Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Do you think nurses will get their payrise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,357 ✭✭✭hawkelady

Graces7 wrote: »
    The health service is an absolute shambles. Successive governments have failed to solve it. A strike is needed
    Essential surgeries will continue, elective surgery will be postponed.

My neighbour recently had a hip replacement after three years of waiting in sheer agony. Essential or elective?

A strike is never ever "needed" and the only ones who suffer are the sick and suffering, US!

Any nurse who strikes should be sacked. Period. Without pay.

But then what do we matter? shameful nurses.

A sheer bitter post ! An uneducated one too !! You’ll be of an age where you’ll be needing nurses and hospital care not too far in the future ! Let’s hope the strikes are over for when that happens. I don’t think anyone in the country wants to see this happening but , as they say, we are where we are !
    Btw, when the guards threatened strike action were you as quick to say that they should be sacked ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

You're not doing nurses any favour with your argumentative approach.
    It's as bad as those saying "nurses do nothing and should take a pay cut" except on the other side.

The above is false by the way.

Ahh come on, I am only having a laugh. I have no idea what the women does but it seems like this thread is full of wild accusations with nothing to back them up....might as well join the party :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Kerry25x

To save you making the obvious point, hospital doctors - who are in contact with far more sick people than nurses - take sick leave at a fraction of the rate of nurses.

Hilarious. I wonder if you've ever spent much time in a hospital?

Nurses are the ones cleaning patients vomit, helping them go to the toilet, feeding them, washing them, suctioning their sputum, holding their hands when their upset or confused. If they're assigned to an isolation room full of patients with the flu or other airbourne diseases then they spend most of their day in that room.

Do you honestly believe that doctors are more exposed? Seems obvious to me that nurses would take more sick leave.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Twenty Grand

Kerry25x wrote: »

Nurses are the ones cleaning patients vomit, helping them go to the toilet, feeding them, washing them, suctioning their sputum, holding their hands when their upset or confused. If they're assigned to an isolation room full of patients with the flu or other airbourne diseases then they spend most of their day in that room.

Do you honestly believe that doctors are more exposed? Seems obvious to me that nurses would take more sick leave.

Can I also add that nurses are also the ones getting physically and sexually assaulted regularly by patients. They're the ones dealing with prisoners, drunks, drug addicts, and the mentally unwell and your run of the mill perverts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,545 ✭✭✭Martina1991

The salary pay scale has been posted here a number of times and yet posters keep finding evidence to suggest nurses earn more than they’re letting on. I said before that overtime shouldn’t be factored into the nursing salary as it is not fixed, but I would guess the vast majority of nurses do overtime in the form of nights of weekends.

I was not aware nurses earned extra money for the ward they work in and the extra qualifications they attain. This definitely skews the average salary to more than the basic scale and I think it should be acknowledged by nurses that it boosts a lot of their wages. But this information is being disregarded by some people here because it makes the nurses salary appear better than they would care to admit. This is why we’ve only seen payslips from newly qualified nurses and not those with their bonuses factored in.

I did my masters while working. I had to pay for it myself and definitely do not get a pay increase for doing it. I need it if I intend to seek promotion which there is few opportunities to do so. I will reiterate my point that I think the basic salary is lower than it should be, but nurses do have perks and advantages that other healthcare professions do not have as well.

Swings and roundabouts come to mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,582 ✭✭✭Padraig Mor

Shefwedfan wrote: »
    You are very wrong, but please tell me source of your information?
    No; no, I'm not. From HSE circulars re sponsorship of nurses on fulltime courses:

8. Annual Leave
    In the case of fulltime courses sponsored employees shall retain their annual leave entitlements throughout the period of the programme.

9. Retention of Salary
    A public health service employee who is sponsored in accordance with the terms of this circular will remain on the payroll of his/her sponsor. He/she will retain his/her existing basic salary plus specialist allowances throughout the period of the programme, and will continue to be entitled to normal incremental progression up to the maximum of that scale.

13. Availability for Work
    Sponsored employees will be required to work by their sponsor during all periods outside of academic semesters, except when they are on annual leave....

