Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Liverpool FC Team Talk, Gossip, Rumours 2019

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Another plus for me is that Liverpool have already played Leicester twice now and taken four points from them. City have played them once and lost that, and have to play them again in May.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,743 ✭✭✭giveitholly

Another plus for me is that Liverpool have already played Leicester twice now and taken four points from them. City have played them once and lost that, and have to play them again in May.

Leicester will probably be on the beach then,thats the only thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,295 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

City also have to play away to Palace Liverpool don’t have to play them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,945 ✭✭✭dogbert27

Yeah and they were just waiting for their opportunity to hit us on the break. They actually could of put the game out of sight early in the 2nd half too had players made the right decisions.

That's why I'm ok with the team not putting the pressure on until the last few minutes. Playing like that with 20 minutes to go would have left to conceding again. I'm certain of that.

Sometimes you have be cute against these type of teams and take what you can get.

Exactly. 2 years ago we would have gone gung ho to win this game and got caught on the break.

We've played smarter this season.

• Registered Users Posts: 572 ✭✭✭Buddy97mm

Poor enough performance, but on the wrong end of some shockingly bad decisions which would have hugely affected outcome were they given. Thought Mane and Hendon best on night, but many did not perform - Shaq was terrible (again) and should only be looked at as impact sub for next while, looking far too much a luxury in this team. Lallana ( surprisingly) offered a lot more when he came on.

Still, onwards we go, would readily have taken increasing lead by a point before games. Need to regroup for Monday against Hammers, hopefully with a fit RB and Fab back in middle.

• Administrators Posts: 54,111 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

We've to go to Old Trafford and Goodison which is annoying the head off me. Two teams who will go full tilt to beat us.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Pitch and the weather conditions killed any chance of moving the ball quick. Turned the game into a lottery. Move on nothing to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Lallana has literally done nothing in nearly 2 years.

He will be gone in the summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭tony1980

Buddy97mm wrote: »
    Poor enough performance, but on the wrong end of some shockingly bad decisions which would have hugely affected outcome were they given. Thought Mane and Hendon best on night, but many did not perform - Shaq was terrible (again) and should only be looked at as impact sub for next while, looking far too much a luxury in this team. Lallana ( surprisingly) offered a lot more when he came on.

Still, onwards we go, would readily have taken increasing lead by a point before games. Need to regroup for Monday against Hammers, hopefully with a fit RB and Fab back in middle.

Fab needs to be always playing in the middle, makes a huge difference. He has great awareness and always seems to have space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,694 ✭✭✭✭machiavellianme

Buddy97mm wrote: »

The llama needs 6 games to hit his peak. Every time. That was his 5th appearance since injury. 80 odd minutes but he's getting there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

MD1990 wrote: »

He'll be on the West Ham treatment bench this time next season.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,983 ✭✭✭✭NukaCola

The llama needs 6 games to hit his peak. Every time. That was his 5th appearance since injury. 80 odd minutes but he's getting there.

His injury record is also terrible, cant see where he even fits in any more tbh.....time for him to move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,952 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Remaining league fixtures for each of us:

Liverpool | Man City
    West Ham (A)| Arsenal (H)
    Bournemouth (H)| Everton (A)
    Man Utd (A)| Chelsea (H)
    Watford (H)| West Ham (H)
    Everton (A)| Bournemouth (A)
    Burnley (H)| Watford (H)
    Fulham (A)| Man Utd (A)
    Spurs (H)| Fulham (H)
    Southampton (A)| Cardiff (H)
    Chelsea (H)| Palace (A)
    Cardiff(A)| Spurs (H)
    Huddersfield (H)| Burnley (A)
    Newcastle (A)| Leicester (H)
    Wolves (H)| Brighton (A)

Couple games I'll be keeping an eye on for City, away to Crystal Palace who they've already lost to at home this season, and West Ham at home, which comes only 2 days after their League Cup Final vs Chelsea.

