season we had numerous options and could swap players in and out depending on the game. We’ve gotten to predictable/cautious in the lineup.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

Jaysus, the amount of absolute school bags in here spunking their load after the Pool draw with their local rivals is hilarious, let's see how the season finishes out first :D

When the chips are down we can't start the melt down. Drawing against Man U, the form team in the European leagues, whooping Watford, the best of the rest and drawing in our local derby in their world cup final, I think a bitta perspective is needed.

I'd hate to have some of ye in a foxhole with me, chill lads, long way to go yet :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,926 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Firmino, Keita & Shaq for me would be the substitutions to make if you wanted to change the game up.

Firmino, Milner & Lallana seemed to be the substitutions to make if you didn't want to lose the game.

Klopp's substitutions in the Man U game and this game have been badly judged.

Klopp's answer to the substitutions, Which I do understand however Lallana & Sturridge :(
    Jürgen Klopp: "We don't play PlayStation. Do you think we didn't take enough risks today?Bring on an extra attacker? Just to go wild, with nine matchdays left? Football is not like that. We don't lose our nerve."

https://twitter.com/MelissaReddy_/status/1102281139107057665

City didn't panic 10 pts behind, no need for us to panic 1 point behind. Burley next, come one, that has to be 3 pts, then Fulham away has to be another 3pts.
    They have Watford next, I know we beat them easily but I was worried before that game as they have a great away record. I expect we'll see the true Watford against City. This time next week we could be top.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,384 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

5 clean sheets on the trot. Defence still great but the goals have dried up away from home. Since Christmas really.

Salah and Firmino are not on top form right now. Mane the only one who has consistently produced lately. That’s a problem.

Is there anything to be said for another holiday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

Buddy97mm wrote: »
    I am continually stunned by the amount of so called supporters who turn on team/manager/players when things are not perfect. This is Liverpool, we should support and encourage. I'm not saying we should be blind to failings and things going wrong, but let's not become like other teams and turn against them in difficult times.

I'm supporting Liverpool a long time, through some very good times and some times a hell of a lot more trying than where we are now. But what set our supporters apart was the fact that we stayed behind the time in those tough times, some of that wouldn't go amiss now. We're second, 1 point behind what some see as arguably the greatest Premiership team of all time. They will drop points, let's get behind our team and try and minimise what we drop.

Well said Buddy, we are having our best league campaign in ages and but for better finishing today would be 2 points ahead of the strongest squad in league history. By Jesus the Everton fans were ecstatic at final whistle, one of them nearly landed on me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,798 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Liverpool aren't doing themselves any favours, but that's sport.
    I still think they will win the league. City have a woeful April and a far tougher run in from here all things considered. They will defo drop points. As will Liverpool but I think Liverpool will drop less.
    This is a great Liverpool team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,926 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

If we get past Munich we draw City to make everything more interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,329 ✭✭✭Ardent

Really disappointing that Shaqiri and Keita haven't contributed more this season. I think we're paying for our over-reliance on the Fab 3.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,859 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Buddy97mm wrote: »

I'm supporting Liverpool a long time, through some very good times and some times a hell of a lot more trying than where we are now. But what set our supporters apart was the fact that we stayed behind the time in those tough times, some of that wouldn't go amiss now. We're second, 1 point behind what some see as arguably the greatest Premiership team of all time. They will drop points, let's get behind our team and try and minimise what we drop.

Well ****ing said. The internet doesn’t help because people having knee jerk reactions find other knee jerkers and they start feeding each other’s stupidity. All this nonsense about Liverpool “choking” is rubbish. It’s being fuelled by people looking at remaining fixtures and saying, “we’re better than all these teams so we should get maximum points”. The minute you don’t win one of those games, someone is saying “well the only explanation is that we choked.” There is no consideration given to the fact that players sometimes just have off days, other teams raise their games, a ref makes some bad calls, the law of averages meaning few teams ever win 9 or 10 games on the bounce.

You boys have lost a solitary game this league season. Away to arguably the best team in Europe. And you were beaten by a goal that was inches from coming back out off the post. 1 league game out of 29. And you’re choking?

I’m a Spurs fan and I usually take any chance to have a pop at you but I’d love to be in your position. You’re well in the hunt and in most seasons would be streets ahead. Calm the **** down and support your team.

• Registered Users Posts: 632 ✭✭✭Owl.

This thread is a septic tank. No idea why I keep reading it. I must be a masochist.