So: nurses are not required to work while doing a postgrad. Once again, I seem to be the only one here backing up their statements with referenced facts.

mariaalice wrote:
    How come a single date point is worthless but talking about average salary i is not? when looking at the issue?
    Because.....mathematics. Very simple mathematics. The plural of anecdote is not data.
    mariaalice wrote:
    the average information has been rumbled anyway.
    Has it?! By who? I haven't seen a single shred of comprehensive evidence produced to say the HSE figures are wrong - just a whole lot of, frankly, mathematically naive whimpering about averages being unrepresentative , and a whole lot of foot stomping.
    Kerry25x wrote:
    I worked in one for years as it happens.

Well......yes. Doctors are exposed to far more patients than nurses. I would have that was obvious but hey....

Anyway, seems we're going around in circles here so I reckon I'll bow out now....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 514 ✭✭✭thomasdylan

Well......yes. Doctors are exposed to far more patients than nurses. I would have that was obvious but hey....

Anyway, seems we're going around in circles here so I reckon I'll bow out now....

Doctor's aren't more exposed to patients. I'm a doctor. The reason why doctors have such low rates of sick leave is that most jobs are understaffed so it's hard to take days off even when you are sick, there's usually no-one to cover you, and NCHDs are completely transient and don;t want to rock the boat and want to make a good impression. Its probably one of the most unhealthy jobs because of the hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,184 ✭✭✭riclad

I do,nt think they,ll get a pay rise based on the fact if they get a
    pay rise other civil servants ,teachers ect will expect a pay rise .
    Public servants salarys are all connected .
    Of course who know,s what happens if they go on strike ,
    hospitals cannot function without nurse,s .
    Peoples lives would be put at risk .
    nurses have to pay 15 euro per day for a parking space .
    If the dublin bus drivers stop working for 2 weeks it would be inconvenient but
    it does not put peoples lives at risk .
    Nursing in a public hospital is a tough job .
    They also have to complete a college degree to be qualified as a nurse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭aido79

riclad wrote: »

Comma ,
    Apostrophe '

I see the meeting yesterday between government officials and unions reps ended without any agreements at all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,958 ✭✭✭✭Shefwedfan

hawkelady wrote: »
    I see the meeting yesterday between government officials and unions reps ended without any agreements at all

No surprise. The Government approach to this is make the nurse the bad person.....

Expect the strike to go ahead and a big campaign by RTE in hospital going on about cancelled operations etc.....not a bad word against the Government or the incompetent HSE management.....anything to turn the public against the nurses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

They're the ones dealing with prisoners, drunks, drug addicts, and the mentally unwell and your run of the mill perverts.
    So do a lot of workers.

How will more pay fix this?

The public aren't stupid, they see this as yet another public sector shakedown.

The union leaders have taken a very naive approach in simply asking for more pay, because it's not something the government can give them as it will lead to a wave of knock-on pay demands in the public service.

hmmm wrote: »
    So do a lot of workers.

How will more pay fix this?

The public aren't stupid, they see this as yet another public sector shakedown.

The union leaders have taken a very naive approach in simply asking for more pay, because it's not something the government can give them as it will lead to a wave of knock-on pay demands in the public service.

Name one other non medical profession that has to deal with all these people. I'll wait.

And as I've been saying for AGES now, nurses are understaffed. No one wants the jobs, long hours, crap pay and no thanks.

How do you propose solving this?

That's it, it's not so much the lower paid nurses asking for more, I'd agree with them being given a raise.

It's everyone else will pile in for the same deal after.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

No one wants the jobs, long hours, crap pay and no thanks.
    That's simply not true, no matter how many times you repeat it. 6% annual turnover.

There's endless amounts of thanks. There isn't endless amounts of money we can pay to the public sector.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,972 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Name one other non medical profession that has to deal with all these people. I'll wait.

And as I've been saying for AGES now, nurses are understaffed. No one wants the jobs, long hours, crap pay and no thanks.

Prison Officers, Gardai....

That's simply not true, no matter how many times you repeat it. 6% annual turnover.