Any chance gomez or Trent will be back for Monday night

awec wrote: »
    We've to go to Old Trafford and Goodison which is annoying the head off me. Two teams who will go full tilt to beat us.

Trip to United will also be Liverpool’s game in hand and after a mid week game in the champions league, but at least VVD will have had 2 weeks off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭thecretinhop

rio Ferdinand is a clown

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Weve lost every final under Jurgen as everyone reminds us and nwo City away and Tonight two massive games with pressure and we haven't show up its a worry

rio Ferdinand is a clown

What is he saying?

part and parcel Atkinson good nerves bad omen so early

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Someone mentioned the crowd earlier in the day but the atmosphere was - again - pathetic tonight. Sorry, not having this 'players' mistakes fed into the atmosphere'. You create an atmosphere, especially given the start we had which you maintain for the match. We never do at Anfield unless it's a 'big European night'.

Weve lost every final under Jurgen as everyone reminds us and nwo City away and Tonight two massive games with pressure and we haven't show up its a worry

Or luck has gone for Liverpool in those two games

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭HandsomeBob

MD1990 wrote: »

2 years ravaged by injury to be fair. What does it say about our midfield though when Lallana came on replace one of them with what, 25-30 mins to go?

People can give Lallana all the grief but our midfield problems extend far beyond him. That is the reality fans need to come and live in.

That's actually the amazing thing about what we've achieved this season in that Klopp has us top in spite of constantly having to rotate the midfield to find the best combination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,488 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Did we just pay for Salah's '' so called dives''

Did ref just wave it away because we've had a few penalties that were argued over recently.

We're top of the league by 5 points if we're not showing up then who tf is?

Allison was very good second half. my fukushima stress radar was beeping loudly till i realised it was not karius as they came for 50 50 balls..

part and parcel Atkinson good nerves bad omen so early

Leicester should have had a free kick early on that he waved away and then spent the rest of the game making up,for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,985 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Keita was ****, No Fab ? And Lallana ? Wtf.

Goalie was sloppy as well. Bobby and Shaq not at the races.

We have increased our lead though. City did not take advantage of tonight. They will drop more points also.

What about all the other pressure games, they don't count? Lets not over react here or pretend we've only had pressure in 2 games we havent won in. City are a fantastic team and were at home, tonight was a poor display but I wont be getting worried yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

yay !
    BT Ref has back tracked, it was a clear penalty after all
    Just deduct it from all the "penos" Salah was awarded this season

Everyone did say it,
    if you dive you'll have genuine penalties not awarded by refs to balance it out. I think it happened,

Alisson played two dodgy passes in the first half and was good after that, chased every ball right out to the edge of the box, played the ball back out as soon as he got it, and stopped us from losing 2-1 when Firmino's interception was going towards our goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,798 ✭✭✭Enzokk

FA have an agenda against us.......cant have a club being run in a correct manner winning something against the money flushed clubs.

No agenda, just crap referees really. Before this game all opposing fans were saying they were biased in our favour. The sooner VAR is introduced the better as the game is too quick for them. This is not their fault, just the way the has evolved.

Don't think it was a red card myself. Mane doesn't have the ball and is chasing it away from goal.

It was very close to a red. Evans was moving towards the ball and missed it so he was not running in the same direction as Mane so would never have caught him. I think it was a red and if it was our player getting a red for a challenge like that I wouldn't like it but would understand it.

tony1980 wrote: »
    What’s annoying me isn’t the red card, it’s the fact if you look across, Salah has started to run through the centre and I think he would defo have half a yard on his defender for a squared ball across from Mane instead of Mane shooting and it would have ended up a tap in.