Jaysus, the amount of absolute school bags in here spunking their load after the Pool draw with their local rivals is hilarious, let's see how the season finishes out first :D

When the chips are down we can't start the melt down. Drawing against Man U, the form team in the European leagues, whooping Watford, the best of the rest and drawing in our local derby in their world cup final, I think a bitta perspective is needed.

I'd hate to have some of ye in a foxhole with me, chill lads, long way to go yet :)

Sure the load was being splunked in here before the final whistle yesterday...

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//showpost.php?p=109568046&postcount=8975

At least today's 'after' is an improvement.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭ozzy78

Ardent wrote: »
    Really disappointing that Shaqiri and Keita haven't contributed more this season. I think we're paying for our over-reliance on the Fab 3.

I thought Keita was starting to play well in the last month so I'm surprised he hasn't featured in the last two games. Milner replacing Wijnaldum was a like for like sub. Keita gives a bit more of an attacking threat. Anyway I'm not going to criticize Klopp. He obviously knows how the players are training and we're still in a great position with nine games to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Firmino, Keita & Shaq for me would be the substitutions to make if you wanted to change the game up.

Firmino, Milner & Lallana seemed to be the substitutions to make if you didn't want to lose the game.

Klopp's answer to the substitutions, Which I do understand however Lallana & Sturridge :(

I agree with you, they are the subs you make when chasing a goal. Maybe Klopp decided the game was already too open and played for a point. Not sure if thats the case, but that quote seems to suggest he did settle for the point.

Just on his quote, I dont think he took enough risks, and while an extra attacker would have probably have opened us up for the counter, we actually took an attacker off and put on a midfielder. I wont be too harsh on them but if its one thing I will criticise is we didn't take the risks we perhaps needed to. Draws are killing us, we kinda have to take those risks now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Irishmale0399

Klopp is making the same mistakes as he made in his second last year in Dortmund before deciding he couldnt take them any further and resinging with a defeat in the cup final in Berlin.

Simple fact in my opinion is.....if a player isnt performing they have to be dropped and Klopp aint doing that. He is letting them play on their reputations. That is the case with Salah amongts others who hasnt been playing great, almost as if he has lost his hunger or the pressure has got to him. Maybe a week or 2 on the bench might do him good. Mind you Klopp may ask who should he replace him with.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭qm1bv4p8i92aoj

Sure the load was being splunked in here before the final whistle yesterday...

https://www.boards.ie/vbulletin//showpost.php?p=109568046&postcount=8975

At least today's 'after' is an improvement.

Ah stop man, ye are irrelevant now.

I actually had to look up what that gif was referencing.

Your post is kinda sad for a man u fan tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

ozzy78 wrote: »
    I thought Keita was starting to play well in the last month so I'm surprised he hasn't featured in the last two games. Milner replacing Wijnaldum was a like for like sub. Keita gives a bit more of an attacking threat. Anyway I'm not going to criticize Klopp. He obviously knows how the players are training and we're still in a great position with nine games to go.

Pretty much spot on here. I would disagree with some of Klopp's decisions lately, but tbf he's doing a good job, and he's seeing the players every day. I don't know why Shaq and Kieta haven't featured recently, but he's the man. He'll live and die by his decisions, let's see how we end up.
    We're paying for lack of creativity in midfield, and that's nothing new. We cashed in on Cutinho last year, and the players who've come in can't really do what he did. What I've seen more of of late, is teams dropping deeper and deeper against us. It means that Salah and Mane have less space to operate, especially behind the defense. Whereas, in this situation, Phil could step inside and zing one into the top corner from 20-25 yards, well gigi, Hendo or Fab are never going to do that. The only one who might would be Shaq, but he's been out of favour recently.

Anyway, with 2 months to go, it's important that we hold our nerve, and that includes manager, players and fans too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

Klopp is making the same mistakes as he made in his second last year in Dortmund before deciding he couldnt take them any further and resinging with a defeat in the cup final in Berlin.

Simple fact in my opinion is.....if a player isnt performing they have to be dropped and Klopp aint doing that. He is letting them play on their reputations. That is the case with Salah amongts others who hasnt been playing great, almost as if he has lost his hunger or the pressure has got to him. Maybe a week or 2 on the bench might do him good. Mind you Klopp may ask who should he replace him with.....

Exactly, who's the replacement with Firmino already out......also, Salah had a golden opportunity to score so even though he's not on fire he still had probably the best chance of the game....he's not going to keep missing those chances. I dont think anyone would drop their top scorer going through a bad patch would they? Not unless the backup is of similar standard.

It's been hinted at, but how good has Matip been?

Has done excellently in both defence and bringing the ball out of defence.

I'm feeling less down about this game than I did the Utd, Leicester or West Ham ones.