There's endless amounts of thanks. There isn't endless amounts of money we can pay to the public sector.

Try again. As I said before turnover if where one nurse is replaced by another. When a nurse isn't replaced it's not turnover.

Four jobs available to every nurse looking for a job and getting worse. If there any other profession in the country where the ratio of African and Asian to Irish workers is skewed like nursing?

https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.irishtimes.com/news/health/four-irish-jobs-available-for-every-qualified-nurse-seeking-work-1.3573125
    Prison Officers, Gardai....

At least they're trained and armed to defend themselves if things get violent, unlike nurses, who are often left alone with violent and unpredictable people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,224 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Is it not 38 hr weeks, 4-6 weeks holidays, Pay going up to 50000 and your pension is way over what the private sector gets for the same contributions.
    What's not to like
    Never mind working hard.....we all have to do that
    I could work 38hr weeks wut sure what would I do after wednesday :D

wrangler wrote: »
    Is it not 38 hr weeks, 4-6 weeks holidays, Pay going up to 50000 and your pension is way over what the private sector gets for the same contributions.
    What's not to like

Ah you know, the physical and emotional toll, when you f*ck up people can die, when you do everything right people can die, the constant overcrowding, fighting with difficult patients, dealing with death, the night shifts followed by day shifts, you can only leave when your job is done,if your relief doesn't arrive or calls in sick you can be there for a lot longer, missing lunch breaks, missing social events, working Christmas, New Years etc. being exposed to illnesses, being exposed to physical and sexual violence, always being on your feet and many many more that are littered throughout this thread.

I'm surprised people aren't queuing up at the door to be honest (well, patients are by the thousands:rolleyes:)

What's not to like

There's a large amount of evidence that workers on rotating shift have an increased risk of stroke, MI, T2DM. There's an increased mortality of 10% for these workers.

So what about the 1000s of factory workers in the private sector on rotating shift work.

Or the Gardai, paramedics, fire fighters?

Or taxi drivers?

Or hotel staff?

So what about the 1000s of factory workers in the private sector on rotating shift work.

Or the Gardai, paramedics, fire fighters?

Or taxi drivers?

Or hotel staff?

What about them. They should be paid a premium to work those hours. Comparing a 8-6 job with people doing shiftwork, you'd expect the people doing shift to be paid well because it'll knock a year or two off your life.

Some get shift allowance. So do nurses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,967 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

wrangler wrote:
    Is it not 38 hr weeks, 4-6 weeks holidays, Pay going up to 50000 and your pension is way over what the private sector gets for the same contributions. What's not to like Never mind working hard.....we all have to do that I could work 38hr weeks wut sure what would I do after wednesday

What are you earning per annum?

eagle eye wrote: »
    What are you earning per annum?

Not as much as the nurses anyway, I was a farmer now retired.
    38hr week would be a short week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,270 ✭✭✭twowheelsonly

Not as much as the nurses anyway, I was a farmer now retired.
    38hr week would be a short week

So you were subsidised by the tax payers for leaving fields empty and not producing milk, grant aided to build sheds (and the odd extension to a house or two..) and buy farm machinery and your kids got massive grants for college ?

Not everything you hear about other peoples jobs is all true BTW... :rolleyes:

So you were subsidised by the tax payers for leaving fields empty and not producing milk, grant aided to build sheds (and the odd extension to a house or two..) and buy farm machinery and your kids got massive grants for college ?

Not everything you hear about other peoples jobs is all true BTW... :rolleyes:

And brought €2bn annualy to rural areas from the EU.
    You got me there, won't be defending this anymore as were gone off topic ;)

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,152 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Coincidentally, rte show a nurse on How to be good with money, 2 weeks before the nurses go on strike.

Hmmm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭mikeym

riclad wrote: »

They are looking for pay restoration. (2008 levels and that was 11 years ago.)

The government slashed public service pay and thats why public servants are up in arms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,688 ✭✭✭storker

I did my masters while working. I had to pay for it myself and definitely do not get a pay increase for doing it.