Replying to myself here but even Klopp just mentioned the fact Salah would have been available for the square ball. None of the analysts on BT talking about that. I suppose its because it wouldn’t affect the red card decision. It was a very clever foul by Maguire! Really could have done with him been missing tonight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,594 ✭✭✭kingshankly

McGuire should have been off
    Should not have been on pitch to score
    We should have had a clear penalty
    We had some great positions flagged off side

Everything was wrong

Leicester should have won the game had by far the better chances
    Liverpool were awful second half defence has all of a sudden gone to pot

• Registered Users Posts: 6,083 ✭✭✭Chesty08

Absolutely spot on. Some of the comments here are unbelievably defeatist and pessimistic. 5 pts clear at the top going into February... come on lads ffs!!

It’s the manner. Everything in favour to go out with the right attitude, energy etc... id much prefer to have lost playing without fear than to have gained a point and shown all signs of weaknesses (like Palace)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭mosstin

Jesus, in a season of remarkable, sustained success you'd quickly forget how many miserabilists support us. A point at home to a decent counter-attacking side when we underperformed, and they're all out.

Remaining league fixtures for each of us:

Liverpool | Man City
    West Ham (A)| Arsenal (H)
    Bournemouth (H)| Everton (A)
    Man Utd (A)| Chelsea (H)
    Watford (H)| West Ham (H)
    Everton (A)| Bournemouth (A)
    Burnley (H)| Watford (H)
    Fulham (A)| Man Utd (A)
    Spurs (H)| Fulham (H)
    Southampton (A)| Cardiff (H)
    Chelsea (H)| Palace (A)
    Cardiff(A)| Spurs (H)
    Huddersfield (H)| Burnley (A)
    Newcastle (A)| Leicester (H)
    Wolves (H)| Brighton (A)

Couple games I'll be keeping an eye on for City, away to Crystal Palace who they've already lost to at home this season, and West Ham at home, which comes only 2 days after their League Cup Final vs Chelsea.

That Man City game has been moved to the Wednesday night it is the only time both Liverpool and Man City play at the same time from now until St Paddy’s day Man City will be playing first and for most of feb will have play one game more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

tony1980 wrote: »
    It was a very clever foul by Maguire!
    It was cheating, and it worked well for his team. Saved a goal for his team, same as a player winning a goal when diving in the box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Stop talking sense. You're going against the grain here and no one will thank your posts.

Silly boy. Its all about the thanks.

No doubt when it’s the 1st choice defence it will be better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,406 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

5 points clear after 24 games. Great spot to be in, onwards.

The fans really need to cop on in the stadium too. I could feel the tension here at home. I think this really affected the players and they were making silly mistakes at the back or losing the ball in the middle giving Leicester a chance at a dangerous counter. I really think the fans need to be even louder when things aren’t going right, it’s really feeding into the team when they are like this!

FixitFelix wrote: »
    Just deduct it from all the "penos" Salah was awarded this season

Lol all the peons that were awarded correctl, Liverpool should also have 2 extra points then for the perfect good goal ruled out v Arsenal

2 out of our first 4 starting back four are missing, we had one fit CB in our last game....might explain some of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

To be honest most of their chances apart from the Maddison one were not great. One from the Maguire header was a bit of a scramble but should have been blown for offside to start with.

Leicester were great against top six this season, no surprise in their performance. It's a great point considering our performance and City's loss.
    We're now better off, with one game less to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Chesty08 wrote: »
    It’s the manner. Everything in favour to go out with the right attitude, energy etc... id much prefer to have lost playing without fear than to have gained a point and shown all signs of weaknesses (like Palace)

no way, its all about the points

In the grand scheme after tonight, the gap has got bigger and less games to play

Leicester had 2 shots on target all game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,843 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

We're top of the league by 5 points if we're not showing up then who tf is?

We shall see , tonight was a massive game for us , next weekemd we could be going to westham only 2 points in front and a worse goal difference ,
    We are good team but we are about to find out about the sides bottle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    5 points clear after 24 games. Great spot to be in, onwards.

And that’s all that needs to be said.

A round of fixtures where we slightly pulled away from Man City, they have some tricky games coming up and we have a couple of winnable ones, and a good few lads to come back from injury over the next few weeks.

Very happy as a Liverpool right now, as a “bigger picture” kind of supporter.