The same is true for my wife, who is a nurse. Masters degree, own expense, no pay increase. Nor did she get anything extra when she did her degree previously, again at her own expense, so I'm less than convinced by these claims of "extra money for qualifications".

But I'll definitely be suggesting that she look into it. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Dr hoRse

The reason nurses are paid so poorly is because they are the only profession that cant do a "proper" strike and walk off. The pateints will never be left totally alone, there will be still some nurses there doing what needs to be done. That's why the piss has been taken from them for years! Nurses stop the doctors from killing you …………….They deserve the biggest pay salary they can get...……..Its high bloody time ………...What they put up with, the stress and responsibility...………….There wages are laughable for what they do. Good on them !!! I will go out and support them on the 30th, They are there to care for us in life and death...………..its funny when people say they don't deserve a pay rise, say that when they are saving your life or a family members !!!!

Please stop this.

Doctors (your colleagues) are supporting you in your strike if it brings more resources and better conditions for our patients. Why is this fallacy perpetuated every time a nurses role is brought up. Its actually disparaging and gives people the impression of incompetence among a cohort of staff looking after them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,862 ✭✭✭mikhail

Dr hoRse wrote: »
    Please stop this.

Doctors (your colleagues) are supporting you in your strike if it brings more resources and better conditions for our patients. Why is this fallacy perpetuated every time a nurses role is brought up. Its actually disparaging and gives people the impression of incompetence among a cohort of staff looking after them.
    It's total rubbish too. Nurses catch errors. So do doctors. They also kill rather a lot of people making them in spite of their expensive state educations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,210 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

It really is amazing the intellectual leaps that people will go to to deny what's written in black and white. Average staff nurse pay is €51k, average senior staff nurse ~€62k - these are the facts as reported by the Pay Commission to which the nursing unions contributed. These sames unions have never once denied this level of pay in the media which tells its own story. If people here believe that nurses are paid less on average, please feel free to provide your own data backed evidence to that effect - anecdotes re pay of individuals are worthless. I mean, if they're paid so 'poorly', surely there's plenty of evidence of this - the union will have published a report to that effect? And to claim that it would require "working every weekend ON night duty" is just simply untrue.

Unless I'm very wrong (and I don't believe I am), nurses receive 100% time off for any approved full time post grad courses they attend with full pay (and fees paid), accrual of increments and service as well as holiday entitlements, and increased salary in the form of a qualification allowance when they return. The only 'downsides' are that they don't earn any premium hours payments, and must work in the sector for a time (2 years?) when they finish.

You are wrong.
    Nurses doing post graduate full time courses are employed doing a physical job and studying to boot. They get some days leave to study per year and for exams . Otherwise employed as any other nurse in the sector. I think you are mixing it up with people who are in part time education doing a MSc in a certain area. Mostly these nurses are working in their usual job, and they get paid pro rata . All giving good service and add value .
    As I have stated previously I cannot account for those high average salaries quoted by you as from the Pay Commission. Nurses at the top of the scale get just mid 40 k ,with added premium pay for working antisocial hours or extra for a second main qualification ( which would be a Higher Diploma, to MSc ). They do not get paid for any more qualifications, just one , besides their main degree/ qualification, no matter how many they have and only if they are working in that area . Are you saying that these additions should be included in basic pay?.. No I don't think so. Of course one should get paid extra for working weekends , nights and bank holidays. And qualifications besides main degree. And that is not considered basic pay . So that is why those figures are incorrect.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    You are wrong.
    Nurses doing post graduate full time courses are employed doing a physical job and studying to boot. They get some days leave to study per year and for exams . Otherwise employed as any other nurse in the sector. I think you are mixing it up with people who are in part time education doing a MSc in a certain area. Mostly these nurses are working in their usual job, and they get paid pro rata . All giving good service and add value .
    As I have stated previously I cannot account for those high average salaries quoted by you as from the Pay Commission. Nurses at the top of the scale get just mid 40 k ,with added premium pay for working antisocial hours or extra for a second main qualification ( which would be a Higher Diploma, to MSc ). They do not get paid for any more qualifications, just one , besides their main degree/ qualification, no matter how many they have. Are you saying that these additions should be included in basic pay?.. No I don't think so. Of course one should get paid extra for working weekends , nights and bank holidays. And qualifications besides main degree. And that is not considered basic pay . So that is why those figures are incorrect.

Why doesn't the general secretary of the INMO dispute these figures?

Whether it is made up of basic rate or pay plus add-ons, the total annual earnings have to be considered as the nurses pay.

Why doesn't the general secretary of the INMO dispute these figures?

Whether it is made up of basic rate or pay plus add-ons, the total annual earnings have to be considered as the nurses pay.
    I suppose she doesn't want to get caught in trivia like this. She has a bigger message to get out than trying to unravel the misinformation spread by government ( some on this thread, I would think ) . Obviously total annual earnings are not the same for every nurse and, to be honest , is the way successive governments have fudged the nurses' pay issue.
    Because every nurse's premium is different, depending on where one works , what hours , and qualifications. It is possible to increase your pay , yes, but basic pay is the same . As I have said before many nurses work in areas that do not open at weekends and at nighttime , and these nurses often have to work extra hours doing agency or bank to pay the bills . So as well as going a full week Monday to Friday, that nurse might work a Saturday night or Sunday shift .
    It is this basic pay that is turning newly qualified nurses off because it is so much lower than what they can get in Australia and other countries with their qualifications . Also while basic pay appears lower in UK , factors like sterling, London weighting and more promotional posts make the NHS more attractive.

Well then, accept endless waiting lists because not enough nurses to look after patients.
    Accept more people waiting on trolleys and chairs in A&E than the average size of a ward, because no more wards being opened because no nurses available to staff them.
    And inevitably longer wait times for outpatient appointments as a result of above.

6% annual turnover is disingenuous . It is 6% attrition rate of qualified nurses.....who are then replaced by 4th year student nurses ....They are trying to learn but also are under increasing pressure on poor pay to plug gaps in the HSE ...They are then are so stressed by the time they qualify that all they want to do is leave Ireland for countries with a more organised health service.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

If he can find money to donate to random Ethiopians, he can do the same for the nurses

storker wrote: »
    The same is true for my wife, who is a nurse. Masters degree, own expense, no pay increase. Nor did she get anything extra when she did her degree previously, again at her own expense, so I'm less than convinced by these claims of "extra money for qualifications".

But I'll definitely be suggesting that she look into it. :)

Extra qualifications meaning those that attract a qualification allowance where a nurse is obliged to be registered in two major qualifications, out of five..General, Midwifery , Paediatric, Psychiatric , and Intellectual Disability, AND is working in the area. Many nurses have certificates , higher diplomas and BSc or MSC also in areas of post graduate study, and should , if working in areas that use these qualifications , be getting an allowance, but only one is recognized at any given time, unfortunately. And if you have two of these registrations you will have worked and studied for 5.5 to 6 years fulltime , being paid as a student, while doing weekends and nights.

Graces7 wrote: »
    https://www.rte.ie/news/health/2019/0114/1023210-nurses-industrial-action/

Cancelling surgery etc. Great way for nurses to act :eek:

Do you not realise that surgeries are being cancelled all the time due to lack of nurses a nd beds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,194 ✭✭✭Corruptedmorals

1 week out and all appointments and admissions are still scheduled in my hospital..have been told to do nothing. The directive issued by people who will 100% not have to a) ring hundreds of patients instead of posting in bulk or b) find a new date for them. I support the strike, but not the HSE or nursing management response to it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭LessOutragePlz

Don't think the strike will happen to be honest. The government will wait til the 11th hour like the they did with the Gardai and come to some kind of compromise that will end the threat of strike action. It will be really bad publicity for the government and Simon Harris if they allow the strike to happen.

Also nurses are required to hold certain certifications to work in certain departments, so it's only right the HSE sends them to do these courses.

Goldengirl wrote: »
    I suppose she doesn't want to get caught in trivia like this. She has a bigger message to get out than trying to unravel the misinformation spread by government ( some on this thread, I would think ) . Obviously total annual earnings are not the same for every nurse and, to be honest , is the way successive governments have fudged the nurses' pay issue.
    Because every nurse's premium is different, depending on where one works , what hours , and qualifications. It is possible to increase your pay , yes, but basic pay is the same . As I have said before many nurses work in areas that do not open at weekends and at nighttime , and these nurses often have to work extra hours doing agency or bank to pay the bills . So as well as going a full week Monday to Friday, that nurse might work a Saturday night or Sunday shift .
    It is this basic pay that is turning newly qualified nurses off because it is so much lower than what they can get in Australia and other countries with their qualifications . Also while basic pay appears lower in UK , factors like sterling, London weighting and more promotional posts make the NHS more attractive.

First bolded point - this is not trivia. I feelthat many are against the nurses strike demands solely because of the reported average earnings. Weighing up the difficulties of the role, with the benefits, it is a figure which I think is fair as it is. Yes. I know it is average, but that is skewed by the number of nursing staff in managerial roles which must be excessive to alter it in this way if we are told that there are so many who do not make anything near this money.

Second bolded point - and I'm sure countered by nurses on this thread also.

Third bolded point - Again, that is where the average comes in. If nurses were stiking to increase the income level and were willing to forego rises for those already on x amount or to not apply the increase to nursing management staff then I would support their claim. But they are not doing this and if the 12% comes in at the entry level, so too will it for every other nurse, thus driving the full average up.

Fourth bolded point - many in other professions are equally strained and do not have the time or the ready opportunity to find extra hours should they need to do them.

Fifth bolded point - As I said above, if the claim was for the basic pay was going to rise for new entrants (or those in the system for the last 5 years or something), I would support it. But it isn't going to be limited to this is it?

There was a thread on boards previously asking which profession is underpaid. I was the first response to the OP and said "Nurses, no question". But I was only aware of the entry level rate and small scale increments. Here am I now questioning this because of the averages stated, which, for a 3 day week (3 hard days I agree) permanent job and better pension benefits for amount contributed than in the private sector, I have to think is reasonable for the roles and demands of the job.

And once more, there are nurses who work many years, in difficult environments and are effectively underpaid, but that money is still in the nurses pay pot but it is going to nurses in management roles which means those doing pure nursing duties are often underpaid. If the nurses suggest a partial pay claim or for a change in structure so there are less nursing management staff (as I understand we are significantly above standard averages in this area) away from the duties of nursing then I, for one, will alter my position to support their claim.

The healthcare budget has increased from €8B in 2002 to €17B for 2019 and adding what would mean at least another €300M/year to this without increasing a single nursing number (because new nurses would mean more than 300M) I just cannot see how that is good practice. It is using money to hide a problem which is just creating other problems.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

What percentage of the overall budget goes on nurses' pay? Why should nurses accept reduced remuneration to cover inefficiencies elsewhere in the management of the system?

• Registered Users Posts: 179 ✭✭Samuel Vimes

If he can find money to donate to random Ethiopians, he can do the same for the nurses

Very few "Random Ethiopians" are as overpaid as Irish Nurses!
    Some of the best paid Nurses in Europe, one of the highest rates of Nurses to population in the OECD, and as usual they are trying to blackmail the government into giving them another undeserved pay rise, no doubt they will be going on strike for a 28 hour week next!:mad:

"Ooh a thread about the public sector!! I won't read any of it, I'll just wade in with the same uninformed, disproven opinion"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,232 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

That is the most ridiculous and uninformed post I have even seen here on Boards.ie.

I see that the nurse who posted her payslip online a few weeks ago will be interviewed on prime time tonight. Should set the record straight

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

All of this discussion about rates of pay is nonsense. No one goes abroad or retires over 12%. The system is broken, so fix it.

hawkelady wrote: »
    I see that the nurse who posted her payslip online a few weeks ago will be interviewed on prime time tonight. Should set the record straight

I'll take the figures from the department of finance which aren't questioned by the INMO secretary over a single point of reference thanks.